219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Cliffside County Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (262) 886-6400
CGID4310

Cliffside County Park

Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   9   9   8   10   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$23
Can't say enough good things about this secluded, well maintained county park campground. The bathrooms are new and immaculately cleaned each morning. They have added water to all the outside sites so now there is multiple electric options and water on all sites. Lots of shade and lots of room between sites. Bike trails and walking areas in the park and in the local neighborhood. Best of all, you can get Danish Kringle right down the street in Racine! Would have been a 10, but like many county parks, no sewer hook-up. There is a convenient dump station, however. Doesn't appear to have any length of stay limits contrary to what's on the web site. Will stay again when in the vicinity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$23
There are a couple of things that make this an 8 instead of a 10. There is a $12 reservation fee on top of the nightly rate. There are no sewers but there is a dump station. There is no pool. Now for the good things. The sites are very roomy with plenty of shade. Even with the trees, there are plenty of spaces that can get satellite. The Verizon service is 5 bar 4G. They recently (2014) made improvements to provide water along with the electricity to all sites. The bathrooms are exceptionally clean. However, they get lots of traffic due to the lack of sewers. The park provides easy access to Milwaukee and the surrounding communities. There are two very nice playgrounds for the young ones. Generally it is very quiet except for an occasional party on the weekends. The hosts do control the noise during quite hours. Lots of locals use the park on the weekends so you can get information on local activities and restaurants. This is our base anytime we are in southeast Wisconsin. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$23
Nice county run park. There is a campground host, although we never saw him in our 2 week stay. Had a few problems with late night partiers in other sites that were not taken care of. Restrooms were cleaned by park staff daily, and grounds were well maintained. Park was almost empty during the week but filled up both weekends we were there. The only other concern is that roads leading to the park are not well signed. We followed the directions in our Trailer Life guide and had no problems. Our GPS wanted to take us down a dead end road every time we came or went, so be careful! We would certainly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone interested in visiting the area. It's 24 miles to Milwaukee and 90 miles to Chicago from here - both places we visited during our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
This park is really nice. Large sites, grass cut to proper level and utilities located in the proper area. This is a true gem located so close to a large city. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Excellent campground! We stayed here one night on the way to Door County. The park is VERY quiet. Campsites are nicely spaced and in great condition. I would have given it a 10 if they had sewer hookups. Will stay here again, maybe for a few nights longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
This is a nice park. I gave it an 8 because it doesn't have full hook-ups, but other then that it was a nice place. It was clean, well taken care of, quiet, large sites (relatively speaking) etc... Being close to Milwaukee it was nice to see the regular police patrols. Super nice bathrooms and showers. Clean, seem new. There's not a whole lot to do in the campground, well, maybe there is, just nothing we were interested in. There were playgrounds for kids, and some really nice tennis courts, and a couple of nice baseball fields. Other then that, there are some trails you can walk on. One trail, about a mile long, takes to a cliff that overlooks Lake Michigan which looks pretty neat. You can also walk to the lake on the local roads and through the neighborhood that boarders the park. Lots of mature trees which is nice for shade, but also kills satellite service for some folks. However, we got about 30 digital channels on our antenna! So, that's good if the weather is bad. Anyway, we'd totally stay there again, nice, basic, quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$23
This park is such a gem. Located about 1/4 mile from Lake Michigan there is always a nice lake breeze and is cooler than inland. The sites are large, angled for easy back-in. The restrooms are spotless, modern, recently upgraded, with large showers. Most of the park is on reservation, but there is a first-come, first-serve section, which is always appreciated by fulltimers like us who rarely plan too far in advance. Verizon is 4G in this area. Convenient to Racine and Milwaukee. Would stay here anytime. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Excellent county park with large grass spaces. Lots of shade. Brand new restrooms in 2012 that are cleaned twice a day. Nice play areas for the children. Dump station on the site. Will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
Love this park! We stayed here for two weeks and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. The park was very clean and well-run, and the sites were large and easy to back into. It would be perfect except for the lack of sewer hook-ups. Check out a restaurant called "Oh! Dennis" a mile or so down the highway, if you're into great steaks and ribs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
Nice park between Racine and Milwaukee, east of I-94. The sites offer plenty of room and much common area, the sites are level. Campground could use more showers and bathrooms, plus better cleaning. The park offers a large prairie just north of the campground to hike or walk your dogs (off leash). The woods lead down to the 'cliff' to lake Michigan. Access to the lake is in a residential area just south and east of the park. The path to the lake is unimproved an a bit steep but beach reward is worth it, nice long sandy beach. Like other reviewers stated bring a long hose, or 2, for the water hook up. We will use this park again when visiting local family. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
Nice county park with lots of trees. Roads are blacktop, sites gravel with shared water hook-ups. Some sites are electric only. Nice playground for children. Would have rated it higher except the shared water hook-up required 2 hoses and no sewer. The name is deceiving, there are no cliffs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
Most of the sites are 50 amp not the "30" amp that someone previously set. More are being upgraded. Sites 34-40 now have 50 amp service but the map is not updated to show them. Plenty of sites were available without reservations. More sites have water, (a double spigot at the back of every other site). The website has a good layout map but recent improvements are not notated. We had no problem with a 36' MH and car on site 34. Site 34 and 32 have good satellite service, Dish HD, for me. There are a lot of trees but today about 75% of the sites are available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$23
Very nice, quiet park with very clean rest rooms. Mosquitoes were terrible but they had had a lot of rain recently. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$23
The sites are dirt and gravel with grass. Large sites with lots of space between rigs. Some trees are large and provide good shade but can obstruct satellite reception. I needed to use a remote dish. The electric was 50 amp but the water hookups are "community" for 3 sites. You may need 50' to 75' feet of hose to get water. The price is great for the size of sites. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
Nice, wide, level shaded gravel sites with grass and trees between. We had good Verizon and satellite signal from our dome. We were there during the week and it was very quiet. Sites 1-13 are first come, first serve self check-in. No sewers and some sites have water and 50 amp service, but there is a convenient dump station. Host is in site #75. NOTE: (We were advised to get to Michna Road from 6 Mile Rd. and that the guides are incorrect that there is NO access from 7 Mile Rd.) There are playgrounds for the children. Roads are asphalt. We stayed two nights and would have liked to have stayed longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$23
This campground is beautiful! It was very quiet. The sites were level and very spacious. Shady, yet satellite accessible. 18 miles from Milwaukee and 7 miles from Racine. Not all sites have 50 amp and not all sites are water accessible. Dump station was easy to get to and use. We would definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$20
We enjoyed this site and would certainly camp here again. The sites were well spaced and ample for a motor home towing a car. The sites were gravel and had a picnic table. The area between sites was grassy with a lot of trees. The area was quiet even though full - probably because the sites were so well spaced. The dump area is open during the day but the park ranger was extremely helpful and opened the dump area for us when we returned after these hours. The bathrooms were cleaned daily. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
We found a few sites suitable for big rigs, some have 20 amp power, some have water. No sewer hookups and we did not see a dump station. No trains, minimal traffic sounds. Lots of shade, few level sites. Generally peaceful and quiet. Mosquitos. Very close to Racine and to tours of (Frank Lloyd Wright) Johnson Wax Company Headquarters on Fridays only, and Wingspread, the FLW designed home of Herbert F Johnson on Tuesdays and Thursdays. Tours are free and require reservations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
Nice campground. Level, spacious sites. Shady, yet satellite accessible. 18 miles from downtown Milwaukee. Can only dump at certain hours, which are not early in morning, so not convenient for departure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$20
Wonderfully quiet. Large sites. Close to shopping and Racine and the Case tour. There is a dump but it is only open 3 times a day as it must be monitored. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$20
Very large shaded quiet sites. One of the closest camping facilities to Milwaukee. Near 7 Mile Fair and the dog track. Camp hosts are very friendly. Very nice well maintained county campground. Reservations accepted for a small fee. No store or firewood. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com