206577 User submitted reviews online!!
Algonac State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (810) 765-5605
CGID4258

Algonac State Park

Camp Information
Sites
296
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   6   4   7   9   7   8   4   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
This is still one of our favorite parks. The sites are well taken care of, and the boat traffic is a lot more than last year. I am referring to the large lake freighters that go past in front of your RV. There is not a lot for children provided in the area. Bring your own bikes and other playthings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
Great river view. Lots of space on sites. Nice park area. Friendly park ranger. Nice playground area for the kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
This is one of our favorite parks. The spots vary from small to large with some pull-through sites. Electric is 30 or 50 amp depending on site chosen. The river front has a great view of the large freighters on the St. Clair River. Across the river is the Walpole Island Island Reserve that is in Ontario, Canada. There is not a lot of tourist activities in the area but relaxation and scenery are very good. This is NE of Detroit area and is usually very crowded on weekends and holidays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
Sites on top of each other. Smokers foul air. Dumpsters only located at entrance and far end at maintenance shed area. Lousy hot water and water pressure. Beware - $8 internet reservation fee, $27 day camping fee, and $8 Mich park pass fee per day for whopping $74 total for two nights with only electric hookup, and neighbor site yard toys and kids stuff all over. Yes, showers and restrooms clean, needed hot water and water pressure. Not likely to return. This place needs attention! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
The state needs to authorize funding to resurface the campground roads and sites. Also the original bathroom building needs to be rebuilt. It would also be nice too see this this park totally rebuilt like the Sterling Park in the Monroe Mi area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
A nice park, we stayed up in the Wagon Wheel part of the park. Only draw back is it's far from the freeway. Would return when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
Nice, friendly and green atmosphere however, we parked on the row closest to the river. The traffic noise, and busy traffic that you have to navigate through, in order to get to the river, was a definite negative. Next time, we will stay at the Wagon Wheel portion of this park. That area is secluded, and most of all...quiet! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
It is a nice campground. There are not a lot of trees. I enjoyed watching the freighters. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
This was my third time camping at this park in 2008 and I have enjoyed each stay. Beautiful riverfront view including watching passing freighters. Nice bike and foot paths. Very clean restrooms and showers. Even a few rows back I still had a decent view of the water. Extremely friendly staff. A convenience store not too far away where firewood may be purchased as well as pretty good tasting pizza. Only drawbacks are a very busy main road right in front of the campground. Also, skeet shooting can be heard at times throughout the day. The riverfront view and the other things the park has to offer make it worthwhile. There is a large day use park next door to the campground and across the road from that is a small swimming beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2008
$33
Waterfront means behind the main freeway in/out of town. Crossing this road, to get to the beach, is dicey... particularly if you've got kids... lots of locals use the area as a spot to blare their music, and get loaded- all day long. Campground, itself, is my impression of 'combat-camping'. No trees, wide open, fairly cramped sites. constant drone of road noise. showers were not nearly as clean as other MSP's we've been to. I'm a real fan of Michigan State Parks, but this place was a bust! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$28
This is an excellent State Park. Lacking some of the amenities of an expensive private park but not loosing it's charm. The view of the river and the passing lake freighters and other river traffic makes this park unique. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$23
This is a great park for relaxing. We go quite often as it is close to home, and an easy relaxing weekend. Not much to do but view is great. Bathrooms are always clean and the staff is friendly. Even weekends that are full stay pretty quiet (Wagon Wheel is quieter and more private). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$28
This is a nice family campground. There were lots of kids and dogs and it was busy. We enjoyed it and it was peaceful at night even though a bit crowded. You can watch the freighters pass by on the shipping channel which is very cool. Nothing much for little kids to do except bike ride.Still a very well kept park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$29
Expensive even without including the required vehicle stickers ($58 total for MH and car; yearly passes made sense since we'll be staying at a few parks) and they don't have water at the sites but once you get over that the park isn't bad. We had site #37 and we enjoyed the river view but unfortunately there was also a lot of road noise. Site was not level but it wasn't a problem; it was big enough for our 30 ft class A and toad. None of the riverfront sites have much greenery or privacy but the view is nice, we were also glad to have 50 amp electric since it was very hot during our stay and we were able to run both AC's. The wagon wheel sites are much more shaded and not as crowded mid-week. Dump station has two ports and fresh water for your tanks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$18
This is a beautiful state park on the St. Clair River. If you're interested in Great Lakes shipping, you will love this campground as the ships pass by so close you can practically toss a fishing line on their decks! In the 3 days we were there, we probably saw 25 ships. Sites were large, shaded and grassy. The restrooms were clean and modern. No water or sewer, but there is a dump station. While there is a playground at the campground, there's not much else for kids to do there. Would like to return in the fall without our kids and just sit and watch the ships go by! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com