220396 User submitted reviews online!!
Oconee State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (864) 638-5353
CGID4357

Oconee State Park

Camp Information
Sites
155
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   9   8   9   7   7   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$18
Even though park was packed on the Fourth of July, it was quiet at night. Be aware of the golf carts, they are every where. The bath houses were not kept clean and I am not sure they were even cleaned the whole weekend. Also the sites are not level, whatever it says on the park website, be aware they are even worse when you get there. On the plus side there is a large swim area and play ground for kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
The campground is very nice; very shaded. Lots to do in the park. However, the campsites are very small; if you're tent camping or have a pop-up, you shouldn't have a problem, but you may have trouble if you have anything larger. We have a 24' travel trailer and destroyed our awning at Site #14 because of a tree that leans; we also had a good bit of difficulty pulling out of the site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
Wonderful park! See raving reviews just below. We drove to Oconee station, decided that it was a too steep of a hike for us, and found a great hike to a beautiful waterfall. Definitely recommended! We will certainly be back in the summer. Only one gripe: water pressure. We usually shower in our RV, but with filling up the coffee pot taking 2 minutes, we decided to shower in the (clean) bath house. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$17
We camped here in February, so the rate is less than peak season. Another SC campground built by the CCC. Lots of outdoor activities. There are 2 lakes, with the campground on one, and rental cabins (19) on the other. Many boats to rent on both lakes for fishing and a swimming area with diving dock on one lake. Lots of well maintained hiking trails. They are building a nice parking area for access to the Foothills Trailhead (a 76 mile trail through northern SC). The roads through the campground were well maintained with gravel, and one section is fully paved. Received Verizon data 2 bars LTE, good cell phone reception, and 10 channels OTA TV. The bathrooms are old but well maintained and clean with lots of hot water. The only issue I had was with the dump site. The opening was a very large diameter pipe with a screen to keep large debris out. The 'standard' dump hose just rests on top of this screen and when the camper valve is opened, things get messy real fast. It is totally different than any other dump site I've seen. This is highly unsanitary and needs to be fixed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$28
Our family really enjoyed this park. It is beautiful! Everyone was really nice and someone came by selling firewood for a great price! Can't wait to come back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$15
Overall this is now one of our top parks in the southeast. There are many great trails, 2 lakes, Jon boats, paddle boats, mini golf, several playgrounds, and a small ball field. Campsites are spread out and most are relatively private. There are 6 bath houses for the campground that are old but clean. Sites 1-98 are gravel and are on a gravel road. Sites 99-140 are paved and mostly level, though some are quite small. The park staff are wonderful and are very willing to answer any questions or help in any way, especially the ladies in the office. We will definitely stay here again. Camping rate is $15 per night, but we got the winter 2011 special for 30% off. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$20
A nice campground, except I suspect our site had voltage issues. Our digital TV would not work here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Pleasant site - wooded and quiet with views over a lake available. Beware of which pitch you choose as we could not have 'pulled through' on our site with a 31 foot RV and had to back out (which put us very close to the people on the pitch behind). No sewage hook up available on this site so you have to use a dump station. Good facilities - crazy golf, boat hire, fishing equipment hire (buy a license before you get there as they do not sell them on site), swimming in the lake - enough to keep you busy for a day or two at the most. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$23
Nice park but very cramped! Driving a 4 door truck and pulling a 26 foot travel trailer , I had a small issue with backing in but it was done. Very pretty during the "Octoberfest" period I discovered most of the campers were locals from the nearby town just getting away for the week. The park staff was nice and the trash service was unbeatable. Just put it out by the roadside and as an ongoing service the staff makes hourly runs picking up trash. I would stay there again, but the limited space to maneuver is the down side. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$20
We camped in a 31' 5th wheel and there are only a very few sites that would accommodate us. I made reservations on site at Reserve America and it allowed me to reserve site 66 recommended by Frommer's Best RV Campgrounds. My gosh! What a joke! My husband managed to get our trailer into the site but we barely could get out. We immediately went back to the office and found a site that was more conducive to our small 31 footer. The campground has great trash pick up, every hour on the hour. You just put it out next to your campsite. The park, in itself, is very wooded and pretty. Trying not to be snobby, though, when we went through the tent trailer and tent area, it was so crowded that it looked like we were driving through "deer in the headlights with big eyes". Maybe because they couldn't believe they were seeing that huge 31' trailer actually going down that road. We will not camp here again. Even the level paved sites were too close together so it didn't feel as though you were able to enjoy the natural setting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
We just got back from spending two nights at Oconee. It was our first time there so we weren't sure of what the sites would be like. We stayed in site 27 and had a very difficult time pulling through with our 30 ft trailer. We loved the park though and the staff and other campers were extremely friendly. We even made reservations for October at another campsite at Oconee that we now know is big enough to drive through. Just in time for Octoberfest in Walhalla. Would highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$20
The above review is dead on. It is a nice state park, with miles of hiking trails, but the campground is not the best. Not terrible, but compared to other SC state parks, not great. Reatively small sites, not really friendly for bigger rigs. I was in one of the backwards sites. Bath houses were clean, but in need of an update. Shower curtain did not give much privacy, and the stall doors did not have latches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2005
$22
Most of the sites are unpaved with dirt roads. There is one paved section near the entrance, but these are very close together. Many of the sites are pull-through, if you have a small camper. There was no way we could make the sharp turn necessary to pull out with our 30' trailer, so ended up having to back out. Strangely, we noticed that some of the paved sites (which were back in, not pull through) were "backwards" - meaning that you had to be going the wrong way down the one-way road to be able to back into the site. The bath houses were among the worst we've seen, so we took quick showers in the camper. There is a small lake, and you can rent john boats and canoes. There is also a putt-putt course, but we used it mainly as a base to visit surrounding attractions like the Wallhalla fish hatchery, and Stumphouse tunnel. Overall, not a bad experience, but probably will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com