221563 User submitted reviews online!!
Spring Valley Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 56 user reviews. Phone: (740) 439-9291
CGID4327

Spring Valley Campground

Camp Information
Sites
203
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   4   8   7   7   9   5   6   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$34
We would give this park a favorable review and we will stay here again. If you are looking for an RV park with a lot of room for children to run and play, this is the place. They have a play area larger than some RV parks we have stayed at. I made the reservation over the phone and then read some of the reviews. Some of the negative reviews might have steered us away from staying here so I am glad we did not read the reviews first. We were pleasantly surprised and the stay was just fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2014
$34
This is an older campground with lots of full time residents that look like they've been there a long time. Roads are rough with large traffic control bumps. When we set up, I found clothes and other items on the floor in the closet. Can't say they were friendly or unfriendly, they were present. Cable reception was good. Verizon hot spot did not work. We were only there one night and didn't use showers. Best thing it was close to I-70. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$36
This is a very large, reasonable campground south of Cambridge, dedicated to the outdoors. The park runs deep. It has sites in the front, closest to the interstate, occupied mostly by short termers. Farther back is the pool (very nice) and bathhouse (very outdated and worn out but clean) and a cluster of long term (probably seasonal) campers who seem quite friendly. Behind that area is a large pond for fishing (catch and release) and swimming and it is surrounded by campers on the ridges beneath the trees, probably long termers also. Picnic tables are around the campgrounds. The hosts are friendly and efficient and the campground has propane, Wi-Fi (pretty good) and cable. Cell signals are strong. The overnight sites are pretty level and long enough for any rig. The highway is several hundred yards away and not too noisy. We'd stay again. Cambridge has a few sights to visit but not much open on a Sunday. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
The road was very rough and full of potholes. The sites have gravel and are semi level. The pool closed at 6pm everyday. The laundry room also closed at 6pm, no exceptions. The laundry and bath house were clean. The camp store employees were very nice. It rained while we were there and our site turned into a mud hole due to a lack of grass. A camp employee put a piece of plywood down in front of our door to help keep the mud out of theRV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$26
Stayed here a week while visiting in the area. Very handy to I-77 and I-70. Campground staff was very friendly. Plenty of places to walk--around the lake, trails into the woods, etc.--and a road that was not busy, serving basically only the campground. Wi-Fi was reasonably reliable, but did bog down at times; cable is extra cost. The camp roads that were not paved could stand more gravel, as they got rather muddy during rains. The water pressure was good, but the water did become discolored with iron at times. Nice touches like free caramel corn and other activities made the stay even nicer. Would not hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$36
This was just a one night stay for us but we loved it. With our paid reservation check-in was done in record time, maybe one minute. The drive to the site seemed to take forever as the park is huge. Also the best I could do was maybe 3 MPH because of the pot holes. Yep, other posters didn't exaggerate one bit. My thoughts are the park could repair very easily as the rest of the park was wonderful. Most effective speed bumps I have ever seen. Ha. They do put all the one night folks in one row and I understand that. Why should the seasonal people have to listen to our zero dark thirty departure? The seasonal folks here are the kind that you would be pleased to be next to if it worked out that way. The seasonal campers are getting a bad rap especially here. At least for this camp ground the seasonal sites I saw were neat and well kept. Overall I give them high marks and would definitely come back again. We were in row B spot number 6. A huge pull through with full hook ups for $36 bucks, what's there to complain about? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$34
We stayed here a few years back. I will reiterate my opinion about the inconsiderate clientele that seems to frequent this park. As someone else mentioned, lots of permanents with loud trucks and early departures. Fire pit next to us was overflowing with partially burned trash and garbage, beer cans, Styrofoam meat wrappers, etc., and there was lots of food around our picnic table tempting our dogs. New since our last visit were the worst potholes we've ever encountered inside an RV park. I don't believe we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$34
This is a nice campground. We just stopped for the night, but would like to spend a weekend here. Sites are level and well spaced. The power output is clean. The staff heats the water so the ground pipes stay unfrozen. This area gets much colder than the local area because of its location in the valley. Not an issue for us. The access road in is fine, but was snow covered, so be prepared in the winter months. The only down side is that their bath house is closed during the winter. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
The good: level and roomy sites, good pull-through room, nice setting (pond, hills, etc), wonderful staff, and beautiful surrounding area. The bad: permanent residents leave for work starting at 5am (and they all have loud pickup trucks), 24/7 truck/road noise from I-70 for any of the non-permanent sites (the ones closest to the road) is horrible. The rate listed reflects discounts for a two-week stay. The road noise, for us, is a killer and we won't be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$36
Although this park states it has over 200 sites, it looks much smaller. The roads are fairly rough and narrow. It is ok for a one night stay, but not a park I would stay in for longer. Management was nice and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2012
$36
Very basic CG. As stated in other reviews, the Wi-Fi and cable worked well. We were assigned site A3 (a "premium pull-through" site) and it was plenty long enough and relatively level for our set-up (which is 59+'); however, it is very narrow. This site is also near their water-treatment center and the pump/motor was working all day and night for the two days we stayed here. Plus, the smell from the open water pits in this treatment area is putrid. There was an over flowing dumpster nearby as well. Most of the campers here appear to be area workers and speed in and out of the campground in their work trucks. We will not return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
This ia a decent campground. The Wi-Fi and cable were good. The reason for my low rating is their site assignment policy. The transient sites are not all that big. We were assigned a site where the adjacent sites sewer hookup was less than 5 feet from the rear of our trailer. The whole row of sites was empty, but they assigned the next RV that arrived to the site next to us rather than leaving any space between. As it ended up, we were the only two here for the night crammed together, with all the other sites in the row vacant. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Don't be daunted by the absence of Good Sam rating. This is a great park. It stands out as one of the favorite parks on our cross-country trip. Lots of open space, green grass, shade, pond, swimming pool, and hiking/biking trails. All are well-maintained. The owner/managers were friendly, knowledgeable, and obviously interested in maintaining high standards for their park. We would stay here again and we would stay longer! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
While most other campgrounds have greatly increased their overnight rate, the owners here have kept their rate at $30.00. Excellent value for the rate. These people count on volume and definitely got it as this is a great campground. Would not hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Shore power 50/30/20 is good, water pressure is 60psi, sewer is good. This is a lot larger RV park than we thought. Site we had is close to level. Quite long but the power is pedestal is not far enough back to use the length unless you have an extension. WiFi at our site is fairly weak. Sprint air card is strong but speed is not good. Verizon air card is strong and speed it good. Didn't need campground WiFi. Cell phone works well. Cable TV at our site was good but the cable is strung from another site. Lots of room between sites separated by grass. Roads are packed gravel. DirecTV is good in the open areas. No discounts and payment can be with credit card. There are many long term residents, but they are very well maintained. There is a lot of things for children to do, however there is enough room that this was no bother. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
An adequate one night stop-over with all good pull-thrus. Easy off and on I-77. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
A beautiful campground and pleasant staff. Plenty of room in the lots - the campground has lots of play areas, pavilions, a pond with a waterfall, pool. It could use another restroom facility near the back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
We have stayed here several times in the past 5 years, and the owners have always had a strange "so-what" attitude. Kind of an odd way of holding onto your customers. Nice lake and pool, friendly permanents, Walmart nearby as well as a LOT of road noise from I-70 directly beside campground. Full hookup sites are easy to get in and out of, but water clarity (from spigot going to RV) was poor. Will go back; prices are very reasonable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
Stayed here in winter because it was the only campground in the area with utilities that was open. We arrived late to find we had our choice of 2 terribly unlevel sites with hookups at the wrong end of the site. Literally had to park our RV and truck forward in the roadway (never unhooked) out of the front part of the site in order to make the electric connection with our 30' electric cable. It was raining and sites were very muddy. Overall a relatively poor experience. We would not stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
This is a nice campground for staying one night or a week. The staff is extremely helpful. Because of Hurricane Irene we had to stay four nights and the staff worked it so we could stay in our site for the entire time. The Wi-Fi worked very well. Our site was level but the hookups are in the middle, so make sure your electrical cord will reach. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
One of the better campgrounds we have stayed in for the money. Real great value. We had mechanical problems that forced us to stay for 3 nights. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
Great overnight stop over. Lots of pull through sites with good power and full hook ups. Level sites. Even thou close to highway, did not notice any road noise. Very convenient place to stop. They have lots of concerts series that sometimes require a 2 night on weekends. Keep this in mind if you are trying to stay just for the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Beautiful park very clean. Green grass everywhere small trees but they provide some shade. Fishing lake and swimming pool. We saw several deer in the park during the early morning hours and late afternoon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$31
Pretty park and great value for the stay. Try to get site away from road noise. We were able to use back in site, which kept us away from the pull throughs that are right next to busy interstate. Cable TV hookup is an extra 2 bucks, but well worth it as total site cost is still just 31.00 with it included with the full hookups and the free WIFI. Bathroom is very dated but clean. No laundry facilities, but manager mentioned they were going in soon. Great WIFI connect. Pool was closed, and looked pretty nasty. Don't know if it will open. Many seasonals and full timers here toward rear of park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
We were pleasantly surprised. It is a nice park. The staff seemed friendly and helpful. There was enough room for our motorhome and car in the site. This is a much bigger park than you would think. We definitely would stay here again if we come back this way. The Wi-Fi was iffy sometimes, but to be fair the park was full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$31
There was an extra $2 charge for cable TV, not the sign of a camper-friendly campground. Roads were narrow. The person who put propane into our RV did not seem to know what he was doing (although apparently he did), not a confidence-builder. Our pull-through was adequate. But the noise!!!! Even with the AC running we could not overcome the noise from the interstate. Very few shady spots. It was the day after Labor Day and in spite of the 90+ degree heat, they would not reopen the pool We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
Apparently, new people are running this park. At least that's what we were told by someone else who saw our problems and realized we were sent to the wrong place with our RV. We told them we need 50 amp service, and we were sent around the park through a narrow area and given a 30 amp spot. So, after parking, we had to move. This required quite an ordeal because we were in a smaller area with a larger RV. We finally got situated. The internet service was not good at all. I couldn't stay connected. It was fine for overnight, but it sure isn't up to the ratings I've seen here. Frankly, the people in the office don't seem to realize the significance of maneuvering a large vehicle in small places. We need LP but gave up because of the inconvenience of how you had to get to the tank for filling. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
This campground is very nice and the staff is friendly. There is a playground for kids, basketball court, vollyball nets and lots of room. The site we stayed in was level and had plenty of room. The sites and roads are gravel but in good shape. A few shallow holes in the roads but overall ok. We did not notice highway noise until morning when we opened the windows. Ice cream social for the campers the night we stayed here at no charge. Staff said every Saturday night they cook carmel corn for everyone. I did not use the showers/bathrooms but checked them out and they were clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
Overnight stay for us and this is a good park for just that. Quite a bit of road noise from I-70, and we were close to a huge park generator that hummed all night long. Park was clean, staff was friendly and the sites were relatively level. When we walked our dog, whom we ALWAYS pick up after, we got some dirty looks from our neighbors like we weren't going to pick up after him. Quite a few long term residents, however, sites were kept relatively neat. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
Price reflects a weekly rate. We had a long level, gravel pull through site with grass between sites. Had a good Verizon signal. Cable TV worked well but we did not try the WiFi. Lots of seasonals/long term folks with well maintained sites, however they apparently need a refresher course on the few rules, i.e. directional signs, speed limits, dog leash requirements, etc., imposed by the campground. Staff is friendly. Has a nice pond, playground and shelter. There is some highway noise. Our dissatisfaction with this park has far more to do with disrespectful neighbors (a long line of them) who allowed their dog to do his business next to our fire ring without picking it up; sat on our picnic table dripping ice cream and then throwing nearly an entire cone into the fire ring while we were inside our coach looking out the window; allowing their loose pit bull to approach while our dog was leashed; parking on the grass in our site although there were empty spaces all around them. And then there were the rude people who occupied our site previously and left trash and cigarette butts in the fire ring for us. Lots of rain made some puddles and bumps in the road and there are some low branches around if you're a big rig. We will stay again and hopefully have better luck with respectful neighbors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$29
This is a good overnight stop. The sites are gravel and pretty level. It had rained before we arrived so the roads were a little muddy and the grassy area next to the site was soggy. There is an extra $2 charge for the cable TV. There are a lot of cable TV channels. It is reasonably quiet even though it is facing I-70. The WI-FI works well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$31
This is a repeat visit. We were in a large, level, gravel pull through and did not have to unhook. Everything was very clean even though the grassy areas were a bit muddy due to heavy rain. Wi-fi and cable worked well. There is a huge area for play and swimming. If you are bothered by noise, ask for a site away from the highway. This is a great place for a long or short stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$29
We camped here overnight. We did not have reservations, and when we arrived, the park looked full. (They were having a Gospel Sing weekend, which looked pretty popular). They did have a site for us (we just needed w/e), but it was at the far edge of the property with no cable TV or Wi-Fi available that the other sites had, and was sooooo far from a bathhouse. (They only have one for this large campground.) There was a porta-john near our site for our use. While we were grateful that they had room for us: we were charged the same rate that sites with more amenities would pay. Staff was friendly and helpful, given the circumstances. We would stay here again if there was nothing else nearby. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
We visited this campground on July 4th of last year, we were so impressed we decided to make regular visits the summer of 2009. We would place our camper here if it wasn't for our work schedule that doesn't permit us to visit as much as we like. This campground is not too big, not too small. We have two small children that just love it here. We also have no reservations letting them jump on their bikes and take off. We love the pool, very clean. Bathrooms are amazing for campground bathrooms. Sure, not much privacy for showers but its camping. The farthest shower stall does have a bench and curtain for privacy however. Kids love the lake: they are little guys and are able to have plenty of swimming area with water not over their heads. This past weekend, they had paddleboat races, a decorated bike parade, and they always have popcorn/caramel corn on Saturday nights. There is also a small pond you can use for fishing besides the main lake. All different kinds of sites depending on your wants or needs. Campstore is great. Very quiet at night. Occasional noise but that is to be expected. The interstate is close but honestly, unless you stay right next to it, it wasn't even noticed. Electricity, cable TV and internet was great. Love this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
Nice campground for an overnight stay. They really keep the park clean. Staff was OK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
We stayed here for one night last year just after new owners had taken over the campground and felt that it needed some improvement due to the untidiness of the many full-time residents sites. We were impressed with the improvements when we stopped there again this year: noting that those sites had been cleaned up and were nicely landscaped. We stayed on a spacious, level pull-through site in an open, unshaded area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
Pulled in for an overnight stop and was very pleased with the friendly staff and CG in general. It is right off of I-70, but I was not bothered with hwy noise. They have a very nice pool, playground and a lake. Bathrooms were a little dirty by the end of the day, but not terrible: they were attached to the pool area, which I always find to be the dirtier restrooms in a CG. Overall a very nice park and I would not hesitate to stay for a longer visit next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
This is a very nice park. Sites are gravel and level - we didn't have to unhook from our truck. The park is well-maintained and we were greeted with pleasant hosts. We only stayed here one night, but had we not had previous commitments, we would have stayed longer. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Easy to get to off the I70, yet once you are in the campsite you really wouldn't know how close you are to the interstate. The lady I spoke to when I phoned to make our reservation was very efficient and we were greeted with the same efficiency on arrival. I had informed her we were overnighting and we were able to put our 35' trailer straight into the site and remain hooked up. I wish we had been able to stay longer as this is a lovely location in a valley, surrounded by trees. The site appears well maintained. My only complaint was that despite our 25' cable we were still too short to take advantage of the cable tv we paid $2 extra for. At $31 though, this campsite still represents good value for money in my view. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
We were directed to this RV park by friends who live in Cambridge, and had worked there when they were full-timers. There are new owners now who are doing a lot of work to upgrade some of the things that needed work. The staff is very friendly and hard-working. The sites are generous in size and could handle any size rig. Our site was level and we had no problems navigating the interior roads. The park is big enough that we never saw all of it. We know there is a swimming pond with a slide and lots of grassy area for various activities. We would stay there again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$29
This is an easy to get to, well-kept, campground with very nice staff. Our request for a pull-through gravel site was met, even though they were pretty full. Interior roads are tight for a big rig, and cable is extra. WiFi is free and worked well. The wash house is not new, but was very clean, and it looks like there is a lot to do for families who want a longer stay. Our site was a tad unlevel, but we didn't have to unhook, and we were pleased with our stay. We will return with our fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$28
A great for a night or several months. Wonderful owners, they will help any way they can. Nice sites with easy acess to interstate. We will stay here anytime we travel this way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
Nice site. Stayed here twice on one nighter's driving through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
Very easy to get to; just off of I-70. Staff was very friendly even though we didn't have a reservation. We were given a pull-through and didn't have to level the rig at all. While we were at the front of the campground, nearest the highway, traffic noise didn't bother us. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$29
Friendly, accommodating owners. A clean RV park. Toilets and showers are clean, but could stand a little remodeling (chipped counter tops, etc.). Showers had a hook outside the curtain and a small bench, but outside the curtain, you are in the open area so privacy is difficult. Our site was away from the interstate, but highway noise is a problem for sites close to road. Except for shower privacy and highway noise, we would rate this park a 10. Easy access to sites and plenty of room between sites. Several long-term residents, but their sites are clean, tidy, and well-kept. We recommend this RV park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
There are new owners starting August 1. Check in was pretty smooth although there were a few minor glitches. Staff was friendly. Campground is very large. It has a number of permanent sites but they seemed to be well maintained. Most sites are grass. The restrooms and showers were clean but had no private dressing area. Some did not have seats or shelves on which to keep clean clothes. None had hooks or hangers of any kind to hang towels or clothing. Interior roads are asphalt and gravel but there were a number of pot holes in each. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
Good gravel roads, close to the Interstate (road noise), few trees, looks like the water system is new. The wifi is a problem with me, they allow you two hours of access time, the ISP refused to allow me to d/l a required update that I needed - it said it was a copywrited file and was a violation of the terms of service. The camp office said that the wifi is only for email... huh? Other wise, this would be a nice stop over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
The owners were wonderful and the park was nice and convenient . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$26
This was a good park for overnight camping. We had originally chosen a W/E only site, since we were just staying one night, and the W/E sites are all grass. The weather forecast was predicting heavy thunderstorms, so we asked for a gravel site (FHU sites are the only gravel ones). We paid $2 extra for this and were glad we did, as a torrential thunderstorm came through, and the ground was soaked. We would have had trouble getting out of a soggy site. We had weird shared hookups at our site, but it was not a problem. Staff was friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
Nice park for overnight; nothing fancy. Many wide open sites for big rigs with slides/internet dish/satellite TV. We would stop here again if we were traveling through Ohio. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
The fireworks are their best feature and why we come here on the Independence Day Weekend. This park is crowded and noisy. We reserved 4 nights there this year. We tried to cancel the 4th night reservation a week before and were told that we had to commit to a 3-night minimum on the Holiday weekend. We were told that the 3-nights didn't start until Friday, so we had to keep the 4 nights. When we got there, we saw that our 4th night was marked "available" even though we had paid for it. This didn't sit well as we were told that we had to pay for the 4th night, but they were going to collect double on it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
We camped here because we needed something close by after we left a horrible experience with Hillview Acres. We were parked right next to the highway; lots of noise. But we liked it that we had excellent cell service and online service. We had guests one afternoon for 2 hours and we had to pay the full $2./car/day fee, even though the guests were only visiting us, not using the pool, lake, or any of their facilities. We found this to be a very greedy thing for Spring Valley to do, especially after we'd already paid full price for our 4-day stay, with no discounts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
This campground is right next to a major interstate, so you have access to Wal-Mart & a lot of the major food chain restaurants. Most of the sites for short term were at the front next to that interstate and did not have any shade. Farther back will get you less of the interstate noise, but you can't get completely away from it unless you stay inside with your A/C running. Plus the sites farther back appear less level. There were quite a few seasonal or permanent sites here that were well kept. There is a nice pond with sites adjacent although a lot of those were on grass and not very level. The pool was clean and there was a small campstore in the office. Also, you can't reserve a specific site. I was told you can request, but that management reserves the right to move you if they have units that want to be together and you happened to have asked for a site that would put you in the middle of the other group - even if you made your site request before the group made theirs. Not very fair in my opinion, but it's a private campground so they can make their own rules. This is an "ok" campground for, maybe, an overnight stay, but not one worth being at for any length of time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
We stayed here just one night, but it was fine. The short stays are put into rows of pull thrus near RT 70, so there is a certain amount of highway noise. The pool looked clean and there was a nice lake for swimming. No shallow area for little ones though. There are many units that are clearly used as summer "cottages", but everything is spotlessly clean and well kept. Very easy on and off the Interstate and lots of fast food and gas at the entrance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2006
$26
I am from Cambridge, Ohio. We live in Texas now and have visited Spring Valley for over thirty days in 2005 and 2006. In 2005 any of our guest and/or visitor(s) had to pay $2.00 per vehicle. Not overly impressed by the customer service of some paid worker(s). Very negative tone of voice to me when I came in this year (2006). The person waited on me for registration looked at me as if I didn't belong there and didn't have the right to ask for a camp space for 30 days without a reservation. Reservations is encouraged but not for a specific site. Sites were available throughout the campground. We were assigned in the front of the campground about 500 feet South of interstate 70. "Our second year here." It seems to me the front area is where many over night campers are assigned. We asked for the space we had last year, the answer was no because it was reserved and not for a camp worker. As I thought and read in the office: campsites can be reserved but not for a specific site. I rated 5 because customer service is everything to me. I really expected a lake when we first got there, but to me it is more like a duck pond. There is no sand around this "lake" only grass. You can fish in the same area you swim. Nice catch and release program. I saw only one (1), possibly two cabins. So make your "reservation" early. Spring Valley has a Gospel concert in May and is very nice. Many local musicians come and perform for three days. The campground has all gravel sites and some cement patios. There are shade trees in about one third of the campground for campers that are not permanent. Very easy access to interstate 70 & 77. Close to Super Wal-mart, K-Mart, gas service stations. Many places to dine, many fast food accommodations. Close to downtown. By no means Cambridge is a city, but growing very nicely; however this is the last year we will stay here. There are several other campgrounds in the area including Salt Fort, state park campgrounds. There are less amenities at those parks. Spring Valley Campground is ok if only for a stop over night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$30
Staff very kind and friendly, lots of grass and open area, very quiet, a great place for a few days or a overnight stop. Would recommend highly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com