223371 User submitted reviews online!!
Katahdin Shadows Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (207) 746-9349
CGID4365

Katahdin Shadows Campground

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   6   8   8   9   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
This campground has some of the nicest seasonals of any park we have visited. The shaded gravel and grass sites are level and all the utilities worked well. Each site has a nice fire pit and were very clean. They don't have cable but we were able to get a good signal with our satellite dish. The WiFI is slow and would drop out frequently but they said they were working on it. Our Verizon hotspot signal was strong. It is easy to get to from I-95 and we had no trouble getting around in the park with our 40' RV. They had a few activities for the kids, a nice pool, and playground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$34
We got a nice gravel pull-through site next to the pool and amenities. The site is fairly level. There is no TV by antenna, and only some sites are satellite visible. This is a very nice, clean campground, the only reason I did not give it a ten is that they have no TV and the Internet at your site is spotty. I would definitely camp here again. The laundry facilities are very nice. This also appears to be a very nice campground for children. They have a few rabbits around here, which are cute and not afraid of people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
When you enter this park the parking area to register is on the side of a steep hill. Big rigs should pull up to the left side of the flag poles and park there to avoid the steep tight turns in front of the office. The road around the campground is gravel, well maintained, but can be tight in areas if you’re a 40ft class A with toad. A lot of the park is filled with long term and seasonal quests, many with permanent porches, sheds and satellite dishes nailed to trees. This makes the place look more like a travel trailer park than a campground. There are only 6 shaded 30/50amp shared pedestal full-hookup pull thru sites for large rigs, everything else is back-in. If you want some shade and are willing to maneuver into a site, you might fit into one on the hill but it is very treed so getting a satellite view will be a problem. Some of the power pedestals may be out of reach for your power cord up there, if so, ask the office for an extension if you don’t have one. The staff is very helpful and will loan you a 30 amp cord to use. If you don’t need sewer and want an easy back-in with open skies stay in Violette’s field, a water and electric only level grass yard. You will have plenty of room to maneuver a big rig into place without any obstacles. The bathroom, showers and laundry are all clean and well maintained. Sprint has no service in the area. The free park WI-FI worked fine near the office, but got slower the further away you were. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
Good location, nice and clean facilities, family friendly, many activities, very nice office staff. However…..very, very compact and we struggled with our 38’ fifth wheel – would not recommend any towable rigs over 34’ in season when the park is crowded, as it’s rather tight to maneuver. Pull-thru sites share a pedestal, so you may not get the one 50-amp service if you’re not the first one there. No TV reception and no cable, but Verizon 4G works surprisingly well. Some may find the numerous rabbit adorable, but they are everywhere, as is their waste. Maybe it’s the weekend we’re here, but the loudest campground ever – no, not the road noise, but very loud, screaming children and their parents. If you come on a weekend, and this is an issue for you, it’s worth asking for a quiet (if there is one) area. Oh, quiet hours do not start until 11pm, a bit late in our opinion. It is strictly enforced and it’s quiet at 11:01pm, but quite loud until that moment. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
If it's a hopping, jumping campground that would fill your hearts' desire, Mt. Katahdin is the place to build your late night fire. Very family friendly, always things to do. Managed very nicely, seasonals, and yes, they're nice too. You have a pool and Wi-Fi. If you want a/c you'll pay. There is a playground for the kiddies, and they're buzzing about all day. Those who stay the season can add their own decor. Although it's always busy, a well stocked camping store. If you are into "peace & quiet"this is not for you, There is a primitive tenting area, but it's pretty "happening", too. It's very family friendly and if your focus is just that, I believe it rates an "8". So go check out "Mt. Kat". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
Some seasonal sites, but most are well kept and have friendly folks. Bunnies all around add to the entertainment. Many weekly activities and usually nightly hay rides for those young at heart. Some noise from the big log trucks on the highway. Close to Mt. Katahdin and Baxter State Park. Gravel roads and some grassy sites, which are quite level. The local TV stations did not come in for us. Nice walking conditions around the campground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
Not all sites are good for large (40 ft) RVs, but they have several. Most sites have 30 amp, a few have 50. Good free Wi-Fi, wonderful staff. The owner takes great pride in helping his customers. Had a minor problem with electric and the owner responded quickly and had it fixed. Rate reflects the weekly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
Nice family CG. Lots of happy kids. Pull through sites power post shared with adjacent site, one gets 30a the other 50a. Rooftop dish didn't get signal, Wi-Fi slow & Sprint cell phone/Internet hotspot slow & on roaming. Would be good for longer stays if CG had TV & good Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$20
Just a quick stopover here on the way south for the winter. We picked this site because of its location along our route and the fact that it is "open all year." We received a courteous reply to our email inquiry, registered online, and were greeted by a very friendly woman on our arrival! There is about six inches of snow covering everything, but the park looks clean and well-maintained...bathrooms and showers very clean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$31
We used this park for a quick stop but found it to be nice. Restroom and shower were clean owners were very nice. Had a pull through ready for us so we had a very easy in and out. As with most parks there were many seasonal people but we found ti overall nice. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Campground has a wonderful atmosphere and our fellow campers were really friendly. The kids loved the little rabbits running around. The playground could use an update, especially for smaller children but overall we enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
This was a fantastic park. A lot of seasonal campers and very friendly. Management was fair but in control. The park although near full was quiet and calm. The facilities were kept exceptionally clean. My family had a perfect 3 days here. Would have given a 10 if there was waterfront on the property. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
Do not bring a big rig here: we did and we are sorry. Unfortunately there isn't a CG in the area that's suited for more than a 30' trailer. Interior roads are not good and definitely not wide enough for a 40' MH to turn. The pull through site we had had side by side hook-ups, so we shared a small common area. Luckily the trailers next to us did not have slides or we would have touched. People were friendly, but most were seasonal and had been coming for 20 or more years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
This campground may be nice and have a lot of amenities, but it is not big-rig friendly. We had trouble navigating the roads and getting backed in a very short site. On the plus side, they do refill LP gas containers by metering rather than charging a flat rate. Lots of seasonal campers with permanent set ups. Suitable for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$29
This campground has great potential but it is spoiled by mediocre management. The campground has a lovely park setting and a nice swimming pool. The game room is excellent and is inviting. The store is well stocked. On the downside it took almost an hour to get a site because the poor lady on registration had difficulty managing the campsites and the money. Making change was a stretch for her. We were sent to four campsites before we found one which met our requirement of a level site (our jacks were broken) and 50 amps. The first site had 50 amps but the neighbor used it first so we couldn't have it. The second two sites were not level and only had 30 amps. At the time there was only one other customer to deal with. We were asked why we needed 50 amps. There was an additional charge of $3 per day to run the AC. Seasonal campers have 25 x 25 pink carpets in front of their rigs, sofas, large BBQs, armchairs, twinkly lights and fences. You feel as though you are intruding when you arrive. Noisy at night. We would not camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
Very close spots , slides where nearly touching but great area. Great bar just down the road called Maggies which is the only reason we would go again. If you go to the bar tell Herman that the two mad English people recommended it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
Our initial impression that it was very clean, which it was, but there is very little grass in the campground so there is a lot of gravel and sand for roads and paths, resulting in a lot of dirt in the camper. Sites are wide, there was an odor of sewer in the air as if someone had a spill. Laundry closed early at 9 pm especially if you were in Baxter State Park all day. A lot of seasonals which made for a noisy climate with a lot of the sites having a lot of tacky ornaments and semi-permanent exterior 'fridges and bar-b-q's, making the place kind of tacky looking. A very small amount of necessary groceries available, such as milk, etc. The only close campground to the mountain that had water, electric and sewer. It is apparent that the seasonals are given preference and are allowed to break rules, pity as this place could be a lot more. All sites tend to look in on each other making it not very private considering that you are in the North Woods of Maine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$15
This is not the closest campground to the mountain with water, sewer and electric. This campground was noisy with crowded sites too close together. Too much loudness and drinking late into the night. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
This campground, at least for a one-night stay, filled all our expectations. Easily reached in a fairly rural area, it is a lovely wooded property. It's remarkably quiet and exudes tranquility. Your kids will love the rabbits and chipmunks that run free on the grounds. Top-notch pool, immaculate restrooms, well-stocked store, excellent wifi and particularly cordial staff. Only downside: no TV cable, only one OTA station and no view of a satellite; but, unless you're a news junkie like we are, you won't care. Beyond that, we heartily recommend it and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
We enjoyed our 1 night stay here. Very friendly staff and very nice and clean showers and bathrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$24
We camped here with 2 kids ages 6 & 9. They can't wait to go back! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Lots of rabbits roaming free that loved to be fed. The campground was busy, but didn't feel crowded. This is a family campground and they go out of their way to try to make all their campers happy. Quiet hours are strictly enforced so we all slept great. We are planning on returning again soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
This is the worse campground we have ever stayed in. The sites were so close together that our neighbor's campfire ring was 6 feet from the center of our trailer. The smoke billowed in so badly we had to leave until their fire was over. We were there on July 4th, and the campground was teeming with unsupervised children. It was loud and horrible. Our children (ages 7 and 11) especially hated it. The pool was mobbed with children jumping in right next to others (most seemingly unsupervised.) My kids wouldn't even step in the pool, it was so crazy and out of control. The service was also horrible. We made reservations expecting pump out service because they had no sewers left. The pump out service rules are ludicrous: they won't pump your tanks the day you get there or the day you leave; they won't pump your tanks more than every OTHER day; they will not begin pumping until after 3 p.m. Our tanks were so full we had to put tape on the sinks to remind the kids not to use them, and we had to wait until 6 p.m. to get them pumped! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$22
There are many seasonal campers here, but there is also a nice, grassy section of long, level pull-throughs for overnighters, as well as a separate section for tenters. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2003
$27
An excellent campground to explore the Mt. Katadin area. Spent 3 days there on the way back from PEI and will return the next time we're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com