223434 User submitted reviews online!!
Winterset City Campground and RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (515) 462-3258
CGID4320

Winterset City Campground and RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
34
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   3   8   8   8   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$19
This city park is very clean, well-maintained, and quiet. The gravel road loops around to all the gravel back-in sites. Sites are rather wide, as the trailers are stagger-parked on each side of the loop. Restrooms were clean with 2 shower stalls that were spotless. As the county seat of Madison County, the town's small businesses are alive and well - many within a longer walk around the town square. Right at the park is a fun corn maze, and a 1-mile trail to historic stone Clark Tower. Good Verizon phone and MiFi connections. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$19
This park was one of my favorites. We got site 5 which had a nice shade tree, water, sewer, and 50 amp. Firewood at $2 for a large bundle. Verizon phone and hot spot worked great. Each site is a gravel pad for your RV with a large grassy area complete with picnic table. We camped during the week so we were able to get a nice spot. If coming on a weekend you would need to make a reservation due to many spots were already reserved for the weekend. Town park is right next to the campground and we walked around the park, visited the maze and drove up to Clark Tower. We were able to maneuver our dually truck up the one way road. Town is within walking distance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$19
This was a nice small RV park to stay at while visiting the local balloon festival. We called a week ahead and reserved a spot. The space we had was large gravel, level, and clean with the grass in between the sites. Nice people and guests. Bathrooms were clean and tidy. No WiFi. No pool. Close to the tiny town and a great park next door for walking. Gorgeous surroundings on the outskirts of town with wonderful views. Self-check in at a board when you arrive. Cash or check only. There was a host on site that we talked to. Helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$19
This is an RV Park within The Glyndon City Parks system, Managed by the Minnesota Department Of Natural Resources. Reservation request policies/procedures are different depending on who answers the telephone at City Hall, which truly has a dis-connect with the RV Park Host. Full hook up, level sites, are either saved or occupied by local campers. The remaining sites are up for first come, first serve, which consist of mostly un-level, electric only. The Park Host was invisible during my 2 day stay. Speed limits within the park were totally ignored, parking on the road within the park was a real problem. No sign of any security to monitor private parties. I would think real hard before recommending this park. We stayed here 2 days in a 5th wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$19
Excellent place to stay while visiting the area. All gravel, but well maintained. Some sites require leveling. They accept reservations for the weekends only. If you are planning a weekend stay, I would suggest calling them. Otherwise, it's first come, first served. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$18
The campground was great for us. We bought a new motor home in Forest City and drove here for our shake down. The place is really clean and has easy access and set-up for our rig. The bathrooms were closed but apparently there were broken water lines and the City has not had a chance to repair them. The campground just opened April 1. We toured five of the six covered bridges. Be prepared for dusty roads on the way to see them. There is one right here in the park that is in walking distance. GREAT PLACE. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
Cannot add much to the other reviews, this is a great park to have as a base operation to go see all the Bridges of Madison County. Walk from camp and you check one bridge off the list right there. One of the best city park campgrounds I've stayed at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$16
Winterset City Campground is a small, well maintained municipal campground that is located next to a large city park. The interior road and pads are crushed limestone. Any size rig can be accommodated. Some sites require leveling. Other sites have low hanging branches. Use caution! The restrooms were clean. There was good OTA television reception. The camp hosts kept to themselves, but a friendly city parks and recreation employee stopped by to inquire if we needed anything. The $16 reflects the group rate. This is a great park at a reasonable price. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$16
We found this campground in an AAA travel book and had no idea of what to expect. What a pleasant surprise to be able to pull right into our pull through campsite, hook up and still have time to have dinner and explore the park before bed. The park is most interesting and has lots of local history right here to enjoy. Everything was well maintained, our dog had a place to throw her a ball. Even though we only had one night here, we would love to go back and stay longer. One of the covered bridges from Madison County was right here in the park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
Beautiful and spacious campground, located in a City park. The park located by the campground was really cool, with a covered bridge to walk through and a maze. Unfortunately we had to pick up garbage and dog waste before letting the kids run around our site. The site managers had quite a setup with fencing for their dogs and it was a little unsightly, but the City's okay with it. We were confused on "check-in" because it just involves filling out an envelope and inserting the money and, as the not very friendly cg manager let us know, we have to put the tag attached to the envelope on the clip located on the site number pole. The water connection was a distance away. We would stay here again, but next time stay longer so we can explore the town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
We loved this cg. Well maintained and laid out, self check in system, gravel pads, bathrooms were clean, has picnic tables and fire pits, and is quiet. No Wi-Fi, has a lovely view of the park from the RV. Has a small supermarket down the road, and is close to the town square with restaurants and shops. This is really a gem, and we will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
This park is a GEM! Very clean, neat, quiet, employees are friendly and the park is enjoyable. Sites are easy to access. If we are in the area again, we will definitely stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$17
This is one of the nicest city owned RV parks anywhere. It is about 10 miles off I-35 but well worth the ride to visit the vibrant little town of Winterset or see the bridges of Madison County. There is plenty of grass between the well spaced sites. Restrooms and showers are very clean and well maintained. Pet friendly with plenty of areas to walk a dog. I have stayed here in the past and will go out of the way to stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$17
A very nice rv park that utilizes a self check-in system. Every gravel site has a picnic bench and a combo fire ring/grill. The restrooms and showers were very clean. The park is very pet friendly with plenty of well groomed grass throughout. A perfect place to use as a base to visit the Madison County bridges and the vibrant little town of Winterset. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$17
We pulled into this very clean campground without reservations and had plenty of full hook-up gravel sites to pick from. Even though it is self registration, there was a friendly campground host to help us select a site. We stayed here one night to tour the covered bridges of Madison County. All sites are back in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$17
For a city park, this is a very nice campground at a good price. Even has a covered bridge in the park. Rock sites, good for the frequent rain, with lots of grass along side, but not level at all (and we tried 4). Camp hosts were hiding out, wouldn't come to door, and not enforcing rules. Kids trashed bathrooms, numerous cars parked on road for a party. A few tv stations on antenna, and VZ aircard worked. Park did not fill on a Sat. night but weekend reservations could be a good idea, if you really want to be in Winterset. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$17
This is a great city park, with wide level sites. RV parking areas are gravel with yards of grass with fire pits. Some have trees, some are open to the southern sky. Some sites are Full hook up, some have just electricity and some are for dry-tent-camping. Prices vary depending on type of site. Great water pressure and stable electricity. It is self registration and reservations can be made (and should be made for weekends). We are full-time RVers who only stopped here for an overnight stay, but we are definitely planning on coming back and staying for awhile. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$17
Nice city park. Level gravel sites. TV reception from Des Moines is spotty. Close to everything you want to see in the area. 12 large pieces of firewood for only $3.00. Good deal. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$16
This can be a very nice campground if it had some rules. We stayed here five nights. The first two nights were wonderful - people were respectful of one another, kept things picked up, were quite, and friendly. Then on Friday night in rolls a number of campers that were loud, disrespectful, allowed their dogs to run free, some hauled in fire wood by the truck load to their campsite, kids were all over the place unsupervised, women running around in bikinis (there is no pool), drinking and partying until 3 or 4 in the morning. The only thing the hosts did was make sure the money was paid. This could be a great campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$16
Very nice campground located next to the city park. The city park contains picnic shelters, a hedge maze, a covered bridge and an observation tower that looks over a valley. There is also a stone bridge in the park that was in the movie "Bridges of Madison County". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$16
This campground was the most pleasant surprise of our trip. It is located next to a city park, very close to the quaint downtown of Winterset and within driving distance of all of the Bridges of Madison County. The sites are spacious, not paved but with nice grassy areas. Campground host was very helpful as was the park ranger. Its a first come, first serve park so arrive early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$16
This is a little gem. Lovely little campground on edge of town next to city park. Good signage. Self-registration. Good gravel wide access roads. Most sites are back-ins but there are a few pull-thru's(these are electric only). The back-in sites were level and wide with large grass areas between each site. Majority of sites had full hook-up but water stand was one between two sites so would need Y junction if the campground was busy. Limited infrastructure but superb ambience. Excellent for visiting John Waynes birthplace and the covered bridges of Madison County. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$15
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com