214506 User submitted reviews online!!
Crystal Rock Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (419) 684-7177
CGID4240

Crystal Rock Campground

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   8   7   6   9   1   9   10   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
Nice folks run this place. Roads passable but tight. Makes back-in sites tough to get into with a bigger rig. Bathrooms/showers were older but clean and in good order. Luckily we were not there at a busy time as the sites were very tight for our rig. Water hookups for every other site on the wrong side. Fine for an overnight stay, which is just what we did. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
This is definitely a place we will return to. The owners bought it one year ago and you can tell have made significant improvements. Very shady sites with grass. Extremely friendly owners always driving around checking to make sure we are satisfied. Relatively quiet during the day and evening because most are at Cedar Point Amusement Park. Would give it a "10" if they had a pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$44
We had a pleasant stay at Crystal Rock. We were greeted by a friendly staff, and were placed in the exact site that we were told upon reservation. The campground is easy to access, and convenient to the city of Sandusky as well as Lake Erie's western basin. The facilities are clean and well kept, and the owners are relatively new. Previously, the camp had been allowed to degrade some, and the current owners are doing a good job in bringing it back to life. We would most certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
We stayed here 3 nights. This park was just bought by a retired couple (well they were retired ;), earlier this Summer and they are working hard to renovate an old campground that needs a lot of work. Give it a year or 2 and this will be a 9 or 10 if they keep working on it like they have been. Already, they have added a nice game room with pool table, ping pong, and games. They have weekly events including a Sunday Breakfast and Saturday Corn Roast - both yummy! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is very convenient to Sandusky and the Islands, but is quiet! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
We stayed here one month. This is an old campground that needs a lot of renovation. The pull-thrus are very close to each other with tight turns on the gravel roadways. The electric service delivered about 108 to 110 volts during heavy air conditioner use. The "game-room" is a couple of machines in the office. The website ad is misleading. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We appreciated receiving packages and mail during our one month stay. The location is very convenient to the Erie Island area attractions, while still being remote enough to be considered camping. Caution - bring LOTS of ant pesticide. Our site was loaded with ants and mounds. We would stay here again but only for a night, not one month. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$37
Crystal Rock is a well run campground in a great location far enough away to get out of the hustle and bustle, but close enough to many attractions to be convenient. Sites are a good size, mostly grassy, and divided between partly sunny to shaded. It rained quite a bit during our stay and the campground seemed to drain well with no sites retaining excess water or runoff. The restroom and shower house on the north side is a short walk from any site. The facilities were clean and completely functional. One of the things I liked is a community camp fire which it seems goes on every night. A few nights that I didn't feel like building a fire I was able to hang out there. The staff there are very friendly, helpful, and seem to be willing to do whatever it takes to make your stay enjoyable. One night one of the staff even went to help someone get their fire started as they seemed to be having trouble. Something I noticed was that when you buy firewood from them you also get some kindling and a firestarter brick. They are making improvements to the campground from my observation from last year to this visit. Some of the utilities have been improved (more 50amp sites), they are adding cable hookups, and wifi is now available in the campground (no extra charge for wifi). It also looks like they're adding a pizza oven for next season which looks like fun! The only thing that detracts is some kind of pump/machinery that runs intermittently on the far north side of the property. If you're looking for total and complete silence it may be bothersome from time to time. It certainly was not enough to keep you awake or drown out conversation or anything. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
This is an old KOA; great place if you tent camp. If you need hookups this place is the pits! New owner has a lot of work to bring this place up to standards. He told me that the campground was dropped by Good Sams this season. The few hookup sites (30 amp) are dirt, no grass left. The one and only 50 amp sites does not have sewer. The campground is miles from anywhere and hard to get to on narrow farm roads with no signs to direct you. The only true statement in the ad was the wi-fi did work; the rest of the ad is very misleading. Pass on this one unless you are tent camping and just want to be out in the country. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
Rate reflects Good Sam. This was a accidental stay, as we left our original campground for lack of services, and needed a quick solution nearby to Cedar Point. The sites are a bit unlevel and dirt. There are lots of trees and most sites a shady. The staff was very nice and knowledgeable of the area. They had a good laundry and we had a full hookup. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
Camp staff stated that they were new owners of the campground. We noticed that this park had very few campers, but were very surprised at how friendly the staff was. They delivered wood to our site and came back multiple times to see if we needed anything. We camp very often and have never been taken care of so well. Campsites are very big and the rates are very cheap compared to some of the other campgrounds in the area, and they don't nickel and dime you like other campgrounds regarding guests. I would recommend this campground and will stay here in the future! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$26
We camped at this park for Memorial Weekend and wondered why it was so empty compared to other campgrounds - now we know why. The owners seemed nice at first, but they're only in it for the money. We had a couple people come stay with us and didn't pay the extra $4/person, only to be confronted by the owner with a nasty attitude. He seemed to drink beer all day and when he confronted us, he seemed to be drunk. He came back to apoligize, but it was too late because he already left a bad impression. During our stay, we witnessed another camp group get kicked out of the park. I've been camping for years and have never had a bad experience at a campground, until now. I would not recommend this campground to others. Maybe that's why they're selling the park (even though they just bought it), because they don't quite know how to run it? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
The voltage at our site was less than 100 VAC, it should be 115 minimum. This was with just the TV operating. Went to the office and the sent a fellow out with his voltmeter. He did not think it was that big a problem, I explained that it is a VERY big problem. I found that the voltage on the site next to us was 114 VAC and it was not rented so I plugged in there. They have some serious power issues at this campground. The restrooms and showers were excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
This was a clean, well-taken-care-of campground. The camp sites are fairly roomy, with lots of mature trees. The office people were friendly and helpful. When I informed them that someone had left a mess in the restroom, it was taken care of very quickly. The store is not very complete - just the basics. The campground has a very nice-sized, clean pool. We had a very strong cell phone signal at the campground. This campground is a good base for going to downtown Sandusky, Cedar Point, Catawba, Marblehead, Put-in-Bay, and Kelly's Island. We enjoyed our 4 night stay very much, and we would definitely stay at Crystal Rock Campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2005
$29
No scheduled activities. Playground for little kids was pathetic. Close to Cedar point and Lake Erie. Camp store had very little to offer. Only good if you plan on spending your entire day off camp property. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2005
$28
We chose this campground to save money over the more expensive parks located closer to Cedar Point (20 minutes drive). It's a good place to stay if most of your time will be spent at the amusement park. Bathrooms were clean most of the time, there's a small pool and playground, and laundry facilities. Very limited grocery items and supplies in office with no store nearby. Sites are mostly open with shade trees, some are wooded. Limited number of pull-thru sites with full hookups. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com