206620 User submitted reviews online!!
Golden Pines RV Resort & Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (209) 795-2820
CGID4405

Golden Pines RV Resort & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
69
Date of Stay
June 2011
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   1   8   8   9   9   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
A shady park in the pine trees about 2 miles east of Calaveras Big Trees State Park. Arnold is the nearest town of any size. The manager was very helpful and friendly. We arrived in a freezing weather storm and could only stay one night. Park is very clean and about half of spaces are leased to vacation/year-round. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
This campground is most definitely NOT closed. This is the best place to stay if you have a motorhome or 5th wheel and if you want to tour the Big Trees State Park, Ebbets Pass, and the surrounding areas. Big Trees State Park does not allow anything over 30 feet. This park does, but you need to pick and choose your spot, as most sites are not level, but if you tour the park you may find a spot that will suit you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2010
$1
It is very possible that this Resort & Campground has been closed. We called this park a total of 5 times. We left 1 message and sent 1 email. The phone was never answered; the message and email were never returned. Therefore, I used the default rating "1". We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
This campground is very conveniently located near the Calaveras Big Trees State Park. We will return there. The person at the gate was very friendly. When we arrived, without a reservation, the week of the 4th of July, he asked what we preferred: party style, family or quiet style. We are quiet. He told us to select a site in a specific area. We found many that could have fit us. Our neighbors were effectively discrete, while we were hearing in the fact others partying. The restrooms and showers were reasonably clean. A bad note: there were many wasps at our site. We always carry a wasp trap; it took care of them. If it was not for the fact that the restrooms and showers could be updated, and wasp traps be maintained, I would rate this campground at the maximum. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
This campground is very close to Calavaras Big Trees State Park which is one of the reasons why we choose to stay here. After staying at the State Park with no hookups and small children that get really dirty it was time to find a full hookup location. This campground satisfied our needs and provided many other benefits that we hadn't counted on. As others have stated the area is beautiful and the grounds well maintained and clean. There were many "permanent" trailers there as well as seasonal rentals however all were well maintained and didn't prove to be eyesores at all. The manager Jason is very friendly and wandered through the area a couple times throughout our stay checking to make sure things were OK. The pool was a bonus for us and proved to be great for the kids. The water wasn't cold as we've found in many other campgrounds and was very enjoyable after a long day of hiking. Kids playground was well maintained and sufficient. Our kids found this to be one of their favorite things to do after walking the grounds. Couple things to note about this place though. (at least for us). We camped in a 26' travel trailer and a few sites are a bit hard to get into. Jason though noted this when assigning us a site and gave us a choice. This is by no means a reflection of the campground though but is more "par for the course" when camping in the Redwoods. Nothing a 12 point parking maneuver couldn't resolve. There are larger sites to accommodate larger rigs as was noted on a walk round the campground and only a few where there would be a challenge getting in. While I would like to give the park a 9 or 10 there was one thing that caused me to give a lower rating. We camped here in August during a weekend where temps hit > 90 degrees. When arriving on Friday the campground was not full and running the A/C wasn't a problem. However on Saturday after the campground filled up I noted a large drop in voltage. It was large enough to cause my Surge Guard to cut power to the trailer. (Surge Guard will cut off when voltage is below 102v). While others didn't have surge protection (from what I could tell) and were still running their A/C units I personally didn't want to remove the Surge Guard to run the A/C and risk causing permanent (hidden) damage to my unit. I monitored voltage all day and at times it dropped to 98v. It wasn't until the evening when voltage was up to about 105v. On Sunday when many had checked out the voltage was again up to 112v+ and A/C use was fine. (Voltage was measured with a Kill-A-Watt plugged into one of the outlets) If you're one like me that would rather not run your A/C in low voltage conditions then I would recommend camping here when it's a little cooler in the season. August is a traditionally hot month here. Other than that this was a great campground and we will definitely come back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
I can see why this park received such good reviews. It is one of the nicest campground parks we’ve been in. It’s very similar to forest service campgrounds except it has full hookups if you want them and the sites are close together. We’re 38’ overall and we had to be careful while navigating through the trees. It’s pretty tight in some places. Our site had an asphalt pad but wasn’t level; you’ll need to use your levelers. There was enough room to get our slides and awning out. We did notice some of the sites were very narrow. This campground was built in the late 60’s when RV’s didn’t have slides or as big as they are today. Make sure when you make your reservation that you give the manager the overall length of your vehicle and how many slides you have. We weren’t able to get a signal on our dome satellite so we used our portable dish and that worked out great. There was cell service (Verizon) but I couldn’t get out on my computer even using our booster antenna. The signal was fluctuating from no bars to 5 the whole time we were there. Water, power and sewer were good. Having paved roads made all the difference in the world while sitting outside. NO DUST! People were very respectful of other people’s space. Quiet time is from 10pm to 9am and it was quiet!! I know that cell phone service, satellite reception, etc. isn’t important to everyone, but we’re full timers so to is to us. There’s a really great market in town that has a butcher counter and good produce and we thought the store was well stocked. I would have given this park a 10 if it had WiFi. This was a very enjoyable park and we will return when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
We had a great time as always - the weather was poor with rain/snow and there was still a bit of snow on the ground. Jason (the manager) was very helpful and friendly. We'll definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
Beautiful place! So many hundred-foot pines and other trees, you feel like you're in the middle of the forest. Spots are large, spaced very well, with many areas to congregate with other campers over a campfire, etc. Pool was very clean, small play set for kids, basketball hoop, volleyball net, newly paved pads for RVs in many sites, very friendly and helpful manager (Jason), kitchen/lodge for group parties, laundry room, bathroom/showers all clean. Less than 5 minutes from Calaveras Big Trees, gorgeous river where you can fish or have a picnic, lakes around, town of Arnold about 10 minutes away for groceries, restaurants, etc. Highly recommend this place - it's hot in the summer, but because of all the shade from the trees, you don't even notice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
Nice park in a beautiful setting. It snowed several days while we were there and had bear tracks in the morning. Staff and long term neighbors were friendly. We'd definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$30
Nice woodsy feel, needed propane but found out they couldn't fill "Motor Home" built-in tanks. Got to give the Manager credit as he did try to find a way. Only got to spend one night, but I would go again if was in the area. We picked it as it is close to the Calaveris Big Trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
We stayed for 3 nights. The campground is in a grove of Sequoia trees, only two miles north of Calaveras Big Trees State Park. It is a peaceful, quiet park in the trees, even with all the the children present. There are no permanent residents, only vacation leasee's. While the leasee spaces are more or less permanent, there is a limit to how long they can stay as well. There is a group area with a large fire pit and big table fashioned from a Sequoia stump in the middle of one of the sections of the park. Each space has a fire ring, BBQ and picnic table. The camp was very clean and presentable. The city the campground is located in is Dorrington, as Camp Connell is a bit further up the road. Dorrington does has a couple eateries/taverns about a mile north. The bathrooms and showers appeared clean, though my wife noticed a discarded bottle in a ladies shower stall that was never picked up for the duration of our stay. The campground was full for the 4th of July weekend, and our space was very close to our neighbor on the left. Despite the trash in the shower, and the potential for crowded conditions, we will stay there again. It is a very nice campground. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$34
This is the only campground with hookups anywhere near Calaveras Big Trees park that we could find. It is just six miles north of Arnold, up Hiway 4. Huge redwoods prevail over the entire park, with all sites being shaded. Big Rigs would have a hard time in some of the spots as most were tight between the trees. Call ahead to be sure they can accommodate your rig. There was only one MH that we saw. Some permanents but certainly no problems. They offer vacation leases so some of the tennants weren't even here. Nice playground and pool area. Besides the RV park they also have a 35 space "tent only" area. Local area amenities abound. Big Trees park, Lake Alpine, Spicer Reservoir, Bear Valley, plus Mercer Caverns in Murphys. Much to see. Besides the above website, you can visit "rvandcampoutwest" click on California and then type in "Golden Pines" for the park name. A detailed description plus pictures is available on that site. Friendly place, we will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com