223434 User submitted reviews online!!
Apple Creek Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (920) 532-4386
CGID4227

Apple Creek Campground

Camp Information
Sites
138
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   7   5   5   7   2   2   1   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$36
Sites are tight and not level. The dump station is next to several camping spots. Roads are very tight. The restrooms need to be modernized. The showers were dirty and you had to pay extra for them, 25 cents for 7 minutes, so take your quarters. The office and rec room was dark and not very desirable. Will not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$24
Rate reflects Passport America discount. If I'd rated this park just after our check in, the rating would have been much lower. Despite the fact that we had reservations, the park seemed unprepared for us. Granted, we were three big-rigs traveling and arriving together, but it took us the better part of an hour to check in and make our way to our site. The young woman in the office seemed quite confused, telling us that our sites were not long enough to accommodate our rigs. We finally walked to the sites and determined that we would all fit. However, getting to the sites took quite an effort. Several of us had to ask other campers to move their vehicles so we could drive all the way through the park, make a loop and squeeze past other RVers parking on a narrow road waiting to check in. Once we finally got situated, the park was fine, although I don't know if we would return to this park if we were in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Wi-Fi was slow and would stop when overloaded. Stayed a month and was never able to connect on weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
We stayed here mainly because there wasn't anything else in the area. It is located on a busy road so the traffic noise was heard all night. Our site was what they call a 30 amp with a fifty plug. Some of the long term sites were pretty run down looking. The wi-fi was unusable even though there was an antenna at our site. There was no cable, but we were able to get a couple of channels using our antenna. The price was because it is a Passport America campground. The main reason we would not stay here again was the terrible stench from a nearby paper mill. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
My husband, granddaughter, and I camped here due to attending a 50th Wedding Anniversary gathering in the area, and because there were no other camping options available. The campground is clean, they do have many activities for the youngsters, and the heated pool was very nice. The security people buzzing around in their golf carts were friendly and helpful, and needed, given the campers were basically on top of each other. The campground is hugely jam-packed tight, quite uncomfortable for those of us used to camping to get-away from it all. No getting away here. We were at campsite #1, which is right off the County Road, and next to the main driveway, so the traffic noise was constant. Combined with the people noise, I would have preferred to stay home. In the future, unless camping here was necessary, as it was this June, I wouldn't go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
After reading other reviews, I was a bit skeptical about staying here, but our options were limited in this area at this time of the year. After staying here, however, I think this park has gotten a bit of undue bad press. First, I should point out that we stayed here in April and had one side of the park basically to ourselves. The sites are gravel and relatively level - did have to use boards under the stabilizers mostly for the soft ground this time of the year. There is ample space between sites on the north side of the park. The maintenance crews have been working overtime getting ready for the upcoming camping season, and appear to take very good care of the park and facilities. The host was more than gracious, friendly and helpful upon arrival. Laundry clean and reasonable. Fire ring and picnic tables at each site, as well. When the trees bloom, there will also be ample shade. For the kids there's a pool (not open yet but they were getting it prepared), play structures and a catch and release fishing pond. Very pet friendly. No sewer at site, but a mobile unit comes around Mondays and Thursdays to take care of the dirty work. In addition, a dump station is located on site which we used upon arrival without incident. Small store with groceries, supplies and Packers paraphernalia for sale in office area. There is also a golf course within walking distance, so bring your clubs. Only downside - and it was a big one for us - is that it is right off of the freeway and the noise from the traffic is basically non-stop all hours of the day and night. Other than proximity to the busy road, it's a nicely set up and extremely well maintained park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
We were very unhappy with this park. The sites were on top of each other, the freeway runs right next to the campground, so the sound of traffic is always surrounding you, and since the campground is close to paper mills - the stench of pulp is in the air. We arrived in the evening and left the next morning, even though we paid for 3 nights. The kids couldn't even use the pool because the people camping next to us said it was over chlorinated and their kids had skin irritations from it. We definitely won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
Poor maintenance. Sites with inoperable water and electric. Sites are close together...no privavcy. Dump station is a joke. Save your money and go somewhere else. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
When they say no refunds, they mean it. We arrived in rain, the campground was a mud hole, and we were camping by motorcycle, in a tent. To set up would have meant to place the tent in the mud at our assigned site. We did pay in full - we did not stay. The staff member we spoke with was not friendly, but was very firm that if we did not like it, we could pretty much lump it. We did examine the campground and the site, and both were pretty well unacceptable. Maybe a fair weather campground, but if inclement weather is imminent, please stay away. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
We pulled our 12 foot pop-up up to Applecreek on the night of the Packer game. We passed the entrance because it is very very poorly marked and hard to see, coming back after the game was even worse in the dark. When we finally got in and registered we found that we had been assigned the campsite DIRECTLY across from the only dumpstation onsite. The rude teenager in the store told us we couldn't move because they were booked so all day we got to watch everyone pump their tanks. As of the next day we counted 23 other sites we could have been assigned. Our popup and suburban hooked together were longer than the itty bitty sites. The gravel landing pad was so unlevel that we had to put blocks under our landing feet to level the camper out. The "bathroom" house was tiny and consisted of two, stand alone toilets in a very, very dirty, bug infested room with no doors and no sinks, just a bottle of hand sanitizer. The entire campground smelled of sewage the entire time. The "pond" is tiny and badly needs to be dredged, it is slimy, smelly and there is a sunken boat at one end, covered in slim and half sticking out of the water. The pier is falling into the water and the kids play area badly needs maintenance. The main shower house had PAY showers so make sure you take a pocket full of quarters. The showers were so dirty and full of hair and dead bugs that I waited to get home to shower. There had to be AT LEAST 40 large spiders that had made their residence in the women's bathroom. So many that my niece REFUSED to use it. The staff was on a lawn mower at 7:45am zipping by our camper over and over, and the major highway next to the grounds was very loud. The store was decently stocked, but expensive even as camp stores go. The only nice thing about this stinky, dirty campground was the pool, it was clean and warm. I will never camp here again and wouldn't take my children here even if you paid me. Next time I'll drive home to Milwaukee after the game instead of camping here. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
Park was quiet until the fireworks went off on Friday night at 10:30. Had a short back in space. Showers were pay. Many people have to circle through the park to get to the dump. Poor layout. Child oriented. Park pond was disgusting and mosquito's were plentiful. PA rate is not enough to get us to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$17
I was prepared for tight, muddy after it rains, no sewer, no wi-fi, PA rate, nice folks... thanks to previous reviews. In addition I found 30amp service with 50amp plugs (labeled as 50amp site, with extra charge; you can fool some of the people, I guess. We changed sites), no breakers at the site, and pay showers (for WATER, not just hot water). There were three male showers for 130 sites (lots of insects in shower room). That is my definition of “nickel and dimeing”. One dump station within the park, surrounded by sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
Would have rated it higher but two things are major drawbacks to us. One is no sewer hookup. They'll pump you out for free if you're there for a week and they also have a dump station. We were there for 4 days and it cost $10 to get a pump out. The other problem is that the place becomes a bit of a mud hole after rain. Sites are gravel with grass. Overall the park is a little worn but clean and maintained. There are a lot of permanent sites but they're neat. Part of the park backs up on Hwy 41 which can be noisy though it quiets down at night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
The campground was really crowded on weekends with lots of tents, babies and kids. The sites were really tight, with not much room for car. The amenities were great, lots of things to do for children. Thankfully it was hot and we had to run air conditioner and could not hear all the screaming little ones. The owners were really nice and store was fantastic. The laundry facilities were also very nice. We would not stay there again in the middle of summer on a weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
Nice park. Gravel roads and sites. Sites water/electric only. Wi-Fi wasn't working. Friendly staff. Rate was with PA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
The park was much different than advertised, looks much worse in person than on the web. We had to leave one day early because our tanks filled up and the staff promised to drain them for us, but they didn't. The manager refused to refund one night, even though it wasn't our fault. We had small children and weren't warned about dangerous muskrat steel traps near our campsite. I would never recommend this campground to any family or friends. Pick another spot! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
This looks like a big place for people to come on vacation or for weekends. It's a great place for kids, but if you're looking for peace and quiet you won't find it here, especially on a summer weekend. We were here over a weekend and it was packed to the gills but it cleared out by Sunday evening, except for the longer-term section. Trailer Life indicates they have sewer, but they don’t. They have a dump station and a “mobile sewer service” twice a week (Monday and Thursday). If you're here for a week you can get a sewer hook-up for an extra fee. They have only 2 pull-through sites and apparently they are consistently reserved well ahead of time in season. The back-in sites are short, but some of them back up to a lawn area, giving more room if you need it; there is adequate space between sites and they are fairly level. There are lots of children, and what appears to be the area for transient campers is right next to the pool and playground equipment. There’s lots of noise from a nearby road. It’s a pretty campground but clearly older – the interior drives are tricky for a big rig but drivable if you’re careful. Their rules and policies are reasonable, but there is a charge for guests. The liquid manure smell mentioned in another post is was very strong for much of the time we were here. We would come here again if we had to be in the area but probably not by choice if there was any place else to stay that would accommodate our big rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
We had one of the two pull through sites. Sites are very close together. Fairly level. Wifi is spotty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
The only reason that I downgraded this park was that you have to pay 25 cents for each 3 minutes of your shower. One of the men's coin operated shower was broken. We stayed here 2 nights and will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
This is a very fun park with great family activities. They even had a COW RIDE ... a hay wagon ride through the park multiple times behind an old tractor. Kids loved it. There was an accommodating staff and they were very polite and helpful. There was a nice little camping store and gifts too. We really liked the layout of various loops of sites, so all the traffic is not funneled along a single route. We camped here in the 90's, and it's much improved since then, due to the fact that the original owners took it back over and updated and improved it. We marked down our remarks a bit for the strong sewer smell at times which seemed to almost come from the creek too, and was told they had holding tanks that emitted vapors from time to time. Also the surrounding farm land had liquid manure smells that could not be helped either. The sites were very close, but some folks like that. We were fine and enjoyed ourselves, but our guests for 3 hours were charged additional fees for a visit, although they didn't use any of the facilities other than sitting on our chairs on our site and eating our food. We were told of the charges in advance and knew about them, but still feel that it was an imposition on registered campers to pay for guests to visit for a short period. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
This is our seccond visit to this campground this summer. It is nice enough to return to. Staff is friendly ... facilities are well kept and clean ... pool is clean and inviting. It is a bargain for PA or CCUSA members. They allow 3 days of discount camping during the week. Our only complaint this time was the septic odor. This facility uses holding tanks for sewer and we were located down wind. Oh yes, a wind from the west brings an odiferous reminder this is in Wisconsin dairy farm country. We'd still return ... we liked it here ... both times this summer and once last summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
The rate we paid included discounts for Passport America. The staff is very helpful and suggested area attractions. The sites were mostly level gravel with grass between sites. Each site had a fire pit and picnic table. There is good street lighting. The campground is quite popular with kids. They have activities and "cow" rides, like hay rides but in a wagon decorated like a cow. The grounds were very clean. We stayed here during the flooding in Wisconsin. The campground was never flooded, although the nearby creek overflowed its banks. The nearest Wal-Mart is about 4 miles. The nearest eating place is Rico's, which had great food at a good price; it was about a 4-mile drive. Green Bay downtown is approximately 10 miles away. Campground is near the freeway, but no noise. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
This is a nice heavily wooded park that suckers you. When you arrive be careful as the entrance is poorly marked and you probably will miss it. The only sign is set back from the road and the visibility is covered by trees. Their idea of waterfront is a stagnant creek (apple) that comes from the cattle farm across the road. If you like a strong smell of cattle manure you will be at home. When you make your reservations for full hookup you will be given a "general" site. They have very few sewer hookups so their idea of a full hookup is the honey wagon that comes free on Monday and Thursday (they charge for other days). The voltage on their 30 amp sites (they told me on the telephone they had 50 amp) is so low that without an autoformer to boost it you will have to run your generator 24/7 (as our neighbor did). When they decide to water the lawn in your area the water pressure is nearly non existent. They turned on the sprinkler in the morning in our area and forgot about it apparently, as it was still running in the same place at dark. Other than the overwhelming smell, the mosquitoes, and the low voltage this park appeared nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
This park was a huge disappointment to us. We reserved two sites, side by side. When we arrived, those sites were not available due to "electrical" problems. There were many other side by side sites, but the teenager in the office knew nothing of their availability. We were not only NOT side by side, we were across the park from each other. When we asked if we could move the next day if something opened up, the girl said we could check back in the morning. The unit next to ours left the next day, but no one was in the office all morning when we tried to find out if we could move. When checking around the park, there were many empty sites. We decided to make the best of a bad situation. There were 6 sinks in the main bathrooms, but only one had hot water. The showers were 25¢ for 5 minutes, but not very clean. The toilets were disgusting. The whole campground was in dire need of basic maintenance. Staff we did run across were unfriendly and unaccommodating. It appears they are one of the few campgrounds near Green Bay, so evidently feel they have a captive audience. The "creek" is solid green and stagnant, and a breeding ground for mosquitoes, along with the giant tires that are part of the "playground". The pool did at least look clean and maintained. And by the way, DON'T try to check in early, because that will be a $3 per hour charge, and staying past check-out time will cost you $10 per hour. Not that you will want to stay past check-out time. It's really a shame, because the setting here is very pretty. Lots of trees and potential. Think of the money they could make by providing a shuttlebus to the Packer games: $10 per head is still cheaper than parking, and would be much more convenient. We have camped throughout the entire United States and this ranks near the top of bad experiences. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$30
Park was very pretty and staff were very friendly. No wireless or cable TV otherwise we would of rated higher. Unknown to us unfortunately the Nuclear Plant was only 20 miles directly from the park and they had an incident at the plant that night which scared us a little. We heard about it on the antenna tv. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2005
$23
This campground was formerly known as Happy Hollow and has been taken over by new management within the past two or three years. Flippant, rude and uncaring owners/staff had a like-it or leave-it attitude. The bad attitudes of the owners/staff heavily overshadowed any good points this campground might have. They are more concerned about nickel-and-diming you than making sure you have a great or even good experience. There were just so many bad things that it would take forever to type all of it so camper beware. Just a few of the low-lights were they double booked some sites for a busy Packer preseason game weekend (as heard from others), their "fishing pond" is a scum pond in which the aerator is broken and the "dock" has some of the side rails missing making it a hazard to children. The playground is dirty, has broken play equipment and is generally unsafe. There are also many permanent sites with a tenant or two who think they run the place. We stayed here while my husband was doing a training class for work in downtown Green Bay and it was a terrible experience all around. I wouldn't recommend this place to an enemy. We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com