218863 User submitted reviews online!!
Dean Creek Resort was rated 5 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (707) 923-2555
CGID449

Dean Creek Resort

Camp Information
Sites
64
Date of Stay
July 2010
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   1   6   7   4   5   5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
We wanted a stop over spot for one night, and had a RV site and a tent site. Dean Creek is a pretty little campground right off Hwy 101. You will hear the traffic. It is an older campground that looks like it is getting some upgrades, but has a ways to go. The staff was friendly. They have a pool, spa and sauna. They have an old minature golf course that is free and was fun despite needing repairs. The sites are very close, if you have slide outs you are right over the next site's picnic table or fire pit. I was also overcharged and am waiting to see if they make it right. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2009
$38
This used to be our campground of choice in this beautiful area. Our children and grandchildren live near this campground so it was a great choice when it was owned by the Gabriels. Sandy always ran it with all children under control. Now under new ownership it has changed for the worse. Children are tolerated only . We did not in any way feel the grandchildren were welcomed there. We were forced to pay for an extra campsite even tho all non campers paid day use fees. Our older grandchildren were told they could not walk around the park unattended. They are 12. 14 and 15. This is an age where they do not need attending. The manager drove around constantly in a golf cart to make sure we adhered to all rules at all times. It was very clear he did not like any local person there. The manager also walked into our motor home with out knocking to inform us our granddaughter must be with an adult to walk around. She is 14. It was not a safety issue it was an issue of her being a local person as there were other children not attended and not being harassed. This is a camp ground in beautiful shade that is very old and thus has an appeal of an old resort. The sites are sometimes hard to get in and out of but the actual beauty of the place makes up for it. This was in the old days of the old owners. Now the place is looking more like a campground but the plumbing in the restrooms is bad . Toilets don't flush, showers don't work, or have such low flow it is hard to rinse soap out of hair. The restrooms were just plain dirty now. The live ins also made noise all night long. Cars going in and out all night long into the long term area. We left 3 days early. From this place we went to Benbow resort. There our grandchildren were welcomed even tho they were locals. No shade at all but a purely pleasant experience and modern restrooms and hookups that allowed our air in daytime and heat at night time. We will never go back to Dean creek again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$31
The park is old and they do not have a lot of sites for big rigs. They did find one for us and it was OK after we maneuvered around an obstacle of trees. There are a number of permanent residence in this park so there are not a lot of sites available for the traveling RVer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$36
This campground is in a scenic and quiet location on the Eel River in the heart of the California Redwoods. It is an older facility with limited accommodations for larger RVs but we had no trouble with our 35' motor home. Our site was "on the river" but it was some distance away and not visible, partly at least because this was mid-summer and the water level was very low. Our biggest complaint was that the park's power grid was inadequate to support the load in the summer heat. We had only 105 volts at our site and could not run our A/C on it. We did get permission to run our generator for a few hours until after dark when the outside temperature cooled down. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
This park is absolutely over priced! There is no way it is worth over $30 per night. It is old, very narrow roads, dusty, noisy (kids and activity)dirty water (O.K to drink but brown from a well). We paid $36 and that was with a discount. I will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$37
I agree with the other poster except to say that it was a tight fit for a 40' motorhome. We had one of the "river front" sites, which was on the river bed, but the actual river was a short walk away. Nice and quiet setting, but too much money for what you get. I think they jacked up the prices to pay for the pavement that's buckling because of upcoming tree roots. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2005
$36
We've stayed here a couple times over the past 4 years when we stop to visit friends nearby on our way to Oregon. A few years ago it was great. This year, however, (2005) they raised the price to what we considered exorbitant for the area and for what you get ($36 for one full hook-up night). We didn't consider the driveway to be steep at all, just a slight hill. And there are no waterfront sites, although there are sites from which you can see the river. It's a short walk down a rocky path to actually get to the water. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, but we saw nothing to justify the large rate hike. The upper section is filled with permanent or semi-permanent residents, and the lower area was virtually empty. So why was the only other camper to pull in to the lower area given a site right next to ours, leaving the whole rest of the lower campground completely empty. Maybe it's just us but we prefer a modicum of privacy if space in the park permits. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Lot of resident rv's, clean but dusty,steep driveway into the RV park. Only stayed one night We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com