206705 User submitted reviews online!!
Smuggler's Den Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (207) 244-3944
CGID4279

Smuggler's Den Campground

Camp Information
Sites
105
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   9   8   9   8   3   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$43
Our stay at Smuggler's Den Campground was very nice. The people working there were very friendly and informative. I reserved online and received two e-mails within a day. One confirming our reservation and a more personal response. Our site was wooded and near the bathhouse. It was a small site and many in that area were placed very close together. That being said, it was quite and easy to get in and out of. The pool was very nice, but not heated. The bathhouse was clean and well stocked. Even with a large group of teen girls, my wife noted that the showers were well kept. The laundry facilities were also clean and convenient. The office has some basic essentials and lobsters. Yes, they had live lobsters for sale for a fair price and loan out pots for cooking. Probably the best feature of the campground for us is their hosting a stop for the Island Loop right at the office. Once we parked our car and trailer, we were able to use the FREE bus system to visit the island. This was a very nice addition. My family agreed that we would come back and use the campground again. Hopefully, the weather would be kinder and allow us to use more the campground amenities. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$60
This campground does not honor Good Sam any longer, nor offer any discounts. Upon check in, I had to stand at the office counter and wait for the only clerk on duty to finish with a phone call from someone just asking about the area, wanting to pitch a tent for two nights. This went on for 15 minutes. I was finally able to half way check in, and the phone rang again with the same caller, with another 5 minutes on the phone with him. Polite thing would have been to put that person on hold, or ask to call them back and then finish up with me. I did not feel important at all when I gave him over 400 hundred dollars to camp in a premium RV site for the week. No quide to site, no brochure with helpful information, no site map. I finally had to request a site map later. The previous camper in our site left late, as we waited for them to leave. The campsite was a mess with food garbage in the fire ring, (that one of the work campers told us he would clean out and never did) some kind of spill on the concrete pad, and an obvious spill near the sewage connection. "Premium sites" are right at the entrance with a lot of traffic. Bath house clean, and well supplied, but very dated. The free island shuttle was a nice benefit to avoid Bar Harbor traffic and parking, but does come right through in front of the "premium" campsites. Obviously no pride in this campground. Most are tent campers and seasonals. For 60.00 a night...we won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
Well maintained campground, quiet at night, clean. Dog friendly. We were here 2 nights. Originally they tried to put us in a site that was too small for our rig, but then we tried another one and it was perfect. Lots of things to do in the area, especially hiking and activities at Acadia NP. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$52
Nice, grassy, level, very large sites. Nice folks in the office. Easy to get to Acadia and Bar Harbor. Close to grocery and laundromat (there is a small laundromat at the campground that we did not use). Nice pool. Good Wi-Fi signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$46
The place was clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The only downfall was that the office was only open 2 hours in the morning and 2 hours in the afternoon. This could be a problem if you want to stay an additional night and can not find out if your site is available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
Park is fairly well maintained and very quiet. The night skys are breath taking. Some roads are paved some are gravel and gravel ones are in good shape. We had a very wooded site. It turned cold here at nights so we should have taken a sunny site. There are many sites that are concrete with patios. The sites have great separation. We got a gravel site which was not level, but did not take much to level up. I'm not the greatest at back ins, but easily got into our site. Price is right for the area and is very comparable to other campgrounds. Did not use the baths, but did look. They are aged, but very clean and well maintained. If back in this area again we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$48
Having made reservations several months earlier, we were surprised to find asked for (and told yes) pull through, 50 amp, CATV unavailable. We settled for a 30 amp, pull through, no CATV. The site was not very level and had a tree with branches literally laying on the rooftop. This was our first visit to the Maine area. Having seen it, "experienced" it, we won't be back. Mindful now I'm speaking of the campground. The sights and sounds of the Maine seacoast and its people were very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$43
Sites are a bit small, but much nicer than the parking lot sites in the other campgrounds in the area. Functional for a great Bar Harbor/Acadia visit. Staff helpful, store small but adequate. Camped here 2 years in a row. Would only camp here on future trips to Acadia area. Pool warm and clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$56
Nice convenient Rv Park. The owners were friendly at all times. The roads from Bangor to here are a little rough otherwise the park has good site spacing for parking your motorhome and for not being on top of your neighbor. The pool, bathhouses,and laundry room were clean. The island shuttle is very timely. I recommend hiking to either Echo Lake or Long Pond out of the campground for extra activity. Mostly a family friendly place except for a group of teenagers that came in on Friday night. We would stay here again. We stayed in a motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
Very friendly and helpful staff and nice campground. We were in an unpaved site which was reasonably level, but the recently refurbished gravel parking area was a bit narrow and too close to the connection podium for easy extension of the slides. The concrete pads on paved sites looked fine. Wi-Fi was quite good as was the cable TV. On the downside, and this may have been because it is very early in the season here, there was no brochure listing cable channels or local services as is often provided by quality campgrounds. Our $40 rate was the early-season rate for an unpaved full-hookup site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$56
This is a very clean and well kept park. Staff was friendly and helpful when needed. We stayed on site 92 which is paved, level and had properly placed hook-ups. Easy commute to Acadia National Park and all it's sites. WiFi worked ok, however all the other facilities/hook-ups were great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Rate reflects Good Sam rate. We loved it here. Very nice park, with average sized sites, but the park and the surrounding area is magnificent. The owners work at the park, and take a lot of pride in everything, and it shows. They were very helpful and nice about everything. Walking trails were wonderful. Excellent drinking water at the sites. Wi-Fi was intermittent, but was okay. Lots of things for the kids, if you have them. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$44
We absolutely loved this campground. It was quiet, office staff was very knowledgeable and friendly and helpful. (We had to call a repairman while we were there). The bathrooms were cleaned daily, no problems with electric, water taste and quality were excellent, best drinking water we've had since we started full timing. No problems with bugs or mosquitoes, must have been the time of year. Great firewood! Shuttle buses ran on time and regularly from the campground to wherever you needed to go in Acadia. Nice sites, well spaced and angled apart. We'll be back definitely! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$37
One of the nicest parks we've camped in after a year on the road. The park is clean and very well run. Everyone who works there is warm, friendly, and helpful. Cell phone and Wi-Fi reception was good and reliable. After a few tries, we managed to find a decent spot for our satellite dish. Complimentary newspapers were available at the office each day. The free shuttle that runs around the island picks up right by the office. This is one park we'd love to come back to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$37
We had a great time, Site was large and clean. The pool was heated and only about 200' away. The bathrooms were well maintained and staff was friendly. We are looking forward to a return trip! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
We spent two nights early in June when things were very quiet. The atmosphere was peaceful and we didn't really mind that we were unable to access the WiFi. The host said they don't charge for it since it doesn't always work. The rest rooms were well maintained and clean in spite of the damp. The shuttle doesn't run in the off season, but we enjoyed the park and the restaurant across the highway. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$50
Stayed here for a week and had a great time. Our site was premium with the cement pad and patio. We were located right across from the store and pool, on a corner site, and although busy it was still relaxing. Store had the bus/shuttle stop, but on the flip side, it also had wifi which reached our site with an excellent signal. The pool was nicely heated and clean. We drove to the nearby harbour town and took the bus to Bar Harbor several times. Great hiking in the immediate area, and fresh lobster in a tank right inside the camp store. We will return again. Also no Sprint/Nextel sevice except for Bar Harbor and Cadillac Mtn. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$38
Smuggler's Den is located on the right side of Mt. Desert Island -- the "quiet side" which is away from hectic, tourist-crammed Bar Harbor. It is also one of the only campgrounds that offers 50 amp service and has room for 40 foot RV's. However, it does not have cable service, and most of the sites cannot pick up satellite. (Bring movies.) Though the island is one of the most scenic places we have ever visited, the campground is not particularly attractive, except in the tent camping areas, which are wooded. However, the swimming pool area is very nice and well kept. Many families with children were camping, and the kids seemed happily occupied. The big rig sites -- mostly back in -- are deep enough, but are too narrow, and we had two neighbors' camp fires that were way too close to our motor home (3 to 4 feet away). During our 10-day stay, we visited other campgrounds on the island to check out options and decided that Smuggler's Den is still the best choice for a big motor home. Only 5 minutes away by car, Southwest Harbor is a delightful small town with nice shops and several good restaurants. The hiking is amazing -- views of mountains and the ocean and so many options. July and August are the "heavy" tourist months when the weather is great. But staying on the quiet side of the island made a big difference. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com