206705 User submitted reviews online!!
Prairie Dog State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (785) 877-2953
CGID4271

Prairie Dog State Park

Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   9   10   9   9   7   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$31
After just coming from Lovewell State Park for $32 a night with full hookups, Prairie Dog State Park was a let down. Nearby Norton was very sparse in terms of services. However, Verizon 4G was very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$27
Rate is for MH+car in a w/s spot including park fees. As stated by others, this is a very nice state park, comparable to Destin, FL, which is best of the best. There are undefined primitive spots and well defined w/s spots. The defined spots are huge and clean with a grill and picnic table. The restrooms were clean and the park hosts were nice. They even let you wash your car/rig there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$26
This is a nice state park, well laid out around a reservoir and prairie dog town. There are several small campgrounds scattered out over the spacious area. It's Kansas, but you'll find nice shady sites with enormous trees. It appears there are many who stay for extended periods, and while it does give the park rent for the space, it reduces the hook-up spots for people like us who want a night or two. We dry camped in a nice area. Sites were undefined and we literally found an available space near a tree where our 45' would fit. Camp host was lovely. The area was quiet and we would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$19
One of the nicest State Parks I've stayed in considering the views and walking areas. Showers were good with plenty of hot water and vault toilets were clean at all times. Had a Prairie Dog Town consisting of about an acre and that was really cool to watch. Had trouble with my hitch and ranger came right out and helped. If in the area will be staying here again. Must be great for fishing with all the boats parked. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$21
The rate of $21 includes a $4.00 daily park entrance fee applicable to all parks in the State of Kansas. You can also buy an annual pass for $25.00 which would reduce the rate to $17.50 daily. This is a nice, shady serene little park next to the lake which I decided to extend a few days beyond my planned visit, as I'm just killing time before arriving in Colorado next week. I would definitely put this at the best of the best of all my stays in Kansas! We'll be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$19
This is a great stop if you are making your way across country and don't like to take the Interstates. Located just off Hwy 36 plenty far enough so there is no noise. It is used mainly by very friendly locals and one section is used by them for longer stays. The attraction for them is the reservoir for boating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$14
Beautiful setting. Overlooking the lake. Premium price for a pull-through site.$2.50 extra also gets you satellite dish. The sand beach had washed away from storms, but I bet most of the year it is nice to swim there. Loved the walking paths and time watching the prairie dogs hop in and out of their holes. This time I even saw three burrowing owls. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
The sites at this park were large with lots of grass between sites. There are shade trees, but the sites are satellite friendly. We stayed in a water/electric site. There are electric only sites, but they are narrow and very short and back up to a small hill. I agree with the previous post about the park attendants not being familiar with the sites. My other complaint is that the $16 that we paid for our water/electric site did not include a permit to park our motorhome. I needed to buy permits for both the car and the motorhome at $4 each. This brought the cost of a week from $112 to $174 and the cost of a single night from $16 to $24!! This same cost is not levied on trailers or fifth-wheels. Motorhomes are charged extra because they have a motor and can be driven. I guess they thought we were going to be joy riding around the park in our motorhome. We will probably not return to this park or any other Kansas State Park if this policy is followed at all of them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2006
$27
Easy to find and to enter. Park personnel were not up to the minute on available spaces, and charged me for a premium site when none were available. Host refunded difference. Grassy and spacious. Not much separation between rigs, but not too bad. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$22
Very nice park. Sites are level gravel surrounded by grass with water and electric. Pull-throughs are very long, have the most direct lake view and cost a bit more. Our 30 ft class A had lots of room in the back-in sites. Mature trees gave nice shade and added to the green park setting. We did not use the lake or boat ramp facilities but really enjoyed the 1890's adobe house, the old schoolhouse and the prairie dog town most of all. This park was very easy to reach from Hwy 36 with good access roads and a well positioned dump station. Trailer Life says that this park has showers but we'd consider that a stretch at best. The showers consist of several nozzles lined up in a completely open area of the bathroom--they reminded us of the showers you find outside at the beach for washing sand off of your feet. That aside we liked this park and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com