223426 User submitted reviews online!!
Salem Farms Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (860) 859-2320
CGID4234

Salem Farms Campground

Camp Information
Sites
190
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   9   10   5   8   1   10   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
Camped here on a weekend. Excellent base camp, close to many area attractions. Staff is very friendly. Escort to site. They loaned me a longer power and cable TV cable. Firewood is delivered to the site. Clean grounds, gravel and grass sites. Pools were very clean, but partially shaded. Activities on the weekends. Nice camp store. I asked for the nearest market, the lady handed me pre-printed directions to a stop-n-shop and a Walmart. My in-laws came for an overnight stay and were allowed to set up a tent on our site. Lots of seasonals here and no sewer. You can drop grey water, but the in-ground drywell in very small and fills quickly. It only accept a small garden hose. They do have a dump station just outside the main entrance. We would definitely consider coming back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
My family camped here and found it to be a extremely clean campground. The snack bar was a big hit for us, no need to cook. Then ice cream for desert huge scoop on a cone for under three dollars. The staff are friendly, escort to your site, owners on site working daily. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
We stayed here four nights. Excellent "base camp". Short drive to New Haven, New London, Groton, Mystic and many other cities. Family owned/operated; very friendly and helpful. Family resort atmosphere. Excellent facilities with ice cream bar and variety of snack foods avail. Large number of seasonal visitors, indicating a satisfied base. We definitely will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
I camped here in July, had a great time, very atentive staff and friendly. They have a snack bar with a wonderful ice cream stand. The bathrooms are spotless, sites are large. We also like the fact there is two pools pleanty of room to swim. I would highly recomend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
I would say this campground caters to seasonals mostly. Dead moths and hair on the sinks and the floor in the bathroom, as well as full trash can all day. These were noted even right after they came out from cleaning. No attempt at privacy between sites. Management seems not to care about customer service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Very nice family owned and run campground. Sites are dirt/gravel and mostly level. We did have a few choices for our 40' MH that were easy to get into. Only 30amp service, but it worked well. Water and grey water hook ups. Honey wagon available twice a week at no additional charge. Water pressure good. Cable TV and Wi-Fi worked well. Lots of activities for children and adults. Two pools, both well maintained. We stayed a month and will be back next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
This appeared to be good campground for families camping in trailers or pop-ups, but I certainly would not recommend it for anyone in a large Class A motorhome. Although we were told our site was a pull-through, there was no way we could have reached it with a vehicle in tow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Absolutely the best family owned and operated campground. Friendly seasonal campers. This is our second time returning to this campground and we will be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
I camped here in June and what a great campground. Family run place, a very friendly escort to your site they make sure you have everything you need. If you need a cord or hose they lend it to you. I did have one probelm while camping here, I believe it was the other reviewer. This older couple cussed like troopers at each other and their dogs and staff. Try this park you will love it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Very nice family run park. The sites are cozy, if you are in a big rig; make sure you explain that to them. The roads are bumpy but not full of potholes. Plenty of shade, beautiful bathrooms and showers. Nice laundry area. Plenty of places to take a nice walk. Land has been cleared and a walkway has been put in. 2 nice size pools that are crystal clear. They even have a small petting farm: couple of goats and a donkey!! The owners are very hands on; they will come by and say Hi, and make sure everything is OK. Lots of seasonals, but they are all very well kept. Security gate, with a pass key. We would come back here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$44
This park is strictly for seasonal. The transients get put in one section that is the worst set up I have ever seen. Sites are unlevel all utilities are grouped together 4 to a pole, roads in and out of section is rutted and full of holes. Staff is the owners kids and if you make one unhappy their father the most foul mouthed bully I have ever seen in a public place will come to your rig and threaten to throw you out as this is his campground. Would not go back there under any circumstances. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
An excellent campsite with very friendly and professional staff. Lots of activities. People are very respectful of others. Would definitely choose this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
This is a lovely campground. We camp here at least once during the season; this year we were here twice. The sites up front on the road, seem to work best for us. There are a lot of activities and events going on at this campground: very family friendly. We always see groups of children walking by having a good time. It's a nice atmosphere. Relaxed, but not overly so. The staff is attentive. The sites are maintained and kept clean. Some are more level than others, but thats to be expected given the layout of the land. Cable and Wi-Fi have always worked well for us, as has the water and the greywater drain. In extreme heat (I mean, 100+) the electrical for the campground gets strained a bit, so if you're a big rig like us, try to be polite and not run your AC (or both of them) at 67 degrees. There are quite a few seasonals here, but they are very friendly, as is the staff. Very pet-friendly too. Bring an extension cord and a long hose (they say this on their website) as the hookups are far from where you camp. Overall, a nice campground. We like it here and will continue to camp here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
The last person whom wrote the review was not a nice lady. I'm the seasonal walking in the road with my children and asked her to slow down. She returned to the campground 1/2 hour later and sped past the bocce court again. I reported her to the owner. I witnessed him speaking to her. She spoke over him several times and admitted to being "spitefully" and speeding again. The owner told her to slow down because she was only hurting him when speeding in his park. She was nasty all weekend, I was here and glared at me every time she saw me. Remember children playing in campgrounds should be safe! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
We had really looked forward to our stay here. By the end of the trip, it is, by far, the worst place we ever stayed. As a previous poster had said the owner is rude. He came down to speak to me, he was obnoxious. He also, decides who has to obey the rules and who doesn't. His own people, in their golf carts speed, constantly (as does he). The site was dirty, I had to clean it up, there were candy wrappers, cigarette butts and food all over the place. His Wi-Fi was just awful. My husband had to work and he had more trouble staying online. The bath rooms and showers were very clean, until the weekend came, then it was just a disaster. The seasonal campers for the most part were rude and unfriendly. A few were very nice. Due to the owners dislike of me (or at least my perception due to the way he treated us all week) he managed to see my son coming back to out site (he was a few minutes late from curfew, to be fair) He ripped into my 12yo son about being out and his last remark to my son was "let me guess your from site 66" he's a bully at best. All I can say is I hope he doesn't treat everyone the way he treated us. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
I checked in and was escorted to my site. The young man was kind and made sure I was happy with my set up. You do need an extention cord for your electrical. I had enough hose (50') for water, and the gray was closer. The sites are mostly level on gravel and grass. The pool was small but clean, the kids were having a great time. I walked over to the goats and the kids were feeding them some grass. The basketball court is out in the sun and I only saw a couple kids throwing the ball around. Overall a very nice campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$40
Wow, I really have to wonder if the last reviewer is sure they are reviewing the right campground. Previous reviewer states only kids were working here on Halloween weekend. This is totally in no way true. This campground is family owned by a couple with teenager/adult children. The owners are here 24/7. Do their teenaged kids help out? YES, it's a family business. We camped here many times in 2007 including the Halloween weekend mentioned. We feel it's a very safe place for our children and it's one of the reasons we keep going back. This campground is very well run, and troublemakers, including seasonals, are kicked out and not allowed back. The owner runs a very tight ship here, and rule breaking is not tolerated. If the below camper had a problem with seeing 1 or 2 people drinking at the dance then he should have reported it to the owner who would have taken care of things immediately. I have never seen the outward drinking that is mentioned in the previous review. We find Salem Farms to be a great family campground that's quiet, well run and with pleasant seasonals. We'll be returning many times this year, and are looking forward to it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
This is a pretty clean campground. No sewer but convenient dump station on your way out. Friendly however lack of adult supervision apparent. Only saw kids working during the weekend. Free wi-fi a plus but no cable a downer. Halloween weekend was fun. Only huge complaint that will keep us from seasonal here is the outward drinking. No coozie's, no solo cups. In fact..during a dance there were people passing a bottle like a bunch of hobo's. We pulled our kids from the dance for this reason. Kids need to stay young and innocent as long as possible. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
We've stayed here multiple times this summer and have had a great time on every visit. Transient sites are all grouped in one area are nicely sized and mostly level and include water, electric and greywater hookups. If your electrical cord isn't long enough you can borrow one in the office, you just need to leave a valid credit card number to encourage you to bring it back. You can get a pump out on site or use the dump station when leaving. Sites are gravel and most have nice shade with some sun. We've been there with heavy rain and there's no water pooling. Each site has a fire ring and garbage and recycling cans which is really nice. Plenty of activities to keep the kids busy. The front pool is for young children with parents and the back pool is for the older crowd. Snack bar in the evenings and breakfast on weekend mornings were really good and reasonably priced. This is a very dog friendly campground and there's lots of them there. Everyone seems to pick up after their dogs and I never saw any messes. Quiet hours are officially till 8AM, however, unofficially it's 9 and it's really nice not to be woken up at the crack of dawn by screaming kids. This is by far one of my favorite campgrounds, it's family run and the seasonals are all really friendly. We will return here often. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
We've stayed here twice - our latest being this June. This is a campground with quite a bit going on. There are two pools, the one in the front is for the smaller kids and adults, the one in the rear is for the older, rowdy kids. There are a lot of other activities and things to do - daily hayrides, etc. This is a very family oriented campground. Most sites are seasonal but there is an area in the middle of the campground for the transients. The further down the hill you go, the better the sites seem to be. Our first time here was in 2005 and it was over 100 degrees and the campground DID have power issues when folks had to turn on their A/C units. This did not go over well with me. We decided to give them another try this year and I do not regret it as this time, it went a lot better (It also wasn't very hot! mid-80's). This campground is dog-friendly, we walked our dogs around and there are plenty of places to "potty" them. They've added on-site trash cans, (one for garbage,and one for recycling), which was very nice. There is also a little area up front where the goats are and for a quarter, you can feed them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$50
Camped here for Memorial Day Weekend. Owner and staff very nice. A lot of seasonal sites - everyone we met was friendly. Kids had fun with all the activities. Bathrooms and showers (pay) were clean, as was the overall campground. Site was a bit on the small side, but adequate. Free, easy to connect to WiFi from site with very good signal. No cable, but got major local channels using antenna. We will return for Labor Day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$40
My family and i camped at this park over the summer of 2006. We enjoyed our stay very much. There is a lot going on for the children and it is very relaxing! The weekend we camped there, they had a small children's fair, which was the first time they were trying it out and it was great. Then that night they had a d.j. for entertainment. they have two pool, two playgrounds ( they are planning to put a new playscape in one of them). They also have a small petting zoo with 5 goats who are very friendly. The management is all family owned and operated and they all seem to like what they are doing and always make you feel comfortable when you stay. Their seasonals are also friendly and make you feel welcome. Sites have water, electric and gray water. They are pretty big and price ranges are very reasonable. i would definitely recommend this park to others with children who are looking for a friendly family campground!It's a great place and we will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$40
I have to sigh while writing this. To start, people have told me that the new owners bought the campground two years ago, and are working hard on improving it. The great majority of the park seems to be seasonals, most all are very well maintained. My biggest problem with the campground is the rates. Considering they are on the high side, I expected more. Anyway. . . Our site was clean and shaded. It was a gravel site, which turned out to be very good. Sites are good sized for a private campground, ours was narrow but long. There is a "duck pond" with sites around it, but I wouldn't consider that "water front". Hookups were positioned so that two sites would share one, we needed extensions to reach ours, that's fine. The problem was that they only had the big 30amp plug style electrical box, friends with a small camper couldn't plug in with a standard extension cord (the store offered to sell them an adapter). I hadn't run into that before. Most all sites have grey water drains. I checked "Don't know" for sewer hookups, is grey water considered sewer? They didn't have a whole lot of activities for kids. You can get breakfast at the campstore many mornings, people said it was very good at reasonable prices. The campstore is small, with camping essentials and snacks. It was strange that they closed it on Sunday afternoon from 1-1:30PM, when checkout is 2PM. We almost always stop at the campstore when checking out to pickup snacks for the road, they may have lost business with the unusual midday closing time, I don't know if that is normal practice. They have a PA system they use for annoucements. They didn't use it too often, but I usually couldn't understand what they were saying and I ended up finding it annoying. The "hayride" was free, and family enjoyed it. They had a big bonfire with two musicians, that was enjoyable. Playgrounds are minimal, could definitely use more equipment. Bathrooms were clean and neat! Shower stalls were setup well, each with their own changing area with curtain. But, they were pay showers. For the rates they charge, I don't see how campers should have to pay for a shower. A lot of rules, but generally your standard campground rules. A bit unusual was "quiet time" lasts until 9:00AM. We get up early, and with young kids it can be difficult to keep them quiet until then (I know they are our own kids and we are responsible for them, but that is late in the morning). There are many rules regarding pets (dogs) that they enforce, but they are reasonable. Okay, the big kicker was the dump station. It is actually outside of the campground off the main road, although on campground property. It is gravel, the dump "pipe" is positioned 5" above the ground, so your flexible dump tube has to make a pretty good turn to go up and into it. There is no way to rinse off the area if there is a spill. The previous camper must have had an "accident" while dumping, because that wasn't brown mud around the dump pipe. I wasn't happy with the dump station. Now, we did have a good time while camping here. Our friends enjoyed themselves and want to come back, and we will probably return next year. I just think the rates are high for what you are getting in general. This could turn into a really good campground if the owners keep on working on it, as I am told they are. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com