221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Texana Park and Campground (formerly Lake Texana State Park) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (361) 782-5718
CGID4432

Texana Park and Campground (formerly Lake Texana State Park)

Camp Information
Sites
141
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   9   10   8   8   9   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$23
We love this park! It is no longer a Texas State Park, but it feels like one, and the price is comparable to other state parks, but no Texas Parks pass discount is available. Most sites are very spacious & private, level, and easy to park. Park itself is very scenic with beautiful old oak trees, and many sites are waterfront or waterview. Saw 3 alligators (from a distance!), 2 big turtles, tons of barred owls, cardinals, deer, and bunnies. Fishing and bike riding are popular with campers of all ages. Nice little playground. No swimming due to alligators, but lots of sites had kiddie pools out for little ones, and we saw quite a few personal watercraft out in the lake. Restrooms looked nice and clean, but we did not use them. Friendly hosts and staff. Good security presence. AT&T phones worked fine at our site. We did not watch TV or try to use WiFi. Quiet, clean, beautiful park and a good value, too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Lake Texana State Park has been closed, the property has been acquired by The Lavaca-Navidad River Authority. The LNRA runs Brackenridge Park and Campground and several others such as Brackenridge Main Events Center, Mustang Creek and Camp Mauritz. Lake Texana Park (Across the street from Brackenridge Park) was opened under the name Texana Park and Campground on Labor Day weekend, 2012. The pricing is the same as Brackenridge, $23 for a partial hookup and $25 for a full hookup. Lot's of improvements have been made, the park now has an automated gate system and Wi-Fi hotspots. Lots of work has been done to the park, sewer has been added to some sites, electricity to others, most of the comfort stations have been remodeled and many of the smaller sites have been enlarged to accommodate larger rigs. Online reservations for both Brackenridge Park and Campground & Texana Park and Campground are coming soon (Both parks will share the same website - www.brackenridgepark.com) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$16
Very nice park with shaded sites and fishing piers. Like most other Texas state parks they try hard to keep as much natural beauty as possible. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$18
We loved this park! The lake level was good when we were here, we were able to fish and also to go out in the canoe. There are canoe rentals. This is a great park for biking - there is a nice long trail around the outside of the park, not paved, but stamped down well enough to be rideable even with city bikes. Also, plenty of paved street riding. The waterfront sites are really nice if you get here early enough to snag one - plenty of room, some shade, but nice sunny grassy areas too. The woodsy sites are nice too though. The park across the street (Brackenridge) is nice too, but we love state parks. Edna has a good tex-mex restaurant about 10 minutes away (Pinto Bean), and Prasek's Smokehouse up on Hwy 59 is one of the nicest travel stops in the area (great bathrooms, yummy food, good shopping.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$20
Good park, though the lake was VERY low. There's some good trails to hike. Had a armadillo visit us, which was cool! Price is based on Texas park pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$23
The rate includes the daily access fee of $6. If we had an annual SP pass, camping would have been $17. A bit high for a state park with no sewer hookups. Lovely park, very lightly used. Stayed 5 days and would have stayed longer if we could have gotten a Verizon signal- no phone and no internet is the only reason we did not rate this excellent park higher. Easy back-in sites, good accessibility for big rigs (some overhanging branches). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
We were impressed, with the very clean park, friendly staff, good roads and trimmed trees. The lake was low but very nice to look at and the wildlife was in plenty. We stayed 3 nights and plan to return when the weather cools off some. We parked at # 123 but we also liked #s 107-113. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2008
$13
Nightly rate reflects weekly discount given from Dec - Feb and does not include $3 per person, per day usage fee (buy a TX parks pass!). Town of Edna is 7 miles away for Wi-Fi hotspot at the library, laundry, fuel, large grocery store available as well. Propane can be found at the Shady Oaks RV Park near Edna - there is no other propane dealer in the immediate area. Heavily used park with friendly staff, lots of deer, armadillos, live oaks and migrating birds. Asphalt roads and sites and the sites are level. Site lengths seem to be evenly split between short, wide sites for tenters or pop-ups and longer, narrower sites for RV's; not all of the RV sites are a uniform length. Wireless is excellent, over the air HDTV is good, and cell reception is 1-2 bars with a few dropped calls. We stayed in site #116 and it is nice. W/E on the side near the middle. Live oaks, palmettos, shrubbery and space gives some privacy from the neighbors. Trails in the park and along the lake provide lots of easy walking opportunities. At times, traffic noise from TX-111 could be heard which surprised me. A nice perk - the park has an air hose across from the dump station - check your trailer and truck tire pressure! The park gets a large number of campers during the weekends and we've been told it is very crowded when the weather is warm, so make sure you call ahead. This is a nice park and I will stay again if I'm in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$18
We stayed one night. Very nice well kept campground. Very helpful rangers. Would recommend. The ranger said the mosquitoes are bad during the summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$15
A beautiful park on the lake with lots of shade for every site. There are a few hike/bike trails, not strenuous, of varying length. We stayed in site 123, backed up to the lake, and the deer came out all day to hang out around our site. Good tv satellite signal despite the trees, but cell and aircard service was very weak. This is a wonderful place to hide out in peace and quiet. There is a grocery store and WalMart nearby in Edna. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$15
Great Park. Nature trail has information guide to be used as educational tool for children. First time we camped at a park with "Park Host". Our host was friendly and helpful. Some of the sites are small, so if your RV is larger might try to get there a little early to get a spot that will accommodate your RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$15
Nice, clean park. Lots of shade. Will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$12
My husband, three year old and I enjoyed this park. It is close enough for a quick weekend get away and there is a lot of lake access. The playground area is great, but there is no pool and because of the alligator population, no swimming in the lake. The sites are large and wooded, and most have some sort of lake view. The only draw back was that the park ranger is not exactly a warm, fuzzy person. She appears as though she is forced to allow us into her park, and even if the park is nearly empty, you better be pulling your rig out before straight up noon. Her short comings are off set by the lovely folks who are seasonal residents and who entertain and check on guests. Our daughter enjoyed fishing with her dad on the pier, but the gators made me nervous. There is a nature station where you can learn about the wild life that inhabits the park. Some of the inhabitants will help themselves to your food if you leave it out. One family lost a large brisket to the ratcoons even though the cooler was closed and fastened. But the sounds of the birds and frogs were a wonderful break from the city. It is really close to nature. In short, we will go back so our daughter can experience Mother Nature, but I certainly hope that the park ranger learns to lighten up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2006
$15
This is a nice wooded campground with lots of wildlife. However, it is not big rig friendly. We prefer full hook up campsites. Also, we need 50 amp electric service but 30 amp will do in the cooler months. One plus, fishing is always good! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$15
We have camped at many state parks, and this is my favorite. I would give them a 10, but they don't have 50 amp or sewer. The sites are large, and spread out. Nice playground, very large park, and great bike riding. There are heards of deer that will wonder right through your campsite during the morning and afternoon. It is a very relaxing place. Extremely friendly staff (friendlier than most state parks). We love lake Texana state park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2005
$16
Nice park - well maintained, personnel was helpful and friendly. Nice shady spots, lots of them. Have camped here many times and will continue to camp here. Lots of wildlife. Paved sites. Great camping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$15
This is a very nice state park with lots of shaded sites and some that are very open if that is what you like. It is 7 miles from Edna and 32 from Victoria. Edna has a regular Wal-Mart that is open 24 hours a day and a HEB. They also have several good restaurants and plenty of gas/diesel stations. The people that work at the park are very nice and friendly. They have a new playground for the kids with one of the multi-use gyms with slides. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com