223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Sportsman on the New River RV Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (540) 633-6700
CGID4316

Sportsman on the New River RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   2   5   2   5   6   2   6   4   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
We used to stay here when it belonged to Passport America so never paid more than $15. Now it's $28 for the cheapest sites. The faucet was faulty, grass overgrown, ant hills everywhere, electric supply very poor and we had to use gas for our fridge and hot water. The location is nice even though under the interstate bridge but convenient and the town was pleasant and close for meals. Fuel price was ok. This place has really gone downhill though and is poor value for money in our opinion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2011
$14
The biggest problem with this place is that they are not truthful about the place when I phoned in advance and the people on site know nothing about RV camping. The website posts a log cabin that doesn't exist. Most of the river sites were taken by long termers and none could accommodate a Class A. It really is a gas station with sloppy sites almost directly underneath Route 81 overpass. It is noisy, dirty and hard to access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$18
This is not a destination park, but is very convenient for a stopover along I-81...it's literally under an I-81 overpass. It's right on the river and the store is well stocked and includes a sit down deli with homemade BBQ pork which smelled wonderful. It's a Passport America park. I only gave it a 5 because it's a little noisy from the proximity to the interstate and because there are no amenities. I'd stay here again, though, on my way through Virginia! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
We stayed for a good night's sleep as we were heading south on I-81. As noted from previous reviewers, the noise is unbearable. We have stayed overnight at truck stops that are far quieter! Our site was impossible to get level. It backed up to river; however, it was more like an off camber boat ramp. The 18/night rate was for P/A, probably twice what the real world would charge for this place. If passing through, run like the wind. Find a Wal-Mart or truck stop. Will never return, ever. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$17
Campground is located next to I-81 and next to a gas station but right on the New River. No privacy from people driving by or using the gas station. Level concrete pads. Good for an overnight stay if you need water, electric and dump station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$17
We stayed here under Passport America, hence the price. The owners are really proud of this park, they charge $35 normally, wow. Like other posters said the interstate is almost overhead, HOWEVER I did not notice it in our coach. The park has been cleaned up, no cans or litter. We had a solid 50 amp and 45 psi for water, but no sewer. We were only passing through on our way north. We stayed here in a 40 footer parked on a concrete pad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
If you plan on staying here...RUN don't walk to the next RV park. This park lies directly under the interstate. It is small, dirty and dinky. It was filled with beer cans and drunks. We were desperate for a good nights sleep before heading home. Wish we would have found a walmart!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
The power was poor; we must have shared our total 30 amps with others because at some times it was very weak. Same to be said for the water pressure. First thing in the morning when everyone was showering, the water barely trickled out but later the pressure was very good. On the river makes it nice for fisherman. The one major drawback to this place is that it is virtually under the freeway so it is extremely noisy all the time. It is attached to a service station with convenience store and cafe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
We flip flopped a few times on whether we should stay here. We just wanted a stop for the night, and to get back on the road to Pigeon Forge. This place was a DUMP!! There was garbage overflowing at the rivers edge. The full time residents had a table set up for them selves behind my camper where they would hang out. Beer cans on the ground. I did not feel %100 safe here, and kept my things locked up. The only reason we stayed here is because I had just drove for almost 12 hours and I needed rest. I will not return We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$27
Wonderful owners and staff. Lovely view of the New River. Check in at the adjacent gas station/shopette/snack bar/bait and tackle. There are 3 sites with concrete pads at riverside, all others are gravel. Disadvantages: Noise from I-81 made it tough to sleep for some. Bathhouse cleanliness was better some days than others. Rain left some large puddles around sites and along the road. Rate shown is full price for a riverside site. Passport America accepted. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
This small campground is right on the New River, with many sites backing right up to the river bank. There is a campground boat ramp, and a public ramp nearby as well. The convenience store is well stocked and the folks who run the store and campground are very pleasant. There is also a gas station at the store. The only drawback to the campground is the noise level from the I-81 bridge, which is right over the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
A wonderful little park for those who don't need or want a swimming pool, planned social activities, or things for the kiddies to do. Sits right on the beautiful New River, and several sites right on the river. Some sites paved but most are gravel. No sewer but they have a dump station. Register in the adjacent service station/convenience store/cafe where you will find some of the nicest people you will ever meet. This place is not listed in Trailer Life or Woodalls and has no website, but it is a "gem" for folks who just want to relax. Only drawback is its proximity to an I-81 bridge. It would be noisy for tents or tent campers, but fifth-wheelers, travel trailers, and motorhomes should have little problem. Would highly recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com