206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Collins Lake Recreation Area was rated 7 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (530) 692-1600
CGID421

Collins Lake Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
143
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$58



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   9   8   9   9   5   9   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$58
Positives: Small and wonderful lake for fishing, kayaking, boating, and swimming. The majority of campsites seemed to be shaded. Lakeside campsites provide fairly easy access to the lake. Wonderful ice cream at the store for cheap! In general, the campground staff was friendly and helpful. Negatives: Camped here during Labor Day weekend (mistake). It was way too crowded. Loud campers with no camping etiquette all around us made for a less than pleasant experience. Only a small handfull of sewer sites throughout the campground for RV'ers. WiFi and cell phone coverage is only available around the store; it does not reach the campsites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$35
Staff went out of their way on THANKSGIVING DAY to help us fix our water issues with a leaky toilet. They also quickly resolved a music issue coming from another campsite. Looking forward to returning here next summer. They had GREAT ice cream too!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
Price shown is for an off-season, lake front (W & E) with a senior discount. Semi-level gravel site with shade and plenty of room. Fire pit and picnic table. They have three sewer dumps as you exit the park, or you can pay for a pump-truck to come to your site. Quiet at night, security, the entrance gate is locked for entry at dusk, open for exit.. AT&T cell worked great, no TV reception, free Wi-Fi only at the Office, only 30 amp. The fishing boat package ($100 for 3-days) was a great deal. No towns close by, so you’re here for the lake activities. They have small grocery and bait store at the office. Showers were clean, $.50 for 4 minutes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
This is a nice destination CG. Would not make a very good overnight stop. Pluses: Spaces well spaced and treed. Lakeside and lake views. Quiet, supposedly good fishing (but we were skunked, good boating facility and not many boats. Allow skiing (boarding) after June, just fishing before June. Weather was outstanding (90,s during the day and 50-60 at night). GREAT ice cream at store, friendly staff. Minuses: No 50 amp service (just 30 amps), most sites do not have sewer hook ups. Limited sites for larger rigs (35+). Very dusty. Did not use their showers so cannot comment except to note .50 cents for 4 minutes of hot water. Very popular place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$49
We stayed here for 5 nights in a 30 footer. We were on a package deal that included 5 days of boat use and 5 days use of a Marina slip. The entrance to the park is well marked and the roads are a combination of asphalt and gravel. I chose a Lakefront site that had water and electricity. The site was packed gravel. There was a good combination of sun and shade. I needed one 1/2 inch board to level the trailer side to side. The park offers pump out on site or they have a free dump station for campers with three stations when leaving the park. The staff is extremely friendly. The staff hustles to be sure every concern is taken care of. The park is clean and well maintained. There are two shower buildings that were constantly cleaned. Most of the bathrooms are vault toilets, but they were cleaned regularly and had no unpleasant smell. Prices are based on days of the week and whether the site is lake side or standard site. Check out the Collins Lake web site for site locations and pictures of the sites. Our site over looked the marina and was about 30 feet from the lake. We were given a map and excellent directions to our site. However when leaving, the roads to the exit were confusing and to avoid taking the trailer into a dead end, or up a steep gravel road, I had to walk to route to the exit to avoid any backing issues. The campground is very family and dog friendly. Most people are here to either fish or to take part in some type of boat activity. Very nice campground to visit. I will definitely keep returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$24
We found this to be a very relaxing place to camp in our RV. The staff is very friendly and the facilities are clean and safe. The ice cream is awesome! This is a good destination for RVs and trailers but there are several good areas for tents as well. I recommend Collins Lake for anyone looking for a good place to camp with the family or have a weekend outing, but not for full-timers looking for high-end facilities or paved camp sites. Interior roads are mostly gravel and sites are basically level, although you may need 2" to 3" of wheel blocks on a few sites to level your rig. This campground features a lot of trees, so shade is never a concern. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$45
We arrived on Labor Day after most had left. Hubby was unhappy because there was dog waste all over and garbage on the beach. Probably all left over from the weekend. Once everyone left, we had a nice stay in a spot directly overlooking the lake. Water level really down. Space was nice once the noise and wind died down. If we go back it will be mid week when quieter. Spaces are very close together but without anyone else next to us: was nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$45
Now have Free Wi-Fi available. Our site was a pull-through, and when I parked by the hook-ups, I was level. Office well staffed and friendly. Park is well patrolled. Nice store where you check in. We had our kids in a tent next to us, they got a little loud at 11PM and the security asked us (very nicely) to have them be quiet--that was the right thing to do! Bathroom could have been cleaner, yes its currently a holiday weekend--but the rates they charge are sufficient to keep the bathrooms clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
This place could be really nice! We had fun with a boat rental and enjoyed the ice cream at the park store. The down side is the many tents that pitch right next to your RV. It seems like way too many tents are allowed to be on any given site. The park security drove right past our neighbors who were screaming and yelling and partying until the wee hours of the a.m. The security were there, but did not do a thing for the noise that was going on until after midnight. When I approached one at the store the next day to tell him about it, he just smirked at me and nodded his head. What a jerk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$42
Park with lots of trees and a very nice lake. Kind of a state park feel. Sites are gravel and the road can be a little narrow and rough. Parts of the park are rather crowded. We had a lake view site (water and electric only) with no other campsites between us and the lake. However, there was a site directly "above us". When we walked into the motor home, you were looking directly at the people sitting outside their rig. There is only one place in the whole park that has showers and that is by the store. Showers are pay showers (50 cents I think). There are very few restrooms that are not portable. However, the portables are clean. The staff is very friendly. The store is well stocked. Water skiing is allowed on the lake between May and October but no jet skis or loud boats. It was very quiet at night but we were there during the week. It is a family friendly park with a nice beach, roped off swim area, a very nice playground, many picnic tables and BBQs for day use. There are many garbage cans around and they are constantly being dumped. We thought the park was very clean. We would stay again, but we would request a different site, in a part of the park, that wasn't as crowded. We had to back uphill to get out of our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$54
Site had some litter on arrival, otherwise great. Friendly staff at check in, beautiful lake front site. Quiet after 10 PM. Electric and water were fine, my site did not have sewer, but they have 3 dump stations on the way out. Holiday weekends book a year in advance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
Very crowded. I wish they had more open campground spaces with trees, looks like they turned the old open area campground into group camping. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2006
$30
Most sites very wooded, some not tall enough for a 5th wheel. Some sites are close, most are well spaced. Lakefront is $10 extra. ADA playground. Beach has many picnic tables and BBQ pits. Limited full hookups as most of those are taken by permanent campers. Typical site is 30/50A with good water. Lakeview group site is far away from the other 2 loops. This is the only electricity site in the open camp area. Dispersed campsites are by the dam with water available nearby. Pick a spot, setup camp next to the lake. No services at all out there, remote. Security is limited to a coded gate to this very large resort. After hours, you are on your own, no one will respond to a trouble call. Loud music, blaring car alarms (on purpose, over and over), profanity abound. These are few, but prevalent. During the week, this would not be true and this campground would be awesome. With some roving nightime security, this would be a top notch campground reminiscent of a good state park. Grey water dumping is common. Dogs run everywhere, kids were having a blast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$20
This is a pretty and is in a park setting on a lake. We had a pull-through site right by the lake. The park is well-maintained. When we were away from the RV by the lakeshore, they only had portable bathrooms but they were very clean. The park has a lot of areas for large groups and the sites were spaced apart. I would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
The positives about this place are the nice lake/beach/swimming area, and the staff are nice with a well stocked store. The negatives are the campground area is very dusty, the bathrooms are port-a-potties, the RV sites are small and not too level and the only showers are at the office with was at least a quarter mile from where our site was and there were many sites farther away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
Nice place if you like to fish and boat. Staff was great and remembered us each time we went to the store. Ice cream is great and very large servings. Showers were clean. Boat rentals were available. It can get dusty in the area. Lake was nice and staff was seemed to be cleaning the park on a regular basis. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$38
Very family oriented campground, well maintained with one the most friendly staffs we ever met. Fishing is the primary function at this lake with some waterskiing in the summer. Sites vary in size so you need to be specfic when making reservations. Excellant general store with everthing you might need. The only down side was there was only one shower facility for a very expansive campground. All In all a nice campground and will return. Easy drive from Sacramento Calif. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com