220363 User submitted reviews online!!
Pattison State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (715) 399-3111
CGID4228

Pattison State Park

Camp Information
Sites
62
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   8   10   9   9   9   7   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
This was a very nice park south of Superior, WI. The sites are really meant for smaller rigs like tents and trailers. We did rent an electric/water site, but didn't stay in it because it was too confining. The park allowed us to park on an open grassy parking area adjacent to site 1. We boondocked there. The parking area has a beautiful view of the lake and is an easy walk to the nearby falls. It is a very quiet park. Roads are paved, but narrow. Sites are grass. It is a nice place, but we would not return as it is not meant for anything larger than about 30 feet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
Very pretty park. I agree with other reviewers that these folks have the check-in process down! Nice facilities all-around. We enjoyed being able to walk to the Big Manitou Falls--were they ever running after a week of rain. Sites are excellent--huge, landscaped-for-privacy pull-throughs. That helps one swallow the costly camping: $20 something for the night, $9.70 ReserveAmerica fee (it was a Friday--we had to), and then the $10 vehicle fee. Holy Toledo. But we did enjoy the park quite a bit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
Check-in was handled very well. This CG is used to getting people in and out. Roads were a little tight with small tree branches overhead. Sites are large and not right on top of each other. Electric worked properly(30AMP). This CG is right by the Manitou Falls both the large and small one. Overall this is a really nice CG, however be prepared for lots of families with children. The Park Ranger presence was seen several times a day/night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Pattison Park is a great place to stay in the Superior, WI area. Campsites are nicely wooded, the swimming beach is clean and well maintained. It is a wonderful place to bring families. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
We have stayed here in the past. Busy on the weekend, slow and easy durring the week. Great place to stay and visit Superior, Duluth and the North Shore without the masses you find on the North Shore. Nice trails and beach. Had a good time on a park sponsored wolf calling trek late in the night in the woods of Northern Wisconsin. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
We camped here with friends and it was a very nice camping trip, the sites were large and water was available right at our site. The staff were helpful to us. The beach was nice and the trails were fun to hike on. Lots to do here and the scenery was beautiful but we never made it to the falls. Would recommend this park to anyone ! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
A nice park that offers very spacious, private sites, the best we've ever camped in. The state's largest waterfall is within walking distance of the campground. The playground only offers swings but the kids had fun. There seems to be a need for another shower house but it's cleaned twice daily so it's sufficient. The only downer is the beach had high E. Coli counts during our visit so we couldn't swim. Otherwise it's a great place to camp. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$17
Pattison Lake State Park, WI. Stayed here for one night on 1 July 2007. A nice state park, but we were surprised at how difficult it was maneuvering our 35ft 5er into the sites that were deemed large enough for our rig. The problem wasn’t the sites themselves, rather it was the very narrow and curved entrance and exits for each site that were the problems, with rather large trees to maneuver around. No generators of any kind are allowed in this state park, so plan accordingly if you can’t get a site with electricity. Some nice hiking trails to a couple of waterfalls in the immediate area, one the highest waterfall (165ft) in WI. Park is clean, quiet, just narrow camping sites, including the access roads through the campsites themselves. The vast majority of sites in this park are suited best for TTs and Class Cs under 30ft or Pop-Ups. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$17
Nightly rate on a large pull through site with electricity was $17. Most sites are large and pull throughs. All were very well shielded with bushes & trees for a feeling of solitude. I expected it to be crowded with no vacancies, but I drove in without reservations and had a choice of sites to pick from. There are great trails for hiking, a beach, nature center, etc. Restrooms were large, clean and well maintained. Showers were HOT! Nice on a cool northern WI AM. This park was highly rated on all the web sites I checked & I can see why. I only wish all campgrounds and state parks were this great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$13
Pattison looked good on the web, but it looks even better in person. Almost every site is a pull-through which is unusual for a State Park. However, only 18 have electricity. The sites are Large, Medium & Small (the ranger station has them labeled that way on their map) but they are all quite nice. There are a couple of double sites for camping with friends. Good playground for kids. $4 for a pile of firewood - enough for all night. Excellent interpretative center. The naturalist while we were there, Jesse, was wonderful. He was a very hands-on field work kind of a guy, not the lecture kind. His naturalist hikes were excellent - he knew every bird in the forest, he took us off-trail to a huge beaver dam, he had a fine insect collection, well, you get the idea. The hiking here was awesome. The trails were well maintained but not totally artificial. Hiking to the waterfalls is a must. At 165', Big Manitou Falls is the highest waterfall in Wisconsin and the 4th highest east of the Rocky Mountains. Very easy hike to it, and around it, and down river. Well worth it! Rangers patrol the campground hourly and it was very peaceful while we there (as is typical). It is also very quiet at night. Very nice beach and bathhouse too. Great for kids to play on or swim in the roped off area. Water was a bit cool in late August already. One disadvantage for multi-day visitors in a non-electric site: Generators are not allowed to be run at any Wisconsin State Park at any time. After three days, we had to strike camp in our Class A and take a drive into Duluth for groceries (but the drive was really to recharge our house batteries). The ranger, when he found out, was so nice - "Ya coulda driven down to the shop, I'da let ya plug in for a cupla hours. " This park, in our opinion, is a good destination park. We spent 4 days there in late August and were not ready to return home. There were good hiking trails we didn't take, more swimming to do, horseshoes/volleyball/basketball (all free, get supplies from the park office), and walking the campground talking with more people. No problem with animals (bears are very rare there). We had good Cell Phone coverage there, but there was no Blackberry (digital) coverage. No Internet access at the park (but one of the lady attendants offered to let us plug our laptop into their phone line in the office). When we return, we'll look to reserve one of the electric sites on the inner loop. All of the electric pull-throughs are quite nice. They reserve 6 sites for people without reservations - all non-electric. Site #1 is the best if you can get it (we did). Finally - that far north, the sky is spectacular at night. You can easily see the Milky Way among an incredible number of stars. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com