219017 User submitted reviews online!!
Murphy/Peace Valley KOA was rated 9 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (828) 837-6223
CGID4476

Murphy/Peace Valley KOA

Camp Information
Sites
57
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   10   10   10   10   10   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
This was a nice campground. Shaded sites, large pet area, clean bathrooms, pool, and river access. Easy to get to because it is right off of the highway. It is set back far enough though that you don't hear any traffic noise. Walmart is right down the street. My only complaint is that our sight was very tight. Our awning almost hit our neighbor and our slide was right next to our neighbors picnic table. I would not recommend site 18 for large trailers or RVs. That being said, there are some really nice spacious sites at this campground. W just didn't happen to get on of them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Campground was OK, not great. It is on a stream but, as with most commercial campgrounds, the sites are too close together. It has a pool, albeit small. And, the people were very nice. However, it seems like more of a place to park and stay than to vacation. We used it as base to go rafting at the Nantahala Outdoor Center in Bryson City. That was awesome. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$39
The name says it all. Peace Valley was a wonderful campground. We were creekside and enjoyed the beautiful scenery daily. The bathrooms and pool were spotless, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The sites were spacious and level. Overall a wonderful experience! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
This is our favorite campground! The owner and staff are fabulous. They go out of their way to make your stay a wonderful experience. The grounds are immaculate with mature trees shading the sites and a huge fenced dog area. Location is perfect for easy access to kayaking, white-water rafting, hiking, tubing, etc. We love to see a campground with all types of campers: tents to million dollar motorhomes. Truly a family campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
The best part about this KOA is the owner, and staff. Excellent is too low a rating. Just the best. Beautiful little river flows through property, and you can take a short tube ride if you want. Beautiful grounds, lots of stuff for my grandkids to do. Very clean pool.I usually only give Disney a 10, this place was great. If they were to put a hot tub in, the 10's would fall from that beautiful North Carolina sky. We stayed for 6 nights. Don't miss this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
Fantastic area. The owner and staff were wonderful, caring, friendly and maintained the grounds. Nice large dog area fenced. Enjoyed this campground so much we extended our time, and have already made Fall reservations. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
We stayed here with our Good Sam Chapter and had a wonderful time. The owner is very pleasant and most helpful. She is most eager to make your stay here great. The campground sure lives up to it's name. At night, you can almost hear a pin drop outside. Very peaceful and beautiful. The campground and facilities are always spic and span clean. Thank you for having such a wonderful place for us to enjoy the great out of doors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
Very nice campground, we had the best site #25 on the corner. The owner is fantastic, she is probably the nicest person we came across on our 3,000 mile trip. We tubed down the river a lot, kids loved it. We fished in the river, only caught sunfish. They also have a lot of kids and adult activities. The bath house is a little out dated. We camped in a motorhome and will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
Wonderful campground! We have camped here several times and will be back again. Management is friendly and helpful and always willing to do anything to make your stay enjoyable. The campground was full but still quiet and relaxing. Sites are shady and level and the dog area is the nicest I have ever seen. Can't wait to go back in the Fall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
We stayed here as a stopover for one night. We arrived after the office was closed and the camp host met us at the entrance. He was expecting us, as I had called ahead to let them know we would be late. He was very friendly and led us to our site. This is a very nice campground in a pleasant setting with a little river running through the middle. Our site was very level. We were in a 40' motorhome. The host explained that all the sites were recently "laser leveled" with a leveling machine. We didn't use the restrooms, but I checked them out and they were very clean. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
Great park with very clean facilities, Wi-Fi that works and a helpful/friendly staff. The tree shaded sites are level. For added charm, a small river runs through the park. Convenient location for the Smoky Mountain area. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
This is our 4th visit to Peace Valley Campground, and the park is always pleasant to come to. The staff and hosts are excellent and always assure your stay is a pleasant one. The facilities are clean, wi-fi is strong throughout the park, and the management is a class act. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
Very friendly and helpful staff, beautiful area with lots to do. Large play area for pets. Nice pool area, game room. Very good Wi-Fi. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
Very clean. Level sites, lovely landscaping and helpful, friendly staff. Pet friendly with a large fenced-in pet park. Wal-Mart within 2 miles. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$27
I notice many previous ratings are 10's, but an 8 from us is very good. Roads and pads are gravel in good condition. Sites are mostly level. Hook-ups work fine and there is WiFi at the site. Far enough off the highway to be very quiet. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
We camped here twice in October for 3 nights each: it was that nice! Owner and staff were excellent. Can’t say enough how helpful and friendly they were! It was our first trip in our new “big rig” and they were patient and helpful getting us into our site. Camp hosts were wonderful! We highly recommend! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
Was here for a Chinook RV rally. Excellent facility and staff. This campground is very pet friendly, has a nice pet off-leash area. Was too cold to try a canoe or kayak in the river but it looks like it would be great fun. White-water rafting opportunities are very close by. Lots of little water falls: great scenery. The RV sites are nicely spaced but there's no privacy in between them. This isn't a negative against the campground though: the facilities and Wi-Fi are excellent. A very good choice when staying in the Murphy/Marble area of NC. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$27
We camped here with 8 other units and even though the entrance isn't the greatest. I still rated it a 10. The ownership has put a lot of time and money into this campground and it shows. I wish that others could take lessons from the management on Customer Service as it was outstanding. Will we be back? "You Bet". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
I, too, would rate it a 10 except for the entrance. We were lucky enough not to have traffic in the left lane so that we could swing out a little. Stay was very pleasent. Camped with 9 units from Good Sam's Club. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Wonderful place to camp--the owner works especially hard to accommodate and to make everyone have a great time. We went tubing and had a great time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
This park is very well run, family oriented and clean. Dog run is massive and the Wi-Fi performed perfectly. I would have rated this park a 10 if it were not for the rather exciting entrance maneuver required when approaching from the west. 40+ rigs should enter the driveway from the east. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
Great family campground with canoe and tube rentals. Very clean facility and lots of activities. We camped @ site 36 on the river. The only negative was the fire pit was located in the rear of the site on a hill side and was not really usable. Great fenced in dog run area and great WI-FI at our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
Wow. Loved this place. It is managed by the owner and you can tell she cares about her reputation. The site we stayed in , #6, was nice and large and overlooked the "dog park". Even though we do not have a dog it was great fun watching the dogs have such a good time. The park is well thought out, clean, neat, roomy and we would absolutely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
Check-in went well. They had our pre-paid reservation for 4 nights. We selected a site (#52)on the river. It did not have gravel so dirt was a small issue. They did provide a wood platform for our site. The fire ring has recently be moved and was partially full of wood and ashes. The other ring site was about 4 feet away and the ashes were still there. The hosts were helpful and friendly. The pool was nice. There did have 3 washing machines and 3 dryers which we used. $1 each. The game room was very hot so it was difficult to use. The new pet area was GREAT. They have a 250 foot by 250 foot fenced ares for dogs. Our dog loved it. The Wifi did not work at our site. They told us the antenna on that side of the camp was broke. I still could not get a signal anywhere else at camp. They do have a desktop computer (Wifi) that people can use. I used it each day. The first and second days it worked fair at best. The last two days it worked much better. We are geocachers so not having Wifi was hard on us. It also made it difficult finding a place to stay later in the week. Good people, nice place, needs some gravel in a few sites, needs better Wifi. Kids would love this place. They did have some long term residents. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
We loved this campground, staff was excellent, great campground for families, sites large enough and easy to get into. We stayed with 2 other families and had a great time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
Camped here for 8 days along with other family members with their camper. This campground is wonderful! The owners and hosts were super nice. The facilities were everything you look for in a campground. Water front sites were beautiful. I loved the place. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
The host met us at the entrance, showed us directly to our site and helped us park. When I purchased firewood later, he delivered it to our site. The park was very tidy and attractive. We had a pull-through site next to the recreation area. It was perfect for keeping an eye on our kids as they played. They especially enjoyed the sand box and of course the pool. They also enjoyed skipping rocks in the nearby stream. The only thing missing was a playground. It was a very short drive to the Great Smokey Mountains National Park. We will probably be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
Nice Park Nice Sites on River in shade. Great for a Family only drawback is that it is a tight turn if arriving East bound and gravel road can be very dusty We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
Very nice and neat. Staff and owner are pleasant. We had mechanical troubles and had to be towed from the campground soon after our arrival. They were very supportive during our troubles and let us leave our tow dolly. We returned for 2 more nights after repairs were made to the coach. Nice folks and nice campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
Peace Valley was not on my Top 10 list before this last visit, and now it's on my do not trust list. We paid for three days in advance when we made the reservations a week before. But after two nights stay we had to leave. We left a hour before the check out time. The owner, refused to refund us for the unused day. She said she could not be refunding everybody their money if they decide to leave early. Peace Valley will need more than my $30.00 to improve. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$30
A great campground and it is Passport America affiliated, so the nightly rate can be half of the normal $30. The campground has new owners that have made many positive changes. Murphy is a great place to do your fall "Leaf Watching" in the N.C. mountains. We have stayed in very few campgrounds that are nicer than Peace Valley. The owners couldn't be more accommodating and the host is the "Go To Guy" for anything you need. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com