219034 User submitted reviews online!!
Olema Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (415) 663-8106
CGID419

Olema Campground

Camp Information
Sites
187
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$53



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   10   7   9   7   6   8   5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$53
Seems a biggish sprawling place but is well treed and there's plenty of pace for all. Flat. We enjoyed it here. It was the only place where we saw children playing in 35 days of RVing: we liked that. It'd be a great venue if you had a family along. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$56
This place is pretty busy. The sites are close but the park is quite large, in fact it would be ridiculous if it were ever full. The roads are very dusty but they do their best by driving a sprayer around a couple times a day to keep it down. We still ended up with everything covering dust, inside and out. The playground was a winner with the kids and the laundromat is HUGE as it's really the center of town with the post office on site, albeit only open 4 hours a day. Wi-Fi worked very well, but the park was relatively empty. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$45
We stayed here while visiting Point Reyes National Seashore. The rate reflects a Good Sam discount. The sites were roomy, with grass and some trees. When we were there, it had been raining for a few days and the sites were a bit muddy. The check-in personnel were helpful and friendly. The bathrooms and showers were clean. We would stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$49
Rate reflects "high season". We have stayed here often and Olema Ranch never fails to satisfy. It's all about location and the access to surrounding attractions (i.e. Point Reyes National Seashore)...fabulous!! Easy access to level, open sites with shade cover in most areas. Will return for further adventures. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$48
Nice, clean place...friendly check-in. The site layout is unusual (four separate circles), which allows for ample space between. We felt that this facility is well-managed, quiet, and has an on-site laundry, as well as the town post office and a small store. The showers were nice, with plenty of hot water. Groceries and supplies can be purchased within three miles. We stayed for four nights and would stay again (the rate paid was with Good Sam Discount). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$56
Our second time here. We spent Memorial Day weekend with some friends. Campground was busy but nice. Sites by fire ring have lots of room behind for kids to play. WiFi was poor. No cable but satellite worked well. Point Reyes National Seashore nearby as well as lots of places to enjoy oysters. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$45
It could be so much more. The WiFi never connected to iPad or laptop. No TV, AT&T cell service sometimes. Level gravel sites. 30amp where we were at. Nice folks at the front desk, refunded a night we couldn't stay with no hassle. Restrooms were super clean. For the area it works well as a "home port". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$55
The campground is a little dated and behind in their upgrades but we found it to be friendly and pretty well kept. The roads can be a little dusty but they have watered the roads daily. Nice open spaces for dogs. Wi-Fi worked well and so did all of the utilities. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$55
For the price, this campground was a huge disappointment. Everytime we went to the registration office, it was locked. A list was taped to the door confirming our arrival. We paid by check months ahead of time to reserve our spot because they don't accept credit cards. This park has huge potential. Mature trees and large, shady campsites were the norm. Great location for exploring the national seashore, San Francisco, and several lovely little towns in the area. The park itself just seemed run down. The grass was mowed but it looked like it hadn't been trimmed yet this year. Weeds around the trees and bush were a couple feet tall. I had to rummage through the weeds to find the sewer and water hookups. I would not describe this campground as a "resort" by any stretch of the imagination. Their were no resort type activities that I saw. Wi-Fi was here, but we could never get it to connect. If this were a $25 or even $30/ night campground I wouldn't complain, but $55/night was a little pricey for what was provided. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$50
The management here was friendly and pleasant. They were often not in the office during office hours. The dump inlet at our site was behind the motorhome spot. A very unusual location which required 20' of tube length to reach. The cover was smashed into the pipe so we could not hook to it until the next morning when maintenance arrived to fix it. Huge potholes in the entry area made navigation unpleasant. They need to fill them in and it wouldn't take much to do so. Nothing really for kids to do at this campground. The "new" playground consisted only of a play set you might see in someone's back yard. It was missing a very needed swing set, though it had the mounts for them. Roads getting to this campground are very curvy and often narrow. Not recommended for large RVs. We were towing a Jeep behind a 39 footer and will not traverse this area again with this configuration. If you have a small trailer or RV at 32' or less, then it shouldn't be a huge problem. Lawn area next to our site was fun for the kids to play on, but that was about all the campground had to offer. Local town is cute, but food options are very limited, and the restaurants we checked were very limited in their menus (for example, they only serve breakfast up to a certain hour and will not offer any lunch options). This area is better suited for an older retired couple than a family with young kids. The one nice thing for us was the Point Reyes Station Park. It had a few nice hiking options and a Junior Ranger program for the kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$45
Nice park with big trees and privacy in between trailers. Clean and well appointed bathrooms with clean showers. Staff very helpful, even came to our trailer and warned us of a storm rolling in with high winds (roll up awning, etc.). Quiet with lots of amenities and a great staging area for the area. Will stay here again. Nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
This was a great rustic RV park to stay at. And I mean rustic, in a good way. We came here for our 11th wedding anniversary and found this a wonderful central location for our exploring of the northern San Francisco peninsula. If you want a great place to relax that feels like you are camping, this is the place for you. If you are looking for a RV resort with concrete slabs, this is not the place for you. Happy camping! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
Park-like setting and access to Point Reyes National Seashore. Nature everywhere. Access to beaches, surfing, shopping, Point Reyes Station farmers market, hiking, biking, etc. A nature lover's paradise. Inland a short distance is a State Park with even more possibilities. Endless possibilities. Near perfect! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
Lots of shade in a pleasant and convenient setting. The campsites are generally situated around circular cul-de-sacs; there's not a lot of privacy. On a weekend, the campground was very busy and noisy. During the week, it got much quieter. The bathrooms were as well-maintained as they could be, given the very heavy usage during the weekend. There were few (if any) full hookup sites, but the dump station was easy to use. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$52
The sites varied widely, from gravel driveway to wooded. We were in the woods, and the site was beautiful! Showers were OK, but required you to push the button every 20 seconds. Sort of annoying. Laundry room was fine, and most machines were working. WiFi was pretty flaky. Some PCs never got on, some got on, then couldn't later, speed was not great even when connected. Overall, still a nice park, but book ahead for a nicer site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$48
This park is definitely going downhill. The sites vary widely. Many are like the one I had, a gravel driveway with weeds and overgrown vegetation on each side and with a strong sewer odor from an open vent. Most of the full-hook-up sites needed at least 20’of sewer hose. In even the big sites the grass was neglected, un-watered and dying. Over ½ of the washing machines and 5 out of 9 dryers had “out of order” signs. The floor hadn’t been swept; it was a mess. For the services offered and the amenities, a charge of $20 a night would be about right considering the convenient location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Park was just what we were looking for. A little oasis close to the city. Staff was helpful and very nice. The ability to have a "real"campfire was a plus! Was easy to hook-up and our site seemed very level. Laundry rooms were new and very clean. Very familiy friendly. All in all we loved it here and will be coming back soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
This resort is huge and a seemingly well laid-out campground. We and friends stayed in the off-season in sites 131 & 132 (Cedar Loop). Office staff was friendly and accommodating. First thing we noticed was the sewer hookups are awkwardly set up for travel trailers. It was necessary for us to run septic hose under our trailer to the entry side: needed an extra 10 feet of hose to accomplish this. The Wi-Fi signal was very strong in the central area of the campground. Restrooms with showers were very clean and well lit. Point Reyes Station is about 3 minute drive to the north and has general and hardware stores, a Wells Fargo Bank and speciality (nick-knack) stores. We will return and camp here again, but I will be sure to find a site where the septic connection is more conducive the plumbing standards found on 75% of modern travel trailers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
The wildly varying ratings for this park reflect the different users' desires, not the park. If you're looking for level, concrete pads, cable hookups, a swimming pool and entertainment this is not the place. If you're looking for a state park feeling with tall trees, partial hookups, separation between tents and RVs, easy access to a large state park, this is your spot. Two large open grassy areas for tents, RVs are in tight "pinwheel" circles, with mostly shared hookups. Half-mile walk to Big Bear trail in Pt. Reyes; lots of good cycling roads around. Each site has picnic table and a fire ring with grate. Sites are gravel but level. We will make it a regular spot due to easy one-hour drive from the Bay Area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
To call this a resort is a bit of a stretch!! Front entry to registration gives you an idea on the upkeep of the park. They were planting some flowers in and around the debris and dirt. The park is large with lots of trees, full hookup sites are full sun for the most part. The best thing about this park is its location to Pt Reyes and all the hiking that goes along with that. No dogs are allowed on the trails, however, inside the park. You can drive to the beaches and have your dog on a leash. Despite my 6 rating, we will go back again due to the location and lack of other alternatives in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$35
We took our 23 foot trailer. We arrived moments after a downpour. Stayed in spots 124 and 125. Very quiet day and night. Could not hear Highway 1 or road behind camp. This is our second stay in three years. Will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$50
This campsite has a nice woodsy feel to it - Redwoods throughout the park and nice grassy areas. The playground is new, but small, but the campsite itself is flat and is great for bike riding and scooters. Downside is that there is no pool, no general store, or any planned activities, except for storytelling on (Saturday only). The road there was also pretty tight to maneuver especially with a 34 foot motor home towing a toad. We will probably not return primarily for that reason. This is a nice campsite if all you want to do is relax and enjoy being outdoors, but not a whole lot to do otherwise. If you have a big rig, you should consult the campsite as to the best way there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$39
Nice park with shady, well-spaced sites in the trees, each with pick nick table and fire pit. Bathrooms and showers were very clean. Also the electrical installations (hookups) seem to be new and there is free Wi-Fi. The roads in the park were not paved and therefore quite dusty. We payed 39$ (weekend rates are 49$). The shop only contains very few items (and no food/water). There is a free shuttle bus to the very close "Point Reyes National Shores Park", but it is operated only on weekends as we had found out after waiting 45 minutes (even though staff told us otherwise first). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
The park itself was clean. And, since it's the only RV campground between San Francisco and Bodega Bay on Highway 1 it has the advantage of its location. The restrooms and outbuildings are in dire need of paint and repair. We found out that the new owner is trying to sell the campground to the Point Reyes National Seashore. If that happens who knows what will be done with it. In the meantime it appears that the owner is not interested in sinking any money into fixing things up in case the sale goes through. We did enjoy our stay. The sites at the front with full hookups back up to a grove of trees which provides a great picnic and relaxation area. Don't be put off by the bad reviews. If you want to stay near Point Reyes you really don't have any other choices. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2007
$60
At $60 a night we expected something special. I was immediately concerned as we drove in through the front gate and sensed something was wrong as my first impression was "have we come to the right place?". This campground is reputedly under new ownership, and the first thing the new owner has appeared to have done is to hike up the prices to ridiculous amounts ($40 for a tent!!) without doing any improvements. The laundromat was a disgrace with half of the machines out of order, the remainder looking as if they were due to break down and the place was dirty. Next stop was to the well stocked shop - hmmm no shop any more and no RV supplies that we desperately needed. OK, so my wife decides to go for a shower, very dirty and the drain cover had a screw sticking out of it that my wife nearly lacerated her foot on. I mentioned this at the front desk who assured me it would be repaired straight away, needless to say, the next day and the screw was still there. The picnic tables were dirty and in dire need of maintenance. The benches had rusty nails sticking out of them. Hardly any of the facilities that the website boasts of exist at all. We were conned pure and simple. Do not come to this RV park, you will be disappointed! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$36
This park is beautiful with a park-like setting in pine trees. Some of the sites only had 15-20 amp service. The new owners have closed it until May to upgrade electrical and sewers. Unfortunately, they said that they have to remove some of the trees because of disease. Great location to Pt. Reyes seashore and Tomales Bay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2006
$33
I spoke with the General Manager in the morning and told him we wanted to use our Passport America and that we probably would want to stay through the weekend. He said they weren't accepting it anymore but he would go ahead and honor it anyway. When we arrived, 4 hours later the woman at the desk didn't know anything about it. She called the manager and he said to give us the first night at half price and the rest of the nights at $33.00 as long as we stayed another 3 days. I told her that's not what was agreed to, that he never mentioned only one night. Needless to say, we felt really burned. We were told that this place has been sold and they are closing down the park on Oct. 29th. Wasn't impressed at all with this place. We were told there were plenty of campsites in the morning and when we got here they stuck us in the ghetto (J loop) because it was the only site left. It was full of old trailers, cars, cats and dogs running around. The sites are very tight and I don't think they could cram them in any tighter! I'm giving this a 3, a point each for water, power, sewer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$38
Nice shaded sites. Very close to Point Reyes Nat. Seashore, which is beautiful. Got really crowded on Saturday and the sites are pretty close together. Wasn't a problem, though, was really quiet after hours. Has showers that are semi-private that are free and clean. Overall, a really nice place with large trees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$33
Great park to camp in. The rest rooms are clean and showers clean and lots of hot water. We found out that this campground was bought out by KOA, so we do not know if we will be able to get our usual group setting next year. I hope this new KOA will be as nice. It will become a KOA in January 2007. Either way, you can guarantee that the rates will go up!!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2005
$35
We took the advice of other reviewers and got a site in back with water/electricity only. The one thing to keep in mind is if you use satellite TV be sure to request a site with a good view of the southern sky. We were in GUM 34, which doesn't have a good view of the southern sky, but other sites within GUM do, so remember to ask if you have this need. Staff was friendly, helpful and quick to process us into our site. No cell phone reception here if you use Verizon. We rode our tandem bicycle from here to Point Reyes Lighthouse: 44 miles round trip. Had a blast, and great Thanksgiving dinner after our ride. The campground hosts a Thanksgiving potluck each Thanksgiving. We chose to do our own. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$35
Friendly, helpful staff. WiFi. Point Reyes National Seashore is beautiful. Will visit here again! Avoid A- and J- sights (very tight, primarily park residents) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2005
$32
This campground is located in a central location to some beautiful areas such as Point Reyes, Mt. Tam, Samuel Taylor State Park, etc. The campground itself is marginal as the sites are fairly close together and the power is weak. Our microwave kept tripping the breaker. It reminded us of camping in a grassy field with a few trees. They did deliver firewood to our campsite very quickly which was nice. Unfortunately there is no easy way to get to the campground as Highway 1 is tough as well as Sir Francis Drake Blvd. The Marin County coast is very beautiful though and the lighthouse at Point Reyes is worth seeing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2005
$16
We loved the wooded setting of this campground and used it as a base camp for day trips to Point Reyes seashore and lighthouse, Bodega Bay and surrounding areas. Interior roads were rather rough but passable. Site was level and quite deep; it seemed very spacious for our 30 ft class A, however there were only three campers in our area so perhaps the sites would seem smaller if the area was full. We opted for a partial hook-up site, these are positioned in circular groupings. They were doing a lot of tree cutting near us when we arrived and it was a bit noisy for awhile but it was also quite interesting to see how they tackle those great big trees when they need to bring them down. Bathrooms were clean enough but showers a bit exposed (shared dressing area) and not heated. No TV or cable. Laundry was large and clean with a book exchange that we enjoyed. Store was handy and had quite a bit of stuff. Post office on site. Passport America campground. We would stay here again, we liked it a lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$32
Asked for a full h/u when making reservations and was told I'd have one. When I got there it didn't have a dump. Actually after looking at the big sites I didn't want one anyway. 75% of the full sites are permanent. Had a real nice site though and the CG was actually quiet for the number of people there for the weekend. Showers were nice,but it seems people from Ca have to shower every day when they're tenting and so they were dirty and being cleaned by 8 AM.We'll be going back tho as it's a nice place and next to Pt. Reyes. BD41 We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$32
Very large park in a nice location. Large areas are set aside for tent campers. RVers will find 31 sites with full hook ups and 58 with water and electricity only. The full hook up sites are in the front of the park in the busier areas. The other 58 are to the rear of the park under pine trees and are much quieter. Honey wagon pump outs are $10 a shot. A well-stocked store, post office game room and laundry are located on the premises. Temparatures are on the cooler side- a nice bonus if you want to escape the heat of the central valley. A nice dog run is available for fido. Operation of generators is not allowed. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com