206926 User submitted reviews online!!
Nickerson Park Family Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (860) 455-0007
CGID4420

Nickerson Park Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   10   8   8   6   8   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
Park is secluded with lots of trees. Very peaceful and quiet. Many river sites. The majority of sites are occupied by seasonals but that is generally the case in this part of the country. Roads are dirt/rock as are the sites. With rain it does become muddy and the roads have potholes. Sites are not very level. Sites are large enough and have ample spacing so you do not feel cramped. Wi-Fi is free but is slow most of the time. We really enjoyed the park but they do need to put gravel down on the sites to level them out and fill the potholes on the road. Staff/owner very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
This is our yearly return visit to Nickerson Park. Our site was level with no problems with site hookups. Staff was professional and friendly. Geography at campground is level with open and shaded areas. Campground is clean and decently maintained, though I noticed no changes or improvements have been made to the campground the past two years. We enjoyed this campground and would certainly return or recommend this place to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
Again enjoyed our stay. Our site was level with no problem with site hookups. Staff professional and friendly. Geography at campground is level with open and shaded areas. Campground is clean and decently maintained, though noticed no changes or improvements have been made to the campground the past few years. Would certainly return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Very enjoyable stay. Owner and staff were very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. I had a waterfront site and it was beautiful! Campground has a Sunday morning worship service which is very nice. Park and grounds were very clean and well maintained. For the price it's a great deal, and very family friendly. If you're looking for a wholesome, affordable and enjoyable stay: this is the place place to go! I would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
Level campground with mix of open and lightly wooded sites. I would recommend the riverside sites which are large and have privacy hedges. Water pressure, power, cable all fine. Wi-Fi was just Okay. Again found staff friendly and helpful. I do agree with other review that campground would do well for it's self to improve the appearance of the entrance road. Also last year all I had was a garden hose run from a nearby water spigot to rinse my RV sewer hose at the campground dump station but this year I had nothing, campground needs permanent non potable water "at" the dump station. I don't consider these major issues and would certainly return or recommend this campground to anyone We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
This is a clean and quiet park with level sites on the Nepaug River in northeast Connecticut. Beautiful surroundings adjacent to State Forest. Wonderful hiking. Friendly and helpful owners. Propane available. Open all year. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Entry is dumpy, owner is not particularly friendly, no amenities (laundry, pool, activities) just a place to park on or near the river, which is very nice. There are very few sewer sites available for the traveler, most are taken by seasonal trailers. As another reviewer noted, there is a Super Wal-Mart within 10-15 minutes. Also a new Tractor Supply and Home Depot in same shopping area, with ample restaurant opportunities. The CG supplies cable TV, but the Wi-Fi is $6 extra per day. No security or gate at this park. In my opinion this is expensive for what you get. There is a COE campground 10 miles away that is a gem by comparison. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
This is a nice campground for a good price. It costs less than most others in the area. Our price included electric, water, sewer and cable in a pull-through. The entrance looks sort of dumpy with ruts in the road and RV storage near the front, but the grounds are grassy and clean. The staff is friendly. There are lots of seasonal campers, but we were there in the middle of the week, and there were very few others there. I expect it gets busy on summer weekends. The Wi-Fi works well, but costs $6 a day. You have to pay for showers, but 25 cents is longer than I usually stay in the shower. I would like the water to be a tiny bit warmer, but there's no temperature control. The restrooms are clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
There were very large sites. This is the perfect place for fishing or just getting away to be close to nature. There is no store but it does have a few items you might need. The staff is friendly. There is excellent fishing and hiking at the campground. It has cable T.V. and electricity right on the water. I camped in April 09 and had a great time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
This is a basic campground. Campground offers fishing on the Natchaug River, hiking and tubing on the river in the warmer weather. Found staff helpful and friendly, seasonals friendly also. Most of the seasonal sites (though not all) were well maintained. Campground needs a camp store but Super Wal-Mart 10 minutes away. Overall I would recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
A small, quiet campground on the Natchaug River. We had a full hook-up pull through site that was pretty level and spacious. This area of the campground is not very private but the other 5 pull through spots were empty so it wasn't a problem. River sites are nice but only have water and electric. Seasonal campers were friendly except for one woman who was being very mean to her young grandchildren and was screaming some very nasty names at them. Playground equipment is outdated. The lodge has 4 video games (2 were out of order), fuseball table and pool table. Very limited planned activities. Good campground for a long weekend but I think the kids would get bored quickly if we stayed any longer. The seasonal kids appeared to be bored and took to jumping on picnic tables, in empty sites, trying to flip them over. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Nice quiet place by the river. Not a lot to do here but relax. We mainly go here on the 4th of July holiday weekend and have always had a great time. Swimming and tubing down the river was fun. We like the river sites, but they don't have sewer hookups, not a real problem for 3 or 4 days stay. The owner is a great person and will help you in any way he can. He does a Sunday worship service that is great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2007
$75
If you want to have fun and stay up past 7PM, don't go here. We learned the hard way this past week. We got thrown out for drinking beer and playing music at a reasonable level until 10PM. It's unfortunate because besides the disgusting bathrooms (dirty condoms on floor) the site was half way decent. They forced us to not only leave the park, but to do so drunk. If you are as quiet as a mouse and go to sleep before 7PM then you'll love this place. They will kick you out and then rent out the site again to double their profits. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2005
$45
Had a nice time. Location is good. It rained but still had fun. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2003
$25
Great family campground, Sunday service in the lodge, great fishing in Natchaug River, just a fun campground, we made paper boats and put candles in them, then floated them down the river. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com