220931 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Ogallala State Recreation Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (308) 284-8800
CGID4202

Lake Ogallala State Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   6   5   9   8   10   10   9   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$20
Very nice park with level sites, some on the lake. Long walking trail to the dam. Lots of interesting waterfowl. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$19
Good Nebraska State facility, a bit of a distance from town and the interstate. Nice setting, lots of trees and shade, grassy and weedy!! Lots of sand burrs, which the dogs didn't appreciate! Our site was right on the lake, looking west towards the dam. Good electric, water spigots nearby. Mid-week stay, so campground was almost empty! Paved access roads and pads, with fire ring and picnic table. Look like there is pretty good fishing for panfish from what we saw. There also are undeveloped campsites nearby, below the dam. When the dam is using water for power production, and the wind is right, there is a strong sulphur odor (like an oil refinery) in the air as others have reported. That is due to the spray from the outlet which comes from the bottom of the lake behind the dam, dead water, as some park employees explained. May or may not be there earlier in the year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
I did not care for the campground for two reasons. They have one bathroom for a very big and crowded campground. We had to walk 1/2 mile to the bathroom. Also, for a state park or recreation area the sites were very crowded together, and there were some bad smells coming from lake or area we were at. The area around the campground is very scenic so the campsite is convenient, but if you stay here try and get a campsite close to the restrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
Part of the electric at part of this park did not work. Nice spacious sites, no water or sewer at sites. Nice and shady and right on the water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
We had trouble finding this place because of confusing directional signs on the highways. Lake Ogallala is a small lake on the East side of much larger Lake McConaughty, just below the dam. Most of the highway signs pointed to McConaughty and did not mention Ogallala. Once found however it is a gem. It is heavily wooded with lots of lush green grass. The trees provide shade and help buffer the high winds that the area often has. They also block the TV satellites from most of the sites. Some sites are directly on the lake. All are spacious and level. Some have electric hookups; 30 amps at the North end and 15 amps elsewhere. There are no water hookups but water is available from spigots scattered throughout the campground. There is no dump station. It is very quiet except for some train horns. The grass hides some nasty stickers so watch your dog's feet. Our Verizon Air Card worked good with an external antenna. It is a beautiful campground and we will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$17
Rate shown is for electric site only. Additional charge applies for vehicles. Cons: Frustrating and confusing walk-up registration process; $4 per night per vehicle park fee (annual fee is $15); mosquitoes in the men's shower but otherwise clean; water availability limited, scattered throughout; no dump station in campground (nearest one is in Martin Bay CG; lots of flies; very windy conditions; signage inadequate. Pros: Absolutely beautiful - no comparison with Lone Eagle at Lake McConaughy; lots of trees; swans in lake; spacious, paved, level sites; many sites directly on lake, many others with lake view; good trout fishing in stocked lake; very quiet, heard one distant train whistle overnight; well maintained; interesting historical tourist attractions in Ogallala. Hard to give a rating to due to all the cons, but will still give it an "8". Would come back having made a reservation. Couple down the road from us had made a reservation for 2 weeks, a year in advance, and has already made their reservation for next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$15
We stopped here on our way home from Yellowstone. Very nice park. We had a lake view and the sites are spacious. The park is well maintained. There is a $4.00 park entrance fee on top of the nightly rate. We stayed 4 nights. There is full hookup available at Lake McConaughy which is just a few miles up the road and on a larger lake, but they were not as shady as the sites on Lake Ogalala nor did they have lake views. Lake McConaughy has a lot of sandy beaches that you can drive right down to the lake. We had no idea Nebraska had that much sand. It was like being on a beach in Florida. No dump at Lake Ogalala, but there is one at Lake McConaughy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$19
We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at this SRA. While we were expecting to only have electricity at Lake Ogallala, we were directed to the Little Thunder campsites which are over the dam. Sites 2 thru 6 are full hookups with 50amps! The sites are large, paved and level, the staff was friendly and helpful and the restrooms were well kept. We'll definitely be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$14
We arrived mid afternoon on a Friday, and had no difficulty getting a prime site on the lake with a beautiful view. On Saturday, the park filled up pretty quick, so I would recommend reservations going forward from this time of year. Reservations are accepted for roughly half of the sites in the campground. The waterfront sites are plentiful, and many of them are reservable. The sites were very adequately spaced (our nearest neighbors were at least 20' away on one side and 40' or so on the other), and all were long, level back-ins suitable for any size rig. There are fire rings and picnic tables provided at most sites, and there are very large deciduous trees providing fair to good shade, which will probably be better once they are fully regain their leaves. Fishing was fair to good in the lake, with trout and walleye being the main catches. The campground was very quiet, though I would bet that it could get much louder in the summer when the jetskis are more plentiful. There is a dump station across Hwy 61 from the campground at Martin Bay on Lake McConaughy, and water available at several locations (including the entrance). The playground was dilapidated, and consisted only of a slide and a swingset, but my daughter still had fun playing for a little while. The openness of the campground, along with the lack of city lights, lent well to stargazing at night by the fire. Rates at the time of our travel were $10 for no hookups, $14 with electric. Overall it was a great trip, and we will definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2005
$14
Lots of shade and space between sites. As with other Nebraska state parks/recreation areas, basic amenities are lacking (soap, paper towels, etc...). Bring a long garden hose to refill your water supply if youíre fortunate enough to camp in close proximity to a hydrant since electricity is the only utility available at each site (amps vary from 20 to 30 depending on location). The playground was dated and in disrepair, and sandburs outlined itís perimeter. The shower house presented an interesting contrast; although the strong smell of propane and Lysol beckoned the camper to hot water and cleanliness, the place was superficially clean as evidenced by the several species of spiders present near the ceiling and vents. Given the scenery (many sites are adjacent to the lake) and other natural features, this campground has the potential to be great, but necessary updates prevent a higher rating. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com