219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Santa Cruz North / Costanoa KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (650) 879-7302
CGID428

Santa Cruz North / Costanoa KOA

Camp Information
Sites
142
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$65



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   7   7   9   7   8   7   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$65
Interesting place. A combo of KOA and camping lodge. We stayed in Coastal Village sites. OK, but grass dead in this section. Sites not level front to back. No Verizon cell and Wi-Fi did not work in Coastal Village loop. It worked at the lodge and restaurant area. About 20 miles north of Santa Cruz. Restaurant on site, but a little on the high end. Not much nearby to eat . Too out of the way for us. We were visiting Santa Cruz boardwalk area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$47
Typical overpriced KOA, although it does have lots of grass and trees. Has a restaurant on site. Ten miles to Pescadero. Had to go to the restaurant parking lot to get Wi-Fi; nothing at the site. Sites were paved but not really level. Had to change sites to get more level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$63
Nice park and close to the ocean (across the highway) with an ocean view after a short walk. Base rate was $46 but taxes, dog fee (one dog), and some sort of "service fee" put the total at around $63. Pull through sites. Nice onsite restaurant, a bit expensive; although, the chicken Caesars salad was great. We picked this park because it was pouring down rain and we wanted to stop driving. Overall, an okay place, nothing special. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$60
This is a fairly clean park ,and they do try to do well, but do not advertise you have wifi when most of the time it doesn't work. So since there is absolutely no phone service, it would be nice to have communication with the outside world. We will probably be back because the restaurant and the staff are wonderful. Now you can go to the hotel and use their courtesy phone, which is nice, but I would prefer reliable wifi. The pull throughs in the Whale section has the worst wifi. So pick your spot carefully. You cannot beat the location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$57
The resort has paved roads and sites. Our premium site was level. There is easy in and out for our big rig; room enough for slides and awning. More width is available at deluxe sites. Noticed that some rigs had several levelers. The resort has a nice atmosphere, and remote feeling on under developed part of California coast. Elephant seals, whales, redwoods, Pigeon Point Lighthouse and brewery nearby. Tent campers have a nice area. Fireplaces at the comfort stations. Lots of services available. Kid and pet friendly. We will go to the restaurant next time. Cable had channels 2-15. Only 8-13 worked all the time, even after a call for maintenance. The local channels might come in the evening. There is no antenna TV even though you are sort of close to San Francisco. Wi-Fi was good. We did not achieve nirvana--a grade of 8.5, but we will bump to 9. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$55
Definitely one of the most quiet campgrounds we have been to. Adequate campsite in "North Whale" section. Huge downside for us was the proximity to the horse stables, along with the undesirable odor from stables. Big PLUS is the free shuttle to Santa Cruz. We saved in gas, parking and driving. Another added perk is the free wood at the campfires in the comfort station. Children's activities were nil during this stay, which was a let down, as was the price of the horseback rides for a child - $90. Its quite a hike to the beach, we drove instead. Nearby beach was awesome and uncrowded. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$65
We like the fact the sites have ocean views, most that is. Staff very accomodating and friendly. Manager was able to give us the site we requested from our reservation and even extended our stay one day. No signal on our AT&T cell service. Sites are not exactly level, although paved. Two to three plastic blocks on ocean side made us level. Plenty of room from your neighbor. Restroom and showers were clean and stocked with paper supplies during our stay. Very high water pressure 100 lbs, so use a regulator/restrictor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$85
We camped here in a 45' motorhome and had plenty of room to get to our Seascape deluxe ocean view site #35. This site had no ocean view. Spaces between sites where ample and site had plenty of room to open our 4 slides. Site was not level, so we had to jack up the front of motorhome which made it very difficult to enter the motorhome. Would have been nice to have a concrete pad for picnic table. Park is clean and well kept. Dinner was expensive and not very good. The Cioppino had very little fish or flavor and the sauce was like tomato soup. Our friends steak also did not have any flavor and was offered with a arugula salad that had a very strong flavor. Ocean access is across the street. Park is in between Santa Cruz and Half Moon Bay. Fog seems to come in at this RV park, but once closer to Santa Cruz or Half Moon Bay it cleans out. There is no cell service at the park. There are not a lot of RV parks in the area that can accommodate a 45' motorhome so we would stay here again even though we feel they are over price for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$55
Park is awesome! Short walk to beach. Great amenities. Most sites are really nice with plenty of room, especially coastal sites, but the pull through sites are horrible! They should be at a reduced rate because you have absolutely no "camping" space and no privacy whatsoever. We literally stepped out our door into the neighbor's hook ups. Luckily we were with friends in a coastal site (47) and we spent most of the time there. We were in a 39' MH, site #6. If we'd stayed in a Coastal or seascape site, park would get a 10!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$67
This was our second trip to this campground and most likely the last. The camp is beautiful but the pull through sites are so narrow and close together that it felt like a parking lot. We travel with our dog and were restricted to walking her in a fairly small area. No dog run either. Definitely not dog friendly. We were near a tent camping area which was noisy all weekend. Wi-Fi was very weak. TV signal and channel selection was poor. Overall not bad but not just not someplace I really want to return to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
No cell phone access. WiFi is not available at the sites unless you are near the general store (Seascape village 19 through 31). Cable TV is weak for local stations (couldn't get CBS at all) but OK for cable channels. Seascape Village has very nicely separated sites. Coast Village is pretty nice too (all back-ins). Whale North & South are pull-throughs and too close to the horse stables (smelly). Very noisy family park on the weekends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$60
This KOA is adjacent to a spa/resort, so it shares some of the amenities such as a very good--not great--restaurant, and a well-stocked store. The grounds are serene, grassy, flat, well maintained, and sites in the first loop are quite large. They do allow dogs, but environmental restrictions caused by an endangered bird specie (snowy plover) nesting areas severely restrict dog access both inside and outside the park, along trails and on the beaches for miles north and south. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$66
There is a strange feel here; at first I thought it was just our 10 year old Itasca, filthy from coming over Donner Summit in the snow. Then a camper in a 3 axle 42' bus said he felt snubbed as well. The setting is adequate, some park staff were friendly (others not so much) and value for the dollar just wasn't really there. Ocean view is borderline, not a surf view. Barely dog friendly; you can only be in limited areas without being kicked out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$64
The setting of this KOA is very rural - off Highway 1. Entrance signs are very difficult to see as they are "stylized" to fit with the surroundings. Nearest town is 10 miles away. Sites are not very wide when considering units with slide outs and weren't very level. My major complaint is that cell phone service (ours was Verizon) did not work and no one told me that upon checking in. Phones do not work unless you drive 5 miles up Hwy 1. Have to use the phone in the office to make an emergency or necessary call. The buildings are nice, food at the cafe was good (breakfast). The beach area is 1/2 mile away but a pleasant walk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$65
Our 2nd time here, it's nice but costs a lot. The sites are very skinny, WiFi was just fair, cable didn't work at our site or the one next door. Sites are kind of level- my rear tires were off the ground. ATT cell hardly worked. The food is way expensive, we didn't go this trip (learned last visit) Great location! Might come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$65
This was a very nice RV park, Well laid out and clean. The restrooms were very clean, don't know how the showers were we didn't use them. Cable worked good, We didn't use the Wi-Fi so can't comment on this, Cell phone was weak (AT&T) The staff was friendly and helpful. We were escorted to our site being we were a late arrival and it was dark when we arrived. Our site was fairly level with plenty of room for our slides and awning. Water pressure was very good although make sure you use a pressure regulator on your water hook up. All sites in our loop had small decks on them, Not sure what there purpose was being there was nothing on them. Lots of other campers had there tents on them. We just gathered on it with our chairs and enjoyed the sunshine. There are plenty of activities for the kids and adults, Group camp fires, live band on Saturday night, cook outs this was really nice. It is a bite of walk to the beach about a half mile or so but the beach is very clean with hardly anyone on it. No dogs are allowed on the beach this was a bummer for our dogs because they love running on the beach. No fire pits are on any of the site, But if you have your own fire pit you can have a camp fire at night as long as you keep your fire pit on the pavement only. They are not allowed on the grass although there wasn't much of what I would call grass on the sites. It was some what dead grass as if they quit watering it. We will be staying here in again in October for the Pumpkin Festival in Half Moon Bay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$65
Nice park along the coast so had typical costal weather (overcast mornings and sunny afternoons). We were in S-35 & S-33 so had nice large sites, most sites looked to have plenty of room. Great water pressure. Very friendly employees. Will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$55
This park is a gem. Very clean and well maintained, with grass and flowers everywhere. There are camping cabins and tents, as well as the RV park. This would be a great place for a group camp! Bathrooms/showers were heated and immaculate! Plus there were "community" fires at night, where people could sit and visit. Cable TV and hook-ups worked fine. There was no cell phone signal (Verizon). There are some nice bike rides/hikes near the park. There is a small store on site, but for major groceries you would need to stop in Santa Cruz to the south, or Half Moon Bay to the north; Costanoa is a bit isolated. Also, they were very accommodating about changing our reservation to a different day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$75
One of the best campgrounds we've been to. great location on Hwy 1 with a path to the beach, surrounded by open space. Four different types of RV sites, all with hookups and picnic tables but no fire pits. All are somewhat close together but enough room for slides and awnings in most sites. The sites are OK, but the resort and the location are the real reason to go there: the bathrooms have a dry sauna and a communal fireplace, and upscale amenities. The resort also has a spa with massage therapists, a nice restaurant/bar, and a gift/convenience store. Also a play area for kids. They host outdoor barbecue on Friday and Saturday nights and weekend breakfast/brunch at an outdoor kitchen. Folks are friendly, and a lot of folks are there for the outdoor activities nearby: road biking, hiking, windsurfing, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$42
Just spent the last 3 weeks staying at this wonderful RV Resort and wanted to leave a comment as I had a great stay here and will be back in the Summer when the weather is better. Lots of rain unfortunately but still had a good experience. Lovely camp site with incredible views over the ocean. The Office staff were very pleasant and helpful and I did not encounter any bad attitudes from anyone. I really cannot fault this Resort on anything and so gave them a 10/10. Just something to bear in mind; make sure you use your leveling blocks under your wheels as the sites are not all level. Great facilities and looking forward to my next visit in the Summer months. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$40
The location could not be nicer: beautiful natural area (deer, frogs, etc. wander through this CG). We stayed here in the winter so the fog made everything seem magical. Bathrooms are the best I have seen: big bathrooms and showers, soap, paper towels and hair-dryer provided. The Komfort station at the end of the CG had a dry sauna that was nice. We did not eat at the restaurant (too pricey). The only reason I did not give this CG a higher score was the pretentious manager who was pretty unpleasant when we checked in at 6pm. Not sure what his problem was but it was a shock to meet such rudeness at a KOA. All of the other staff we met were friendly and helpful. FYI: this is NOT a traditional KOA (e.g. their store does not open until 10am). It is more of a lodge with a big campground attached to it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$65
Beautiful setting close to the ocean, quiet, a terrific hide-a-way on the coast close to San Francisco and Santa Cruz. Hiking and biking trails, horseback riding available. Fine dining on the property, cute store with lots of organic and local items. It's a hidden secret on the coast, wonderful destination park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$80
The rate included the KOA discount, but also included an extra $20 a day for my son's tent (in our site). I thought that was too much, and I dropped them in the ratings for that reason. We really liked Costanoa! It is an RV park, not a state campground, so the sites are smaller, but bigger than most RV parks. We camped in the Coastal Village Loop, and the sites are deep, if a bit too close together. Also, the sites on the even numbered side have the hookups rather distant (almost as if they put them on the wrong side, and rectified it by just having you use the ones on the correct side, even thought they were sort of in the neighbors site.) Whale loop is for pull thoughts and those sites are pretty small, but handle large rigs. Seaside Sites (which are no closer to the beach than any others) are considered 'deluxe' and cost more. I am not sure they are worth it. I think Coastal Village is the best of the RV loops and the only one they will allow tents along side your RV. We were here for 8 days. On the one weekend we were here, it was wall to wall kids. I enjoyed watching/hearing them, but if you do not like kids, you might want to stay away. During the week it was very quiet. The area is amazing. It is a walk to the beach, but it is a wonderful hike over dunes, with wonderful bluffs and coves. The store and restaurant is expensive, so we did not use them. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$65
Ditto on bringing a water pressure regulator. And beware: most of the sites are uneven and there is no privacy (especially in Coastal Village and Whale areas). While the comfort stations are still large, they are not nearly as clean/nice as when the previous owners maintained them. Certainly family friendly, though everything from breakfast to the store items were pricey. The park staff was plentiful, friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$65
I have been here many times throughout the ownership changes. KOA has provided a major improvement to the RV experience. The lodge continues to be top notch but not of much interest to us. Check in is now better with a Kiosk. The general store is more for novelties and less helpful for RV related items but very nice. Just a heads up that the water pressure is quite high so bring a pressure regulator. Our family enjoys this place and the surrounding towns, beaches, and trails. It just seems to get better unlike many campgrounds I have been to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$67
We booked late for Memorial Day weekend and got essentially the last site in the park. Driving here Saturday morning, we found the office staff friendly and helpful. The park itself is beautiful in a naturalistic, REAL Northern California way. We liked it. A few points: there is no swimming pool, but a hot tub at the Lodge may be available (along with a full selection of spa services). Best trash pick-up we have ever seen, especially for a busy weekend. On-site restaurant is very good, but quite pricy. Good food is available at the Gazos Creek Inn, 2 miles north (or a mile walking on old hwy 1) or in Davenport, 15 minutes south. We were impressed by how quiet the packed park was day and night, but this is a very personal evaluation. Ice is $1/bag at the lodge store. Bulk propane is for sale, but next to nothing from an RV/Camping tidbits perspective. We loved it and will return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$45
We love camping at Costanoa! This resort offers many different accommodations: something for everyone right across from great beaches, close to Pegion Point Light House and much more. Just 22 miles south of Half Moon Bay and 21 miles north of Santa Cruz. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$40
Like no KOA we've ever stayed at. No add on and the registrar was great about rates and sites. The restaurant and bar were top notch and the food was awesome, but then so was the lodge. The rate reflected the winter rate and discounts. This park has a large number of cabin style tent units, and lodge type cabins. There is a section of view sites, a section of back-ins with wooden patios under shade trees. The pull-throughs had plants and flowers between each site and were long enough for almost any rig. The ocean is across the Hwy about 1/2 mile or so, and there are several state beaches close, as is Pigeon Point light. There are trips to Ano Nuevo bay to see the Elephant Seals. This place is so nice that I would rank it with the best Washington and Oregon state parks: WOW. I could definitely make an attempt to stay here again, even if I have to go out of my way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$53
The sites are paved with lots of grass and plenty of space around your campsite. The location, along this somewhat remote part of the coast, is absolutely beautiful. We spent a week here over the holidays and wished we had time to stay longer. Very friendly staff and a nice restaurant on site, too. This is a park we'll come back to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$65
Hard to evaluate this campground as we camped here on a summer weekend and found it crowded and noisy. At other times we may have found it more enjoyable. I would not chance it here again on a summer weekend though. The $65 rate does not include the 10% tax, the total cost of over $70 is a bit high. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
We enjoyed the wide open spaces that this park offers. The hiking trails and the close location to the ocean are a plus. There are allot of families that stay and camp at this park, but the noise level was low. The showers and bathrooms are neat and clean. However, being limited to only one shower and shower lengths of 5 minutes is a negative. We enjoyed the staff and they were always available to answer questions and to help. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$38
We really liked Costanoa a lot and found it very famiily friendly. This was our first visit for 3 nights and we booked our next stay before we left the park. I did use the restrooms and showers in our camping area one evening and they were not that clean. Maybe it was just poor timing but the shower could use some upgrading. Anyway, I did not go for the restrooms or showers and find the grounds and area very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$65
Very nice facilities all round - this park has some of the nicest bathrooms I have ever seen. Views of the Pacific are nice, but you have to cross a highway to get to the beach. Pull-through spots are nicely landscaped. The general store has everything you need, albeit in some type of organic version. (This could either be a plus or a minus, depending on your personal preferences.) Loads and loads of rules are a minor downer, but the upside is that there are no drunken campers roaring around the grounds in 4x4s with their stereos blasting. Overall, we love this place and can't wait to visit again soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$82
This place has gone through several ownerships and managements. Recently, KOA started managing it. (That's like injecting a sick patient with arsenic.) Anyway, the place is very, very remote with virtually nothing nearby. Sites are crowded, the cost is a ridiculous $82.50 per night. The only place to eat is the adjacent restaurant which is ridiculously expensive. The sites are not level, and it is not, in any way, a first class park although it is in a very pretty area. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$50
This place is rustic but nice. We liked staying here and it has a lot of places for a family to go close by. Family oriented. The food was great at the restaurant. We have three young children and they loved it too. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2007
$50
I agree with the first post. The campground, although in a beautiful site, was a disappointment. It only worked for us because it the RV sites were virtually deserted. We had an entire section to ourselves, so of course it was very quiet. I wouldn't dream of going there at any other time of year. We did enjoy the hiking, and feel that much effort has been made to make a "small footprint" which may be why it's a little too rustic for the price, and truly lacks any privacy. We did have an ocean view but the price was stable odors from the corral next door, although the horses were away for the winter. So my vote is only go here if you're in transit or want a coastal location at all costs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$74
This park is way overrated! First of all I was quoted $50.00 for weekly rates and $65 for weekend rates. They forget to mention they also charge 10% tax and a $2.50 daily conservation fee. This brings the rates to $57.50 weekly and $74.00 for weekends. When I first made my reservation I was told the $2.50 conservation fee was a one time charge. However, when I checked out I found out it was a daily charge. The front desk would not honor what I was told by reservations. I'm sure I could dispute this on my credit card if I wanted to. They obviously have very poor customer service. I've stayed in nicer parks for half the price. I don't mind paying to stay in a nice park, however, this park is not worth what they charge. The lots are close together and there are no trees for privacy and seperation from the other RVers. Besides the screaming kids riding their bikes up and down the streets for hours we heard screaming babies at 2:30 am. Maybe if the lots weren't so close together this wouldn't have been such a problem. The prices in the restaurant are extremely high. The food is average, nothing to write home about. I don't mind paying for a good meal, however, I wouldn't go back to this restaurant. For the amount of money you pay nightly you would expect to at least have a level lot. The lots are extremely unlevel. There were lots of dogs running around off leash making if difficult for me to walk my dog without be bombarded by every other dog in the park, including a pitbull. Park rules state dogs must be on a leash. Very rarely did you ever see security around enforcing the rules. The beaches are really beautiful, too bad there are no view lots. There was one area with view lots that we tried to get but were told these lots were being converted to a recreation area, and are no longer available for RV's. However, the second night we were there they allowed newcomers to take these spots. This place is very poorly managed and needs some work. What a shame! They should not convert the view lots to a recreation area. They should widen and level the lots. Some privacy trees and landscaping would be nice. Firepits in the RV area would be nice. Firepits are only available in the tent cabin areas. They could also use some help in the customer service area. I'd have to be pretty desperate to stay here again. We camped here in a coach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$50
The RV area is just part of a very big and beautiful complex which includes RV sites, tent sites, tent-cabins, cabins and lodge rooms. It has a full service spa, cafe that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, horses for horseback riding, planned activities for families such as kayaking, etc. Very close to some beautiful beaches and state parks. But the sites are quite close together, with no landscaping at all and for $50 I expected sewer hookups. There is not even a dump station. All of the extra services, including food are quite expensive. The "comfort stations" (restroom facilities) are pretty fancy with a sauna, vending machines and each one has a big beautiful fireplace with furniture around it. But there is only 1 shower in each comfort station, which seems quite inadequate for the number of guests. They had a wonderful idea, but didn't "quite" get it right -- but it was still a nice stay. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com