214930 User submitted reviews online!!
Raton Pass Camp and Cafe (Formerly Cedar Rail) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 113 user reviews. Phone: (575) 445-8500
CGID4248

Raton Pass Camp and Cafe (Formerly Cedar Rail)

Camp Information
Sites
39
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   9   10   8   9   9   8   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$28
Excellent location. Amazing views and easy access right at the top off raton pass off I -25. They offer a great dinner and breakfast. Everything is homemade. Highly recommend. Great owners and clean and peaceful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$28
Rates reflects Mil/Vet rate. A lovely, quiet, and clean private park at the top of Raton Pass. Level gravel sites and beautiful vista across the valley and down to the Pass. Great WiFi, but don't download or play games. Spotless combined laundry, restroom, and shower facility. For an extra treat, they have homemade and reasonably priced dinners and scratch desserts. Would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$31
Fabulous views from this top of a ridge campground. Easy to get into as office staff guide you to your spot. We were in a pull-through with plenty of space for our 4 slides. Spotless maintenance. Campground is all small pea gravel, so NO dust. Family owned and all the staff very nice. Several hiking trails off of the area. Electric 50 amp power , water all strong and satellite RV reception strong. No cable. Better Wi-Fi reception down near the office. Easy off the highway to the campground location. This is a EXCELLENT retreat. Stop at office / cafe to register. Breakfast and some dinners available in cafe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
This is a great overnight stop that is equal distance between Raton and Trinidad. It's easy on and off I-25, but there isn't a lot of road noise. Staying a couple extra days would serve the purpose of getting acclimatized to high altitudes before venturing into Colorado. Check-in was friendly and I was lead to my site. The entire campground is gravel, flat, and there are no issues with big rigs. If you're a 5er with a rear window, I would suggest a back-in overlooking the valley. The views are spectacular. There is a picnic table, but fires are not allowed. Voltage was excellent. The water pressure was a bit high so use a regulator to be safe. Verizon cell service is very spotty and without 3/4G. WiFi is satellite based so a tad slow, but the connection was solid. No pet area, but the CG is surrounded by wooded areas. They have a small cafe. My home-cooked style breakfast was tasty and not expensive. The owners live on site and seem to take great pride in their facility. Rate reflects military discount for four people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
Since this park is at the top of Raton Pass, the temps are nice and cool. The view of the valley to the south is gorgeous. There is minimal shade, but it doesn't matter since it is so cool. The owners are super nice and accommodating and ask you about any possible discounts for which you may qualify. The restrooms & showers could not be any cleaner. Breakfast is served every day and is not only very good but inexpensive as well. I had eggs, bacon, fries, biscuit and coffee for $5.99. Dinner is served a few days a week as well. This is a great place to stop after driving in hot Texas weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$29
The rate reflects an Escapees discount and includes tax. This campground is very oddly configured, but the view is absolutely beautiful. Best sites for view are 10, 11, 12 & 13. People are very friendly. Bath/shower rooms are roomy and clean. There are two washers and two dryers in the same building as the bath/shower rooms. If you're looking for a good place to eat, go to K-Bob's in Raton. Good food, great service, reasonable prices. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
I always describe "value for cost" from my own perspective, and what we found at Raton Pass is a heck of a "value." Views from 7850' and to the south are outstanding! Sites no more than half-a-bubble off from level. Pea-gravel clean, and not dusty. Power also clean (50 amp), and the water tastes good, with good pressure. Upper-level sites have plenty of maneuver room (they lead you to site and help position), with no overhead obstructions; yes, it's a little close, but plenty of room for slides and the provided picnic tables. Wi-Fi really strong, although the up-link is satellite, so don't expect to do high bandwidth activities (watching movies, etc.), and try to be considerate of other users. Restrooms/showers look brand new - tile walls/epoxy floors; plenty of room even for old fat guys (me) to shower with ease. Yes, there's a bit of road noise from the adjacent over-the-pass 4-lane, but it's really negligible compared to other places we've stayed. And yes, the incline between the office and the main area could be daunting (steep) for flat-landers, however it's well-maintained and should be no issue for anyone's equipment. Can't say it's "kid-friendly," particularly if you're looking for playgrounds and games and typical activities into which to dump your kids, but if they enjoy being able to sit on a bluff and watch wildlife and weather (up close)...(you have exceptional kids). And a meal at the office is an added (unadvertised) bonus - albeit seemingly hit-or-miss schedule, i.e., the cook's choice to cook or not that day. We lucked out on our morning - breakfast was great! If you're staying in the local area, it's only six miles from Raton and only fifteen miles from Trinidad, and it's worth camping up here. Otherwise - it's a great one-night stop-over, or a planned overnight on any other trip up/down I-25, which is what now is for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$29
Rate reflects SKP discount and includes tax. This campground is very oddly configured, but the view is absolutely beautiful. Best sites for view are 10, 11, 12 & 13. People are very friendly. Bath/shower rooms are roomy and clean. There are two washers and two dryers in the same building as the bath/shower rooms. If you're looking for a good place to eat, go to K-Bob's in Raton. Good food, great service, reasonable prices. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
Nice park for a over nighter. Level sites. However, keep in mind you are at the top of a pass so the weather and wind are not the best. Views are fantastic though. The lady in the office came out while we pulled in and took us straight to our site. We would stay here again as long as its only a one nighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2014
$31
This park has 2 names. Raton Pass Camp and Cafe and Cedar Rails. The website show 2 different parks. Cedar Rails on bottom and Raton Pass on top. If you go to the top park, Raton Pass, the lady from the Cedar Rails office will chew you out for not stopping there first. My view was of a sheer rocky bluff 50 feet off my front bumper and I-25 out my side window. Water usage is limited, as is sewer and wi-fi. There is no cable tv service. Their rules are very clear as to the amount of these items that you can use per day. (don't bathe the kids) Sharp turns make access by big rigs not fun. I will definitely not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$31
This is a nice little RV park with nice large gravel sites. We stayed in a motorhome and had plenty of room.The views are beautiful here. Our AT&T hotspot worked great here.The lady that checked us in was very nice and helpful. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
Great overnight stop as we traveled from Denver. I didn't read the directions and we went one stop on I-25, heading south, past it. You get off at the same exit as the weigh station. We did turn around and on the north route it's clearly marked and easy entry to the park. Well sited on a hill overlooking the area with a good pull through we were happy for the night. We'd stay there again. Didn't use any amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$27
Nice park. Not all that much there, but great view. Good electric and ok Internet. Quite place and pretty level spots. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
Stayed here for two days while we visited the area. Great little campground. Clean and well maintained. The campground is located at the top of Raton Pass with great views of the surrounding countryside. Pay close attention to the exit instructions if you are traveling south on I-25 as the exit is shared with the truck weigh/inspection station and you can easily miss the ramp to the campground. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
Well maintained campground, but don't think it has 39 sites (was automatically added to review, did not count but think 25 would be more accurate). Beautiful views! No cable, since our satellite was on the fritz and no air stations w/ antenna. Good level gravel sites...ours was a pull through. Water pressure sometimes weak, but not bad, overall. Easy access to I-25 exit 460 (weigh station shares this exit). Friendly staff. Our rate reflects discount (Good Sam). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
Perfect overnight stop. At the top of Raton Pass, with really nice views. No frills park. Restaurant was closed due to issues with person who runs it. Would stay here again on way to Denver. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
This campground is right on the border of NM and CO. It is at an elevation of 7800 ft. The exit (#460) shares with the weigh station heading south. GPS says to go another 8 miles so be watchful. Good gravel interior roads and sites. No grass at all, basically a big parking lot. The views are spectacular. Opt for the back in sites if you are staying longer than an overnight. Staff was friendly. Positioned well between Trinadad and Raton. Did I mention the spectacular views? We will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$27
Small nice campground with spectacular views as others have said. Cool and windy at the top of the pass. Clean and neat with level sites. We opted for a pull through but recommend you call ahead to be sure there is a place for you. There was a bad storm, and people were pulling in looking for a place to get in out of it. Some just stopped and stayed in the campground road for the night. Price reflects a millitary discount. Staff friendly and helpful. Escort to site. Internet worked pretty well. Antenna TV worked well also. We have stayed here before and will do so again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
We used as an overnight spot on our way to Estes Park. As noted in other reviews, there is awesome scenery, clean bathroom, friendly staff, and sites level. While it was pet friendly, we had to hike a bit to find a place for the dogs. Elevation 7888ft so temps were cool. Wi-Fi was good during non peak hours. Verizon signal is good. Price reflects Good Sam Discount We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
This was intended to be an "over-nighter." It was such a nice, comfortable place, we stayed 3 days. This park is located at the very top of the Raton Pass at the border between New Mexico and Colorado. The views are spectacular!! Very nice family owned facility, if somewhat small. Lots of room between sites and good power. Water pressure is a bit low, but still adequate. Sites are gravel and level. No need to disconnect if you are just staying over-night. WIFI was good and reliable. A great place to just chill and decompress from the pressures of the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
Nice, quiet park. Absolutely spectacular 360 degree views. Check in was great - site was level - good water pressure. Only stayed one night, but would definitely return. Thanks for a great stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
This is definitely a park going on my always go to list. Easy to find and maneuver and the best part are the owners. Very friendly and helpful folks which makes you enjoy the stay before you even unhook. Whether you are looking for a one night stop in Raton or you want to explore the Raton-Trinidad area for a few days, you won't beat this park in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
This campground is at the top of Raton Pass and very easy to get to. The owners are very helpful. We stayed one night as a stop over on our way to Colorado. I would recommend this campground for a few nights, but there are no amenities that would make you want to stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
One of our favorite stop over parks. A nice change from the bustle in big cities. Air is clean. Views are great. All gravel, reasonably level, good power and water. Verizon wireless and satellite worked fine, as did the local Wi-Fi. Easy access, but don't go over the edge! Friendly owners. We'll be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$27
Nice view. Easy in and out when traveling north on I-25. Friendly staff. Park is now called "Raton Pass RV Park" and is fairly close to Trinidad, CO. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
We stayed two nights at this RV park at the top of Raton Pass. The owners were very nice and helpful. The weather was terrible (snowing, cold, and hard freeze) so we stayed the second night when they advised us the road north on our travels would be hazardous. We froze up so had to use their restroom facilities. They were spotless. Good pull-through spaces available. We pull a 33' travel trailer. Would definitely recommend their facility to other travelers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$27
We`ve stayed here before, & have enjoyed the view each time -- The sites are very easy to manuver in a 42ft motorhome with tow -- The sites are level & gravel -- We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$27
Great place for a overnight stay. Owner was super nice. Site was large pull thru with excellent utilities. Place sits up on a knoll with beautiful scenery. The restrooms were spic and span clean. This place is just for stopovers in our opinion not much to do. Otherwise it would be a ten. Easy access off and on Rt 25. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Gorgeous views, clean and quiet, super nice owner and staff. Internet speed was excellent and free. Cedar Rail is located at the top of Raton Pass on I-25 north of Raton. We will camp here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
Price does not reflect discounts. Beautiful park on top of the pass overlooking the valley. Nice cool breeze in the evening. W/D are 1.25 ea., dryers work great. Staff is very friendly, so are their dogs. Covenient location for Trinidad and day trips around Raton (volcano, state park, NRA Whittington Ctr and Wildlife Refuge) Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
I gave this campground an excellent rating. The restrooms were clean and nice, the campground is small but on the pass it is scenic, cool at night and the staff is very friendly. It is a comfortable place to stop and get a relaxing rest while traveling this great nation of ours. While here, the hummingbirds were everywhere. They were looking for food and kept approaching my wife's red hanky. We took a large bottle cap and made some sugar water and placed it on our bumper with the red hanky heaped over the cap. The birds studied it for a bit then went to feeding with us 4 foot away taking pictures. I guess that was our entertainment for the evening. People were very friendly and we enjoyed chatting with other campers here. We enjoyed our stay here very much. The staff seem to make every effort to make your stay a good one. I commend them. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Great location near the top of Raton Pass, with beautiful views from the upper-level sites. Very good coarsely crushed rock sites and roads. Excellent Internet service. Very clean restrooms! Very friendly staff. Would probably rate this campground a 10 if the sites were a little wider, but we will always gladly stay here when traveling between home and Colorado. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Cedar Rail is located at the top of Raton Pass on I-25 north of Raton. Owners and staff are very friendly. There is an upper and lower RV area; both areas are all gravel and very clean. One is basically on the mountain top - great views! Wi-Fi was strong and free, but campers are asked to limit up/downloading and gaming. The WiFi is connected to satellite ISP. T-Mobile cellular was strong. RV park is above the interstate, so there is very little road noise despite how near the interstate is located. We will camp here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Overnight stay. A basic campground in a beautiful setting at 8000+ ft. Friendly owners and quiet despite freeway being close. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
We were led to our FHU pull-through site. It’s a beautiful little CG with a nice view and super clean air at the top of Raton Pass. Many lovely hummingbirds. The water is superb. We needed a couple blocks to level in front. You need a code for each device needing WiFi, available at the office, but it’s free and had good speed. Verizon signal was a bit weak. Be careful to put your grill in at night and put your trash in the bear-safe container. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
We were very pleased with the RV Park. It was the perfect half-way stop between Denver, Colorado, and Albuquerque, New Mexico on I-25. Because it is located at the top of Raton Pass, it was a tad cooler. Very friendly owners. Clean sites. Will stay here in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
We plan our trips to make this an overnight stop. We love the location with a great view over the valley. The owners are friendly and the laundry and restrooms are excellent. Spaces are a little tight but OK for a big rig. Perfect overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
This is a great place for a one-night stay. At 7888' elevation, it is nice and cool with good views. Staff is friendly, efficient, and helpful. Restrooms and showers are clean. Wi-fi is good enough (36 mbps) and easy to access. Gravel sites are almost level, and the general appearance of the park is clean and tidy. Although not a destination park, we would definitely stay here again overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
I agree with earlier reviewers. I just wanted to mention the Verizon service. I was told, when I made the reservation that the Verizon signal would not be good, but I had no trouble getting a voice or air card to work. So maybe Verizon has improved their signal quality recently. An OK overnight stop. Great views. Great spring water. Great staff. I will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
Great park for a couple nights. The management is great and led us right to our spot. The space was difficult to get totally level but we got it well enough. Lots of hummingbirds so we deployed a feeder. Total hookups were adequate. Well water is great here. Beautiful views in all directions. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
Smaller campground with great views at the top of Raton Pass. High water pressure and the quality was great,. The water source is a mountain spring. No cable, Wi-Fi worked well at first, then quit. Friendly staff, gravel roads and sites well maintained. Right next to I-25 but very little road noise. Ten miles from town so stock up before you arrive. Would use this park again for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
This well cared for park is at exit 460 at the top of Raton Pass. The sites and roads are all gravel but cared for. You have views of both NM and CO from here. The staff is friendly and caring; you will be brought to your site by someone. Just a note, if your engine is hot from the steep climb, when you pull in, don't shut it down until the temp is back down in the normal range. This will be a place we visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
The pull-thru's are located in the upper area. The grounds are gravel and almost level. Our Verizon air card and cell phone was very limited with only 1 bar on the phone and 1-2 on the air card so we used their Wi-Fi which worked great. Was concerned about getting the satellite since we parked next to the tree but it did hook on. The staff was very friendly and was escorted to our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
I stopped in for an overnight stay and was greeted by very friendly hosts. It is not a large park but very nice and well maintained. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. The park was quiet and had very beautiful views with all the mountains. The local shop for buying things was very nice since it is located between two cities and would be inconvenient if you had to go anywhere for food or shopping. Telephone service was not very good but the Internet service was available which was very helpful. I like this park and will return. Every time I pass this location I remember the pleasure of my stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
This is a convenient overnight stop, right off the I-25. We have stayed much farther from the interstate in other campgrounds and had a lot more noise than here. For some reason there was no interstate noise! We had a large pull-through site with FHU. Staff were very nice. There is a large book exchange. Laundry was clean, cost $1.25 wash and same for dry. Restrooms/showers were clean. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
We stopped without reservations and were greeted by friendly, efficient hosts. It was hot and this campground is cool even on the hottest day. It is small but the sites are plenty big for a 40' motorhome. The bathrooms and showers are some of the cleanest I have ever seen. The park was quiet at night despite being fairly close to the interstate and railroad. We did not hear any noise. The view is beautiful. We stayed again on our way back home and will stay again if we get the chance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$27
We came in without reservations on our way to the Balloon Fiesta in Albuquerque and got a back-in site. They gave us the Escapees discount and were very friendly and efficient during check-in. Views are beautiful from the top level of the park. Although close to I-25, it was extremely quiet overnight. WiFi is very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
This is a small campground right on top of the Raton Pass. If you are traveling south the exit is 460 and the sign will say “weight station”. Cross over the freeway and turn right. The campground is on the left. All sites have FHU with 20/30/50 amp electrical service. The sites and roads are on crushed gravel. All of the utilities are in the middle of the site. The electrical voltage was good. The bathroom and showers are clean. There are two washers ($1.25) and one dryer ($1.50) located in the bathroom area. Verizon air card only had one to two bars – somewhat usable. Verizon cell phone had one bar and sometimes worked. The campground had Wi-Fi but we did not use it. There is a large book exchange and an extensive DVD collection. One of the guests told us that they broke down about 70 miles from the campground. They called the campground and the owners drove back to their location, picked up the rig and towed it back to the campground. Now that was refreshing to hear! We would come back here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
Cedar Rail RV Park is located at the top of Raton Pass. (Commercial Exit 460 off of I-25.) When we reached the exit, the blue campground signs enabled us to locate the CG as the fog at the top was very thick. On a clear day look for the large red metal building as this is the registration office. We were pleased to receive their military discount but they certainly offer other “specials.” The CG is a two tiered property and we were on the top tier which afforded us a great view of Raton Pass the following day. Their bath house is excellent as is their Wi-Fi. They did suggest that we keep our dogs leashed and close as they have seen bears in the area. Their water pressure was about 40 pounds, so no pressure reducer was required but we always use one. We would use this as a stop-over park if we were passing through the area. The entire park is gravel sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
This campground is on top of Raton Pass. 50 amp shore power, sewer good, water was about 40psi. Wi-Fi is Hughes Satellite and if you have your computer to automatically download updates you will be blocked until you turn it off. Verizon Air Card worked with a Freedom antenna. Sites are gravel on top of a hill and are level. Room between sites are good. No problem getting satellite signal. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
We stayed here one night and were very pleased. The staff was very nice and they escorted us to our camp site. The spaces are kind of tight but are well worth it. The view is amazing. Showers were clean and had adequate water pressure. Our 43' fifth wheel fit perfectly in their spaces. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
Very nice overnight stay at the summit, and we welcomed the cool air. Noting spectacular about the park but a nice respite. We were parked on the gravel, and it didn't seem to be a real RV spot, but we were long and guess that was the only place we would fit. We are towing a small trailer. Very nice office staff. Get groceries before going there; as it's about 10 miles to town. The only place that my Verizon phone has not worked. I would stay here again. Nice and quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
What a delightful little Park. While the rest of the west was cooking, it was cool and beautiful. It's located on the boarder of Colorado & New Mexico at an altitude of 7800 ft. Very clean and helpful folks. Great place to stay and I would go back in a heart beat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$38
Very friendly staff and great place to stop for the night. The office and store was very clean and well stocked. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Overall, a very nice, clean RV park. Gorgeous views looking south over the Kiowa grasslands and other nearby mountain ranges (some still had snow). The Wi-Fi was spot on. We had no restrictions at all as to what websites we visited. We pretty much had the park to ourselves so that may explain the lack of issues with internet access. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. The access road coming from the north is a bit confusing but is clearly marked as exit 460. The weigh station is the same exit; however, it veers left while the road to the park veers right. Lots of signs to keep you on track. The main issue is the traffic noise from I-25. Also, the sites are situated in a circle with several sites in the middle so if the park was full it would probably feel a bit crowded. We left earlier than anticipated only because the wind was so severe at the pass. No fault of the CG but we kept half our slides pulled in to avoid damaging the awnings. We would stay here again at least for a night or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Coming from the north you must be very vigilant about watching for the exit because you have to go through the weigh station. If you miss it you have to go into Raton and then backtrack a few miles. The GPS is useless with this park. The view is breathtaking. They no longer give a Passport America discount because 'a customer was rude', a pretty sketchy reason in my opinion. Wi-fi limited to 25mb/day and you are not allowed to do anything but e-mail (no Facebook for instance). The sites are gravel and not too close to each other. We would stay here again if in the area but not a place to stay long-term I don't think. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
What makes this park worthwhile are the owners and the view. The campground itself is gravel, mostly level and provides some space between RVs. If you are staying more than overnight, try to get a place where your RV is looking down the valley toward Raton, it's really breathtaking. They rarely have a problem with bears, but it does happen and they keep you informed. We stay here every time we go to CO and return and each time we seem to stay longer in order to do more sightseeing. They have all the essentials here, so I'm always happy to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
Some of the most friendly owners we've met. Great spot for a day or two. Clean showers. Clean park. Wi-Fi speeds are limited, but we'd definitely come back when passing through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
This is a no frills park; it is not a resort type park. The restrooms and showers were very clean and usable. The laundry was in good shape, too. It is mostly gravel with a few trees and patches of grass. There is a small tent area with lots of grass. Sites were close to level and there was plenty of room to maneuver. The owner was helpful and friendly. My Verizon phone worked fine. My Verizon air card was marginal without my amplifier. With the amplifier it was a bit slow but still quite usable. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
We stayed here over the Labor Day weekend and found it to be a very nice family operated small park. Everything worked well and was well maintained. The restrooms, showers, and laundry were very clean and well lighted. The owners are very dog friendly, pleasant, and helpful. The sites were on the small size but had a great view of the surrounding mountains as the park is located at the top of Raton Pass @ 7900'. AT&T worked fine, Verizon was marginal. The park has Wi-Fi but limits your use to a certain amount per day. No recreation available there but all in all, a comfortable stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
Singularly one of the worst parks around. We expected a half price space but were informed they didn't honor any discount clubs. As other reviewers have noted the lack of TV or cell connectivity, the clerk checking us in was more interested in eating her sandwich than answering questions. No where for the dogs to walk or do their business. Gravel, brown grass, and mountains are the major characteristics of this park. Stop in Raton overnight or Trinidad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
We won't be staying here again. Gravel parking beside the park road so we couldn't even put our awning out. Good hookups. No Verizon phone reception and the WiFi provided by the park is so limited it might as well be non existent. Owners are not very friendly. Overpriced and under delivered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
This RV Park is really nothing more than a gravel parking area with, great hook-ups, and a terrific scenic view. The pull-through sites are undefined and off to the side on gravel. Some are directly beneath electrical power lines. The back-in sites appeared rather tight and most are of short length. There is not much value provided for the price. Except for the value of the long distant views of both New Mexico and Colorado. The owners or operators of this RV Park have a number of dogs. They have a tendency, especially the small one, to run loose and bother the dogs of guest. This caused a considerable amount of barking during the afternoon hours. Do as I say not as I do would be a good motto for the RV Park. We made this place an overnight stop and will likely avoid doing so in the future. It is over rated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
Friendly staff that were helpful and escorted us to site. We had 29' 5th wheel and had one of the 3 pull throughs but we were very close to our neighbors. Even though one is above Interstate, it didn't bother us because of distance. Nice location to view stars and enjoy the cool nights in the summertime. They did have a swing set for children but it was not easy to get to and location right under a cliff would necessitate parents watching their children regardless of the age. We would stay again since it was just an overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$23
Nice, convenient little campground. It's pushing it to say they have WiFi; yes, they do have it, but they don't want you using it. Upon checking in, we were told we could use the WiFi to check mail, but no downloading, etc., or they would cut us off. Sure enough, I had used about an hour of WiFi late at night, no downloading, and the next day I was cut off. So, if WiFi isn't a big deal to you, this is a great place to stay. Some of the spots had spectacular views, others were so-so. We have Verizon phone service and there was absolutely NO service whatsoever here. Owners were not overly nice, but nice enough, and even cooked a BBQ dinner for guests staying over 4th of July, which was very nice. We would stay here again as a stop-over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
Spectacular location - On the NM-CO border with breathtaking views. Family-run park, very friendly. Level sites, full hook-ups. Near I-25 but minimal road noise. Not in or near Raton NM or Trinidad CO, but that is a plus in my book. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$22
Level pull through and back in sites. No walking trails, no activities, no pool, but if you are on back in site #11 you have a gorgeous view over the valley. Mountain spring water, good electricity, friendly owners, nice library and free movie usage. We stayed here a week which is why the rate is cheaper than the daily rate. The only downside is to us was that the owners' dogs were allowed to run free at times, since I walk my cat on a leash. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
Website was very kind to this place. Not what we expected. Small place sits up on a cliff at the top of Raton Pass. It's overpriced. The morning of our departure we started to drain a bit of water from our fresh water tank and were immediately accosted by either the owner or workamper and told in a very nasty manner that we couldn't do that. We won't be back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
This park is at the top of Raton Pass, between Raton, NM and Trinidad, CO: a difficult point 250 years ago on the Santa Fe Trail. The surrounding area is beautiful, and the terrific and unusual location is the reason, I am giving this park a rating of 10. That said, there are a couple of negatives. The sites are close together, and you have to turn your RV at just the right time to get into the site without backing. It is not too difficult, but one has to be patient, and drive thoughtfully. Due, I supposed to the remote location, the WiFi connection was somewhat sporadic. The staff was very pleasant, and made every effort to make our stay a pleasant one. I would stay here again , and in fact, would make an extra effort to stay here: the location is just that nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$29
This is a very sweet, well kept park. Don't believe we would use for a long-term stay but great for an overnight. Sitting at the top of the pass it can be quite windy, which is was the night we were there, but the view of the valley below is lovely. Easy access off I-25. Would recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
We always try to stay here when we move from Dallas to Denver. People are friendly, spaces are a reasonable size, and reasonable rates. Great location, take a walk to get used to the altitude! In short, a great place for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2010
$27
Beautiful location, disappointing second experience at this park. Didn't reserve a promised site, they jammed us into tiny site after husband directed the truck into a fender ripping rock. Will not return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$29
One night is not enough here! Magnificent views, as already mentioned. Small, quiet. I'm not sure families would enjoy it, as there is no pool, playground, etc. But I'd like to reply to the poster who said the W-iFi was a rip-off and only allowed 10 minutes, not so! Wi-Fi is free and we got a good signal the night we were there. They do charge $19.95 if you rent a site by the month. We would definitely stay here again -- in fact, I don't want to leave now. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
This CG is a classic case that less is more. It has everything I needed plus added a drop dead gorgeous view of the surrounding area from almost 7,800' elevation. The sites were on gravel, but level and fairly close together, but not uncomfortably so. Several folks choose to spend their summers here, so sites can be at a premium at various times. The owner is very accommodating and takes care of "his" campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$27
Wonderful park, clean restrooms, great views, can't say enough it was an awesome overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$42
A handy park at the top of Raton Pass. The staff is very friendly. The downside here is the high priced, rip-off Wi-Fi service which is for 10 minutes, then $19.95 a month!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
Beautiful views, clean, and staff was very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
Easy access from I-25, but watch your exit (closer to CO-NM border/top of pass than to Raton itself). We were escorted to our very clean pull-through gravel site #19. Needed a couple blocks in front to level. Owners/managers extremely pleasant. Beautiful view of mountains, fabulous smelling air. Tons of beautiful hummingbirds. Water very good tasting and good pressure. No problems with steady electric voltage. Dog friendly. Small playground (swing set). Quiet park, no trouble with traffic, but noted some road noise from I-25, not bad. Free good Wi-Fi (need code from office) and cell phone connection (cell tower right up the hill), Kindle worked, too. Didn't try TV. Very nice modern and extremely clean tile bathrooms/showers with lots of hot water. Put grill inside at night due to bear warnings and use the bear proof trash container down the drive. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
I really liked this campground. Its perched on top of a cliff, was small, with easy access off Hwy. 25 and most spots had good views. The owners were extremely nice and helpful in parking the motorhome. Free Wi-Fi, however, awful TV. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
This small park more then compensates by having an amazing view, and owners that are committed to to making your stay a great memory! We would go out of our way to stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
Small campground right at summit of Raton Pass, 7 miles north of the town of Raton. Great views, very quiet, but no shade and not really big-rig friendly. Call ahead if you have a big-rig towing because there are only 2 or 3 pull-throughs that you will fit in. Owners are quite nice and everything was in good condition. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
Great view! Nice small campground at the top of Raton Pass. We stayed just one night and only a handful of other rigs here. Quiet place but we didn't get to do or see much as it rained all night and was foggy in the morning. But a good place to stop along I-25, especially since reviews for most other campgrounds in Raton are not as good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$27
Small campground with fairly large sites and a GREAT VIEW!! On top of Raton Pass north of Raton. If you want to watch TV you will need your dish. Only one English channel that I could get on digital. The office closes at 4pm so call ahead first to get a pull through. Free Wi-Fi with instructions and coupon code from office. Wi-Fi is very slooooow. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$29
Wow, what a view! Even my cat loved it, he wouldn't budge from the windows! But one caveat, chock your tires, as you will be backed up at the edge of a very steep embankment! Also, this park is 8 miles north of Raton (about 6300 feet elevation), but those 8 miles are a very steep grade up to about 7,888 feet in elevation. If you don't get a "running start" when you drive through Raton on I-25, you will drive the 8 miles chugging at 45 mph while the RV's with Colorado plates just speed past you (probably laughing!). The price I am showing is the base price before discounts and taxes. The other reviews are right, this is a great overnight stop on your way up or down I-25. Sites are all on gravel. Laundry room was clean, women's rest room was clean, except only one shower was in use. The other showers had "stuff" stored in them. Wi-Fi was a bit slow, but it operates from a satellite. To use the Wi-Fi, you have to register, and you get a "coupon" code good for one day. TV reception via antenna was OK, some channels good, some spotty. Cell phone service was spotty, had to walk around to find a signal. My Verizon air card wouldn't even connect. The water here is great! The only negative I would say about this park is that I would try to avoid spots 1 & 2 and spots 22-24 as those spots, although they are "pull through," are located parallel along the driving area. Lastly, if you are one of those people who bought the expensive surge protector from Camping World, you can use it here. The electric poles are long enough to allow you to plug in the surge protector. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$24
Very nice stop over for a day or two. Owner is there to help. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
Great little park! They made our entrance into New Mexico very special. Wonderful views and very friendly owners. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$14
We stayed here on Passport America. Very nice folks; they escorted us to our site. Just far enough off the road so there's little road noise. Pretty. All gravel sites. They allowed us to use a bucket and brush to wipe down the RV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
Good little stop over. Nothing fancy and provides a good view. Owner guided us to the site just up the hill. Its at almost the top of the summit. Bathroom/Showers were clean and water hot. Nice. Not sure if this is a place to stay for very long. I was here for just one night. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$14
What a great little RV park. Staff super friendly and helpful. Placed us in a very nice spot even though we used Passport America. Showers were great. Will plan to spend more time there the next time we go through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$23
We appreciated most the courteous welcome of the owners and staff at Cedar Rail. We were led to our site (which we appreciated). The view is wonderful and everyone there was so friendly and helpful. We stayed two weeks and now wonder why we didn't stay a month. This park is right up on Raton Pass, was cool and the view is awesome. We look forward to being able to go back again!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
Great place to stop when you are tired! Views are nice, owners are very helpful. We were having mechanical problems with our truck, he recommended a repair shop and even offered to come pick us up if we couldn't get the repair done that afternoon. We would stop again if we are in the area!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
Would have been a 10 but the WIFI is somewhat flaky. Very nice views and the weather was GREAT! Owners are super nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
This is an excellent park for an overnight stay. We had a pull through site with 50 amp service. The site was very level and all utilities were in working order. The sites are close together, but this was not bad considering this was for a one night stay. The bathrooms and showers were spotless. The employees were very friendly and helpful. The RV park is about 7 miles from town right at the top of Raton Pass. Nice views. No pool or entertainment for kids. We'll definitely stay here again for an overnighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This was an oasis for us with wonderful views and cool weather. The owners were super-friendly and keep the cleanest restrooms I have seen. This is a small but first class campground. Don't pass it up! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$23
Fantastic views, level sites, all hard gravel. We were backed up and had a beautiful view out our back window. Great place to stay a few days or just overnight. Close to I-25 but road noise is not bad. Easy on, easy off. All facilities work great and park staff is very helpful and friendly. Cg is at 7,888 feet at the top of Raton Pass so when you leave either way you can coast for miles. Take exit 460 off of I-25 and follow the signs. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$14
Great park!!! Friendly owners on site, very helpful, knowledgeable and social. Sites are large with plenty of room to get in and out. We had a pull-thru but would have had no problem with a back-in. Sites are level and clean. Hookups are very handy and well located. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$14
Hilltop CG with great views, friendly staff. Great for overnight between ABQ and Denver. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$14
Great people, excellent park, beautiful views. This park is at a higher elevation (7000+) so it can get cold at night. We stayed overnight and it was a great stopover. We did see the Manager picking up dog waste and there was some on our site next to the utilities but that is not the fault of the owners of the park, but the owners of the dogs. Rate reflects passport discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$26
Close to interstate highway, but very quiet. Beautiful views in all directions. We had a pull-thru and didn't have to unhook the tow vehicle for our overnight stay. Our site was so level when we lowered the jacks, we were done. Owners are great and very helpful and friendly. It's a perfect overnight stop. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$24
Park is located on frontage road but with very little highway noise. Easy access for big rigs with level sites and a beautiful view. WiFi works good and is free. The park is owned and operated by a very friendly family. Our coffee pot went out and they made sure we had fresh coffee early the next morning. If you are in this area give them a try. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$22
Great park to overnight. Staff is super friendly and helpful. Views are outstanding. All sites are level and restrooms, etc. are excellent. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$15
This campground is located atop Raton Pass at an altitude of almost 8000 ft. There isn’t much to add that hasn’t been said in previous reviews. There is a nice view on back-in sites, but I preferred the pull thrus with more room. All sites are level. Cell reception, water and voltage were all good. No cable, but you can pick up several TV stations and satellite reception from any site. There aren’t any trees so access in and out and parking is easy. Shade isn’t needed at this altitude. Nice cool evenings. Bring a blanket. Rate reflects a Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$26
High in the mountains with lots of wildlife around, this park is a great stop for overnight or a short stay. Fifth-wheels with a view out the back will especially appreciate the sweeping views from many of the back-in sites. Management clearly cares about their park and their guests and guides each to their location. Cedar Rail RV Park is about 8 miles from town, so don’t plan to walk in for groceries. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
A gem of a park. Very small, clean and a view to die for. The owners want only to please their guests and they do a fine job. The facilities are neat and well thought out. If they had a pool, I would have given a 10 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
Very nice, extremely clean, well-maintained campground. Cleanest bathrooms/showers that we've seen in a long time! Spectacular views. Friendly office staff. We were escorted to our site. Wi-fi worked great. Campground is close to I-25, exit #460, but we didn't hear any road noise. We will stay here again the next time we are passing through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
Excellent views! Wifi works as advertised and is included in the daily site rate. Very helpful owners! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
This is a wonderful, small campground at the top of Raton Pass (watch closely for Exit 460 when travelling south on Interstate 25 - it's a long way to the next one if you miss it). It has a super nice staff, clean buildings, very nice restrooms, not much road noise, and fabulous views. Go up the dirt drive from the office to gravel and nice level sites. We stayed only one night but are looking forward to staying longer in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
Very very clean campground. Excellent views at campground since it is at the Raton pass at nearly 8000 feet. Friendly staff with escort to site. Most of the campers were overnighters...shame since there is several days worth of activity in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
Excellent campground, well maintained. The owner/managers put their hearts into the campground and it shows. Beautiful new restrooms and showers. Great views from the campground since it is at the top of Raton Pass. Very quiet even though I-25 is not far away. That is always a big deal for us. Plan to return and to set up our telescope because of the dark skies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
Right on the Colorado/New Mexico border near I25. We were parked on the cliff with a beautiful view. The sites are gravel. Only great thing is the view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
Campsites are very close to each other, but are level and clean. The view is fantastic, escort to your site, still building, looks like this campground will have a great future. I would like to stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$28
This RV Park has been undergoing a major facelift--no-make that a full makeover--in the last couple years. When we arrived, renovation of the park office reception area was in high gear, and we were escorted to our site and assisted to park. The owner has upgraded and transformed the previously-neglected property with care and attention to detail. Sites are large, level and gravel; many have 50 amps. The immaculate laundry/restroom, located in the center of the small park, has new appliances. The water supply arises from a mountain spring and tastes incredible. (There is talk of bottling it!) In-coach free WIFI is a welcome treat for the internet-deprived! The busy owner stopped what she was doing to assist me with a special request. And the view of the valley from this mountain summit is spectacular, as is the sunset. I couldn't want more in an overnight RV park! By the time I return next year, I expect to rate the "finished" park a "10" and stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$23
This RV park has a beautiful view from the upper back-in sites. You'll see wildlife! It is at the top of Raton Pass, just off I-25, so you can hear trucks climbing the hill from some sites. Also, it's a bit winding up there. However, the new owners (three years) are making this a very nice, well-maintained park, and they are very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com