221634 User submitted reviews online!!
Ramona Canyon RV Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (760) 788-3085
CGID442

Ramona Canyon RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
122
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   6   6   8   3   5   3   2   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$13
Asphalt interior roads with many speed bumps. All back in, level gravel sites. Trees around site needing trimming. Lots of shade. Quiet. Nice folks. Laundry clean. Open air and shaded. Beautiful setting. There is a charge for Wi-Fi and then you must go to the clubhouse to use it. Its as slow as molasses - the only downside of our stay. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
This park has many shady sites and has a pond with ducks and geese. There is a laundry, a clubhouse for movies and games, and a swimming pool. We enjoyed visiting the town of Julian during their Apple Days Festival and the town of Ramona which has a promenade, down their main street, of many large, old eucalyptus trees. We toured the cities of San Diego, Oceanside and Escondido while staying at this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$9
Very friendly staff. Grounds are clean. We had a large site that was easy to get into. Some are smaller and look harder to back into. Entry way is very bad - easy to miss when coming from Ramona and very steep. I came very close to scraping back of rig. Wi-Fi is only at club house and depending on membership there is a $2 charge. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2011
$10
A nice wooded setting. Very friendly staff. The bathrooms and showers are not heated and heat lamps in both men and women were not working. Be careful in turning left if coming from Ramona. We suggest pulling off to the right until the traffic clears. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$6
I stayed for 14 nights as a Western Horizon member June-July and earlier for 13 nights in May. Park is clean and well cared for with exception of the roads needing some work. This did not interfere with my enjoyment. Has a lovely pool with organized activities. Was here over both Memorial Day and 4th of July holidays, and park had wonderful meals, fun activities for kids and adults, live music one weekend, and karaoke the 2nd weekend. An easy 5 miles into town of Ramona which has adequate shopping. Cool, quiet area. Easy hop further over into larger population/shopping areas such as Poway, Rancho Bernardo and Escondido. Very friendly, pleasant, and helpful staff. I surely will return to this park. I am a female, senior citizen, solo traveler. Felt very safe in this park and never uncomfortable at the activities being without a partner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$6
We stayed at this campground for the first time since the 2007 Witch Creek Fire. Expected to find new facilities but park was virtually unchanged. Manager reported insurance and FEMA money was paid for the abandoned buildings around the park and nothing actually in the park was damaged. Most employees were friendly, office staff a little rude. Long winding drive to get to park and trees inside park made it difficult to park of 40 footer. The fee Wi-Fi listed in their brochure is now $2 per day and only works up a hill in the barn they use as a clubhouse, you only get 60 MBs and can't download computer updates. Didn't like people going site to site trying to sell services. Probably won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$6
We are Western Horizon Members and this is one of our member parks. We've stayed here a few times. This time was the worst for POWER. We were in a 50 AMP site, but the poor was equally bad using our 30 or 50 AMP connections. We rarely could use our microwave without starting the generator since the power hovered around 106V to 108V at dinner and breakfast time. Using our microwave brings it below acceptable margins for our power management system (below 105V). This is an old park, spared by the recent wildfire, but neat, clean and in a country setting. The management is nice enough. The roads and many hillside sites are narrow for big rigs and difficult to get into and the sites are close to unusable for a big rig because of poor power when the park is close to full. My wife doesn't want to return due to the inconvenience of the low power. We are full-timers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$1
This is a membership park. We went there to see a presentation for a Western Horizons Camping Membership, so there was no charge for our stay. The park is old and needs a lot of updating. It sits on a hillside, so the terrain is very uneven. You’re right next to highway 78, so you’re going to have traffic noise unless you’re near the back of the park. The sites are back in type. The one we stayed in had 30 amp service. The WIFI is non-existent unless you're near the clubhouse. The cable has about 5 channels. The pool was heated and in good condition. The pool house on the other hand is in need of repairs and/or replacement. I noticed a fresh coat of paint over rotting wood. There are a lot of trees in this park. Large motor homes will need to take care not to scratch their paint on some of the branches hanging down. The roads are narrow and not made for larger motor homes, but they do fit with some helpful guiding. Verizon cell phone service is spotty at best. If you go, bring something to ward of the ants; they are everywhere. We noticed a lot of people using Ajax/Comet around their tires to keep the ants at bay. The park overall needs a lot of cleanup and repair. In my opinion it's not a place I'd be using to showcase / sell new memberships. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2009
$10
We stayed here on a membership. It is tiered on a hill. You have no cell phone service or WiFi at most all sites.You can go up to the top of the hill in the club house and get a weak signal on both. We probably won't stay here again. Staff was friendly. You can't have charcoal BBQs here.so bring your propane. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$10
This is a Coast to Coast Camp Ground. We used it as a base, for San Diego. About 40 minute ride to town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$5
This campground is affiliated with our membership park system. The facilities are old, but the new managers have made an effort to clean the park up and make it presentable. The campsites are not as level as we would have liked, but they were workable. The pool is in great condition and it is heated. The staff is friendly and helpful. The entrance to the Park is off California 78 near Ramona, California. The entrance sign is not very easy to see from either direction. We were camped near the back of the park and didn't notice the noise from the highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2007
$8
We camped here because it was affiliated with our RV club membership. We had camped here before, but many of the problems remain. The pool and spa were still very nice, and the people were friendly. However, the majority of sites were still by the highway unless you were a VIP of some sort. And the clubhouse was still not much more than an outbuilding. Despite the talk, not much money has been put into the park. And the road getting here is only slightly less scary that Echo Summit, where my wife held her breath all the way down the hill! However, none of that matters now anyway. ***CAMPGROUND WAS BURNED IN HUGE FIRE, OCTOBER 22, 2007*** We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$8
Actually, Ramona Canyon Rv Resort was NOT destroyed in the fire. They have slight damage. And expect to be up and running in early December. The staff at the campground all got out safely. My family loves this campground and are very happy that it made it! The last time we were there they had repaired the miniture golf, updated pool it gas heated instead of solar. And things were very clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2007
$6
The campground was clean. The pool and spa were in excellent condition. The campground hosts were very friendly. I asked for a quiet site away from the road and was given my choice of several sites that were as far away from the road as possible. I will return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2006
$6
Only problem with this campground is that they say they have fishing and the pond is almost empty. And I never saw anyone catch a fish including my family. They had great shade trees. Our site was a little tough to get into. It was pretty steep. Site was pretty level though. Laundry rooms nice. We stayed here for 2 nights and are going back soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2006
$1
I'll give this park 2 points for the pool and the play area, and another for the staff, but that's about it. Fishing was advertised, but no place to fish (pond was empty). Like a previous reviewer stated, the best sites are kept for somebody, but nobody can tell you. I just don't see how anyone (other than a shill) can give this old, run-down park a 10, especially with its poor location. The stats say that that there is big rig access, but I'd think twice before taking a forty-footer up the canyon road. The only other place my wife was more nervous was at Echo Summit coming into Lake Tahoe, where it was a narrow road with no guard rail. We stayed here for free to take the tour, but we were not inclined to buy at all, if this is an example of the resorts in the system. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$50
An excellent, quiet, family oriented campground. Great pool and activities. Very nicely decorated and comfortable cabin. Even has a microwave! We camped here in a .

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2006
$2
We are Western Horizon Resort members and have stayed at Ramona RV Resort for the past 3 years. Our first stay in 2004 was a shocking disappointment as the resort was in a seriously "rundown" condition. We have returned in 2005 and 2006 as this campground is one of our membership resorts and our camping cost is minimal. We have noticed many improvements but there are still things that need attention, such as the miniature golf area and the speed limit enforcement inside the camp. However, the worst problem is the location next to one of the busiest highways in the area and the continual traffic noise. We always ask for a site away from the highway, up on the hill areas, but we are usually denied as these are "reserved" for other clubs or other groups. Who are these other groups that get such preferential treatment? Many of the people appear to be seasonal campers and they get the best spots and the largest sites. We have a 38' 5th wheel and getting into some of Ramona's campsites is a feat of real driving skills. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2005
$30
Really enjoyed our stay. Immaculate grounds, well landscaped, extra long spacious sites. Staff helpful and friendly. The town of Ramona is about 5 minutes away and has everything you need. Easy jaunt to San Diego Zoo, Wild Animal Park, Julian, etc. We were on one of the upper tiers and the road noise was minimal however those on the lower road might get more. Very quiet day and night. Families will enjoy the playground and miniature golf. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$40
I have read several bad reviews of this place. Ran into a member on another trip who said "balony" try it so we did. It was wonderful. Beautiful place, with wonderful facilities. Great,very friendly, helpful people. Everything clean as a whistle. Nice pool, even have a little minature golf course (for free!). Only minor draw back, it is right on Highway 78 which has some trafic during the day (worse on the week end) but not bad and always quiet at night. I am going back for sure! If you like the country, oak trees, hiking, and some nice amenities, you should give this place a try. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$40
Memorial Day weekend of 2004 supposed to be our shakedown cruise vacation at this location. If you see a small pond type private fishing lake on their website and on their brochure do not believe it. It was like a mud pit. Water depth probably no more than 1 ft. Campsites hosts are like drill sergeants. The place is a mosquito heaven. Even though each site has a built in charcoal barbeque pit, you're not allowed to use them. Only gas barbeques are allowed if you have them with you. Of course forget about campfires and fishing. The site we were sent wasn't leveled either. Western Horizon calls this place a 5 star RV resort. I wonder if that 5 star is given out of 100 possible stars. This is a membership only RV resort but if you agree with them to give you a 90 minute tour and a sales pitch non-members are allowed to stay two or three nights for free. If anybody still buys a membership after visiting this place I'll be very surprised. We did not even stay one day. After the treatment of the camp hosts, condition of the so called lake, barbeque and campfire restrictions and of course especially after the mosquito attacks we left within minutes after arriving at this horrible place. If you don't want to ruin your vacation don't even slow down when you see their sign on the Highway 78. Just pass this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$35
It mostly rained during our two day visit. We checked in late, it was dark and rainy. The campground host was very friendly and even came out with a flashlight to help me back in my 35 foot fifth wheel. The next morning when I went to pay for the stay I found the ladies in the office very friendly and courteous to all who came and went. I had my two year old son with me and they welcomed and entertained him. The pool and spa looked inviting, the pool temp was at least 80 degrees, but we did not use them. The playground structure was the nicest I have ever seen at a campground, too bad it was rainy and wet, the kids did not get a chance to enjoy it. The clubhouse and people were warm and inviting, we attended the non-denominational church service, they had donuts and hot chocolate afterwards. The lake and creek that runs through the campground were muddy looking, probably from all the rain, but the ducks didn't seem to mind. No one was fishing at the stocked lake. The location along HWY 78 was quiet and unlike most campgrounds. I never heard a train go by. The San Diego Wild Animal Park is only 12 miles away and the town of Ramona, less than 5 miles, was easy to get to and offered tasty dining, plenty of gas stations including diesel. We hope to visit this campground again to enjoy all it has to offer. Double thumbs up!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2002
$40
Ramona Canyon RV Resort is located on Highway 78 east of Ramona. We went there for a free weekend and a "90-minute" tour. Well, the tour went on for over 3 hours, which is something considering the size of the property. Our tour guide had to go out for a smoke break, and we sat around at times waiting for I-don't-know what. If a company is trying to sell timeshare, this is a poor place to do it. The rep admitted that the property had been purchased in "distressed condition", but I thought that it had been purchased a few months before. I found out that the property had been under new ownership for 3 1/2 years! In August 1999, Regal Marketing, Inc., sold Camelot Campground to WHR Properties Inc. and it was renamed Ramona Canyon RV Resort. You would think that they would have made some improvements in that time. The "clubhouse" was hardly more than a shack, and not very inviting. Lots of dirt, no grass. The photo on the site shows a boy next to a pond (as if to go swimming perhaps), but all that's there now is a hole. Pretty shoddy place, not worth the drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com