218716 User submitted reviews online!!
Missouri Headwaters State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone:
CGID4465

Missouri Headwaters State Park

Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$15


Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   9   6   10   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$15
As a non-resident of the state, I would have paid $20, but I happened to mention that I had been at Lewis & Clark Caverns that day so they said to take off the $5 parking fee from there and write a little note on the green envelope. Good deal! The campground is small, but pretty. The pull throughs are more like pull offs and vary in size. But each has a bit of lawn, kept clipped by little brown rabbits, and a picnic table. Pretty close to I90, but quiet just the same. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
Park Ranger and camp hosts were friendly and helpful. Being able to walk to the nearby rivers to go fishing...was a nice "plus". We were able to run our generator with ease...although we were "disturbed", one night...about when we were going to turn off our generator even though we were well within the campground's rules for running/using our generator. I probably wouldn't camp here, again...simply because of tight squeeze we had with our 38 ft. fifth wheel and/or our 36 ft. motorhome. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$6
A gem of a campground if you aren't afraid to dry camp for a few days. Fresh Montana water is available along with the beauty of our home state. We're older and residents, so the fee is dirt cheap. We camped here decades ago in our Westfalia, but now the CG is much more developed and a real beauty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$23
We rate this park as a 4 in terms of facilities. It seemed like a lot of money to pay $23 for no facilities whatsoever. Camping at this park means boondocking. However, we rate this park as an 8 for its trails and scenery. Hence, our overall rating of '6', we averaged those two numbers. There were some really nice walking trails, the bathrooms were clean, the rivers were pretty. But there were no hook-ups and the pull-through sites were basically part of the road. In most cases there wasn't even a little patch of grass or anything separating the pull-through sites from the road. We lucked out by getting spot number 17 down at the end of the road and ended up staying for a few nights. If we had been in one of the other spots we probably would have only stayed for one. We would stay here again if necessary, but not one of our favorites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$8
Very nice campground. Very friendly campground host. We stayed here in July and it tended to be windy. Also the mosquitoes are a problem. Lewis and Clark camped here 205 years ago and complained about the mosquitoes too. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$8
Lovely, (no hook-ups) otherwise a 9! Our 38' 3-slide Moho backed in fine, 2-3 other pull-through sites would have worked as well. Need to release your dinghy first as we got stuck on the end loop (just unhooked, no big deal). Vault restroom was spotless. There's moose and bald eagles, no skeeters (could have been with all the marshes). Located only 4mi NE of Three-Forks, MT. $15, 1/2$ GA. There is cell phone service, so we also had internet. At least drive in to the interpretive site and great picnic! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$12
This park is located at the confluence of the Jefferson, Madison and Gallatin Rivers which form the headwaters of the Missouri River. It is rich in history as Lewis and Clark camped very near here in 1805 with the Corps of Discovery. It is a beautiful, relatively undeveloped park that features outdoor interpretive signs explaining the geological history as well as that of the Native Americans and white settlers who came through this area. There are many scenic hiking trails and a nice day use area. Some of the campsites lie right along the Madison River. My indication of the number of campsites is an estimate - there are not very many. It is open May 1 - September 30 and is not suitable for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com