220021 User submitted reviews online!!
Rio Grande Village RV Campground--Full Hookups was rated 6 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (432) 477-2293
CGID4221

Rio Grande Village RV Campground--Full Hookups

Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   6   5   5   5   7   5   3   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$37
We did not stay at this park, but wished we would have. I couldn't get reservations. This is just 30 yards from the river, so you're staying in a riparian ecosystem, but this is also close to Daniel's Ranch which is a birders' paradise (peregrine, vermillion flycatchers, even some ducks). We inspected the hook-ups and nice roomy sites, all paved. Sites 1-12 are on the river side, the rest of the sites are on the bird side. The river side does not have a view of the water, but of the growth by the river. This is a beautiful site and lots of wildlife, for this area. But you have to make reservations early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$38
Large asphalt parking lot with FHU. Located on the Rio Grande River border. Good location to check out the National park. Everything is a distance and very primitive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$37
Good place to stay to explore Big Bend NP. It is just an asphalt parking lot with hookups but gives you plenty of room and good hookups. People are friendly and there is a store for supplies. WiFi in store is good. No cell service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2013
$34
This is a tight fit for some of the big rigs. We are 40 feet and got lucky that we had an easy spot to get into, but saw a poor man with a 35 foot motorhome struggle to get into a spot. This is basically a parking lot that has been retro fitted into a campground. Unless you really need power, I would go into the other campground and just run your generator. The wi-fi does not reach into the campsites. The sewer is also oddly configured. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2013
$33
This campground is run by the concessionaire and no rate discounts are available. It is basically a black top parking lot with hook ups and no shade. In moderate to cool weather when you don't need to run AC I'd go over to the Park Service campground and stay there. When it's hot, I'd consider the hook ups. We did not stay there, but we did check it out. The wi-fi is in the store as are the showers and rest rooms. Showers cost $1.50 for 5 mins. If you absolutely need a hook up then this is the only place in Big Bend National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
For a National Park campground this was severely disappointing. At $33 it is way overpriced, but when you are the only place offering AC, I guess they charge whatever they want. It is car park camping at its worst. Walmart is better. Hate to see the place when it is busy. No room between bays (we were one of only two in park). No table. No fire ring. Poorly located utility hookups (have to wonder if the designer has ever seen an RV). Operated, like so many other National Parks, by a concessionaire. We won't be back, at least at a time of year when one needs the AC. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
Having no other choice for full hook-ups inside of Big Bend, this park was adequate. The man in the office was quite pleasant. The laundry facility was functional. The small grocery store was a bonus (but at a price!) I had a strong Wi-Fi signal from my site (which was closer to the office/store than most of the other sites.) Keep in mind, there is no cellular service here. There is plenty of open space for a stroll, hike, or picnic. The cons: There were very few picnic tables; I counted only 3 between all 25 sites, and they were quickly commandeered. The RV park is in the eastern-most spot of Big Bend, so it does not make an ideal home base unless you have several days to explore. Otherwise, you might want to re-position after a couple of days to Study-Butte (if you require hook-ups). Finally, there were no posted check-in procedures for late arrivals... at least, none that I or other RVers could find. Despite a few nitpicks, I'd stay here again. If I had a quiet generator, I'd probably consider Chisos for a couple of days instead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$33
The best thing I can say about this campground is it has electric hookups. The view of the surrounding park is great, but otherwise this is just a parking lot with hookups. Daytime temperatures were in the 100's so we wanted the electricity. We were there in the beginning of the off season, and the lot wasn't too full, but it was still a challenge to back in and get parked. I don't know how a big rig could do it in the busy time of year (winter). The NPS campground behind the store is beautiful, and we would stay there next time if possible. It was worth the trip to see Big Bend, but we would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2012
$33
My rating is for the RV parking lot, not Big Bend Park. Rio Grande Village is a blacktop parking lot that gets extremely hot! The heat radiates up off the parking lot. There is no shade in the parking lot. The sewer hookup was a bit strange, just a tube in a concrete bowl. The power was good, the water was fine. Big Bend is beautiful so we were happy to put up with the poor RV parking lot. The rangers at the park were very unfriendly. I did not see ranger programs listed anywhere and was disappointed. You cannot get cell phone service so plan on using a pay phone. You can get Wi-Fi if you can stand the heat to sit at a picnic table at the office. There are no picnic tables for campers. Javelinas and coyotes walk right through the camp parking lot so watch your dogs! The views are spectacular. Wish the rangers had been nicer and had some programs like they have in other National Parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$33
We liked this park, but we are city slickers. We were on a black topped area so it was easier to keep the motorhome clean. Staff was friendly. No cell service. Wi-Fi at store worked on and off at our site. We saw coyotes and road runners near our campsite. Heard the coyotes howling during the night. No TV reception. We would camp here again if in the area. Big Bend is a nice remote National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$33
Loved this park! Being in the national park it is quiet and in a lovely setting. Our site was in the row that backed into a lot of trees; behind us was a paved road leading to a picnic area with more grass and trees. The campground rentals are staffed by the Rio Grande Village Store clerks; ours was very friendly and accommodating. He did his best to space us all out so that no one was squeezed by a neighbor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
When we arrived after a long day of driving, we were met at the counter by a man that stated the price was $32.00/night and no discounts. There was one Class C rig in the campground, if you want to call it that. It's a blacktop parking lot with hookups. Very unattractive, unfriendly place. They would rather be empty and make no money than reduce their price. We left and did not stay here. We ended up in Lajitas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$32
Parking Lot atmosphere. The smell of sewage permeated the RV area. The sewer hook-up we could not use because it was fully concreted in around the drain, the drain was opened but we could not drain our tank due to the closed sides. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
This is a paved parking lot which is privately owned and operated. There is a NPS campground nearby. The WiFi works only if you're parked near the store. The Showers are of the Pay Variety, $1.50 for five minutes. No Verizon coverage is available. The trail to the Overlook is a great hike, about 3 miles in and out. There are many hikes within 25 miles, of them the hikes in the Grapevine Hills and the Chisos Mountain Basin are outstanding. The Nature Walk near space 18 in the NPS campground is well worth the time and takes you to the bank of the Rio Grande River. Over, I'd return, since the park scenery is amazing. Our little 31' MH seemed like a midget compared to the larger units. The park is fine and has coyotes and many varieties of birds all around the area, if you keep your eyes open. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$27
This campground in Rio Grande Village has the only hookups within Big Bend National Park, and they charge a premium for the privilege. If you have a rig over 24 feet in length, the only options I am aware of are this campground and the adjacent campground, which has no hookups. Rio Grande Village contains a visitors center and a small store with gas pumps (no diesel), a few washers and dryers, and pay showers that were dirty during our stay. RV camping consists of a converted parking lot near the store (check in there), with back in sites on either side. As others have noted, depending on your rig and who is already situated, you may have a difficult, or even impossible time getting into your site, and they do not offer refunds. We had no problem with our 34-foot motorhome, but the driver of a 30-foot trailer tried 4 different sites before getting into one, and they were lucky that so many sites were open. Sites are wide enough for your rig and tow vehicle next to it. The sewer is to the left against the curb, and the electric and water are about ten feet past the curb in the grass area. There are no picnic tables or fire rings, however, there is a very pleasant area with grass and some trees surrounding the RV parking lot where you can set up your own table, with beautiful mountains visible in the distance. Trailers with a rear window will have a pleasant view, but motorhomes sit facing each other. We opted to face the opposite way in our motorhome to enjoy the view, requiring an extension for our electric, and no sewer connection for our two-night stay. Our Dish satellite came in (they recommended the north row for that), but not Verizon cell phone. There are pay phones at the store and visitors center. There is no wifi. The closest wifi seems to be at Chisos Lodge. Next to the campground is a dead-end paved road that leads in about 0.7 mile to a picnic area and trailhead for a viewpoint and another 2.8-mile trail to the hot springs. The little-used paved road is nice to stroll or bike on. Pet owners watch for coyotes here. In the other direction the road leads to the main Rio Grande Village campground. It is half the cost, and gets the most usage. When I cycled through there I heard the loud whirring of generators from most of the sites (allowed until 8pm), which turned me off to the place. Sites are more park like there with picnic tables and fire rings, but I did not find the campground especially scenic, and the main asset of the park, a boardwalk nature trail to the river, had been destroyed in the big September 2008 flood. Since I don’t care about having a campfire, I actually preferred the ambiance and views at our quiet parking lot. The only attractions at this far southeastern corner of the park are the hot springs and the road out to Boquillas Canyon. The short trail at the end of that road is very worthwhile, leading to the Rio Grande and an entrance to a canyon. When we checked out of the RV park we drove out to the Chisos Basin road, leaving our rigs at a spacious historical marker turnout, then took the tow car up to explore the Chisos Basin and have lunch. We then moved out to Terlingua (Big Bend Motor Inn/RV) as a base to explore the rest of the park including Santa Elena Canyon. If you have a rig under 24 feet and don’t care about hookups, the most central place to stay in the park is the scenic campground at Chisos Basin, but signs warn that this is also the area where cougars and bears are more prevalent. Chisos Basin has the most hiking trails, the only restaurant (casual, but good food with great views), but is not next to the river. I was disappointed at the location of the main park campgrounds at Rio Grande Village. Perhaps it was a more worthwhile location when the border between the quaint town of Boquillas was open, but now it is too far removed from most park features. Despite the location, while I was there it was an enjoyable place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$26
Spaces are on tarmac. Lots of wildlife around the camp area. When it is filled up it is not easy to back in with a 40' motor home because spaces are facing each other. Would have given it a 6 if we wouldn't have had 6 brownouts in one day. It might have been caused by the heat that day (105F), but there were only 5 RV's so can't imagine how it would be with the camp being filled ! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
This is the RV park or if you wish the one with the hook ups. We were there in the off season so not full. Back in sites on black top. First come first served and those already there are first in line. Sites are wide but the space between the front of the rigs would make it very tight backing in when busy. You park your car/truck next to your rig. Store nice and check in easy. But showers are pay and not cheap so we used the coach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2008
$21
I camped in the concession area and was fortunate to have an end spot. Basically this is just a parking lot with hookups. It wasn't much of a "campground", but the views and the hiking trails were worth it! I stayed 3 nights, and should have stayed longer. I was fortunate enough to get there on a Thursday morning and got one of the last spots for the next few days. I saw several people check in at the store only to be told there was no room and they would have to dry camp. The folks at the camp store were very friendly and they have a decent supply of items one might need that far from town. The laundry facility was clean, but some guy took my clothes out and threw them on a table. I missed timed the washer by 2 minutes. I look forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$21
There are two campgrounds at Rio Grande Village. One is no hook-up and run by the National Parks, the other is a small full hook-up campground run by a concessionaire. Firstly the signage at the Panther Junction was confusing as stated the full hook-up campground was full when in fact there was two spots left. We found out later that they put the full sign up at the Panther Junction when 75% full, so if prefer full-hook-up stop at the Rio Grande Village store first and ask before going into the no hook-up campground. The full hook-ups have been developed on an old car park and are all back-ins. All but four have plenty of space to park tow car and all have access to grass behind to sit out and enjoy the superb scenery of Big Bend. If you want more space and can manage with no hook up then the National Parks campground is for you. However many of the sites are not level, are small for big rigs and have many trees with low branches. There is a no generator section which is usually the last to fill up. The Rio Grande Village store has only basic provisions so go prepared if you want to spend some time in Big Bend, which is well worth the visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2007
$21
This park was just fine for being in a national park. The folks running the park were friendly and helpful. It's basically a parking lot with spaces and hookups for RV's and trailers. There weren't any extra amenities, but that's not a problem for us when there are so many other activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$26
I would stay in this park again very nice but ,very close to each other. All are back in and this was the hardest part to back in that I have stayed at. Very friendly personal at the store and check in very helpful. If you like to Dry Camp the Dry camp next to it is even is nicer but no hook up at all in the Dry Camp area. If I were to stayed only a few days I would consider the dry camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$21
This campground is nice, especially for the money, but kind of small and tight. We needed to disconnect our trailer but were able to leave it in the adjacent parking lot free of charge. Came outside at night and there was a coyote running through the parking lot. This is the only campground in Big Bend National Park w/ full hook-ups, but is located 20 miles from the Chisos Mountains and 40 miles from Santa Elena Canyon. It is close to the hot springs which is about 2 miles away. Next time I visit the area, I'd probably stay in Terlingua which is closer to the western (and in my opinion more beautiful) side of the park. Terlingua is also centrally located to Big Bend Ranch State Park which is a must-visit if you come to the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$21
This park, though in Big Bend, is run by a private company. Although it is big rig accessible, the larger rigs will have a tough time backing in if the CG is full due to the lack of a turn radius. There is a laundromat on site. The bathrooms close at 8:00 PM for some inexplicable reason. We would return as it has a view of the sunset that cannot be beat. Gas is available on-site and at two other areas in the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$14
Parking lot with hookups. Alternative campground (run by park service) is much nicer but with no hookups. Campground may not be wonderful but Big Bend is! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com