219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Grant River COE was rated 8 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (563) 582-0881
CGID4323

Grant River COE

Camp Information
Sites
73
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$9



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   5   9   6   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$9
Golden Age rate for the non-reservable site of $18. We had a nice long level concrete pad, site 16. We could reach the water fill with about 85' of hose. This is our second stay here and this time we had a good Verizon signal and could use both our phones and broadband. The broadband connection was good during the day, but at times (early am) it would only connect at 2G and was not usable. TV via batwing was also much better this time, but would also be spotty at times. The trains have not changed and are still running all night and day. There is a steep drop off crossing the tracks, so if towing with a dolly you should unload towed before crossing them. We are very glad that we came back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$18
This campground was a little hard to find, but once we got to our site, it was wonderful. We drove past the entrance because there were no signs from the direction we came from. The man that checked us in, definitely enjoys his job. He was very helpful and actually gave us a number for someone that would deliver firewood to our site (we didn't tow a car w/ us). The roads are easy to get around and our site was very easy to back into as it had a small parking area right across the road. We were not right on the river, but across the road. We were lucky enough to have the site across the road empty all weekend, so the view was great. The one drawback was that the area we were in was very busy with traffic: bicycles, walkers, runners, cars, etc. It made our dog a little nervous, so he spent a lot of time inside. It almost felt like we were watching a parade at times. Everyone was very nice and most people said hello while passing, so more of an inconvenience then an actual problem. Next time we will try and stay right on the river so that we are facing away from the road. I agree with prior posts indicating there is a train that goes past often and is quite loud. I actually enjoyed the train. It was loud when sitting outside so you had to stop talking while the horn was going off, but inside our RV we had no problems. We had no problems sleeping through the night, even though the trains were still going past. The park rangers were around the campground at all times, which was nice. They even came by on Saturday afternoon and let us know about a cooking seminar they were providing that evening. It was a lot of fun. I also saw a Potosi police car come through Saturday night: well past dark. It was very nice to see that: helped confirm the park was safe. You can go swimming and fishing anywhere along the river: except at the boat loading/unloading area (by the entrance to the campground). This campground was great, our neighbors were friendly and the view was beautiful. I gave a little lower rating due to the amount of people at the campground, especially on Saturday night: it was very busy. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$8
A nice viually appealing campground along the Mississippi River with easy access, paved roads and sites. Lots of trees through out provide shade for 50A electric only sites that have picnic table, fire ring, and gravel patio. Has only one TV channel and satellite signals depend on site location among the trees. This could be a 10 among like campgrounds, but the park is along side a dual track railroad with crossing. There were at least two dozen trains passing in a 24 period. If the whistle and track noise isn't enough, also know that each train creates a minor vibration in the RV as it passes the campground. Price reflects America the Beautiful card discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$8
Very good value with Golden Age. Verizon cell was very spotty, broadband was not usable. TV via Batwing was fair, point it to river first. Potosi Brewery has great food and daily specials. The Grotto in Dickeyville is a must see, no charge, donations only. County road O at WI-133 and US-61 is a very, very scenic drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$9
WI-133 road was bumpy. Beautiful campground right on the Mississippi River. The sites are good and wide with concrete pads (could accommodate our 40' quad slide motorhome), table and fire ring. We had 50 amp, water available but not for hookup all the time. There is a dump station. The negative is the train that runs constantly and blows its horn since there is a crossing at the entrance to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$16
The campground was beautiful and well kept. Many sites had concrete pads with rock patio. Only a couple of sites had direct access to the river, however the shoreline was rocky so you couldn't park a boat or swim from any site. The boat ramp was OK, however not great. The playground was nice with modern play equipment. Trains were really close and ran day and night (1 or more every hour). I would be nervous with little kids by the train tracks as the trains go very fast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$22
This is a Corps of Engineers Campground. It is well maintained and very clean. The only hookup at this campground is electric, however, there are water standpipes located so that is it easy to refill the water tanks. The campground is located on the Mississippi River and the Main Line of the BNSF Railway runs very close by. It is a busy railroad and trains run all night, however, that is why we camped at this campground. You get used to the trains after a while. The Golden Age Passport can be used that will get you a 50% discount. The Park Attendant is friendly. We will return in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com