220396 User submitted reviews online!!
Hartt Island RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (506) 462-9400
CGID4380

Hartt Island RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
118
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   5   7   6   7   8   9   8   3   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$60
Unfortunately, there are not many choices in and around Fredericton. So, supply and demand at its best for the overnighter. Lots of crushed rock, minimal grass between sites, road noise, and highest prices of any RV park or campground we have stayed at across North America. A cross between an interstate RV park and a family entertainment center. Would reluctantly stay here again based solely on location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$68
As stated in previous reviews, this is definitely a work in progress and not any where near a "resort". Roads and sites are hard packed gravel. Sites are level some with 50 amp electrical, which is unusual for campgrounds in Canada. As stated the sites are adequate but not overly large. Given the very high nightly rate, it is not a good value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$68
This is an example of a park that is so close to a higher rating, but misses the details. We had no problems getting a full hookup site without a reservation. The sites are decent, with long and level pull through. However, there is no privacy between sites, just a grassy strip with a picnic table. There are two saplings on each site, so in 10 to 15 years there will be some shade trees and a bit of privacy. There are numerous waterfront sites, but they are reserved for seasonal only. It would be nice if some of them could be used by vacationers, even if a minimum stay was required. Each site has a nice steel garbage can, but ours was full when we arrived. And at this price, I expect cable TV. There is a lovely pool, but it costs 10 dollars, plus tax, to use. For the price of the night, I expect to be able to take a nice, cooling dip after a hot drive. The park is next to a secondary highway, so there is some traffic noise. We found it on par with many of the parks along the interstates. It wasn't enough to keep us from sleeping, even with the windows and a vent open. However, tolerance to noise is an individual thing. In short, 68 dollars is a lot for an overnight site, the park doesn't provide enough resort services for the money to justify a longer stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$57
First, we would not call this a resort - it is only an RV park. The only thing resortish about the place was the price, and we got an off season rate. As for the site quality, it was ‘okay’. All sites are gravel sites with a wooden picnic table, fire ring and garbage can (although garbage was never picked up and there was a bag of trash already in the garbage when we arrived). The strip of grass between the sites really needed cutting. It was very obvious that no one had mowed that grass for a while. Know that all hook ups are at the back of site. So if you don’t unhook your tow, you will not be able to make the water, sewer, and electric connections. As for the facilities, we did not use toilets nor showers. The laundry room was very clean. There in a water park/slide next door, but you pay extra for that. Similarly, there are canoes and kayaks, and again, you pay extra for that. The RV park is located along the Saint John river - very pretty. There is a walking/bike path along the river and it goes all the way in to the downtown of Fredericton (approximately 6 K or 4 miles). Great for walking the dogs or riding your bike. [Note, I changed the rating of "waterfront sites available" because rvparkreviews states "means waterfront not "view"". There is a public path / walkway between the river and the RV park. All the sites closest to the water are seasonal site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
We would have given this a 10, but the traffic noise was deafening at times. Check in staff were lovely. The sites were clean and large. We stayed here in 2010 once and since then this park has invested a substantial amount of money to improve all it's facilities. Hook-up's were easily accessible. WI-FI was excellent. If the traffic noise wasn't an issue, this would be a world class facility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
This is still a park under construction. Most of the site construction is complete along with the laundry/bath house, minigolf and waterpark/swimming pool. I believe they were constructing an office/snack bar when we were there. All sites and roads were gravel. There were small grass areas between the sites along with new trees. Sites were quite adequate. Utilities were well placed. Laundry was clean with newer machines. There was a trash can on each site and was picked up daily. Reception was not a problem for DirecTV. Our only negative was the office was staffed with teenagers who were unable to answer simple questions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$60
Note that rate is for full hookups, 50 amps. Also, be aware that there is 13% tax on top of the rate. That being said, this is a nice park, landscaping underway, but our row (one back from the water) had grass between each site and sites were roomy enough. A bike trail goes near the camp and you can bike to Fredricton (Be sure to wear your helmet - local law) and nearby restaurants. Canoes and kayaks are for rent. Access is great, even a huge area for hookups if you don't do it at your site. Yes, lots of seasonal folks, but there was plenty of river view available. Everyone was very friendly. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
Stayed at this campground last week while a relative was in hospital. Second time for the same reason. Expansion is ongoing and landscaping is almost done. Anyone can find fault with anything if they try hard but in the grand scheme of things, this is a great campground and what campground doesn't have a lot of seasonals? We have paid a lot more for a lot less at other places. Staff are excellent. We plan a return trip next season just to relax. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$67
If you like camping in an open gravel pit then this is the place for you. Most of the river view sites are seasonal and the rest of the sites are on new gravel with not a stick of trees or any green grass in sight. A Walmart parking lot offers just as much privacy minus the showers and washrooms. No hot water in the mens showers when we were there. When and if this campground is finished (it is a work in process) it may be nice but that will depend on the growth of trees and the addition of grass. If you like nature, privacy, and quiet this is not the place for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$39
This is an older park that will be having major renovations before next year. The manager seems to have everything under control and it will likely continue to be a good place to stop. Our site backed onto the river and leaving was definitely hard. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$37
We were very pleased with this park. The manager met us as we walked out of our coach and assisted the girl at check in to get us a 50amp site. We had a nice view of the River from our driver's side in site #67. We stayed for a week and got the 7th night at no charge. The owner of the park is currently in the process of renovating the park which will take a couple of years. They are creating "Resort" like lots throughout the park which will be wider, longer and will have patios. The manager is always walking around the park talking with people and making sure they are enjoying their stay. This a really nice touch. The roads could use some gravel to fill the pot holes especially when it rains. We hope to return to this park to see the re-development in the park. I would highly recommend this park if you are in the Fredericton area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
This is a family friendly park with plenty for the kids to do. Most of the premium sites were occupied by seasonal campers, so most of the non seasonal campers have to settle for sites without a view of the river. There is currently a lot of construction in the park that is scheduled to complete in 2012. This caused the gravel roads to be muddy and in need of grading. The campground personnel were pleasant and helpful. There is not any cable and only one off air TV station. The Wi-Fi worked fairly well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
We stayed in this resort after a 7 day trek from Winnipeg Manitoba that covered 11 states so we were fortunate enough to have stayed in some pretty nice places along the way. This was not one of them. Check in - Disorganized. The old owner had just sold this resort to a new person who was working there on our check in. A couple of weeks prior to arriving I tried to make reservations on the 1-800 number but the young woman said the owner has to get back and confirm. That seemed a little strange. He didn't get back to me and wasn't sure on price to charge even when we got to the park. Site - Located in the lower area of the park (picture two tiered) near the highway. Because it was in the lower level, cell reception was completely non-existent. I climbed up the hill and used a picnic table that had a rotting banana on it. Restrooms/Showers - Filthy, in desperate need of a makeover. My 13 yr old son took a shower and came back commenting on beetles climbing up through the drain. This is a resort that was recently sold and has a water park that is quite busy used primarily by locals from what it looked like. The water park is in addition to the cost of a site. I would not camp here again and think the owners should really take some hints from comparable sized parks a couple of hours away in Maine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
We found the sites level and spacious. Roads are in need of some repair however construction is on-going. Lots of activities for the kids and mini-golf for adults. Best thing for us was the staff. Very accommodating. We stayed because we had family in hospital and weren't able to give a lot of notice. Will stay again for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
This park needs some TLC. Roads are horrible with large pot holes. Has many family oriented facilities: pool & water slide, basket nets, golf driving range, mini-golf, etc. Sewer is too far back to be convenient; had to buy an additional 10 ft to add to my 25 ft in order to hook up. Wi-Fi is a community system & is very good for a no-charge service. Next time in Fredericton will choose somewhere else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
The sites are small, short and narrow. However, the problem we had was that the sewer connections do not have caps and ours was broken around the top, and they do not require sewer donuts. As a result, there was a constant smell of sewer in the air and when people pulled their valves to dump, it was even worse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
When we arrived at the campground a storm had just passed. The staff was very nice. Campground signs stated that it was a Good Sam park, but when we asked for our discount we were told they no longer belonged to Good Sam. The roads were in total disrepair with large pot holes. Most of the campground was a flood zone. The weeds had long ago overtaken the hookups at our site. The campground had many seasonal campers with personal junk strewn about and many vehicles parked in the roadway making maneuvering interesting. There are numerous family activities available if the weather is nice. We would not visit this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
Nice CG. Nice location. Nice walking trails. Nice driving range. I guess all around nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
Beautiful setting on the St. John River and close to the city of Fredericton. We were promised a 50-amp when we made our reservation but only could got a 30 upon arrival. Pool/water slide looks to be a ways off from completion but will be nice for families. Restrooms look like they could use a makeover. Wi-Fi works great at your site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Very friendly in the office, but call for directions, don't use the website directions. The sites are level. Nice campground and would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
New pool construction on going - TBO 15-August. Great park, many things for kids to do. Excellent river system for canoeing and kayaking. New pool will be nice if the same as pictures. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Many things for the kids to do, but most are add'l $$'s but campers receive discounts. Beautiful sunsets, great boating system. Pool is free but is only 3' deep and is the end of the water slides so it is quite busy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
We camped at Hartt Island many times and it was well worth it. We had a great time and the kids had an excellent time. The service was excellent. There are activities throughout the day which is provided by staff and even by the owner himself was very accommodating. I remember when I first called for a price thinking that it might be too expensive because the water slide bracelets and driving range cost extra, but you get a discount if you are a camper and can purchase all day bracelets for the water slides. For many years we would go only to the Moncton and Shediac area and decided to give Hartt Island a try and haven't gone anywhere else since. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$29
I am very displeased with Hartts island resort. The service was not friendly. They tried to charge us $5 dollars for a 6 year old, a 4 year old and a 2 year old. They wanted an extra $15 dollars for our kids. They told us that the next CG was 25 minutes away. This was inaccurate, unless your driving about 20K's per hour. Then she tried to tell us that EVERYTHING in the CG was an extra fee. I was upset. My kids sat and looked at all the activities that they had there. I couldn't afford anything else. I have kids! I just threw the CG brochure on the front seat and we sat in our site all night long. A few days later after leaving, I read the print, the basketball hoops and the splash pool were free! FREE! The blond girl at the office told my husband and my son that EVERYTHING came at a fee. $6 per hour! I am so unhappy with this place. A few lies and few misleading comments. We were going to stay 3 nights. Stayed one, and it was the most expensive site we have EVER stayed at. I can understand a block fee of $2-5 for extra children per site, but per kid of $5.00? Are they crazy? These are children belonging to families which have paid a good price to camp at your campground. Give us a little breathing space. There is no reason to charge that kind of money. I have e-mailed them after the trip, and they told me that the two year old would be free. But they did NOT tell us that when we were standing in the line to pay! The second e-mail, in which I mentioned all my complaints, they did NOT respond. Other then that, place was clean and well organized. But service means a lot too. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
Email reservations not received (no failed mail message on my end – obviously they don’t check their email) phone reservation for 2 nights was misconstrued as only 1 night. A very loud and rude greeter kept interrupting my registration process. Trailer life says TV svc – not in our (water/30-amp) site, and judging by the number of antennas and dishes deployed, not in any other, either. WIFI almost but didn’t quite work in our site; took the laptop to the parking lot and found a network called Fred-e-net which requires you to open a free account by giving your name and email address “for legal reasons” – Right - ought to call it Fraud-e-net! Speed of a dial-up connection. Facilities available for extra charge: golf driving range, mini golf, water slide, canoes, kayaks, pontoon boat rides, banana boat rides, trail bikes, dairy bar, canteen. Free activities: playground, splash pool, bankshot basketball. Overall, got the impression they’ve bitten off a little more than they can chew, given the number and quality of staff available. Very tight sites with insufficient room to deploy our awning, but alt least they’re not side-by-side hookups. Hope you like dogs. All that said, the park is located on the shore of the beautiful St John River and offers absolutely terrific views of the river and the sunset. Washrooms, although few and dated were very clean. Historic Fredericton and Kings Landing were very interesting to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
Very clean. Great view. Would return for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
This park was pretty much an over night stop for us but it would be a fun place for a family. Lots of activities on site such as driving range, mini golf, river activities, etc. Bike/walking trail runs through the park and connects to a wonderful network of well maintained trails in and around the city of Fredericton. Park is pretty open but that suited us just fine as it was satellite friendly. Big Rig friendly although there were no real "Pull thrus" but being pretty open, no trees to navigate around. I would return for more river and biking fun. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com