218884 User submitted reviews online!!
Natural Bridge State Resort Park - Whittleton Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (606) 663-2214
CGID4442

Natural Bridge State Resort Park - Whittleton Campground

Camp Information
Sites
94
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   5   7   4   7   5   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$27
We stayed for 2 nights. The bathrooms were old, but not overly bad. The campground is small and outdated but a good location for hiking and rock climbing in the area. If you have more than a 25'-27' you are in for a tight fit backing in. It is one lane in and out and one side of the road dips in. We had a 21' and it was tight turning in, but could be done with patience. Sewer dump work, but across small bridge at a weird angle coming out. We did a U-turn and went across bridge to the dump easily. Even with all the small negatives it was peaceful and we would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Love this little campground. We were on site 33 and it was very large and shaded. The only reason I don't give it ia ten is because of the electrical/water hookup. The water/electric was on our site for 33 and 34 and on the opposite side of our trailer's lines and so we also had to buy an extension cord for our 30 amp service. Daniel Boone Trading Post had one, so obviously this happens to many others. Also the water hose of our neighbor leaked and it formed a small stream that ended at our firepit. Pick an even numbered site such as 32 or 34 and you will not encounter these problems. The bathrooms were older but clean and we never had to wait for a shower. They also have laundry facilities that worked fine. The dump station at this campground was closed and the one at Middlefork had to be used. We did the park history tour, created walking sticks at our campground and a cave tour as scheduled park activities. We took the skylift up to Natural bridge and walked the trail down. It was about 1.75 miles so make sure you have water. We also took the original trail to the bridge and the trails in the campground. We did not see any bear and my husband saw only 1 tiny, non-poisonous snake while hiking. We also went to the Red River Forge for a day and did some hiking. This was very close to the park and very nice. We saw no wildlife here either. The pool at the lodge charged $2/day for campers. I could not get a Verizon signal at all until we were out of the area, but I could connect to the Wi-Fi at the lodge with no password needed, so I used that. My husband likes a cold beer on hot days and this is a dry county. We found out there is a party store about 5 miles down the road past Torrent Falls, or you can to go to Campton. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
The camp ground can be tight when backing in but since there is one-lane with a hill in front and a stream in the back, The place is very nice. When I was there the sewer dump station was out of service and you had to use one in the other campground up the hill. That sewer dump faces against the incoming traffic. I found the bathrooms average from what I have seen at a state park. There were other campground sites that were blocked and out of service as well. I rate this as a five based on the few factors I have seen against what other amenities offered at similar KY State Parks. This campground has a lot of potential if these few things were taken care of. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
This was a nice, small campground, emphasis on small. It is located off the highway, across the road from the Natural Bridge trail access, so you had to get in your car and drive the 1/4 mile as it was not safe to walk on the shoulder of the road. Even to get to the playground, you had to cross the road. The campground sites are small. We camped in a 28ft travel trailer and reserved one of the largest sites and it was a tight fit. The site was level and the trails were great for hiking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
This place calls road side sites, pull through sites for big rigs. Beware, there is no place to turn around here! If you have anything bigger than a pop up or small, less than 20 foot trailer, you'll need to be an expert at backing in because of posts buried into the ground marking the sites. Would not recommend kids on bikes as there is only one straight road, and all sites are located on the right side of it. Did seem quiet though. Will not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
We had 5 tents and 2 pop-ups (13 adults, 9 kids, 5 dogs) on 3 sites (A23, 24, 25). It was great to have a primitive site next to our electric/water sites. Those sites are gravel and fairly level, shady, with a little creek for the kids to play in. We hiked from the Natural Bridge back to the campsite with kids in tow with no problem. It’s about 0.5 mile to the pool and 0.5 mi further to the top on the bridge. It’s an easy hike to the Whittleton arch (1.0 mile) from the back of the camp ground. Most importantly, everyone had hot water during showers. The bath house facilities are nice and well maintained. I wish there was some play ground equipment. We hit some fantastic weekend weather too. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
We stayed in the Whittleton campground. It is a small campground, fairly well maintained. Quiet. The campsites can get soft and mushy during the spring months. Paved pad for unit, but all back in spots and not much maneuver room to back camper/rig into spot. If you plan on using the dump station, you better have a portable tank, as the dumpstation is across the creek. The bridge going across the creek is very narrow and could be hard to pull any unit across without dropping off into the creek. Could be bad. Some of the sites in the lower portion of the campground are bare dirt and get really muddy in the spring. The gorge area is the highlight of any trip down here. We go once a year and enjoy it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
This is an older state park that has been updated somewhat to accommodate newer rigs. We had a pull through site and our 34' travel trailer barely fit. The motorhomes that were in the park completely filled the sites. The sites are paved with a small gravel patio area by each one. The sites are so close together that we had to situate our trailer so that the slider did not cover part of the adjacent site's patio area. Since the park is down in a "holler", you can expect to have no cellphone or television reception. Satellite TV will work fine as several units had dishes out. The sites have power and water but no sewer so plan accordingly. This park is fine for a short stay as long as you accept the limitations mentioned above. The Natural Bridge area is very pretty and there a several hiking trails available to the more energetic. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2004
$22
A nice park, there are 2 campgrounds, Whittleton being the oldest in nicest. Whittleton has a creek through is. Well maintained, quiet. If you like hiking and rock formations, this is the place. Red River Gorge is a must nearby for driving and hiking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com