206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Dos Picos County Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (760) 789-2220
CGID441

Dos Picos County Park

Camp Information
Sites
71
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   6   7   8   7   9   7   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$29
We stay in this park every year for the Thanksgiving weekend, and love it every time. We reserve early, so we get the site we like, which is more private than some of the other sites, which would work good for a group. The campground rangers (yes, they are rangers, not hosts) put on great programs for the kids, including night walks, bouncy ball games, and various crafts, as well as evening slide presentations; reminds me of the old days of camping when I was a kid!! The facilities are always spotless, the people friendly, and the location of the park is ideal for trips to the mountains, or down to San Diego to visit the waterfront or the zoo. And, don't miss the cinnamon rolls at the Ramona Cafe, down in town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
We stayed here with our church group for the annual camping trip. The park was very nice with lots of shade trees and spacious sites. The kids enjoyed the large playground and small hiking trail that went through the back of the campground. Our site had water and electrical and there was a dump site on the premises. The dump got a little busy at checkout time, but there was no pressure to be out immediately. I saw someone cleaning all the campsites right at checkout time to make sure they were in good shape for the new campers. The bathrooms were fairly clean, but had no soap of any kind and sometimes was low on toilet paper. It is very close to town and easy to get to. We saw many people catching fish in the pond and playing on the large grassy area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$24
Nice clean park. Restrooms clean but no hot water available at sink for shaving and are not heated. Park like setting with narrow roads and each site is a different size, some with parking, some not. Sites seemed space well. We called the ranger's station prior to make sure our site had a place for our truck. If you stay and like to hike Iron Mt. and Mt. Woodson are within 10 minutes drive. All and all we liked the park but gave it a 7 due to the above. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
Stayed here on a weekend and it was pretty busy. We found a good site with trees and had plenty of shade. Campground was in a convenient location with many stores a few miles away. Didn't have to negotiate a lot of hills to get there. Park was very clean and restrooms were spotless. Like the campground very much and will probably stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
This was our first time staying at Dos Picos. We arrived on a Tuesday and had the campground pretty much to ourselves. It was very quiet. Our 3 kids enjoyed riding their bikes through the campground and by the small lake/pond. The picture on the reservation website showed grass at our site #36, but upon arrival we could not find any sites that had grass. The oak trees made for nice shade and were all through the park. We would stay here again, but only on a weekday. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$24
This is a great park, neat, clean and well-maintained. There is ample spacing between the sites so the park never feels crowded. There are lots of trees, so pay attention to the notes on the website if you want satellite access. The only drawback, for big rigs, are the very narrow roads and tight curves. The site was plenty big for our 41 footer, but it was very tight getting in and out. San Diego County has the best website for reserving campsites that I have ever seen, check it out. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$20
This was a return visit, we last stayed here a few years ago. Several improvements have been made to the interior roads and the sites. Sites are covered in wood mulch, which makes things less dusty. The restrooms were clean, but had spider webs and they could really use modernization. The interior roads are narrow, but there is plenty of room between you and your neighbor. Overall a pleasant camping experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
Nice park. Pleasant quiet area with plenty of shade. Small stream and pond on campground. Nice playground for the kids. Roomy spaces, but no bushes, etc for privacy between spaces. 30amp service with water hookups. Dump site in campground. I did see bathrooms, but did not utilize them. We stayed here while visiting the Wild Animal Park. May visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
Site #42 paved, a bit sloped from side to side with a small parking arm for a tow or towed vehicle The site has nice oak trees on both sides with a fire ring and picnic table. The tree on the right stopped us from using our awning but that was OK. We have a 30 ft class A and had no problems getting in or out. We did get some TV service but you'd have to call it fair at best, just good enough to catch some March Madness. Good Verizon signal for phone and internet. We love the town of Ramona. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
Great park for families. Many ranger lead activities. We had a great weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$16
Site #41 A very nice park near the town of Ramona. We didn't have a problem with low hanging branches this trip which we were happy about. Our site was paved and level, not too close to the neighbors, we couldn't get TV service but decent Verizon signal for phone and internet. We paid $16 but the rate for water and electric sites has gone up to $20, still quite a bargain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$18
Nice county park in a remote area. Has about 25 sites that will safely accommodate a 40' motorhome. Enthusiastic ranger talks. Our only complaint is that they allow tree branches to slightly damage RV as you travel inside to get to your site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$16
We enjoyed a very nice camping trip at this park. The spaces are large enough to easily back into and our space had plenty of shade. Be mindful to check the shade coverage, especially during the summer as the un-shaded spots are awful! The park offers programs such like a Bat Hike, Fish with a Ranger and crafting for kids. The fishing is catch and release and the pond is very small, but it was OK. There is a nice park on the other side of the day use area. Overall I would definitely go back to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$16
We have stayed at this park four times in the last year and really like it. All sites have a fire ring and picnic table and many have some shade; most are fairly level. This park is also very popular with locals and groups such as the boy scouts and indian guides. It is extremely crowded on weekends, the sites above the restrooms are a bit quieter (about #40 to 49). The sites level to the restrooms are very open to the noise and neighbors but have wonderful large oak trees that provide great shade, especially welcome in the summer (#4, 7 and 10 are very good sites). There are two handicap accessible shower/restrooms that are large, private and in rather better condition than the non-accessible restrooms. In our experience the restrooms can never be considered spotless but on weekends they are routinely very dirty with not a shred of toilet paper to be found; we avoid them from Friday 7pm through Sunday noon. We have a 30 ft class A and will fit in most if not all of the RV sites but there are only a couple that look like they can accommodate big rigs (40+ ft); there are two pull-throughs. The roads and bridges inside the park are a bit narrow and some of the greenery needs to be trimmed to avoid scrapes and rubs on the roof and sides of the coach. There is a nice nature trail and pond, a big playground for kids nearby and the town of Ramona is great small community with grocery, gas, restaurants, laundry and other services. All of the sites and amenities of San Diego are within easy driving distance of this park. The dump station is well laid out and easily accessible near the restrooms. We will stay here every time we are in the area, it's a real bargain (even the reservation fee is only $3) and a very nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$16
We thought that for a county park it is an excellent campground. Its approximately a little over 1 hour from downtown San Diego. Lots of sites with shade. Much of the sites are under large oak trees. Its busy on the weekends because it also has day use but very quiet during the week. There are 48 sites with water and electric. The campground has a playground, a large grass area and a few trails. We stayed for a week in May. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$16
For the money this is a great park if you're in the area. They only have 20/30 amp electric, and sometimes it's a little iffy, but the rangers are very helpful. Nice big oak and sycamore trees, level pads, little pond, playground, nature trails, no train or traffic noise. Close to the San Diego Wild Animal Park. Some term campers, although they state 14 day stay limit. Downsides: it is HOT in the summer and a little dusty, larger rigs may have trouble manuevering the tight roads. Also no sewer, but dump station on site. Close by a housing development. The town of Ramona has supplies; Julian is close for great apple pie! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com