221763 User submitted reviews online!!
Tunnel Mountain Village II Campground - Electric Hookups (Parks Canada was rated 7 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (403) 762-1550
CGID4384

Tunnel Mountain Village II Campground - Electric Hookups (Parks Canada

Camp Information
Sites
188
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   5   8   9   2   10   4   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
Big Rig friendly with paved pull thrus, concrete picnic tables and bear-proof trash containers. Elec at site. Water available but not at site. Dump. Interpretive programs but not while we were present. Impressive mountain views in 3 directions. Hiking trails nearby to Hoodoo viewpoint where we saw deer, wolves, moose, and a bear – all from a safe distance. Take your binos! National Park pass required. Close to village of Banff. Laundromat within a mile or so. We were at Tunnel Mt. during the floods of Banff and Calgary. Not only were we high and dry, but the park was willing to extend our stay when roads were impassable. We were grateful for a safe place during the unusual heavy rains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
This just isn't our type of 'camping!' We didn't like the parking lot arrangements for the sites and we didn't like that there were so few sites with fire rings. You essentially are lined up along both sides of the street, the electrical post is located on the opposite side from the cord outlet on your RV or travel trailer, there is very little room available for parking your vehicle or for driving to your site down the middle if the road between them. The dump station is located very near the entrance to this extremely busy campground and the potable water is right next to the sewer drains. Unfortunately, there is very limited camping facilities within or near Banff that offer hookups so, you pretty have to take it or leave it (the full-hookup campground is adjacent to this one, but you also have strange sites there as well). Yes, the Canadian Rockies are magnificent and we very much enjoyed our three-day visit to Jasper and our four-day stay in Banff but, you MUST make your reservations very early. Not sure that we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
This is the only RV campground in BNP that has bus service into town (1.6 miles) which means it fills up pretty fast. Buses run every 45 minutes and costs $2 adults, $1 seniors and $5 for an all day pass. You can board the bus at the CG, ride through the town all the way up the hill to the Banff Fairmont Springs Hotel. Rooms at the hotel were $700 a night, so the $37 we paid for the CG was peanuts. You do not want to drive in Banff, as the traffic is congested and parking is scarce. This CG has only one washroom with 7 shower stalls for 188 RV sites. Plus, I noticed that none of the washrooms were ADA compatible so they were not wheelchair accessible. But amenities are not the attraction at this CG; rather it is the view of the mountains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
We had a great mountain view site. Our site was large. We are 54 feet long and had room to spare front and back. Parking is basically along the side of the road with an electric hookup. The bathrooms and showers were reasonably clean for the heavy use they get. This is a busy park, and there are likely to be lines at check in and at the dump station. You can walk to Banff or there is a bus that comes by the campground about every hour. There are hiking trails that start from the campgrounds. We were lucky to get a site without reservations in August, but if at all possible it would be a good idea to have reservations if visiting in July or August. They do keep a few sites available for 1st come, 1st serve. The campground was completely full every night we were there. Not all sites are created equal, ask for a site on the outer perimeter if available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
I am amazed at how well run this RV area is, considering the high volume of people coming through this area. Sites are minimalist. You parallel park on pavement with your awning over a gravel sitting area. Many sites have fire pits. Washrooms were clean with plentiful free showers. Love the area and this RV site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
This is not a campground but a parking lot! You don't pull-through; you pull over to side of street. You have an RV about 10 ft. in front of and in back of. Felt like a hiway rest area. Lots of noise, kids, and trains at night. Electric only. Beat up old table with lots of cigarette butts, pull tabs, etc., on ground. Won't stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
We came in a day ahead of schedule and they placed us in Village II (electric only). We had such a grand view that we asked to stay in II all 7 nights. The restrooms and free showers were very clean. We filled our water at one of the water faucets that are located throughout the park instead of waiting in line for the one near the dump area. The staff was very accommodating. We enjoyed the Ranger talk and since Canada is celebrating the 200th anniversary of War of 1812, we were laughingly called the American Aggressors. Hiking was great in Banff and Yoho Natl Parks, but we loved the Icefields Parkway drive up to Jasper. We would definitely stay at Village II again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
The "pull through" sites were parallel to the road and weren't long enough to accommodate our 40' motorhome plus tow car. The main reason to stay here is its close proximity to the community of Banff. It's a beautiful setting in a fabulously beautiful park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
Park has beautiful views but its lay out is strange. You need to be able to parallel park your rig in most cases. In our case as we were in a "back to forth" site (two family on the same spot) we had to park with a 45° angle. The BIG problem again is that there is NO LAUNDRY in the park so you have to go downtown. There was no fire pit in our site neither. Many mosquitoes. Nearly half the site was under work/repair. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
Park has beautiful views but its lay out is strange. You need to be able to parallel park your rig in most cases. The bathrooms are pretty clean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
We had planned to stay at a Lake Louise park, but ended up here because we could reserve a space. Are we ever glad! The view from this park is jaw-droppingly beautiful. You must pay an $8 per night campfire permit fee, but unlimited already-split firewood is free. There are plenty of restrooms and shower houses located throughout the park. The park is located about 3 miles from the town of Banff and easily walkable. We will be staying here on our return home. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
As previously reviewed this is a very nice CG with great mountain views. Most sites have good satellite access & 30 amp power. Five dollar per day internet seems to be new and works well at our RV. On Memorial weekend it was nearly empty, so no reservation was necessary. Many of the rustic campgrounds were not even open at this time of year. Try not to drive through town, there is a road just off the exit that heads directly to the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
Beautiful campground in the woods, get a reservation if you want power and water, fills up fast, had a great stay. Very quiet at night. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
Outstanding park. Very well maintained. The sites are semi-circle pull offs from the road and are spaced nicely so you do not feel cramped. Please note that some spaces are double so you will be very close (end to end) to each other. We had a beautiful view of the mountains and clear sky to receive satellite. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
Rate is daily rate for 30 amp electric only site. Unusual parking arrangement as all sites are parallel to the asphalt surfaced park roads. Site was level with table and maneuverability was excellent. Roads are on different levels and provide some degree of privacy. Park is up on Tunnel Mountain, and a good distance from town. A nice place to stay when visiting Banff. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
This campground was basically a very big parking lot. You just pull your motorhome up to the side of the street and plug in your electric. You have no privacy as there are rigs on all sides. It is nice having the electric, but we only stayed as long as necessary. It was merely a place to pull off and stay the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
There is a fantastic Mountain View! Parking your RV is different, sort like parallel parking your trailer, with the campsite off away from the street. Small camp areas, but adequate since the views are too pretty to be sitting around your campsite. It is very close to the downtown Banff (by vehicle, quite a long walk), transit buses pick up at the park. PS if you like horse trail rides, there are great trail rides with great views. Parking in Banff is very difficult due to congestion, use the transit system or be prepared to walk several blocks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
This is a nice campground for a national park, is close to downtown, and has clean showers and restrooms. The campground is a bit expensive but nearly everything is expensive in Banff. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2010
$60
Half of this campground is closed due to construction, and other half is reservations only. I wouldn't recommend coming here this summer, because chances are that you will not get a site. We were forced to go elsewhere to find a site for our 40 footer. It has gone down hill sense they started taking reservations. But over all, when there isn't construction, it's a good place to go. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
We stayed here in January with about 20 other units. Electrical hook ups were available and the washrooms were open. Plenty of snow around but the roads were plowed. The view from the campground is incredible. Downtown Banff has a parking shortage at any time of the year so catching the local bus is your best option. There is a bus stop right by the campground and the bus will take you downtown to the restaurants and shopping on Banff Avenue or up to the Hot Springs for a warm soak. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Park is nice, we liked the pull-through in a public park. The sewer hookup is raised 8" above ground so you need something to elevate the sewer hose. It's pricey at $60 a day - Parks Canada charges $20 per day plus the $40 camping fee. Stay for a week and it's cheaper to buy a Parks Canada year pass to all the parks at $136. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$31
We stayed one night at this campground as we were transiting the park from Kelowna toward Calgary. We were given a nice open spot in the electric-only section, "Village II". Although the layout was a bit confusing (it seemed like "parallel parking" on the "wrong side of the street" for us Yanks), we were able to get parked and hooked up with no problems. Interior roads and spaces were all paved in this area, with paving repairs to some areas under way. Since the sites aren't lined out, the spacing is a little dynamic, but big rigs are certainly handled, although power is limited to 30 amps. We had a nice view of Tunnel Mountain, and were able to get TV and Internet via satellite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Beautiful, natural park in the mountains. Very clean park. Staff was cheerful and very helpful. Washroom facilities were cleaned daily but got a little grungy in between cleanings. Take extra blankets because even in the middle of summer it gets pretty chilly at night! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$34
Kind of an unusual campground with long straight rows and sites just alongside the rows. Lightly wooded; sites quite close to one another. Good for an overnighter as a stopover, but wouldn't want to stay here for several nights. On the other hand if you like the tourist clogged Banff area then this would make a good base. Beautiful area but crowded in peak summer months. Better to visit in off season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
Power is only 30 amps and the campsites are semi-circular and very tight for a big rig. We had trees hanging over our coach and they were way too low. However, the beauty of the facility is unparalleled with big elk roaming through the campground. We'd stay again, but we would review the site PRIOR to parking our rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$32
This is an electric only park. The sites were all level but you parallel park along each side of a paved road, nothing special. Close access to the town of Banff. The full hookup park, Tunnel Mountain Trailer Court, has more of a campground feel to it and we will stay there next time we pass through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$33
Very convenient to town of Banff-2.8 km., bus from campground or possible to walk; lovely mountain views from campground; enjoyed our stay there; would go back We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com