218896 User submitted reviews online!!
South Rim (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (970) 641-2337
CGID4274

South Rim (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
57
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   5   8   6   9   8   10   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$14
Rate reflects senior pass. No reservations after Labor Day, just first come-first served, and the electric sites seemed to fill by 6 pm midweek, mid-September. The campground and the park exceeded my expectations and I regret not staying another day. The vault toilets were OK, and the site had a living area a couple of steps below, for picnic table and grill. The ranger offered a two mile full moon hike plus other programs in the morning at the visitor center. Strong antenna TV signal, but we got no AT&T cellular. I would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$14
This is a national park campground, so it's more rustic. Restrooms are vault dry toilets, with no running water. They were clean, but could have used more attention. There are no showers. The campsites have good separation between them and the campground is in a scrub oak grove so you have vegetation curtails between the campsites. There is a water source in each of the three loops in the campground. We had to use extra levelers to get our trailer level. Nightly rate was with a Senior Access card discount. Even with the detractors, we would stay there again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$9
This is a National Park, but not one of the better sites. We knew in advance that there was no water at the sites, but were surprised when we arrived with no water and no provision in the park to fill an RV water tank. Also, no dump station, so we only stayed one of the three nights we had reserved. We had a pull through site which was OK, but were lucky as many of the pull through were nothing more than a "pull over"... If you have slides, you will most likely have too little width. This campground was a disappointment, due to the water situation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$18
Just be sure to bring your own water (and leveling system!), and you're good to go. Lovely location, with a nice trail to the Visitor Center from the campground that is also dog-friendly. (All the overlooks and 2 of the trails are--a rarity for National Parks!) Lots of elbow room and privacy. Great place to stay, rather than make the drive in/out and stay in town. Did not see any wildlife (except scat), but there were tons of warnings about bear proofing, so heads up on that front. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
The campsites are spread out and nice. There is plenty of wild life to see. The canyon is a must see. Take the time to drive the rim trail and walk around. The drive down the canyon to the dam was great and gives a much different view from within the canyon. It may not be a road for those not comfortable driving on narrow and twisty roads. Drop offs are big. Unfortunately we arrived while it was raining and fog hid the canyon until the afternoon the next day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
We arrived later in the evening and were greeted by the camp host. He was very polite and told us to be careful of the people returning from the ranger talk about stars. Our site was back-in, with electric, picnic table, and fire ring. Privacy and site spacing were good, and it was a pleasant location. We would be happy to camp there again. The park is beautiful and well worth a visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$18
Amazing, amazing views in this park. Really tight fit for our rig but we are old pros. Loved the visitor center and quiet camping spot. Will bring the grandkids next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$12
We camped in loop B site 13. Completely private, surrounded by Oak trees. Site was nearly level, power for air conditioner was welcome. Back-in site with nice table and some shade. Very clean. Drive to park is steep. This is our newest National Park, visitors center very nice, drive to overlooks are wonderful. Not many people as yet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
We were very pleasantly surprised by the 50 amp power, sure was nice during the cold weather. This park is very tight for our 35' 5er, but we made it work. We were here early in the season and needed to trim some shrubbery to be able to park. It's very quiet, with lots of deer, and beautiful scenery. Entrance is a steep hill, take your time going both ways. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$12
Nice campground and interesting visitors center with a 20 minute film about the canyon. Really beautiful canyon with lots of look outs with breathtaking views. There are 3 loops with loop B having 50 amp service. Noticed a number of sites with tent pads and quite a few pull through sites with the rest being back ins. Site B-21 can easily take a 40 foot motor home with a medium size tow vehicle. We were able to put our awning out too. Some sites were very private with Gamble Oaks and other bushes surrounding the sites. We found that some of the back in sites were narrow making it hard to open all of your slides and awning. FILL UP your water tanks before coming, the water they provide is for drinking only. There is no dump station at the campground but they do have a list of places where you can dump your tanks. The list is posted at the fee station. We would stay here again, it was very quiet and relaxing. Camping fees are $18.00 or $12.00 with the Golden Age Pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$15
This was a very nice campground, the B loop has about 25 sites that have 30/50 amp electric (although no water since it has to be hauled up two miles from the canyon floor to the canyon rim). Vault toilets. Some pull-throughs and some back-ins, many were large enough for our 30 foot class A, but a sign at the pay station advises that 37 feet is the maximum RV length and the website cautions against anything over 35 feet. There was some shrubery and shade in some sites, we saw many deer in our campsite. Our toad's battery gave out at one of the look-out spots on the rim scenic drive and the rangers were very helpful in trying to get us started and recommending a good auto parts store in Montrose. No dump facilities in the campground. We very much liked the park and the campground and appreciated the electric hook-up. One thing to note is that the five mile drive on Hwy 347 to the campground is rather steep. We just took our time and had no difficulties. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com