223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Suwannee River State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (386) 362-2746
CGID4467

Suwannee River State Park

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   8   9   8   8   9   8   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$22
Excellent park with FHU. Quiet, nice trails and next to a great river environment. Big Rig accessible at many sites with nice restrooms and washer/dryer facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$12
Nice Park. If you're into hiking or fishing, good park. There is a canoe rental outside the park. I believe he will bring the canoe to you or take you upstream. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$24
The park is just a short ways off of Interstate 10, so is convenient for travelers. When we visited, a number of the trails were closed because the river was flooding. The campground sites are reasonably well separated with some vegetation for privacy but do not expect complete privacy. The utilities are good with full hook-ups. There is a one washer and dryer, but beware, the dryer ate about $2. Our Verizon phone and data worked well but with all the tree cover we were unable to find a hole for satellite. There is a Publix food store in Live Oak, about 15 miles from the park. The ranger was great in accommodating us, even though we did not have reservations. We would definitely visit this park again for a one or two night stop, probably not as a destination. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$12
Our first visit to this park. It is obviously being updated as shower house is newish and very clean. Laundry facility is minimal. Cell & TV reception is adequate. Interesting hiking although the river is above flood stage, so boat ramp and limestone sink were closed. The only detraction were mosquitoes, so take protection. The rate quoted is for a senior Florida resident. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$11
Nice state park on the Suwannee River. Well maintained and clean. Rate reflects Florida senior discount. Only stayed one night en route to Alabama, but we would return again if in this area. Would like to spend more time on the river here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
Stayed here 3 nights. Site was tight to get our 34 foot trailer into. Would have been much better if the site sign post was on the opposite side of the entry. Lots of shade. Wife got bitten by chiggers but that is florida. Suwanee river is close by for water activities. We rented canoes and had a great time. Plenty of trails for walking and riding bicycles. Restrooms were clean and well maintained. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$12
We selected Suwannee River State Park because we planned on kayaking the rivers in the area and we prefer to stay at state parks when we can. The facilities at the park were nice, although we did not use the showers. The sites are nice, with tree cover and some level of distance between most sites. We had a corner site that was exceptionally large and was a pull-through, an added bonus. The entire loop is .3 miles, so overall it's not very large. Each site has full hookups, but some people complained that the distance to the sewer hookup was too far. We did notice that most people needed longer sewer hoses. The sewer was also high, making it difficult for liquids to flow easily into it. This was a minor annoyance, considering all the other nice things about the park. They have a washer and dryer outside of the restrooms that worked fairly well. This is a pretty park, but there isn't a lot to do in the general area. There are several short trails, which I recommend. The Lime Sink Run Trail is especially nice. There is no real place for bicycling, but the younger kids enjoyed biking the campground loop. There are no restaurants nearby. A few restaurants in Madison (10 miles). Live Oak is about 25 miles in the other direction, but you have more choices there. We stayed here for 11 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I hope that we can return sometimes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$24
February 23 – Suwannee River State Park, Live Oaks, FL. This is one of the original Florida State Parks in the northern part of the state right on the Suwannee River. The park has more than 1800 acres. The sites have full hookups, but it is not listed like that. This is an easy off interstate 10 in Live Oaks. There are only 30 sites at the campground. One can hike, bike, or canoe, or kayak on the river. It is also a historic site where the Confederates held off the Yankees taking over the river. Cost was $24.20 but no reservation fee. We were stunned that this campground was full even though it was a Saturday night. The campgrounds in northern Florida are not usually full in the month of February. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$22
After reading some of the reviews we had mixed feelings, but it turned out to be a nice park. We stayed in site #22 which was a back in site. It had room enough for our 36 ft motor home and more. Our fire ring was clean as well as the rest of the site. Bathrooms were very clean and well maintained. Downside would be no cable and few sites with satellite clearance. Over all the campground is a small, rustic place with leisurely hiking trails and small craft boating. We enjoyed our visit and will stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2012
$11
The rangers are as nice as the host. The rest rooms, park and grounds were clean. There are interesting walking trails, and during the summer there is good canoeing on the river. Also, they say there is good fishing at times along this river. Now for the bad. The park is full hook-up, but good luck on a lot of these sites. The sewer dump pipe will be higher than your RV dump pipe. I don`t know who laid this out, but they have never camped in an RV. Most of the dump pipes are on the up-hill side of the sites, and some others are six to eight inches off the ground. Also, they are located to the front of the sites, where you will need 30 to 40 feet of hose to reach it, with any RV of 25 feet or longer. .Also, you will need two to four inches of blocks to level side to side, and more if you are in a rig without jacks front to back. One thing that stood out: the park work campers were parked on two of the handicap spots. One did have a handicap tag, but if they are working the park, they should leave those spots available for RV'er campers coming in that need those handicap sites more. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
Park was disappointing. I expected more of the history that is advertised as being there. A piece of wood stating it had come from a riverboat, a sign stating a saw mill had once been there and other poor examples of history. But the trails were good for hiking. Boating and fishing was enjoyed by many. I thought the campsites to be overly dirty. The table on our site was so embedded with food and mold we could not use it. Fire pit did not look to be have been cleaned in some time. But my husband liked the woodsy location so we will probably return for a few nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
We enjoyed our campsite here! The bathrooms were clean and had fans going 24/7. I liked that most of the campsites were on the inside ring but well spaced and many had a trail to the restroom through the center ring (vs. walking past all the sites to go to the restroom). Also, there were neat trails and the old cemetery for the abandoned town was cool. About 2 miles down the road was another state park with a fresh water spring. It was always 72 degrees, so there was a place to swim not far away but not walking distance. There was a boat ramp, but not really anywhere to swim at this state park. We heard a train once, but inside a 1956 vintage trailer (not built for being soundproof) we did not hear it at all during the night. There is a gas station/convenience store within 1/2 a mile of the park entrance which was nice. Most sites were wooded and shaded. I think three were paved. But most were private. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Nice state park, but not easy to navigate in large rig. Turns are extremely tight, very narrow roadway once you get to the physical campground area. Trees border the road and seem to be right where you need to drive your tow vehicle to make the turn without taking your awning off! Only 2 pull through sites, both of which are on corners and are nearly "L" shaped which makes it very hard for turning and maneuvering into the site. After two trips around the campground loop, we found site 27 to be the most accommodating for our 41' toy hauler. There was open space next to the road which allowed us to pull forward and back in, plus it was a concrete pad. Park was very quiet and serene. Only stayed overnight so did not check out the amenities. Folks with coaches 35' and under would probably be able to negotiate turns, but would not recommend park for anything longer. Info on Florida State parks website is a little misleading. Manager/park ranger was very nice. For this reason, am rating this as a 5 due to tightness of turns, roadway width and maneuverability. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
Nice campground. Very quiet. Interesting history. We didn't canoe or Kayak but most people were there for that. We did ride our mountain bikes around the area and enjoyed the history. We found the old cemetery. Restrooms were clean. Had an issue with what we thought was a wheel bearing on our travel trailer when we pulled in.Ranger gave us a card for a repairman who was out early the next morning and resolved the issue. We stayed in spot #24 which was small but we fit easily. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$13
We stayed in the state park for 10 days. The water system was shut down for the whole time we were here. We had to buy drinking water or boil. Park hosts were less than friendly. ALL sites are hard to get into and most are muddy and unkept. Florida State Parks could do well to shut this place down and start over. I guess the outdoors people that canoe down the river could justify a place to set up tent and enjoy the nature thing. We won't be back. It could be a lovely place, but. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$22
The campground was really wonderful. The bathrooms and showers were very clean, and in great shape. The only negative would be the train! It came through, blew the horn - and the train sounded as if it was right in our bedroom. This happened frequently - during the day and night. If it wasn't for that, we would have given it a higher rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$24
First impressions would not have rated quiet so high. No paved campsites. When you first enter narrow road and these campsites would be hard to get into with big rigs. However it gets better as you get farther starting with site 20. We stayed in site 21 and loved it. This is a small campground and is quiet. The river is beautiful here with hiking trails along the side of it. It also has a washer/dryer at the bath house which came in handy. Lots of trees so getting your satellite set up can be difficult. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$24
There are 30 back-in sites, generally a decent width but not especially deep. All sites have EWS, a fire ring and clothesline. There is no internet, no cable, and laundry is $1 wash, $0.75 dry. There are several easy walking trails, plus a 12 mile trail for the more adventurous. Canoeing is possible along the famous Suwannee River. Non-ranger staff are most pleasant and helpful. There are no ranger-led activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
What a sweet little park this is!! Had site 21 which is actually a pull through, but at an odd angle. If you position on an angle, you can enjoy the larger site with no other site in view. Some sites are very small and tight for a bigger rig, and most have very little privacy. Noticed 4 nice ADA sites with concrete pads, but all were used by obviously not disabled campers. A shame that they were abused for that. Park ranger on check in was very helpful and welcoming. Had a wonderful time canoeing the beautiful, clear and cool Suwannee River of which the park has a nice boat launch on. Nice walking trails all over the park. Beautiful cabins available also, with A/C and big porches. We did find small red ticks (call chiggers?) but just need to brush legs off before going into unit. No Wi-Fi at park anywhere, but able to pull up 7-8 TV channels on just our roof top antennae. Very modern and clean new bathhouse with plenty of hot water and good pressure. Will come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$18
We enjoyed the natural beauty of this park. It is a tight fit for larger units. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$22
This is a very nice park with full hook-ups. Over-the-air TV reception does fade in and out though. The bathrooms are very clean and look very new. There are only 30 camp sites so it is best to make a reservation. There are several trails for hiking. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$24
This is one of the nicest state parks we have ever visited. It has sewer, which a lot of parks don't. It is easy parking (no pull-through spots, though) for a big rig, although some of the spots are for smaller campers. The emphasis here is on nature: lots of trails for walking, some for biking. The park is a good drive from "civilization", and forget setting up your Dish, but if you want to get away, this could be your favorite spot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$22
Very nice, clean park. Lots of shade and walking trails. River access close. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$23
The area is beautiful if you like old growth live oak forests and the river is OK, but certainly not as scenic as rivers farther north. The camping area is nicely wooded and shaded and typical of the quality one would expect out of Florida State Parks. There are some paved sites for disabled access but we didn't see any true "pull thru" sites but perhaps we missed something. They all seemed to be back ins. The showers and bathrooms were nice and clean and well maintained. The sites are nice and again typical of Florida State Parks with sand and dirt base with a fire ring and picnic table. Almost all the sites are nicely shaded and cool although squirrels have fun dropping stuff on your camper from time to time. BEWARE the sewer hookups are way at the front of the site and YOU WILL NEED extra sewer hose to reach them! Overall, this a lovely state park with all the seclusion and untouched beauty one should expect out of north Florida. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
A very nice park with paved roads and hard packed sand/stone sites. The sites are full hookup, freshly renovated and a little tight for a big rig. There is a lot of History at this park including a 200+ year old cemetery that must be hiked to. The sites are mostly full shade. The restrooms are new and are clean and tidy. The Park Ranger staff is very knowledgeable and helpful. This is a great place to relax and get to know your neighbor. T V reception is poor. There is not much to do in the local area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
Beautiful moss laden trees. Nice scenic walking trails. Had a back in site near bathrooms. Well marked path. Good quiet park. Get back to nature here. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$12
The July 2008 review is good. Sites are $22 plus 9% tax, we paid the $11 FL resident senior rate plus tax. Bath house was brand new, plus all sites here now have sewer and 50amp service. Some sites are not suitable for large rigs (call), we are a 36' MH and were put in site 29, got it with a little bit of work and did not have much breathing room. Other sites are very large and get booked early. Batwing was real iffy and barely watchable. Verizon cell and broadband were also weak. Nice trails for walking. Not much else around, but it was OK here for a two night stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$16
Very large sites, some 50A. Every site in the shade. River & trails. Bring your mosquito repellent! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$15
We stayed in site #20 FHU, with picnic table and grill/fire ring. On Reserve America it says it is a pull thru, but site #21 and #28 are instead. They have not updated the site map correctly. Call the ranger station for better info than what RA has because it will tell you no 5ths or MH when they will fit into sites. Park is heavily treed and a lot of sites are very narrow and not deep. Park has recently (1/08) finished putting FHU's into campground with a new bathhouse/laundry as well. Sewer hookups are located more forward than the e/w hookups so bring long hoses, the sewer is not sunk into the ground as normal, it is raised almost a foot off the ground. Campground road is twisty which may make it harder to travel with larger RV's. Normally they have a tram tour on Saturdays but have suspended it right now. Canoeing and kayaking can be done on Suwannee River and you can sit in swings in the day area and watch the river go by. Park has a decent playground easily accessible to the campground but no real designated place to swim. There is a train track right outside of the park and several trains go by in the night. Our family wasn't bothered by them but the ones who stayed in tents and pop ups did notice the noise of the horns. TV reception was not very good in park probably due to so many trees. We traveled to Falmouth Springs one day, which is just a swimming hole with tree swings (about 2.5 mi away) and went to Madison Blue Springs the next (about 10 mi away). Madison was by far the nicer of the two and had a diving platform into the springs as well as a nice shallow area in the river to wade with young kids. There are also tree swings along a path behind the picnic area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$28
Fun park on a neat river. Lots of activities. There were an abundance of atvs that might be disturbing to some, but overall nice campground. We especially enjoyed the Saturday night karaoke. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$15
Park now has paved roads, new bath house, all hookups have been redone. To date, the Reserve America site has not been updated. All sites now have 30/50 amp, and sewer hookups. Some site numbers have changed location due to a new entrance road. Sites 2,3, & 27 are ADA/Paved sites. The new bath house is now behind site #27. The big draw back is the sewer outlets are placed high above grade. We had site #25, and it was un level. We required two boards on the door side to level the trailer, and the sewer outlet was still uphill from the dump valve. Our trailer sets two steps high to the door, so many RV's may have this problem. Also be aware that the sewer outlets are placed to the front of the site, so once you are backed in, you will most likely need extra sewer hose to reach the outlet. We had to move to a different site in order to dump our tanks. We will return, but now we know the sites to avoid. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$15
We did not camp here because the camping area is closed until Nov 2007 for renovations. There will be a brand new bathhouse and sewer hookups when completed. There are a few PT's sites and the higher the number the longer the sites. There is canoing from the park and several hiking trails available for all levels of hikers. There is also a nice picnic area to sit in a swing and watch the river go by. The town of Live Oak is close by for all your needs (including Wal-Mart). There are 5 cabins that are available to stay in while the renovations are on going. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2005
$19
Wonderful state park with mostly large, shaded sites. The park is on the Suwanee and Withlocotchee Rivers, stradling both banks within the park's borders. There are many hiking trails, all but one (the Big Oak Trail 12 miles)under a mile long. Fishing, boating, canoeing, and hiking are some of the activities avaliable. The nearest Wal Mart is 15 miles away, not far enough in my book but given how Florida's open spaces are disappearing, it's pretty impressive. The only reason I did not give a 10 is because a CSX railway is close by and trains break the tranquility of the park from time to time. If you are looking for cement pads, you won't like it here, but for a week in nature this place is wonderful. We stayed the week between Christmas and New Years 2005 in a 25 foot Trail Lite, reservations were a must. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2005
$16
Not for big rigs. Our 35' fiver had a tough time getting to our site. Lots of tight turns and overhangs. The park itself is nice but the campground leaves a lot to be desired. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com