214766 User submitted reviews online!!
Red Trail Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 95 user reviews. Phone: (800) 621-4317
CGID4396

Red Trail Campground

Camp Information
Sites
113
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   8   8   6   7   6   1   4   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$33
Easy access from I-94 but no highway noise also near railroad but no horn. Friendly, helpful owners. Our site no 45 plenty of space but majority sites in the middle crammed. Office area and campsites need refurbishment; although functional, our picnic table was old and disintegrating. Price reflects $2 per /night for cable with good selection of channels. Only quarter mile from Theodore Roosevelt South Unit and walking distance to neat town of Medora. There was a problem with wifi on our first night but was working well after that. Would recommend but, especially at the weekends, it is very crowded., We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
This was a nice campground to stay at when visiting Medora. We travel slowly so we stayed for a week but most campers stayed for 2-3 days. Wifi is very important for me and theirs worked well. Medora is a nice town to get around in if you just want to ride bikes. The only time we used our car all week was to go to The Musical, which is on top of a hill that unless you are an avid biker you would not want to tackle on a bike. If you are visiting here make sure you have everything you need because there is not grocery store in town. The closest groceries are 40 miles away in Dickinson. We ran out of a couple things and the local convenient store had a couple tomatoes and apples they could sell us. Don’t miss going to Roosevelt National Park it is a wonderful park. We would stay here again. Rate reflects a weekly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$31
At first glance this older, in-town RV park seems a little rough, but is actually a fine park. Restrooms are modern and clean, with good hot water. They charge an extra $1 per day for cable, but it is a full line up including HBO and well worth the buck. The park is convenient to the town's attractions, including the Roosevelt National Park. Sites are a bit close together, but we've seen worse. No campfires permitted due to local regs. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
Our rate was with a Good Sam discount. We loved the staff at this campground. We were guided to our site and they helped to assist us in backing into our location. We had a full hook up site that was very level. Easy walk into the quaint town. Sites are a bit close but the road through the campground was wide. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$31
This is a nice location to visit Theodore Roosevelt NP. It is an easy on/off I-94. The park could use some added maintenance concerning grounds and picnic tables, however the restrooms were clean and tidy. The water pressure was good, but sometimes would have a surge so I recommend a pressure regulator. The Wi-Fi worked great. We did not use the cable. The sewer connection was about level or slightly uphill. The rate reflects a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
Messy restrooms with lots of bugs and paper wads, but excellent WiFi. With our Good Sam discount, the rate was reduced to $32. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
Almost did not stay here because of a previous review the same month. Glad we did stay as staff courteous, guided to our level site, good rate and within walking distance to town. I respect owner of previous review and have stayed at several RV resorts, but consider this is a campground, so we expect it to be a little more rustic. Had no problems and would stay here again, we stayed in 41 foot motorhome with toad and two small dogs. If anything, the place could use some more paint, but end of season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
This place was so bad we drove out after we saw the sites we were assigned. We were told there were pullthrough sites available and didn't find out otherwise until after we paid and reached our sites. The site assigned our coach had loose dirt that would have turned into a quagmire if it rained (showers predicted). When we asked for a refund the very surly woman at the counter refused. We left and found a another campground just outside of town. This campground has a long way to go to reach an acceptable level. The buildings are shabby, the facilities unkempt, and everything needs maintenance. I do not recommend a stay here until the attitudes and the park are fixed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Sites are small and close together. Many people had to park their car or tow vehicle sideways to get it in the space. "Live entertainment nightly" is karaoke, with mostly the same park employee singing badly. If I stopped here again, I would try another campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$31
We stayed here in our 40' 4 slide motor home with tow vehicle. Our site was back-in with full hookups. Fifty amp, satellite and Verizon signal. Width good with table on concrete, grass between sites. Quiet. Lots of shade and lots of open sites. It's a good place. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
We have been traveling for many months, and I was more unhappy with this park than any other. After confirming that we would have a 50 amp site when I made the reservation, we arrived to find no 50 amp site available for us, and every employee we spoke to passed responsibility to someone else (with no apologies). On top of that, we didn't find that we only had 30 amp until we pulled into our site after paying (they do not give refunds). The wi-fi is a bit flaky, but does work. There is cable available for an extra charge. The laundry has nice new machines, but is dirty and old itself. The spots are very close together; you may not be able to use your awning. On the positive side, it is walking distance into town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$29
This park isn't glitz and glamour, like some big city parks, but clean and lovely with shady spots available. The people that run it are very nice, friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$27
This is a very nice mom and pop's campground. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The sites were close, but not exceptionally close, level and on grass. We stayed in a 37 footer while visiting both ends of the national park, and we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
There is not much to pick from in Medora, so we made it work. First the positives - Medora is charming, Theodore Roosevelt National Park is fabulous, the Medora Musical was great! The negatives, - you are packed in like sardines. It thought I was pulling into a pull through and the guide told me, no, someone else is behind you. Despite the crowded conditions, we had a great time. Oh, and this is the first campground we have ever stayed at where the office communicated with employees by calling them over a public address speaker! Buy some walkie talkies! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
We rated this park a five since it had full hookups. Our site was not mowed, and although other shady sites seemed to be available, ours was in full sun on a hot day. Utilities were adequate, showers were not acceptably clean, so didn't use them. It was nice to be within walking distance of the downtown, but we cannot recommend where we ate. Theodore Roosevelt National Park was great, and if we were to return we would try another RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$27
Location is the only thing going for this park. We loved T. Roosevelt Natl Park and went to the Medora Musical ( just OK) . Office staff needs a bath! We could only get electric and the site was very rutted from someone previously in the mud. Close together and unkempt. The worst trash dumpster set up ever, on the dump station! YUCK! Won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
This park is not well maintained. It’s old and needs a lot of work. The person who guided us to our site did not know how to navigate us into our site. Bathrooms and laundry facilities need a major upgrade. The campground has dirt and gravel roads. Sites are very close. Since sewer is in the middle of the site, our neighbor’s sewer hook-up was directly over our awning. Cable, WiFi, and cell phone reception were good. It costs an additional $2.00 for cable. This park is close to the Theodore Roosevelt National Park. You can walk to downtown Medora from campground. Unfortunately, there is only one other campground in the area. They are both comparable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
I gave this a 5 rating because it's just ok. They have good utilities and hookups and the available cable and free Wi-Fi are a great bonus (that's how I'm writing this review). Beautiful scenery of the bluffs surrounding Medora. That said, the campground itself is pretty run down. The picnic tables have peeling painting and the grills are a mess. There are weeds surrounding the sites and it appears they just cut, but no weed eating whatsoever. There's been a lot of rain and some sites are very muddy. Gravel is thin in the sites. Staff were very friendly and accommodating and they have a very convenient location to Medora. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Having read the previous reviews, this sounded like the ideal place to stop for one night; however, when we pulled in we were less than thrilled. How I wish we had read the very early reviews then we would never have stopped here. It is a very rustic campground and all the Rv's are jammed in like sardines. It is full of permanent residents, so if you want your next door neighbor to be working on his junky truck this place is for you. It is badly maintained, dirty, dusty, and very run down. The bathrooms are filthy and the laundry is a dirty disgrace. The few good points, it has full hookups, 50 amps, and the Wi-Fi is good. The town of Medora is lovely, and this campground could be wonderful, but the owners are simply too lazy and just do not care. Shame. We would never stay here again. Rate reflects Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
Friendly people and the Wi-Fi and TV were great. It's close to town. Everything you could ask for. We would and will come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
We picked this park because it looked like the best in the area by the reviews. It has met our expectations the sites are all flat and easy to get into. Even though they don't advertise pull-through sites many of them you can if there isn't another rig in the double site. We found the family very nice to deal with. They only draw back is they could update their laundry room. Other then that we would come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
We stayed here to try the other campground in town after staying at the other one a few weeks ago. This is the better of the two: with wider, more level sites. Easy walk into town from the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Nothings changed since my 07/11 review. OK but not great. Looks ugly and all sites on gravel, but mine was level in the overflow again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Good location for overnight or visiting TRNP. Friendly parker, good utilities and Wi-Fi. Spots are level. Some shaded spots. A good, plain-jane park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
The people that run this campground are super friendly and helpful. We were escorted to our site and they helped guide us in. There is 50 amp service and great water pressure. You are just minutes away from the Theodore Roosevelt National Park and it is outstanding. We also visited the North Dakota Cowboy Hall of Fame and the Pitchfork Fondue place and the musical where you sit outside to enjoy it. We will recommend this park to others and return when we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
If you are visiting Teddy Roosevelt National Park you basically have two privately owned campgrounds to select from. Both are comparable. Owners were helpful with getting you into your site. Cable, Electric worked fine. Wi-Fi dropped out after our first day. Campground could use some cleaning up. Our site have high weeds and a couple of abandoned old grills. As I often say, "Just Renting not Buying the site". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
This park is in a very convenient location and is within easy walking distance to town. The park is quiet and was clean when we were there. Sites were nice, maybe a bit cramped, but not bad. Now for the bad. The restroom and shower facility were filthy. The shower curtains were moldy and should have been tossed long ago. Customer service is poor. We were not greeted with a hello, a smile or a simple thank you. She even asked us if we'd ever stayed there before. When we said "No", she just looked at us with a blank stare, and tossed us a pan scraper!! We thought it was very odd. The guy that showed us to our spot was filthy and it looked as if he hadn't washed his shirt in weeks! So, I guess if you are just looking for a decent RV spot, this would do. If you like customer service and clean facilities, I'd stay elsewhere. We likely won't return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Park is about as good as it gets in this part of the country. Unfortunately, the managers know this and are less than helpful at check in. Waited 15 minutes for our "escort" who arrived filthy and unfriendly. Park is quiet with no train noise but is very "dirty". Sites are not maintained, grass & weeds are not cut, and dumpsters are overflowing. Would not stay here or recommend the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Location, Location, Location, that is what this park has. Real close to everything to see in Medora and there is a lot. Sites are real close together but we did have a site where our roof mounted satellite dish worked, but it was right by the office so it was noisy plus the world's largest bug zapper was near the office and man it made a lot of noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
The drive into town from I-94 is scenic as you descend into the valley. Red Trail campground is also sorta scenic, nestled below a rocky butte on the southeast edge of town. The best thing about this campground is the location. It's a short couple block walk to all the restaurants, shops, bars, museums, etc in historic downtown Medora and Medora is at the entrance to Theodore Roosevelt National Park. The worst was their restrooms and showers. Had to wait quite awhile before any hot water showed up in the shower and you definitely want to wear your flip flops when you shower. There was a sand play area for kids right outside the women restrooms. Looked like someone had hauled their kid right out there and dragged him directly into the shower without shaking any sand off first. But besides easily-cleaned surface dirt like that; the long time built up grime getting a good hard soap & Clorox brush scrubbing would sure help. The staff was friendly enough but very busy when we checked in. The guy that guided people to their sites was also constantly on the run. Think the main problem here is the place is understaffed. The campground is OK, there are a lot of shady sites, ours was graveled and level. The sites are somewhat close together but this is a rather isolated tourist area, so choices are limited. Utilities and Wi-Fi all worked OK. I liked that you only paid for the type of site and utilities you want to use. Full-hookup W/E/S, W/E, E, tent, back-in or pull thru, cable TV were all optional. They give a Good Sam Discount, see their website for rates, etc. There is a railroad about a block away, but no train horn allowed in Medora so the noise was minimal during our stay. There is only one lone convenience store/gas station in town and no chain fast-food restaurants, only local establishments which made for a small western-town laid back atmosphere I enjoyed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Staff was friendly. Sites were crowded. Women's restrooms were filthy. Told staff about it but little was done other than sweep leaves out of the restroom. Sinks were still filthy and shower curtains still had mold the next morning. Wi-Fi was good. Not worth the price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
As a previous post said this is a tired campground. The sites are tight, the showers were dirty, not recent dirt but old ground in dirt and the bathrooms needed cleaning. One thing I did like about the place is how they priced the sites. You only paid for what you wanted to use. If you wanted full hook ups you paid for it if you just wanted electric you paid less. If you just wanted water and electric you just paid for that. Same with cable. Our site had water, 50 amp hook up, and I paid and extra $2 for cable. Paved roads with gravel sites good free Wi-Fi and Verizon MiFi worked fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
This is a tough campground to rate. We were in an overflow area with many permanents. Very quiet but very unlevel. Main campground is compact and appears level. Nice owners but campground looks tired. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
When we pulled up to this park it looked very nice from the sites we could see out near the street. We were assigned a site towards the back of the park in sort of a wasteland. The sites were spacious enough but the area had a sleazy feel. The staff while friendly, were very unkempt in appearance and were wearing the same dirty t-shirts both days we were here. The Wi-Fi worked well in the morning but poorly in the afternoon and evening. If I were to return to this area I would stay at the national park campground even though it doesn't have hookups. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
This is an average good campground. Some of the sites appear to be very nice with shade trees,level, and decent room between units. However, if you arrive on a weekend you're stuck in pretty crowded secondary areas. My neighbors sewer connection is a about a foot from my picnic table. Also its pretty much a back-in park unless you arrive when its empty and then you can drive through one site to another. The good news is that the guy who takes you to your site is a wizard in giving you directions to back in. The Wi-Fi is very good and they have a decent little store for very basic needs. Medora is basically a resort town so if you need it bring it with you. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Stayed two nights and showers were not cleaned once during our stay. Laundry room was disgusting. Old table with cracks to snag laundry on. Three washers two dryers for the entire park including long term employees of the oil fields. Campers were told that they are responsible for keeping restrooms clean and owners clean when they have time. Kids play area has a lot of sand and of course the sand is all over the showers and restroom. The owners were not very inviting at check in. In the mornings it looked like the lady just got out of bed. I would recommend this park to anyone who doesn't mind not using their laundry or shower facilities. However I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who cares about dirty restrooms, showers and laundry room. There are two other parks in the area if you're interested. Sent rating card to Good Sam. I give it a big zero. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Reasonable site size - we've stayed in larger, we've stayed in smaller. Nice space of grass between sites. No fires due to being in town limits but free Wi-Fi was nice. We would have stayed longer but chose to spend the last few nights of our trip off grid in Roosevelt NP. I thought the staff was very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
This is an RV park with mostly gravel roads and driveways. The sites are quite level, and the services are good including strong Wi-Fi. It is well away from the highway so there is no road noise. There is a railroad about a block away, but there are no train whistles so the noise is minimal. It's a good spot to stay overnight or for a few days so we were pleasantly surprised to find that it wasn't full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Avoid this campground! We had chosen Red Trails Campground for our two night stay in Medora before we left Seattle and made reservations. We very much enjoyed our drive through both units of Theodore Roosevelt National Park, but the camping experience was both upsetting and distasteful. We arrived at the busy Red Trails Camp and checked in with the office. We were greeted by some powerful body odor when we stepped into the office and it didn't take long to figure it was a reeeeally dirty young man, who was there to guide us into our campsite. We followed him out the door at a careful distance and he gruffly pointed to the site directly across the drive from the office. If this site was 10 ft long it would have been an exaggeration and it was cut off by the curve of the drive. It had no picnic table and no room for even half of one. We did an immediate about face and protested to the lady behind the counter. She looked disgusted with us and begrudgingly reassigned us to a space underneath a very large cottonwood tree. I am sure this was done intentionally, because by the end of our stay, the truck and trailer were extremely sticky from the dense fog of tree pitch coupled with the cascade of cotton. Our rig looked as if it had been tarred and feathered when we left. But the real reason for avoiding this campground is the way in which it is run. That smelly guy in the filthy clothing, looked the same the next day. Originally, I had cut him some slack, thinking he had done some dirty work that day, but.not so. Their bathroom, with three showers and two toilets for each gender, was small for a large campground with that many campsites. Both the women's and men's were gross. I noticed the same disgusting deposit (looked like a dead mouse, but might have been a wad of dark hair) in the shower throughout our stay and thought of reporting it to the management, but when we read the camp rules we thought better of it. This is what their rule for the bathrooms is, which was stated in print: "Bathrooms: they are as clean as you make them." with the emphasis on the "YOU." We have camped for many years in RV Campgrounds, state parks and national parks and have never seen bathrooms that dirty! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
I picked this over the Medora Campground (where I have stayed before) due to the reviews but I should have gone back there. This is very crammed and the bathrooms are not clean. There are a lot of people here and 2 sinks, 3 toilets, 3 showers is not enough. Also the reviewer about the train noise was wrong...they may not blow the horn but the bell ringing is very loud as the tracks are such a short distance away. There is also traffic noise. Being in a tent this is important. I will not stay here again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This is a cute family CG, 2 blocks from the downtown area. The owner (husband) could rub you the wrong way, but he is OK. He helped me back the Montana into a site that I could never do myself. The first person there pulls in, then you back in, they are not traditional pull-through sites. Other reviews talked about being dirty, we didn't see this. We would come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
A good experience at check in and led to the site. Our site had asphalt and good access to the utilities. We had a minor problem with our RV and the staff provided insight to how I could repair. Made the repair at minimum expense which would have cost substantially more at a repair facility. Roads are not dusty like other campgrounds in the area. Would recommend this campground to others and we will stay here again if in the area. Easy access to attractions in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
We had a decent site, wide enough and all the utilities worked. Enough room for a our 40 foot MH to move around the park. The restrooms need to be completely redone, in the mean time a good cleaning would help. The office area was a mess and there were old 5W's around. The man who led us to our site was friendly but could use a shower and a clean shirt. There is a much used train track adjacent, but the train doesn't blow the horn as it goes through town so not a big problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
I chose this park based on recent reviews and it seemed like I was in a different park. The office and market were filthy as were the bathrooms and showers, among the worst I have experienced. Our site was by the side of the road, big potholes, mud, dirt and lots of cottonweed everywhere. Even if we wanted to sit outside in the dirt, our picnic table was broken. I would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
We camped here for a week. The owners are kind, easy-going people. We appreciated the small playground, newer and well working laundry facility and on-site convenience store. The sites are close together, but there are trees for shade. They have nightly entertainment that is low quality but charming. The Wi-Fi connection was slow, but reliable. We found this campground to be a pleasant place to stay and enjoyed our time in Medora. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Park was very crowded, through no fault of the campground. Every, and I mean every, other campground in the area was flooded out. Campground was very quiet at night, even though there were a lot of folks. Park is small enough that the owners know what's going on. Sites were adequate although not spacious. Folks running the place were very helpful, to include guiding us to, and then getting us in our backin spot. Small, though expensive grocery. Good for the forgotten milk or laundry detergent. Laundry available, $1.25 for wash, $1 for 45 minutes of dryer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$27
This is a family-run campground and the owners are extremely friendly and helpful. The sites are generally shaded. Just 1 mile to Theodore Roosevelt National Park's South Unit. Medora is a cute town and there are a host of restaurants and ice cream parlors within walking distance. There is a railroad track close by and you can hear the occasional train. We would return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
People very nice and helpful. Sites are close together. Have 50 amp and great WiFi. Good Sam Discount. Close to the national park. Well maintained for an older park. I would say it was the best in town if you wanted hookups which are unavailable in the park. The National Park itself is spectacular, both the South and the North. If you only have time for one of them, chose the South Unit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
We stopped here in an 'off season' after Labor Day and the town of Medora is pretty much shut down. I had read that you should get anything you might need before arriving. "Ditto!" There is only ONE "Convenience" store/gas station in town and that's it. Very pretty setting as you drive into town. This campground should be looked at and inspected. The bathrooms were terrible with trash cans overflowing (from when?), mirrors were all splatted and filthy, I glanced at one shower and the drape was half hanging off the hooks, the sinks were terrible dirty with soap bars sitting on soiled paper towels. When we arrived nobody was around, a board with our name and a site assigned was there - it was kind of a tight back in site and not very spacious sites, if you have slide outs. When we went back to the Office around supper time to check in officially, the floor looked like it had never seen water & soap! We had cable just fine, and we connected with Wi-Fi good, and site was level enough. They could spend a little time during this off season to cut grass/clean and tidy up! The campground was located very convenient to town - but they are the ONLY game in town, so take it or leave it and make the most of it! If you don't need their bathrooms, and need a place to park with cable and Wi-Fi this is it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
It is very close to Theodore Roosevelt National Park, which is nice. Wi-Fi was very good. Dog friendly. Sites are close together and are gravel. We had to pay $2 extra for cable hook-up. The park is rather messy by the office and around the side. The staff is not professional as they were changing a toddler's messy diaper in the middle of the office. It wasn't a pretty site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$37
This is an old campground that needs TLC, and many of the sites have no sewer. We were way up in back, which was full hookup, big rig friendly and spacious, but all gravel. Best feature of this CG is the fact that it is less than 2 miles from most of Medora's many enchanting attractions. You need to stay long enough to see everything! No place to buy anything but western clothes, souvenirs and restaurant meals except for one convenience store (with gas and diesel). Bonus: They play and sing in front of the office every night! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
We stayed here on a weekend, and were lucky to get a good site in this National Park town. This campground appears to be the best around. However, the campground in the national park was full. The staff here was very friendly, and we were not only shown to our site, but the staff parked our tow-dolly for us and directed us into our site. We were in a dirt site which appeared to be sort of an overflow, but had full hook-up and excellent WiFi plus TV cable. We heard music on Sunday night and discovered an enjoyable duo providing C & W entertainment. The park was homey in a good sort of way, and convenient to everything in Medora and the National Park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
This park offers GS and FMCA discounts. The park is very near the Roosevelt National Park south entrance at exit 37 off I-94. There is good signage to the park. We were in a site w/o sewer the first night but elected not to move the rest of the visit. In retrospect, likely this was a good choice as it placed us on a paved road and gravel site. Some areas of the park are dirt roads and sites making them dusty or muddy depending upon the weather. The dirt is slow to absorb rain. The restrooms are rated low because they did not appear to have either adequate or thorough cleaning. They were adequate in size and given enough time, the hot water finally reached your shower. We don’t normally use these facilities but we had at the last 2 places where we found excellent showers making this especially disappointing. Depending on your site, you can get satellite on the RV. Verizon cell and broadband service was good. We would return as we did not see another park any better and would hope to get a spot on gravel off the paved interior road. There is a restaurant called the Chuckwagon Buffet in town. The breakfast is pricey but supper was about right. As a word of caution: if it is at all warm outside you may wish to reconsider this facility as their A/C is way too small to cool the dining area even when is empty. The facility had about 25 people in it and the room must have been in the high 80s. We quickly ate one plate of food and left. The Cowboy Café 2-blocks east is a much better choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
Sites on lower level are tight. On the upper level there is no grass. WiFi is excellent, however. Staff was friendly and the nightly entertainment was okay. This is so close to everything in Medora that the few negatives are not that important. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
This park feels a little tight however we were able to get all four slides out without any problem. All the services work well. We probably had the best WiFi we have had in an RV park. We enjoyed the old time entertainer that played both nights we were here. The park seems a little run down. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Had to cancel reservation due to repairs in MT. Only site available was water/electric. Campground sites tight for 40 ft motorhome, entire campground very dated. Not a destination resort but our purpose was to see Medora and the musical (which were great). Roads dusty except for the regular showers that pass in afternoon, then muddy. Great chunk of grass next door for walking dog. Restrooms smell of mildew. Office staff a bit surly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
We stayed here for three nights in a 39 ft motor home with full hookup 50 amp service. We were in the "back" lot which is all dirt and larger pieces of rock. No shade. Very muddy when it rained. The rest of the camp was nice. Music by office each evening. Close to town and T.Roosevelt N.P. Train was loud, but you get used to it. No dog walk area in RV park but could walk them in grass along the sidewalks. I liked the park in spite of the drawbacks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
The park is next to an active railroad so the noise can be a problem for light sleepers. The staff are friendly and the park is family owned. There were small children in the office who ate pizza and distracted the staff during check in. The sites are fairly level and have patchy grass, the interior roads are paved and spaces are gravel. Some spaces have concrete patios. Our space has a very large puddle where we park our truck and there are carpet scraps on the patio that were left behind by a previous camper. There is litter in the area, the BBQ has cigarette butts and other trash in it. The cable TV is fuzzy and costs an extra $2. We have a "50 amp" site but the voltage drops to 108V with just the AC running. We won't be back to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
We had a water-electric site, no sewer. Sites are tight to back into. Staff in office is cold, not very friendly. Restrooms were clean, especially considering how many people, especially children, were here over the weekend. They do have four hours of live music each night, provided by the same country singers. But a nice touch. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Stayed in this park over the 4th of July and it was full to capacity. The dirt/grass spaces are double tandem with 1 foot between rigs with spaces close together side by side, a very closed in feeling. There was a mud hole at several spaces right at the entry door to the rigs causing a problem for days when it rained. Only one trash container location for the whole park. Limited sewer hook-ups. Poor dirt/blacktop access roads, narrow with a lot of untrimmed trees and tight turns. The park has only one pump out station. The town is within walking distance and offers a great sightseeing experience. There is a very loud train passing every 30 minutes all day and night. The owners are friendly and even let us wash our rig, and the price was right. We would stay there again only if we had to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
Nice friendly staff, sites were very tight but it fine for a one night stay. The park is easy to get to and you can call from the road and they will hold a site for you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
We wanted to stay at a place with Wi-Fi. The Wi-Fi here was good and the general appearance of the park was good. I’d say the shower building wasn’t as clean as indicated in the TrailLife directory, and the sites are very close together. Definitely not the place to stay for privacy and quiet camping. We were really just passing through, so that was just fine. They had live classic country music every night for 4 hours, that was a nice addition to the camping experience. My kids even got a kick out of sitting and listening. They play old Charlie Pride, Hank Williams and Willie Nelson songs, and everything else from that era. We happen to be here during the classic car rally they have every year, which was a nice bonus for the kids to see as well. If by some miracle we ever happen to be back in North Dakota, I’d stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
Good things include excellent Wi-Fi, location and a helpful staff. Restrooms are not clean, sites are OK but very average. Cable TV costs extra. Overall it is a very average facility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
This is a family owned park in desperate need of updating and cleaning. Bathrooms and showers were filthy. Train goes near park all through the night. Dirty--do NOT stay here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
An older campground but nice and friendly. Can be a little cramped as many sites are back to back. A Good Sam park, rates are $20 to $30. $38 for a full hook up pull thru. Railroad tracks are about a 1/4 mile away so you do notice the trains. Not many ran at night while we were there. An easy walk into Historic Medora. Sites were level. Electricity was steady and water pressure were good. A good park for the money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
This place is a pit. The sites are dirt with many potholes and most are strewn with cigarette butts. Yes, they handle big rigs and not many campgrounds in the area can. Owners are indifferent to the fact that the washrooms and laundry room are filthy. Only stayed here to visit the Medora musical. Will dry camp in the state park next time around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
We were here at the end of the season so only 4 other units here. There was some train noise and the sites were fairly close together. The roads were narrow and hard to get into sites. There were trees for shade in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$36
Appears to be an older park with small sites and tight roads. We were out in a field next to a house. There are a few fulltimers at this park. Train noise is loud! We paid for cable TV but didn't find any stations(?) Staff was not much help: didn't get a map of the park, and where's the dumpsters? Glad our stay was only one night. We won't stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$23
This park was okay for a few nights. We enjoyed the nightly music. The trains were loud but did not run often. The rates are Passport America. We would not pay full price to stay here. We found no Wi-Fi. We stayed in the electric only area which was easy to get into. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
Family owned and run campground. Nice people, but park was pretty run down: very casual maintenance. The laundry room was very dirty, we had to sweep it out prior to using it. Nightly country music from a Wyoming couple. We would stay at the other campground in Medora next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
We stayed in Medora for two nights. The owner was great in guiding me into our parking spot. The area we parked in was just fine. The reason for the low rating was due to the condition of the bathrooms. The men in our group said their bathroom was clean but the women's was another story. When a bathroom is dirty people have a tendency to treat it dirty. And this one was gross. We thought it was because of the time of day considering all the people using it: but it did not matter if it was morning, noon, night or in the middle of the night, it was gross. If you stay here I suggest using the bathroom in your rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
Very helpful and friendly staff who helped us back in to our site. The sites are a bit small and close together. Be sure to ask about size if you have a big rig. Wi-Fi good. Excellent location for Roosevelt NP. No pull through sites. Campground is a little untidy and could be with some upgrading. Laundry quite expensive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
If you want to stay in Medora, you don't have many choices. If you have a big rig, you have fewer. We had a "pull through" site, which meant we were the first to arrive in a double site with someone backing in behind us. They cram in as many rigs as they possibly can in this park. The showers, although "clean", could have been cleaner and had minimal services. The office staff was either very accommodating and friendly or indifferent and barely responsive, depending on who was there. Interior roads are tight but doable for a large rig but you might have to ask your neighbor to move a vehicle to get in or out of your site. It appeared to us that they turn away several-to-many rigs every day during the high season, so make reservations in advance. That said, we'd do Medora and the TR National Park from Dickinson (30 miles away) rather than stay here again. The packed-in sites and the train noise from the railroad were, ultimately, too much for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
Even though the sites were narrow & a little tight in maneuvering, we enjoyed this park. It is easy to get off interstate. Management was friendly & guide you to your site. They have enjoyable nightly entertainment in the form of a group of 3 singers (2 guitarists & an accordion) & they took requests. Lots of campers were here, so it seemed to be a popular park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
Small park with narrow roads. Owner escorts you to your site and assists in parking. Gets very busy on weekends with families and multiple vehicles making movement very difficult. Multi-generation family run park. Best stocked camp store I have seen, (food and groceries), which is good since there is no grocery store in town, only a convenience store which has only snacks. Not enough full hookup sites, only about 1/2 the campground. Dump station centrally located in the campground which made it harder to get to and traffic blocking. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
Easy access about 1 mile from the main highway. Some interior roads are paved and some are gravel. Sites are gravel with grass between the sites. Many sites are tight for our size coach, but doable. You will be close to your neighbor. Owner was very helpful in escorting us to our site and helping us to back in. Office and facilities are a little run down. Train noise would be a problem with windows open. Numerous train runs every day and night. Train noise didn't bother us with windows closed. Site a city run campground appeared to be longer with more distance between neighbors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$27
This rate was for full hookups with the Good Sam discount. Cable TV is $2.00 a night extra. This RV Park is in a great location about 1-1/2 blocks to downtown Medora and 5 blocks to Teddy Roosevelt National Park. The hookups & power were good. The site sizes fairly narrow but plenty of space for your awning & more. Bathrooms & showers were reasonably clean but not spotless. The office staff were very friendly and helpful. We received a golf cart escort to our site and guidance in backing in. There are nice views of the buttes and Teddy Roosevelt National Park. The park store is well stocked. There is live music every night in season, mostly Country Western and Old Time music. The WI-FI worked well and the cable TV was very good. This was not a real fancy park but it was very friendly and down home. We were very happy with our 3 day stay here and would come back. Medora as a great old western town with quite a bit to see and do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Medora has a lot to do--a very nice town. We liked the campground, spaces were good. It has a nice place were we could let the dogs lose and run around a bit. We felt a little uncomfortable when buying from the store with someone watching you as if you are a thief. Make sure you have lots of supplies as nearest place with Wal-mart is a 45 min drive. Overall it is a nice campground and we would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
This is a poorly maintained campground. When we arrived, it had been raining for a couple of days and the sites literally had small lakes in them. The train noise is constant and the owners need to spend more time updating the facilities instead of telling every camper how to park his rig. We won't be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
This is an average park - nothing spectacular, but heavily used during the summer months. We stayed one night here. The baths and showers are fair; they need to be cleaned a little better. Train noise is evident during the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
Easy access, friendly and helpful staff. We were escorted to our site and assisted us to back into our site. Big rig friendly with several pull thrus. Full hookups including free Wi-Fi but a $2 charge for cable. Some shaded sites. Washrooms, showers and laundry were clean. We stayed for two days and would stay there again. Good Sam rate $27. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$29
Price is with Good Sam discount. Owners are very helpful and direct everyone into their site. We were there on a holdiay weekend so their were a lot of local campers who all knew each other. Sites are close but level. Wi-fi could be slow at times. Owner appears to have the only air compressor in town other than the bike shop. Trains go by frequently (day and night) and can be noisy. We stayed two nights and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$27
I agree with the previous reviewers. It is a good camp for a few days, etc. The roads are paved, and gravel more to the interior with enough room to maneuver, the sites adequate with a picnic table. Owners very friendly and helpful, escort you to and into your site. We had an open site for satellite TV with 50 amp full hookups. The wi-fi is very good. If you don't want to hear country singing each evening ask for a site further out. We would stay here again. (800) 621-4317 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Not fancy, but a good park to stay and see the Medora Musical. Walking distance to town and close to a cool golf course. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$29
Price is based off a weekly rate with cable TV. This park isn't much, but the best in the area! The owners are great, nice, helpful and fun. Live music every evening. Lots of bugs, flies and mosquito's. Needed extension for 50 amp service. They allow RV and TV washing at N/C. Water taste good and has 60 psi. Electric good. Owners grew up in area and park has been in their family for 29 years. They know everything about the area. Few grocery items in the park. Make sure you are well stocked and gassed as this area has NOTHING. SC Wal-Mart is 35 miles in Dickinson. Same for grocery store. Roosevelt NP is great. Go out near dark (7:30 PM) to see the most animals. Bison are mean and aggressive, don't jack with them. We saw a brand new Suburban gored by a ticked off bison! Enjoy, as it is beautiful country to see. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
This is a nice friendly park. Staff is very pleasant and helpful. There was nightly entertainment by an older couple who performed at the office entrance. They drew a crowd every night. Lots are a bit tiny and crowded but we didn't spend much time in the CG with all the Park to explore. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$29
We stayed at this campground because it was located near the Medora Community Center where our family reunion was being held. Another reason we stayed here was because of the free wireless internet availability. The owners of the campground are very nice people. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
This campground will do, but it sure is nothing special. Most of 50amp sites with sewer were in a separate parking lot consisting of dirt and gravel, no trees, and a terrible view. Most sites with trees and a small amount of barely alive grass are 30amp, no sewer sites. Glad I was in the separate lot since they play music every night that I could still hear from where I was when outside. Sure would hate to try to go to bed early if I was closer to that music. I think $35/night is too high for this spot. Goods things are that the staff is very friendly and helpful. They will even let you pay for a full week with big discount and will reimburse if you decide to leave early. Not many camp grounds will do that. Town is an easy walk from campground and not even worth getting the car out. I would stay here again, just think it is overpriced and the visuals here are not that great. Medora is very nice little town with plenty of things to do in the area. The Bully Pulpit golf course is a very good course and cost about $65 with cart to play. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$23
This is a clean and neatly-kept park. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We paid the Good Sam discount rate for water & electric service. This is an ideal campsite from which to visit the Theodore Roosevelt National Park, the entrance to which is less than a mile away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
This is the first time we have stayed here. Although all the full hookups were booked we had water, electric and a back-in. This is a nice campground. The staff is very friendly and they escort you to your site and help you back in (they call it marriage counseling.) They have a duet that sings every night from 6-10. The campground is very close to the train tracks and you do get the train noise. Also, make sure you have plenty of food in your rig. There are no groceries in this town only a couple of convenience stores and they don't carry much. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
Well manage, family owned and operated, ever watchful to what occurs in the park. always around asking if you need anything, beautiful location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$23
This is a very good park to stay in when taking in the Medora musical and other sights in the area. Our truck broke down and they helped us find repairs. We will definitely stay here again when in Medora. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
We stayed at the park for 5 nights. Great location for access to the town of Medora and to Teddy Roosevelt south and east units. Staff was friendly and helpful and guided to and into my site. We had water/electric/sewer/cable/wifi. There was a country/western dual playing live music every night, that was very nice. I would have given the campground a higher rating, but the train runs right by the campground at all hours of the day and night. I would camp here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
This is a very nice campground with wonderful staff. One of the staff escorted us to our site and made sure we were comfortable. Park is nicely situated near Theodore Roosevelt National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$28
This is a very nice park within walking distance of Medora attractions. The owner/manager was quite friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com