221757 User submitted reviews online!!
Clayton Lake State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (575) 374-8808
CGID4245

Clayton Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
37
Date of Stay
September 2011
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   5   7   8   8   9   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$10
I loved this park. It is 12 miles from town but the paved road is in good condition. The roads into the 2 developed campground loops are good but the road to the primitive camping areas is badly washed out. Of the 2 loops the one with electric and water is the least attractive but the sites all have a lake view and most are pull through. There is not much privacy between sites. There is plenty of room for big rigs. Reservations should be made for W&E sites. I found one of my best ever tent sites on the undeveloped loop. It was lakeside and very private. There was a large picnic table on a paved pad with a cover. The parking area was badly washed but I had no trouble getting in and out. The loop without W&E has a few sites suitable for RVs if you don't mind a little leveling in exchange for larger private sites. Clayton SP is known for its fishing, birding and its 500 dinosaur tracks. It's an easy hike to the dinosaur tracks. Don't miss them. I would definitely stay here again. Be advised that there are many areas in NM, even along major highways, where cell service is unavailable including this park. If you can't live without it stay close to towns. We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$18
We did not stay here but would have liked to if they had the 50amp electric service that they told us they did on the phone. The views from the camp site were amazing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
Stayed in site E4 (electric and water). Site is your basic average state park. Did not use it but there is a shower house, condition unknown. It rained 3 of the 4 nights we stayed here. All the sights are on the side of a hill leading down to the lake. During the rains all sorts of debris and gravel was washed down hill. The road out of the campground was almost washed out. Park ranger was very friendly and helpful. His assistant, however, was anything but. In fact, rude and inconsiderate come to mind. Entrance to the park is down a steep switchback road. The road between Clayton and the park is narrow, winding and prone to flooding and washout. During one night of rain we were prevented from going into town because the road was flooded and closed. Be advised, there is absolutely no cell phone service available at the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
Good for an overnight. Utilities were not super as we had to run water heater on gas. Sites pretty level. Would stay here again if passing through the area. Not real great for a final destination. Not much for the kids to do except putt-putt, which is not free. Also, you can sometimes smell the goat farm across the street. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$4
Nice park but only has 7 electric sites. It was off season and they weren’t taking reservations so we had 3 sites to pick from. Good water pressure, no problems with the power, 50 amp in site E1, the rest are 30 amp. This park does not have a dump station but for $8.00 you can dump in town at the KOA campground. No cell or aircard service even with a booster. People were catching good sized trout while we were there. Days were windy but warm and all and all a good little park. There are other areas to dry camp but the roads are a little rough. This park does not have a gate that they lock at night like some of the other state parks in New Mexico. This park could use one since there was a lot of traffic late at night on the weekend. People coming and going at all hours and we think they were kids coming in to party. As we left and were driving into Clayton we couldn’t believe how many beer bottles we saw lying on the side of the road that had been tossed out car windows. We would stay here again midweek during their off season. Price reflects our annual park pass rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$14
We camped there twice over Thanksgiving week, which is off-season for this campground, and we were the only ones there both times. If you want seclusion and privacy, this is the time and place to go. I am not sure how crowded or hot it is during the summer season, and we didn't use the bathrooms so we can't comment on them either. However, we had deer, rabbits and geese in the place, and the kids got a big kick out of the (real) dinosaur footprints up on the dam. There are seven electric sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$4
This park is a real surprise. You wouldn’t believe that this canyon is hidden on rolling plains and volcanic lava flows. Prime attraction are dinosaur tracks and the lure of record sized walleye. Upside: Extremely friendly and helpful staff, quiet remote location but close enough to town and necessities, interesting nature trails, RV spots are close to water, space 1 has 50A service, bald eagle resident in the winter. Downside: no cell phone service, no black water dump, only one flush toilet in men’s room, bathrooms not very clean, lake is closed to fishing in winter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$4
This is a lovely state park with terrific staff. It is very pretty and peaceful. We had a pull-through site with 30amp and water. There is no dump station. There is a lovely nature trail and a world reknown dinosaur trackway along with a great visitor center. There is a mini observatory/telescope and we had a great night sky program. This is a significant birding area recognized by Audubon so we saw all kinds of birds (raptors, water fowl, turkeys, song birds) along with deer, porcupine, etc. Cell phone service is iffy unless you go to higher ground. The park is about 10 or 12 miles from the cute historic town of Clayton where you can get supplies, have a good meal, and visit a terrific museum. The price reflects our annual camping pass with the $4 electric fee. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$14
We arrived late, after dark, but easily found a campsite, with hookups. When we awoke we were pleasantly supressed to find we were camped near a cliff at the edge of a pretty little quarry-looking lake. This was just an overnight stop for us; so we didn't stay long, but we would go back again. The place was clean and looked like it had just been remodeled. Each site had a covered metal picnic table. Most sites are on or overlook the lake. Nice views! We didn't use the toilet/shower facilities, but did make a stop at a very clean pit toilet. The State park is down a small two lane road, 10 miles from Clayton, which makes it just a bit remote. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$14
A beautiful location with views of the lake. There is a boat ramp onsite. The down side is that there are only 7 electric & water sites and only 3 are first come first serve, the other four are on the reservation system which costs another $9 for each reservation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$10
Dinosaur trackway, containing more than 500 footprints dating back more than 100 million years. The park does not have a dump station. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com