218141 User submitted reviews online!!
Mile-Away Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (603) 428-7616
CGID4417

Mile-Away Campground

Camp Information
Sites
134
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   2   8   4   6   5   9   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
With a little tweaking, this could be a nice campground, but as it stands, I gave it a 4. Why? First of all-too many trees in the wrong places. Now, don't get me wrong, I know we are camping, and I know trees are a part of camping, but this campground had trees up against and hanging over the bathhouse, which made the bathhouse damp and mossy. Also, the campground was too dark. Trees need thinning. And, the bathhouse was dirty and humid. Nothing I would want to use. Poor Wi-Fi. We were told there was cable TV. We got no signal. When we asked, we were told the signal was too weak. Our campsite had trash on it from previous campers. Our site had sand mixed with fine gravel. Since it was just my husband and myself, we took our shoes off, but kids or pets would have dragged sand into the camper. We stayed here overnight as we were traveling to Maine, and the campground was okay for an overnight, but I would not have stayed any longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2012
$15
We stayed in this park for a month while touring the area. I will start out with the good points of the park. The owner/manager is a great guy and has good customer service skills. He was always helpful and courteous. The park is kept up reasonably well. The spots are somewhat secluded. WiFi coverage was reasonable, and in other than peak use times was ok speed wise. In peak use times, the WiFi was very slow. Now the bad. The electrical in the park is substandard. We had to deal with low voltage issues all the time. Also the 50amp outlets are not protected by circuit breakers, which makes hooking to power difficult when plugging in. Also this creates no protection from the plug-in to the RV breaker box in the event of a problem. The sites are very dirty under foot. Now it is important to remember this is a "campground" not an "RV park/resort," so there is less improvements in the sites. But ours was not graveled as some are, which made the sandy soil a constant dirty problem. Also the grade of the site was such that when we got rain, the area outside our step was flooded with 3-5 inches of water. This could have been prevented with just a little work with grading. The spots are average in size, until we were told the spots were for two RVs. This would have been ridiculous if someone was to park next to us in the spot, as there would have been less than 36" between the RVs. We had several problems with our mail being delivered here. One time an attempt was made to deliver the mail and a note was left with the office the package was at the post office. We were never told by the office, we learned via the internet. Finally, the biggest problem was with one of their employees. I won't name him here, but he had no customer service skills, and was arrogant, condescending, and very rude. And to top it off, he was the employee to greet us. Needless to say he didn't make a very good first impression. We will never stay here again, and cannot recommend the park to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Nice, clean campground. Not a lot of planned activities for the kids, but our 12 and 13 year olds kept busy bike riding, swimming, and playing basketball. Good band Saturday night and even better karaoke Sunday night. Site was not large, but was roomy enough. Friendly campers and staff. Bathrooms were clean, but no hand soap. Boat rental rates very reasonable. No extra charge for holiday weekend, which makes this a great value. Store was small, but had the necessities. If we went back to the area, we would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
This was our first trip to the campground. When we got to the campground, were surprised with an extra $3 per night fee for running our A/C. Our site was a good size pull-through near the beach, very wooded but clean. The beach was nice and clean and our kids enjoyed fishing off the dock. But the mini-golf course, while free, was in major need of some TLC. We were very disappointed with the bathrooms due to cleanliness and size of the stalls. The pool was average. Horse shoe pits were also in need of some TLC. Very little activities for children. Live band Saturday evening was good but was geared more toward adults. Found the campground in general geared toward seasonal sites and adults. Ran out of things to do with the kids, so we left a day early. Overall would not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
A nice little park. Upon arriving we were little skeptical due to the site we were assigned being quite tight, but the management quickly reassured us by letting us know they would keep the site next to us empty. No one would have been able to pull in anyway due to the shape of the sites once we were parked. That being said, they do not have very many spaces for big rigs but they do have 50 amp service available for an additional $3 fee: not bad. The weekend we were here they had a sand castle building contest and a band playing in the evening. Was quite nice and unexpected. There are many seasonals here and the weekends seem to be busy with the weekdays being quiet. The grounds were clean with well maintained dirt roads. The clubhouse was ultra cute with a little store and TV area. There were fire rings at most all the sites. The little beach and lake swimming area were nice, as was the pool. Location was great: less than 20 mile from Concord. Our Verizon Wi-Fi worked ok, but our AT&T cell phones had a tough time with the signal. Overall, a reasonable park that is convenient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Actual site difficult to get in and out. Place in need of road maintenance. We are only a 31' motorhome, anything bigger would be a real problem. Price was with Good Sam discount. Lake side setting very quiet, only noise at night very loud Bull Frog chorus! Overall only makes 5 out of 10 because the whole place is in need of a bit of TLC and seems to become more orientated towards more permanent trailers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
Camped here for the first time. We did a 3 day weekend over Memorial Day weekend. Got to my site and noticed right away that majority of the roads and sites had been graded and added a large amount of material. Got to my site and it was very clean. Got the trailer positioned at set up with little use of my leveling blocks. TV was a little odd. Due to the digital change over with Comcast, I brought a box from my house and it worked. If I did not have this box I'm not sure how many channels I would have gotten if any at all. Water pressure was a little low but nothing that was a major issue. The waste system worked with zero issues and looks to be upgraded. Events were very family orientated and fun. The pond was a huge hit for my son. It was clean with a large beach. We did venture to the pool and found it to be about 3 years old and super clean. Overall this one is on my top 5 of places visited. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
Rate reflects Camp Club USA discount. Popped in for just one night inasmuch as we were on the road and had a great site, #21. Just a few yards from the water, a beautiful sight. If we had had the time, we would have stayed more days. A thoroughly enjoyable experience and we will return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
Nice lake. Seemed like 75% of the campground was seasonal so there were a lot of very lived in units around. Some were nice, others were junked up. We had a good experience but the campground needed some work. Perhaps this was because we camped early in the season and they weren't fully cleaned up yet. There was no active presence of the staff so on Saturday night it got a bit loud. On Sunday the place cleared out and we moved to site 22 right on the lake. That was really nice. I can see this campground being very good under the right circumstances and not so good under the wrong circumstances. My guess is that since it is mainly seasonal there is less attention paid to the transient camper. Restrooms were very clean and well maintained and they do have a nice check in house where kids can go watch TV and buy candy. We had a good experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We have camped at this campground for 6 summers: we were seasonal for 5 years, this year we camped from July 1st to October 12th. The campground is well-kept, the people are friendly, there is weekly entertainment, much for the kids to do, a pond with paddle boats, mini-golf, horseshoes, and a beautiful new swimming pool. It is shaded and a great place to escape especially on hot summer weekends! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
There are lots of seasonal sites, however they are mostly in one area. All are newer and clean. There are about a dozen nicely wooded nightly stay sites as well as an open field. We stayed in wooded section. It is quiet but sites are not very big. Over all it was a positive experience. We recommend early or late in season when not all seasonal site folks are present. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$34
This is a very rustic park with narrow roads bordered by a lot of little nuisance trees. Also a lot of low hanging branches from the bigger trees. Tough to maneuver a larger rig around. Cable & all other hook-ups okay, however the cable was fastened to a tree as opposed to the the electric posts. WIFI available in the main building as well. Bath house was clean but the overall appearance was rundown. The staff was friendly. We only used this park as a place to bed down for NASCAR Race Weekend in Louden, NH. If they took better care and upgraded the roads I would probably rate higher...but not until then. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2005
$32
Of the 130 or so sites, 40 are available for transient campers including tenters. This place looked more like a shabby trailer park than a campground. We were told we had 30 amp service and even though we plugged into a 30 type plug it was on a 20 amp breaker. The camper in a 5'r next to me was told he had 50 amps and also only had a 20 amp breaker. The owner said he would "check it out" and "didn't know anything about a problem". Sure it wasn't the first time. Sewer connection was 12" off the ground so this created a flow problem when dumping(A poor design). Sewer gas smells were prevalent. Gravel/dirt interior roads, fairly smooth. Gravel/ wooded sites, mostly level. I would not advise big rigs going there. No pull thru's and lots of low trees. Too many barking dogs and foul mouth teens added to the misery of this place. Wouldn't return here. Too many other nice campgrounds in New Hampshire. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com