218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Hoover RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (205) 739-7400
CGID43

Hoover RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
142
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   9   10   8   6   7   7   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
This is an ideal park for travelers on I 20. Easy to get into and out of. It is a large parking lot next to a baseball stadium used for SEC playoff games. The city of Hoover is to be commended for providing such a nice RV facility. We will stay here any time we are in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
Basically a parking lot near a stadium with flat level sites. Very little shade. Cable TV did not work and no WiFi. Verizon signal moderately strong. Good for an overnight stay. We would stay here again. Rate shown is with tax. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$31
We love this park! Self check in. Full 50 amp hookups. It is basically a big level parking lot behind the Hoover Met Baseball stadium. There are nice, well groomed grass islands scattered throughout the park. We always feel safe here and the best part for me was learning to drive and pull our forty foot trailer as there are several large empty parking lots to practice in. We were here during recent tornado activity and found several nearby office buildings in which to weather the storm with your vehicle and others from the park. Wi-Fi is good, nearby groceries, and restaurants are suitable. We will return when in the area. If you like BBQ be sure to try Southern Legacy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
Located behind the baseball park. All concrete drive and parking pads, very level, and park is well lighted at night. Very well manicured and maintained. Spaces are huge. We stayed in the white section. No pool, baths, showers and no onsite office, just a drop box for payment. There may be a office at the stadium Monday-Friday, but no one on weekends. I was told there was a security patrol. Lighted at night. We were here for 3 nights and would return. Many motor homes were parked but no one in them. Like storing them, but there is a limitation in staying, so check. We were there during the early April heavy rains, but no flooding or standing water and easy access to highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$32
This public city park attendant to a baseball stadium is basically a big blacktop parking lot with excellent basic services. Sites are back to back using common utilities and sloped slightly for drainage; oriented correctly we were able to use our landing legs to level out nicely. There are trees and grass like in any shopping center parking lot and though I saw a sign for a nature trail I never say the actual trail. The area is well patrolled by police and appeared very safe. It is 15 minutes from downtown Birmingham. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$34
As the other reviews have stated, this a stadium parking lot. They have full hookups but no bathroom or showers available. It is not easy to find, but they do have signs directing you to the RV Lot once you find the stadium. We stayed here for two nights to visit the Barber Motorsports Museum which was about 20 miles away. The area felt safe other than the hunters in the surrounding woods and the occasional shotgun blast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
Clean, well-located in a safe, quiet residential area. Good access from I-459 via good roads. Not located where "Streets & Trips" has it, but close; instead use Regions Park stadium as the GPS destination. All sites are pull through, paved, almost level, and roomy enough. High water pressure; use regulator. Excellent access to Galleria Mall, where there is good food. This park is spartan in nature, but good for the purpose of a place to safely and comfortably park. We will stay here again when in the area. There are no showers, toilets, or laundry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$31
Its a OK short term but overpriced. It properly covers the people that don't pay. Would come back again just for a over nite. Sites listed as pull through but they are not, unless you block the travel lane. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$32
As previously stated this is not a park, it is a parking lot. It is, however, completely paved so no mud or rocks to deal with. Spaces are wide. It is really tricky to find a spot that does not require intense work trying to get level. Whether or not you like it, it is almost the only game in town. Birmingham area is really lacking in RV parks. We were here in May and July of 2011. Two RVs that were here last year are still here even though there is a 90 day limit for staying here. People drive in and fill their tanks with water: for free. And some have driven in, used the sewer connections and left: again, for free. The City of Hoover could make a lot more money if they had someone here to collect fees for those services. It is possible to stay here overnight and leave early enough without paying. That happens here, too. We stayed 10 days and saw much misuse of this park. It is expensive for a parking lot with absolutely no facilities at all but there is no other place to stay while visiting friends and family. We will probably have to return here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
As previous posters have stated "It's a parking area near a stadium". The parking area is slanted and you need to find a area that is fairly flat so your front wheels aren't off the ground when leveling. After having my 50amp breaker trip a few times and then talking with others I find that the electric is marginal. Only about 20 RV's here and we had problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
We stayed at this park for 3 weeks while my wife finished up her work. It was a good park for short stays. It gets very hot in summer. The baseball park is just down the hill, and you get a nice fireworks show on weekends when the Barons are in town. There is much to do close by. We well stay here again when in Birmingham for a short visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
This is the most outstanding "parking lot" we have ever stayed in. Secluded, quiet, large parking lot surrounded by mature tree's, next to a baseball stadium, surrounded by an upscale neighborhood. The parking lot is all concrete with large islands of grass and trees at the ends and middle of each row. Area is clean and well maintained. All sites are pull through and are just long enough for 40 ft MH. If the park was full, you would need to disconnect your tow. All utilities, including full cable TV, are in modern posts between each site. Sites are side by side and would be tight if the park was full. Sites are first come, first served, but you can call ahead to check availability. You pick up an envelope on your way in, select a site. Suggest you take an end site if available. Fill out the envelope, put in cash or check (CC are 4% more) and deposit the envelope in the box. Area is well lit with plenty of trash cans. Shopping is close by, as are all attractions in Birmingham. No restrooms or laundry. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
This was a nice basic local park. Good FHU sites with cable and Wi-Fi that worked well. No services other than the FHU. Even though there was no host, we felt very comfortable staying in the park. They don't accept reservations except during the baseball tournament. Not a problem since the park was about half occupied. Nice location near town, restaurants, and shopping. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
As the previous review noted, this is nothing more than a glorified RV parking lot. The hook-ups are "top of the line" and better than anything I've ever seen before. Everything is fully integrated into a fancy tower except the sewer connection which is built into the concrete "island". The entire parking area is in a mountainous area so many of the sites aren't level. However, during our stay there were plenty of sites available and as we were also inundated with lots of rain, the run-off was a benefit. One interesting feature (besides the nearby baseball stadium) was a hiking trail that was well-marked and clearly maintained that led down the back side of the mountain to the Cahaba River. It's well worth exploring. As the previous reviewer noted, this is a good place to stop to get off the road for one or two nights, but the price seems a little high to me. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
Okay, no reasonable person would consider this RV park to be a destination. It’s a really big parking lot. If you are like us and you need a place to park, connect, sleep and get on your way again, it’s perfect. You pull off the freeway, navigate about 3 or 4 miles through a nice industrial area following the blue RV Parking signs and find a very large parking lot with little RV islands. I assume that this lot is used frequently during football games for tailgating, but we were glad it was available for a brief stopover (in some really bad storms). You’ll find a bulletin board with rules and payment envelopes. It was $31 and some change for an overnight stay (a little high, but we were tired of driving in the storms and we weren’t complaining). The pull-throughs were not long enough for our 39 footer plus toad, so we did have to disconnect in the rain. That’s why I didn’t give it a 10. (Because I had to get wet!) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
This is our second stay here. Great location near shopping and restaurants. Yes, it's a big parking lot, but it is set up very nice. This is the best place to park if you are in the Birmingham area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
If I needed to spend more than one night in the Birmingham area, I would look elsewhere, but I expect we will return to this campground because for our purposes, is an excellent one-night park. It is almost exactly halfway between two escapees parks. It is convenient, safe, level, and relatively close to restaurants, grocery stores, and fuel stations. Little pedestals on raised concrete islands provide full hook-ups and cable. Although as others have stated, it is an un-staffed parking lot, I was pleased to find well-groomed grassy islands to walk the dog. Our 40-footer fit into the space with a few feet to spare, but there is no room left for the toad, and if there is auxiliary parking, I didn’t notice it. Wi-Fi works in some parts of the park, but not others, so if that is important to you, check before you select a site. Water pressure is very strong. Bring your regulator! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
A neat place to camp. Convenient to shopping and great restaurants. We have been there several times and will return. This is an honor system campground with no attendants but that does not present a problem for us as they can be reached by phone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
The asphalt site is as depicted by previous reviewers, which makes it hotter. We would not stay here if we were the only rig in the parking lot, as there is no host on site, nor is there any security that comes by to check on you. It is isolated. There is adequate lighting but that wouldn't do you any good if there were individuals who wanted to take advantage of a lone camper. Rate is high for what is provided compared to other places we've stayed across the US, and we started from Nevada. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
Basically, this is a parking lot with RV hookups. The cable is good, the WiFi one of the best speed I've ever had. The spots are plenty wide, but fairly short, our 37' 5th wheel stuck out a little. It's a self-serve, honor system, so you drive around to pick you spot, this time of year there were plenty. Overall, it's probably the best park in the Birmingham area and close the the RTJ Trail golf course. We would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
This is a large, paved parking lot located at a sports complex. The sites are well marked and all provide full hookups. I think this is a great concept that should be adopted by other cities. The location is great and is near shopping and restaurants. The local police patrol the area frequently. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Birmingham. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$36
Interesting location and concept. It is well set back from any of the area roads. It is easy to find with large RV Parking signs along roadways. As other reviewers have stated, it's a giant parking lot next to "Region's Park" Stadium parking. Quiet and easy to get in/out of. There is $4 fee for using credit card, so bring your checkbook or cash. I used credit card and thus the $36 a night. WI-FI was DSL speeds and strong signal. I was parked in the last row on right as you enter. This allowed me a nice view of surrounding hills and woods out my rear window. I was in 31ft TT and had to disconnect my Truck but lots of empty spaces to park, but during a sports event, you might have to park your tow vehicle in as adjacent lot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$32
Very well described in the other posts. There is no camp host in this campground. It is an honor system kind of like a pay parking lot. Easy in and easy out with a lot of stores nearby. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
Although this is in essence a parking lot, there is easy access, plenty of room for big rigs, 50 amps, sewer and water, clean, well-lit and has free Wi-Fi. It is in a very nice area, convenient to shopping, restaurants, churches and less than 10 miles from the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail, Oxmoor Valley Golf Course, and Ross Bridge Golf Course. The sites aren't long so big rigs might have to park their tow vehicle beside the rig. If it is not crowded, you can park the vehicle in the open site next door. You have to be self-contained as there are no facilities (bathrooms/showers). We like the open space and the concrete was great in rainy weather! Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
This is a parking lot on steroids without the traffic from shoppers! A great overnight stop, but not much else, and a bit pricey. All pull through sites with 20/30/50 amp electric, cable TV, sewer and fast Wi-Fi with a strong signal. I measured 80# water pressure: bring your pressure regulator. There are no picnic tables, no attendant, no bathrooms or showers and no shade. Since we were overnighting, we did not want to unhook the towd and were about two feet too long at 55 feet. A motorhome longer than ours at 35 feet would have to unhook. It was well lighted at night, in fact too much light in my opinion. Did see police patrols regularly. Because it is so convenient we would stay again for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Very clean park. Concrete surface makes it hot in summertime so you'll need A/C. Great Wi-fi signal. Quiet, except if there are fireworks at the adjacent ballpark. Self-service check-in. No shower or rest room facilities. Well-lit at night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
Very nice place to stay. We spent a week here while in the birmingham area. Sites are very roomy. Would be a 10 rating except that there are no public showers or restrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
Stayed during the SEC Tournament with an excellent experience. Sites are within walking distance but courtesy golf carts provide pick up at site and at ballpark. Police patrolled area both day and night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$32
I know it is a parking lot with utilities but it was great. After a lot of rain this place was a welcome dry spot. May stay here again tomorrow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$31
The Hoover RV Park is clean, quiet and comfortable. We were in Birmingham for a family wedding, and the RV Park suited our needs perfectly. The park is clean and very spacious with pull throughs. Set up was easy with all of the water, sewer & cable on a concrete pedestal. Close to interstate. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2008
$28
A parking lot type RV park. There was no attendant. It was a decent, safe place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$31
This is Wal-Mart with full hookups. There is no office, no bathrooms, no grass. The utilities are on a very nice pedestal and work great. However the rate is stiff for just a place to park for the night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$31
A great convenient clean place to stay in the Birmingham area. We come up here quite often for weekends. There are dozens of places to eat and shop within 5 minutes of the park. It is pretty much just a place to stay, unless you are going to a Birmingham Barons baseball game. Regions Park is part of the same complex. Large spots, 50 amp and a great cable TV hookup. Ultra modern and clean and in a very upscale part of Hoover. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$32
No services. All sites are full hook-up with cable TV. Entire campground has a slight slope to it - all asphalt. Few trees and the ones that are here are small, so it will be very hot in the summer. Price is $28 plus local lodging tax. Excellent spot to stop overnight. Wouldn't want to be here when it's full as it would feel very crowded. Pay with cash or check, no attendant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$32
I would have ranked this park higher except there is really no amenities. Great place for what we used it for, an overnight stay, or to see a baseball game. Very quiet and great location close to shopping and restaurants and convenient to the freeway. We would definitely stay here again while passing through this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$28
A City of Hoover run park and convenient to local attractions and shopping. No host on site, just an honor box to drop payment. Located just behind the Hoover Met Baseball Stadium that attracts a lot activity. A great place for an overnight stop or stay for a week or a month. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$45
This campground is like a large parking lot with grass islands between some sites. It is a newer campground and it's right next to the Hoover Met in case you wanted to take in a baseball game or other special event. There is no office but Hoover police do check in. It's a nice place to spend a night or two, fireworks at the Met every weekend during baseball season. No restrooms, showers or other amenities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
Great park, all long pull through sites with full hook-ups (30 and 50 amp, water, sewer & cable TV). I would heartily recommend this park to anyone traveling through the Birmingham area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
Very nice campground if you are stopping through the Birmingham area or visiting for a few days. Very clean and quiet. No pool/playground for children so if you need that you should consider another option. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$25
Has asphalt paving 95% of the area. Side by side hookup. No restrooms. Sites have phone and cable TV connections but were not ativated. Some small (young) trees and shrubs. Honor system pay with drop box. No visible attendants. A city RV park next to the Birmingham Barons baseball field has city police security. A clean park with shopping, restaurants, and groceries stores within driving distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$31
A real hidden treasure. Very clean and secure, just about 5 minutes off of 459 in Hoover. close to the Galleria, Oak Mtn. Apmitheatre, Birmingham. There were only 3 other RVs here the weekend we stayed. This is a real diamond, as nice of a site as anywhere we have ever stayed. In an upscale part of Hoover with very good security. Also next to the Hoover Met, the home of Birmingham's minor league baseball team. Also the location for the SEC College Baseball Tourney. All very large asphalt pull throughs, with lots of room for awnings and chairs. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com