221614 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Perris State Recreation Area was rated 6 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (951) 940-5600
CGID427

Lake Perris State Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
432
Date of Stay
May 2011
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   9   8   3   8   1   2   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
Lake Perris is a great park to use during the off season months as it is never overly crowded, and there are plenty of spaces to choose from, even if you don't have a reservation. All full hookup sites are right on top of each other, but dry campsites are spaced well and have lots of trees/brush between. Park staff are friendly and available. Restrooms were clean and stocked ( the park was only about 20% full). Boat rental is available though pricey. Bring your bikes as there is plenty of room to ride. Not sure what it's like here during the summer but will find out! If you like your privacy as we do, dry camping sites are for you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
We camped here on a really hot weekend in June. The temperature was over 90 degrees, but there was always a nice cool breeze and it was comfortable in the shade. The lake was nice, but since they are draining the dam 20%, you can only use the beach about 1 mile from the campground. On Thursday and Friday nights, we were basically the only campers in our section and it was very peaceful. We are registered with the State of CA as disabled and paid 1/2 price for our campsite. We visited the Orange Empire Railway on the weekend and it was a really nice experience with 2 train rides. The downside: I would not recommend camping here on a Saturday night. The majority of campers were nice family groups, but unfortunately a large gang of undesirables(about 30 people) pulled in at 11:00pm on Saturday and stayed up partying all night: loudly and honking their horn. Talked to the ranger the next day and he said we should have called 911 even though it was not an emergency. The ranger explained that calling 911 is how the system was intended to work to call for loud parties. The ranger was very apologetic for the disturbance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$39
This campground is commonly referred to as Luiseno Campground. There are campsites with no hook-ups, just water hook-ups, and electric, water and grey water hook-ups. There is a free dump station for paid campers. You can operate generators between 10AM and 8PM. There are many things to do at this recreation area primarily centered around water activities ie; boating, swimming, fishing (catfish, trout and bluegill). There is also horseback riding and hiking trails. There is also a very nice regional Indian museum within the grounds overlooking the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$45
We stayed at Lake Perris at the end of the Labor Day weekend. When we entered the park on Monday afternoon, we were greeted by very helpful and friendly people at the gate: nice first impression. The park was well maintained and the bathrooms were clean and well stocked. We found several sites that offered shade as well as a great view of the lake and the surrounding mountains. The staff was very helpful and even offered written directions to nearby stores. We did not have a reservation, but we were told how to go about making reservations for specific sites. We were also told about the park amenities which was very helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
We stayed at Lake Perris three nights, after leaving a trial stay at a nearby membership RV park, and a disappointing drive by Reflection Lake. We were very pleased. The park was virtually empty, and we chose a nice space with views of colorful meadows and distant hills. Nice trails for meadow walks. We are not boaters, so I think this time of year was nice for us. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2008
$34
We stayed here two days to visit family. Drain hookup is for gray water only, the dump station is on way out. We thought it was way too expensive park, with unlevel sites. We will only stay again if I cannot find something else close to family in Sunnymead (Moreno Valley). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
As previously stated, this is not a resort, it is a campground. We live about 6-8 miles away and camp here frequently in the winter months (October through April). It is usually overcrowded and a bit loud on summer weekends. The sites are not level for drainage reasons, but our 34 foot motorhome could be leveled at most of the sites. There is a fire ring at every site. There is some shade at many sites. Picnic tables are provided. Restrooms and the park are generally clean except summer months can get out of hand. Great mostly paved bike/walking trail around lake (dam is now off limits). Hiking, horseback riding, fishing, and boating/rentals. Horse camping available. Great place to go in the wintertime. Reservations now required through ReserveAmerica. Water and electric with gray tank drain at the sites. Dump station with 3 lanes can get a little busy at checkout time. They do lock the main gate at 8 pm, so be prepared. Night access is through the back gate on the Moreno Valley side. We will be there again this winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2006
$34
We will never go back to this campground again! The front gates are locked at 8 PM and we had to drive with no map or help to find the alternate check in gate. From that point it took 2 hours to check in! The campgrounds were very dirty and so was the lake front. We walked down at night to check it out and there were people actually bathing in the lake! The rangers are very unfriendly and un-helpful. We were very glad to go home on Sunday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2006
$20
This campground is the most out of level campground I have ever experienced. We camped w/ a caravan group (why I don't know price) & every camper had to hunt extra leveling blocks, even those w/ levelers had piles of wood under them. It was designed either for drainage or to give view sites on the cheap. No terracing, just heavy slope! I'd never go there again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$34
This is a campground not an RV resort. The bathrooms and showers were clean. The weekend was loud, but very peaceful during the week. The lake is clean with lifeguards for swimming. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$17
Wide pads, 31 feet deep but lots of clearance for larger rigs. Campground has electric and water and gray water disposal at site. Not much to look at, pretty dry, not much shade. Swimming is allowed and there are lifeguards on duty; boat rentals at the marina for fishing. Bathrooms were tidy, even on a busy weekend. The noise from the Perris Speedway is quite audible on Saturday nights. The front gate is locked at night, requiring a long detour to the back entrance. Rates for California State Parks are going up June 2004. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$26
We stayed Wednesday through Saturday. Weeknights are quiet, but beware: The riff-raff rolls in on Fridays and stays through the weekends. Noisy partiers until 3am. We won't be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2001
$16
In the winter, they close the main gate at 8:00 p.m. and you have to go to the back gate which is quite a distance into another area in order to get back to your campsite. If you are unfamiliar with the roads, that have few lights and different speed zones, you could easily get lost. Don't expect any help from the Rangers! They are skinheads and like intimidating outsiders. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com