206561 User submitted reviews online!!
Hemlock Campground & Cottages was rated 8 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (570) 894-4388
CGID4285

Hemlock Campground & Cottages

Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   3   9   9   7   8   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$24
On our way south for the winter. Hemlock never fails to impress us. We stay here every year on our way to and from Florida. Roads are a bit narrow but we have a 40 RV and make it every time. Once on our site this, is one of the most picturesque parks we have found. It is worth the effort. Cable is great and Wi-Fi does the job. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$42
Very, very wooded place. If you had a big rig, don't go there. We had a 23 foot and barely got around to the camp site. Showers and bathroom clean and nice. Staff very friendly had cable, which is nice. Sites were kind of cramped because of all the trees. You need to be good at backing in your rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$24
Passport America Rate, $24. TREES, lots of dense TREES. Two main roads are one-way, paved, mostly level, quite narrow, with trunks of trees very close to edges of slightly windy road, with some low hanging branches. It was an anxious, careful & slow drive to our site. Definitely not big rig friendly although we are only 36’. We arrived at our site with awnings and mirrors intact. But it was beautiful and the most truly “woodsy” campground we were ever in. RVs nestled everywhere between the trees, and sites mostly spacious. Fine for trimming trees in any way $275. Great place to chill out in the Pocono mountains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
We have stayed here at least 6 times over the past four years. The campground is always very clean and neat. The owner are always on site to make sure that everything is as it should be. I would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$46
A small CG but very nice. The owners were very nice & attentive. A large percentage of seasonals & permanents. Some of them looked a bit run down. The road is a one-way and very narrow. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$23
Just a one night stand on the way to NYC. Campground is densely shaded with extremely narrow interior roads. Trees just inches away from both sides of the truck and RV as we very slowly threaded our way through. Seasonals make up 95% of the occupants, most with elaborate decks and landscaping. Very few people here in the middle of the week. Electricity is 30 amp only and very weak: as low as 108 volts even though we did not use the a/c. No satellite reception possible but excellent cable. The rate shown is Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$41
We found this park by calling the office and getting good directions. An electronic gated entrance guards the entrance to the gravel roads and sites in this park. We put our 36' motor home in a level, back-in gravel pad that had 30 amps available. Most sites are all tree covered, but tall enough for us and wide enough for us being careful. Water pressure was 40 PSI and our SurgeGuard had no faults indicated. Good strong signals on WiFi, but the speed was a little faster than dial-up. Google maps display would "paint" the computer screen a section at a time. They had a chili cook-off and line dancing in the recreation hall, but we came in late and didn't join. Cable TV was great. Camp fires and fire pits were in use. There were no bugs, flies or mosquitoes. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Rate reflects PA membership. Stayed for an overnight. Staff friendly and helpful. Quiet park with level and shaded sites. Some are a little tight to get into. Laundry facilities were adequate; clean, a little pricy and the change machine worked. Wi-Fi worked very well, and I would consider it fast. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
I was very surprised with the conditions of this park. Very clean and tidy throughout. We stayed 1 night on way to Cape Cod, 4 nights on the way back to explore area. It was a little difficult to find with GPS, but with call to the office, were talked right in. Pool was full most days and store items very reasonable. Will be spending more time here in the future. Rate reflects PA discount in cash. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$46
Beautiful large sites that were level ,shaded and private as well. Well maintained campground. This campground had some seasonal units there but everything was so clean and put away. Nice young couple that own the place, very accommodating. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
Nice quiet little park with lots of things to see and do in the area. The owners are great and a pleasure to meet. Everyone was friendly. We had a nice time and recommend Hemlock. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Very nice place. As others have said, owners are wonderful and very accommodating! Place is well kept and very clean. The majority of the campground seems to be permanents but the spots available for vacationers was very nice! The only reason I did not give this place a 10 rating is because it is very tight to maneuver through. We have a 38' fifth wheel and we made it in and out but by moving very slowly! It is doable but use caution. There was all sorts of sizes and makes of RV's in the park so it is doable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$43
Nice campground. Interior roads are tight for a large motorhome. Lots of shade and overall a well kept park. Lots of seasonal people. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Laundry and shower rooms were OK. Only 3 washers and 2 dryers for the whole park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
The owners really were excellent and caring. There are a lot of seasonal folks, but they are very friendly to visitors and with the frequent evening activities, you have plenty of opportunities to meet them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$21
Nice park! We had a good level pull-through site and it accommodated our 50' rig + trailer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
A great park with wonderful owners. Can't say enough about how nice we were treated after leaving a campground that did not treat us nice. The activities were great and the family type atmosphere was just what we needed after a horrible stay at another campground in the area. We will return to this park whenever we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
We spent the weekend here. It's a small place with over 70% of the sites occupied by seasonal campers. From what we saw, most of the seasonal campers kept their places up really well, there are those few that don't seem to try as hard. The one owner mentioned that their plan was to free up more of the seasonal sites as they come available for transients. This park is under new ownership as are a lot of them it seems. The new owners are a couple in their 40's that have always camped and enjoy it so much they decided to buy their own campground. They're doing some nice things: what looks to be a new and very large recreation hall, and putting red mulch all around the weekend sites which really adds to the look of the place. Although we didn't use the bathrooms, I can only assume they are as well kept as the rest of the place. We had our dog with us and the guests there seemed very pet friendly. We stayed in site #71 which was a pull through on a corner lot with full hookups. I reserved the site again for the third week in October as they're booked solid for the Halloween weekend. Wi-Fi was available down at the rec-center but my guess is that if you have an external Wi-Fi antenna you may get a signal at your site. We really liked this place as well as the owners and will be spending some more time here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
Very pretty campground with very nice sites and friendly helpful staff. Why an 8 and not a 10?? Simple reason is there was a lot of noise until deep into the A.M. on weekend nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$19
My partner and I both loved this park. We travel with 3 Newfoundland dogs and this park was great for walking dogs. The entire park is shaded with trees - more trees than I've ever seen in an RV park. The owners were very friendly and informative. We will certainly camp here again! Note - we used a Garmin Nuvi GPS to guide us, and it couldn't find the correct address. The park is located on Hemlock Dr., our Garmin guided us to Hemlock Cir., which is smack in the middle of a housing subdivision. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
Beautiful campground. Best site we ever stayed on. It was wooded, level, totally graveled. Stayed 5 nights and didn't want to leave. Owners so friendly and helpful we felt like part of the family. They are constantly cleaning and upgrading so things look beautiful and inviting. Quiet during the week but hopping on weekends. Organized activities on summer weekends. Cable TV was great but no Wi-Fi in upper area of campground. Owners are working to extend Wi-Fi to all areas soon. Shop in the camp store, items are really nice and prices can't be beat. Seasonal s are also very friendly and we had many conversations with them during our stay. Would highly recommend this campground and we will definitely stay here again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
We heard of this campground from someone at work and decided to try it. We do a lot of weekend camping and are always looking for new places. Not only are the owners extremely friendly, the entire campground is. The weekend activities are fun for all and the entire campground and facilities are immaculate. We can't wait to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
Beautiful area, nice site, very quiet. Rabbits EVERYWHERE - there must be a colony! Not much to do - there's no walking trails except the very small campground loop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
We stopped here for the night and ended up staying 6 days. The campground is very well maintained and kept meticulously clean. I do not know what the last "big rig beware" review was talking about as we drive a 38 foot class A bus and had no problem navigating the roads. Activities were not being held but we looked on the website and saw that the newer owners do a themed weekend each week. We will be back, and soon! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$19
Caution for those that have large rigs. We have a 38 foot fifth wheel, add our full size truck, and we are about 54 feet long. When you enter this park there is no turn around without going all the way into the park. There are two large trees that you have to go between and they are close. We stayed in the only pull through site #71 at the far end of the park. Pulling out we came real close to trees and large rocks. If you are not really sure how to maneuver your trailer or MH, don't go into this park. Now this is a nice park. We liked staying here. The 30 amp electric, water and sewer was good. Cable TV was great. Can't get satellite because of the trees. We were here on a weekday and it was nice and quiet. Our Sprint Air card worked at 1x, which was enough to read email, IM and other minor web activities, using a Wilson Trucker antenna. They have Wi-Fi in the office but not out through the campground. Lightning damaged part of their equipment and they are working to add more Wi-Fi access points in the future. The couple new owners are very nice. The park looks nice. They have a lot of seasonal sites and they are required to keep them neat and clean. This is a Passport America and Camper Club USA park which helps on weekday stays. If I had a smaller rig, I would stay here again. Call before you make plans to stay here especially if you have a large rig. This is a great place for Tent Campers, Popups and such. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$17
We stay here on our way north and south each year. It is a very nice campground with friendly and helpful owners. This is a family campground in a shady setting. The roads are very narrow, but it is not a problem getting to or from the sites and adds to the ambiance of the park. Of course, we return again and again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$34
I noticed an older review from 2005 that was not so stellar though, aside from this one there is one from last year that is much better. It should be noted that the campground is under new ownership since last April. I never saw this campground before but based on the old review I'd have to say that the new owners have done a fantastic job! This great little campground was one of the neatest, cleanest little facilities we've been too. Everything looked new. The sites were all either level stone for the parking areas or clean red mulch in the non-parking areas. The picnic tables were clean and well kept, and were all tilted on end to allow debris to slide off. The fire pit was up on a pile of stone and well aerated and featured a cover. The site was not advertised as having cable but it certainly did. All sites were shaded. They have a great horseshoe pit, swimming pool, a relatively new and well-stocked camp store, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Really a great little gem in hidden in the Poconos. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
This is a great little park that is well maintained i have to give a lot of credit to the owners the place is spotless. Sites are a nice size and well taken care of. We have been to this park in the past and can't wait to go again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2005
$33
Hemlock is a very nice, basic, family oriented CG. There are a large number of seasonal sites. All wooded sites. Quite a few pop-up and tent sites at the bottom of the CG but not that many for RV's. Playground area could use some updating. Bathrooms were always clean. Only one bathhouse for the entire CG but that was never an issue during our stay. Small heated pool. Small store with lots of souvenirs. Very friendly owners. We even received a post card in the mail when we got home thanking us for our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com