218884 User submitted reviews online!!
American Heritage Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (360) 943-8778
CGID4286

American Heritage Campground

Camp Information
Sites
99
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   7   9   7   9   9   6   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
The staff here are fantastic! The park is beautiful with lots of trees and gives the impression that you are way off the beaten path. Restrooms were clean and showers hot! The kids loved the hay ride in the evening and loved to see the goats. I have already told friends if they are traveling through Washington they HAVE to stay here. Fantastic! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This is a nice place to stay when traveling through Washington on Hwy 5. We stayed in late September, so a sign on the office door says the office is closed for the winter season, and you do a self check-in. They also have a sister campground about a mile away, so they do make visits to this site. Paved roads with dirt sites and "lots" of trees. You can easily be totally hidden from the sun if you pick the right site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
Heavily treed RV park & campground, some full service sites, some sites big rig friendly others very small and quite tight. Sites are reasonably level but are not graveled or paved. Interior roads are paved. Table and fire-pits. All fairly private, nice washroom & showers, pool, play area. Quiet. WiFi hot-spot only. Air TV but limited. Staff friendly and helpful. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
This park is lovely with trees and nice, secluded sites. I was there off-season so the pool was closed, but the little goats and chickens were there. The park is easy-access from the interstate, but I didn't hear any road noise, and the owners/managers were really very nice and helpful. Really lovely weekend! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
Our motorhome is 36' and we had a little trouble with overhanging trees scraping the top and sides of the motorhome as we tried to navigate the very narrow access roads. Once at the site, backing in was very easy, but the site was far from being level. Lifted the rear as much as possible but to keep the rear tires on the ground the motorhome was still tail down. Lots of kids on bikes, so you really had to be careful driving in or out of campground. With the tall trees, satellite TV was out of the question and no wi-fi...had to use our hotspot. Staff was friendly, campground (and facilities) were clean and well kept. With the motorhome, I don't think I would use this campground again, but smaller motorhomes/5ers/travel trailers with families...this is a great spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
The staff at this campground is terrific! They were very accommodating and ensured we were happy with our space. The park is full of trees and very quiet. The roads are a bit narrow, and some sites would be difficult to park a trailer or rig greater than 25 feet, but they will work with you to find a site that works. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Located just outside of Tumwater, you are about 3 miles from Olympia. Stayed here for 11 days. The town of Tumwater has all the amenities and a great little farmers market. The campground is well treed, with a very friendly and helpful staff. The road to the campsites is narrow, with some lower hanging tree branches. Be patient and you will be fine. With the heavy tree cover, it gets dark! Be sure to have flashlight for walking to laundry facility or washrooms. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
I was not impressed, no Wi-Fi when in the site, electricity went down when running A/C and ants everywhere in our site. Management friendly, but major upgrades needed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$29
While we loved the owners, we would not stay here again. The bathrooms weren't open yet, but we were not told that when we made reservations. While the park is scenic, with beautiful, mature evergreen trees, the sites are in desperate need of leveling, raking, and fresh gravel, making sites feel muddy and unkempt. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
A nice park in a wooded setting (forget about satellite access here). It reminds us of a State or Federal park. The staff were very nice and helpful at check-in. The roadways are a bit narrow but we didn't have any problems getting to our site. The sites are large and well spaced. We had a full hook-up site and the 30 amp power was a bit on the lower end at a 110 volt with no draw. Running an air conditioner and the electric on the water heater caused the voltage to drop below 103 volt, kicking off my power protection. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
A very lovely park witrh a natural setting in the woods. Wonderful staff. Very helpful. Clean restrooms and showers. Kids had a great time in the sparkling pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
We used this park as a stopover at the beginning of a Vancouver, BC to Anaheim trip. We liked it so much we stayed on our way back! The hosts of this park are very friendly and helpful. It is rare to see people who seem to so genuinely care that you are enjoying your stay. The site is heavily treed and although it is very close to the I-5, you don't hear it due to the enormous trees everywhere. Highly reccommended!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
This is a lovely, wooded park with large sites that have plenty of shrubs/trees to offer privacy. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The park has a huge back lawn area which is great for walking dogs. This is a campground that would appeal to RVers who want a little wilderness around them, as opposed to lots of cement and manicured lawns. It's just 3 miles from "civilization" (shopping) yet it feels remote. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
This is a lovely RV campground with long pads surrounded by bushes under a wide variety of trees. It is precisely the way RV parks SHOULD be laid out and is very reasonably priced. The family owners are working hard to prepare the campground for the summer, cleaning everything up. I did check out the laundry room and it had nasty old carpet/furniture/smell and most of the dryers weren't working, so I would not use it. That is definitely one thing that keeps this park from getting a "10" rating, but I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
This is a wonderful park, just far enough off the I-5 to be quiet, but close enough to be handy for getting to Olympia. The sites are spacious, in a beautiful woodland setting, and quite private from the other sites. When they laid out this place out, they obviously made a conscious choice to opt for beautiful spaces over MORE spaces. It's a place designed by campers, for campers. The office staff (owners) are about the nicest people you could ever meet. It is obvious they are doing something they enjoy, and it shows in their attitude. In almost a year on the road, this is the nicest woodland park we have stayed in. There is an organic composting operation beside the park, but in the four days and nights we were here, we had no issues with noise or smell. We would come back here, or send people here, with NO hesitation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
This campground stinks: literally. If its not pouring rain with some campsites under water, the mud starts to dry out and smells of dog waste. There is also a smell that I think comes from the septic system that you can smell through most of the top half of this small park. The supposed gravel sites haven't seen gravel since probably 1970's. The trees also drop some sort of sap on your rig. There is no internet at the sites; you have to go to their run down laundry room. I only give them 3 points because the staff is extremely friendly, and there is a pool that appeared to be cleaned daily; otherwise I would give it a zero. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
This was the type of park we really love to be in with a motorhome. It feels like you are really camping with big trees all around, fire pits in all the sites, and un-paved pull in's (the roads through the site are all paved). We really loved the animals on site that our little one could feed herself. We were here in the off season before they were technically open (I.e. The pool was closed and there were no free hayrides running) but we could imagine in-season it would be even more fun for the kids and the staff were fantastic. We really feel bad 'only' giving the site an 8 but the site is starting to feel a little run down. The sign out front made us question if they were even open anymore and the playground and other buildings are showing a lot of age. Laundry machines are 24 hours but the machines are getting pretty old and slow. Wi-fi is only at the main building and very close in sites. If you want to feel like you left the city and found something more 'camping classic', you won't go wrong here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
I'd say this campground is fairly close to perfect. We camped here in March and so it rained nearly the entire time. But when it wasn't raining we were able to take walks and enjoy the lovely, lush surroundings. The sites are fairly level, but not paved, and easy to back into. We were in a full hookup site, and it was surrounded by large trees and bushes. Very private setting. The campground hosts were kind and accommodating, even though it was off-season. The campground has a large field for the kids to play in with goats!! Our kids had a great time even though the pool was closed due to weather. Would be amazing in summer. Bring DVD's as the cable/TV signal was non-existent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
We stayed there overnite and I will share my comments both good and bad. First of all this is a great campground for families. It is woodsy, with allot of trails for kids to run wild and play hide and seek. The bathrooms and showers were clean. For the matured travelers like ourselves who have done the family camping trips and like the luxury of modern technology this is not one you would enjoy. The campsites most of them are all back ins. The sites with a sewer hookup are very limited I only saw one visible as I drove by the sites but most of the sites just had water and electric. It does not have a WIFI connection as listed when I researched it prior to going there. I was told that they what they call Hot Spots connection that allows you to connect to the internet depending on how close you are to the office but there in on guarantee of that. If you have an older satellite system you will not pick up a signal because of the trees and there is no cable hookups. Also, beware of the poison ivy and oak that surround the campsites. Everyone has their own likes and dislikes in what they call camping. I hope my comments will be a helpful resource for those like myself who are on the road and looking for a site to stay a nite or longer. My final comment is that the staff are very helpful and nice as a prior comments have said. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
A really nice park. Nicely treed!! We would come back here. In fact, we tried but they were booked. The staff were very nice. The pool looked nice although I did not swim in in. Nice large grassy field in the back for kids to play. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
After camping at this site for the July 4th weekend, I had to post a review. Firstly, I was HIGHLY impressed with their sweet and wonderful staff. For me, being a person used to city life, and wanting an outdoor's experience, this camp site served me very well! What stands out most in my mind is that their bathroom and toilet facilities were SUPERBLY clean. This made mine and my family's 3 day stay absolutely enjoyable!! Their campground has a wonderful park for the kids to run around in and their swimming pool was also most enjoyable. Thanks to eveyone there for making our stay an enjoyable one!! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Wow. It is hard to believe that this is so close to the I-5. It was like camping in the middle of the woods (and I mean that in a good way). The long previous post pretty much covers the other details. I'll add that the kids loved the big park/field and the restrooms look like they have had a recent renewal (they are immaculate!). We would definitely come back for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
Wow, I feel like I'm in a state park with lots of trees; can't believe this is a privately owned campground. If you travel with a cat, the cat will be greatly entertained watching all the squirrels running around. During the off season (Labor Day - Memorial Day), this campground is technically closed (no pool or showers), but they do allow self check-in as long as you are "fully contained." I got lucky, and one of the owners was doing some chores, and she checked me in. The price I am showing is the price before discounts. The park doesn't accept Good Sam but does take AAA Motor Club. If you use the discount, it's cash only. You can choose from (1) full hook up, (2) water and electric only, and (3) "no hook up." Tents are allowed to use the water and electric sites, but not the full hook up sites. The sites are back-in and quite roomy, to include a picnic table and a nice fire ring. However, as another reviewer posted, backing in from the roadway is somewhat tricky for some of the sites. I was in Site #7 on the left side of the roadway. It took me about three tries to back in. For Site #7, I had to back around about a 45 degree angle. It would have been easier if I were going the OTHER direction on the road, but it's a one way and you are only allowed to go that way. The site across from me would have been easier to back into. The owner indicated that Wi-Fi is best accessed if you are close to the office, and she did her best to get me a good Wi-Fi site. However, the Wi-Fi was still slow. If you go to the laundry room, the Wi-Fi will work much faster. There is no cable; you have to use your antenna (or hope your satellite can work amidst all the trees!!!), and the channels will be a bit snowy. The park sells propane, always a plus. There are two pay phones in case your cell phone doesn't work. The laundry area is adequate, to include a couple of nice upholstered easy chairs to do some reading. Laundry prices as of this writing are $1.25 for wash and $1 for dry, about what you would expect. The owners are very proud of this park, and work very hard to keep this a "campground" (that happens to have hookups) and not an RV park. One thing to note: if you happen to walk somewhere (like the laundry room) right before dark, make sure you have a flashlight, as once it's dark, it's DARK! I went to the laundry room right before dark, and when I came out, I had to "feel" my way back to my campsite. The only negative comment I have is that I felt the sewer connection was a little too close to the water connection. I recommend not connecting your sewer hose until you are ready to leave and have packed up everything else. This is a great, peaceful place to stop for one or two nights on your travels north or south on Interstate 5, or is a great "destination" park for families. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
The park was packed when we were here and they were hosting a car show too. Most of the sites looked roomy, but we were in the middle of three sites jammed very closely together even though I had made reservations a month or more in advance. We were jammed close enough that the constant cigarette smoke from the neighbors was always wafting into our site. Choose your spot carefully. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
This is an older park with tall trees throughout. The check-in was fast and very friendly. The sites are not particularly level but livable. WiFi was acceptable but only usable for sites near the office. We only stayed here one night on our way south but seems quiet and would be a park for kids as they were many using the pool. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
This campground is easy access from I-5, is picturesque and heavily wooded. As others have commented, it is unlike most RV campgrounds. The site are very spacious and isolated from adjacent sites mainly because it is not laid out like a grid. The downsides are, that it does not offer 50 amp service (which was a challenge when the weather outside was in the mid 90s), no wireless internet nor cable TV, and trees blocked satellite reception. It was challenging to park a 40 feet RV but should be easily accessible for smaller RVs. Others have noted that this is a good campground for children -- however, all of the playground equipment were very old and none of it suitable for our 4 year old son. This is a very unique property and with some updates of their hook-up and electrical service, this could be a first-rate campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
This is truly a campground and not an RV park. Each site is spacious with full hook-ups, but in the dense forest. This park was so quiet, I wondered if we were the only people there! Kind of a rustic feel to the campground, so it probably wouldn't suit those who like the 1st class, concrete pad, pull thru places. Easy access off the I-5 but no highway noise at all. There's tons for kids to do: a pool, hay rides, a paved riding track, a farm with two cute goats, some ducks and chickens, a rec hall and a covered picnic pavilion. It's really a resort RV park disguised as a campground (or is it the other way around?). We'll gladly be coming back here. My only complaint is Wi-Fi is not that easily accessible. I had something to look-up on-line and the lady in the office came to my site to give me the info after she looked it up on her computer. Now, that's service! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$29
This is without a doubt the prettiest non-public RV Park we have ever stayed at: well separated, heavily wooded, beautiful sites. We arrived right after the annual blue-grass festival in early September, right after the park had officially "closed" for the season. This park is run by the same folks who run Olympia Campground, a mile up the road, and they were VERY helpful and accommodating. There are a very limited number of sites in both parks where you can site an Internet or TV satellite dish, but they know which ones they are. The broadcast TV reception is terrible, but that is not the fault of the park. There were two goats (Bonnie and Clyde) in a fenced area on the property and evidently lots of family activities during the regular season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$29
Nice family campground. Pleanty of activities for kids to do. Close to I-5. Most of the campground is very shaded by tall trees. The sites had picnic tables and fire pits. Sites can be a little tight with all the trees around. We couldn't setup our awning, but it didn't matter since it was so shaded anyway. No cable TV, antenna only picked up a couple of channels, and satellite probably wouldn't work with all the trees around. Then again, you should be playing outside anyway. :-) If you have kids, they will have a good time. Nice playground and pool area. There are 3-wheel and bike rentals. There are hayrides at night as well as movies in the clubhouse. If you don't like kids or noise, this is not the place to be. You will get some traffic noise from I-5, but that never bothered me. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com