219076 User submitted reviews online!!
Cool Breeze Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (866) 342-0300
CGID4343

Cool Breeze Campground

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   7   8   9   8   7   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$34
First, your GPS may try to send you to the Deer Creek RV Resort next door. There is no affiliation between that and Cool Breeze so look for the signs to make sure you go to the right place. The folks are very friendly and low-key. The owner wasn’t there when we arrived and we were told we’d cross paths with him during the week and we could settle up then, which we did 3 days into our stay. For those camping with children, there is nothing here at all for the youngsters. My rating reflects gravel roads, no fire pits, few outdoor tables and little to no shade. There is, however, a very large community-sized fire pit in front of the office. Other than that, this campground is a quiet, beautifully maintained wide open field and a great place to use as a base while exploring on the Blue Ridge Parkway or following the Virginia Music Trail. It is about 5 miles from the BR Music Center and an easy drive to Galax and Floyd, both popular music centers in the area, as well as Mount Airy and various wineries. The air is cool and breezy, hence the name. We only used our air conditioner once while camping in August, and that was to handle the humidity from an overnight rain. The bathhouse is ‘eat off the floor’ clean and kept immaculate, in good repair and well stocked. The laundry sparkles as well. Laundry is $1 per load paid into a box on the honor system. One person who is seasonal said the washers and dryers were too slow. While I didn’t use them, at a cost of $1 a load and the ability to sit and read in a nice, clean, air-conditioned room while waiting, I thought it was great. I understand that those on the road all the time might disagree. The roads are all gravel and in good shape. The sites are wide, level gravel pads with plenty of room between sites. There are no picnic tables although many sites had large wood tables that could be used to eat outdoors as long as you have chairs. The owner and one camper put in a nice garden and campers are invited to help themselves to its produce, which is a very unique and nice touch. The grounds are kept well mowed. There is no cable. We got 9 channels over the air. There is Wi-Fi which has a booster to improve its signal but it diminished after additional campers arrived. Same for the phone service. You might have to walk up closer to the office to get the best reception for a call. Or, you could just unplug for the week and enjoy the peace and quiet! We will definitely return to Cool Breeze. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$34
Clean and well maintained park. Secure Wi-Fi signal was weak but usable at our site. Nice sized level sites. Owner very friendly and helpful. Reasonable price. Cable was very basic but with good signal. Very close to Blue Ridge Parkway at the VA-NC state line. Verizon phone service was poor, but owner had a booster in the office building and calls could be made there. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$32
We recently camped at Cool Breeze Campground in Galax, VA. This is a beautiful area of the country, and we enjoyed a quiet, relaxing stay. The campground has much open space. We have a class A motor coach, so I liked the open space and easy site access. The owner is very friendly and accommodating. I'm going to suggest to our camping club that we have a rally at Cool Breeze later in the year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
Park not as expected: some confusion with old Deer Creek name that is now an exclusive RV resort next door. Cable is limited. WiFi didn't work for a time, but was fixed. No amenities or shade. Hook ups were fine and sites were large. We'd stay here again because there is nothing else nearby that is available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Nice campground with friendly people. Had a very enjoyable stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$34
Nice campground just two miles off the Parkway. The office was closed but following the instructions to pick your site, grab your Wi-Fi and bathroom codes, drop the money in a box was easy. All sites are spacious, gravel and provide good accessibility to the hookups. However, it was hard to find a level one. Most sites are sloped. No shade and nothing but grass between the sites. No picnic tables or fire pits. VERY quiet at night. Best Wi-Fi we ever experienced on a campground ever. Super-fast and reliable. We didn't use any facilities. When we return to the Parkway we will stay again in this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
It is very clean and well kept. I would have given them a "10" but there were no picnic tables to be seen in the section we were in. The table that was provided was small and too tall to pull chairs up to it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
Nice level, spacious, gravel sites. Park is on a slight slope which makes for stadium-style parking of the units. Sites are also staggered so you are not DIRECTLY next to your neighbor. The spaces are long which gives you plenty of room to park you car or toad. Very clean park. Bathrooms and laundry areas are spotless! No charge to use the washers and dryers but there is an "Honor Box" for donations so don't be a cheapskate: DONATE! Easy check-in and and hosts are most accommodating. No shade, but, hey, you're in the mountains and the countryside is beautiful so suck it up. The town of Galax is a neat, "old-timer" town complete with farmers market, antique and gift shops. Wi-Fi can be a bit spotty and no service with our AT&T cell phone, but if you have a phone calling card, you can use the one in the office. Some of the sites back up to a 9 hole, par 3 golf course belonging to the adjacent campground, but for the week we were there, did not see a single sole using it so that makes these sites very private. Would highly recommend this park if you are staying in the area. Geared mostly for adults, this is a good destination place to pull in, kick back and enjoy the peaceful setting and stay a bit. Would we return? YOU BETCHA! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
Spacious sites, friendly on-site and available owners. Few trees, but plenty of room for taking the dog for a walk. Good cable TV and fast internet. For our AT&T phone, had to travel 12 miles for reception. As stated, mostly an adult park. Two RV clubs were having rallies while we were here. Nice and quiet. Would definitely stay here again for longer than a week. Stayed here in a fifth wheel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Great campground! We drove NC 89 from the south, and it was narrow and winding. Recommend coming in on 89 from the north and I-77. Take the truck route (left) before you get to Galax to avoid downtown Galax. Campground has level gravel sites with full service. Not many shade trees, so satellite service is good. Owners are very nice and friendly. Very scenic views, but not much to do for kids at the campground. Great restaurants nearby, and plenty of bluegrass music nearby on the weekends. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendly, helpful manager. We chose an easy back-in site with a nice view of the surrounding hills & farms. The restrooms & laundry in the club house/office were exceptionally clean & large. Very close to the Blue Ridge Parkway. Just wished they had a pool for the warm summer afternoons. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$34
Great scenery, great area. Well laid out park, plenty of room to handle large RVs and fantastic host. Really enjoyed relaxing, great weather at the high altitude. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
We were here for an FMCA motorhome rally. It was the second time here. This was a great campground for a rally or an overnight stay. Very friendly folks. The only negative was that some sites were not level, or at least we had to move the coach on the site to find a level spot. The campground was close to good restaurants and shopping. We will return here in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
We camped here again and enjoyed our stay. We stayed in spot 26 and with 2 small children it was great! We had a large yard with lots of room for them to play in. We usually stay here 2-3 times a year and the staff has always been more than accommodating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
The gravel site was level with ample room between spaces. There are no trees in the park to interfere with slide outs. We were not there long enough to find out much more about the faculties. When we plugged into the electrical outlet it continually shut off at the box. The owner insisted there was no problem with his electrical hook-up even though it fried our power cord plug. Instead of fixing his circuit breaker and reimbursing us for the damage, he gave us our money back for the space rental and told us to leave. A most bizarre experience that left us scratching our heads. We'll stay in the Wal-Mart parking lot before ever going back there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
What a delight to find a comfortable, clean and friendly park all in one. We were just going to stay a couple of nights and ended up "kicking back" and spending 5 nights. The smell here alone was worth a couple of extra days! What a great way to just chill out and have some bluegrass music nearby. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
Camped here with a Holiday Rambler Club. Nice CG near town with nice mountain views. No special activities available, do your own thing. Very nice bathrooms and shower house. Friendly owner lives near by. Very quiet and we loved the area: will go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
We were in the "regular" section, not the "for purchase" lots. There are not many amenities, but a great park if you aren't looking for that. There is a wonderful, caring host. It is a spotless rest room and shower facility. Very nice rally park with a rate of $28. WiFi is only good at sites near building. Route to campground using Highway 89 from NC has a very STEEP hill - recommend coming in from the north. Overall, a very enjoyable stay. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
Amazing resort, very selective in terms of RVs allowed...only top of the line. The clubhouse in cozy, the lots are wonderful (large, level, concrete pads), and beautifully landscaped. The golf course was cute, a nice place to practice (9 holes, all 3 par). I really enjoyed myself. The owners were extremely nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
We stayed in the new section that just opened this Spring: Deer Creek "Motorcoach" Resort with 70 additional sites. Stayed for free for Grand opening weekend. All lots for purchase. Can only stay in this section if you buy lot for $50,000, or rent from an owner for $50. Very level, clean, landscaped lots. Super friendly owner. Free use of 9 hole golf course, mini-golf, club house with theater, and fishing pond. Gated section. Very quiet and beautiful views from all lots. Stayed on Lot 1 by the clubhouse. Full hookups W/E/S, no wireless internet, no AT&T wireless cell service, no pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
Very neat, clean well laid out park. Beautiful views and quiet. We'll return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$32
This is a marvelous campground. Quiet and peaceful, but level, large sites. No overhanging trees. Close to the New River Trail, Grayson Highlands and Galax. Campground owners have a great attitude and hook-ups are new, well placed and highly functional. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
We recently heard about this campground on the radio and thought that we would check it out. We weren't disappointed but certainly not impressed either. It had all the amenities you expect from a newer park and everything worked fine. There just seemed to be a lack of things to do if you aren't a golfer. Its fine for an overnight park but I wouldn't plan on staying for more than a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$28
This is a great park, very clean, friendly staff, and good rates. Only 7 miles to Galax Va. 4 miles to the Blue Ridge Music Center and 2 miles off the Blue Ridge Parkway. They have a par 3 golf course next door with putt putt, and have a putting green in the park. They have just added 25 new sites and all are Big Rig Friendly. The owner has a large motorhome and designed the park himself and it shows. We will stay here again and will tell others about this great new RV Resort in the Blue Ridge Mountains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
Nice park in area with lots to do. Owner adding sites that will be ready in spring. Blue Ridge Parkway is 2 miles and New River State Park with 51 mile bike path is only 8 miles away. Wifi signal was good. Only downside is crooked road getting into area and some of the pull thrus are a little tricky getting around for big rigs. Will come here again and hopefully soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$28
We stayed at Deer Creek knowing that it lacked a playground, pool, and game area for the children. The owner was very friendly, the grounds were immaculate, and the price is reasonable. This campground hosts many rallys and is geared for those in motorhomes, and the retired crowd. Despite that, we felt welcomed here. (We have 2 small children.) It is a nice place to stay for a weekend getaway. There are a lot of historical areas and scenic areas close by also. We would stay again. They have added Wi-Fi recently. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$28
It's not the place to go if you need constant entertainment because of the lack of amenities which is why I give it an 8. But it is a very nice campground. They have a 9 hole Par 3 golf course, 18 hole miniature golf course, driving range, putting green, and game room. The roads and sites are gravel. The sites are fairly level. The bath house is clean and they offer a laundry facility that works on the honor system. If you are holding a rally, they have a nice room to use with kitchen. The campground is kept spotless. It is a relaxing place to spend a few days with some great mountain scenery. If you like old time or bluegrass music, there is much to do in the area. It is also very close to the Blueridge Parkway. The owner is working on expanding the campground with more sites. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com