223511 User submitted reviews online!!
Saltwater Farms Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (207) 354-6735
CGID4491

Saltwater Farms Campground

Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   5   8   9   5   1   9   9   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$45
We try to get here once a year. Really would like to say something bad so nobody else would come but this really is a gem. Great place to use as to browse the midcoast of maine. We got to know the area pretty well and still feel like we need 2 weeks to re-visit our favorite haunts. Power, water and roads good. Wifi usually very good. No cable and limited local TV stations. Do not follow GPS to get here. Use US route 1 to prison store (visit later) and turn "east". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$41
This small park is fairly convenient to Camden, and a good stopover for folks moving up or down the coast of Maine. The entry road is gravel with a lot of potholes, but they were making an effort to fill the holes during our stay. Sites in the "premium" areas were narrow gravel back-ins, and the front row of the premium section had a nice view of the water. We found a level site, but several others were not even close to level and many of the grass sites would not be usable for a large RV. Spacing between sites was decent, 50 amp power and water pressure were good, and premium sites had sewer. Most sites had tables and fire pits. Wi-Fi was provided, but very slow. The staff was friendly, once we located someone. We chose a site and parked, but it took quite a while before we found someone at the office to check us in. The laundry room was old and consisted of 2 washers, 2 dryers and no folding table - not user friendly. The bathrooms and showers were very old and the shower stalls were in bad shape. I would not use them unless I had to. Grocery stores and other services were approximately 15 minutes away. Although this was a quiet place off the main highway, we think it was overpriced for a place with such old facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
Great water views. Strange site buildups attempting to make level. Good location to explore the coast from Thomaston to Lincolnville. Difficult roads to get to the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Beautiful setting overlooking St. George River. Level sites. Small laundry. Cold restrooms and showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$48
The park is in a good location for visiting mid-coast Maine. However, I paid $154 including tax for a 3 night stay and one would expect more than a place to park. It looks like they have not done any improvements in thirty years. The interior roads are in bad shape and only about eight feet wide. All sites are back-in and you have to swing off the road to back your trailer in which puts your truck (or car) into a swale of grass and mud. I had to use 4 wheel drive in order to back uphill onto my site. I witnessed another 5th wheel that was larger than mine not being able to be placed on the site after about 30 minutes of spinning in the muddy grass. The park is on the water but the stairs leading down a steep bank to the water have rotted away and have not been replaced. Don't bother bringing your kayak like I did. Also, there is nothing here for kids to do except for the pool. The seasonal residents think that they own the place and two of them asked me to move my camper as it was blocking their view and I was on a site assigned by the owner. I would only stay here again off season for half price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
This park has some pros and cons. The pro is that it has large sites in general. There are a lot of cons: The first is that it is full of unfriendly old people. Every year it is more filled with seasonals of retirees who are not friendly and do not like dogs or kids. There is not one thing for a child to do there. The owners are not friendly at all. The second thing is that most of the "sites" are in a field that is a mud pit most of the time except for August and September. They refuse to put any money into building up the sites. Then, you are on your own if you get stuck in the mud mire. They claim to have wi-fi, but it is a home system which doesn't extend to the sites. Lastly, the electricity is sub par at best. We used an auto-former to try to bring the electricity up to par, but it blew out our auto former. Could be a nice park, but the owner's won't put in the improvements needed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
Just spent a week at this campground and it was great. Quiet, scenic and clean. Its a great place to stay if you want to visit mid coast Maine. Will definitely go back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Great campground, sites overlooked St. George River, nice sites, close to many beautiful places and sightseeing. Staff were very friendly and helpful suggesting places to visit which were great. Would loved to have stayed longer. This one one of my favorite areas of the Maine coast, not as touristy and congested. One of my favorite places during our five month trip across the U.S. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
We really like this park. Beautiful view of the bay. Facilities are so clean. The staff is so friendly and accommodating. Quiet and peaceful in a rural setting and yet so convenient to everything you want to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
You must drive into Thomaston to get to this campground and over a one-lane bridge. Rate is Passport America; regular rate is $45/night. Good park with friendly management. Fairly level gravel sites; bathhouse clean but old; men’s side had a definite list to it. Full hookup was convenient; a motorhome with slides might have problems with the sites dug into the hill because they are narrow. The Wi-Fi was very poor; almost worse than no WiFi at all. Access to the water was a long walk down from your site, but you have a great view of the river from most of the sites. Sites have metal rings for fires and very lush grass. Fair gravel access road that is muddy in the rain. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$39
This is a small park on top of a hill gently sloping toward the bay/river. Views from the premium sites 36-40 are especially good. The WiFi and full 50A hookups worked great. All sites are grass and gravel and reasonably level. Our only complaint is water. It's been a wet spring, and it poured while we were there. Our site was puddled with water all 5 days we where there. In addition, the roads are mostly mud with very little gravel. I spun the tires on our diesel pusher trying to get out of there. I barely made it. I understand that another gentlemen sunk in and had to be towed out earlier in the week. In dry weather, we highly recommend this park. In wet weather, camp somewhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
This is a nice park. The check in staff was extremely friendly and the view of the river was tremendous. However, the site we had was carved into the mountain side and made it extremely unsafe to get to your basement compartments in your motor home. Also, there had been several days of rain so the acess road, dirt roads in the campground and our site were pot holed and water logged. Our leveling jacks were submersed in water. If the sites had not been carved into the side of the hill which made the water table so high we might not have had a site which had so much water on it that would not drain. The pool was not open yet and the lounge was merely an unheated garage area. We did not use the showers as we have a hard time understanding why you pay $40 a day and still have to pay additional money for a shower. Perhaps in a time when there is not rain it might be a nice place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
You must drive into Thomaston to get to this campground. Good park with friendly management. We had no problem with 30A electricity. The Wi-Fi was excellent. Access to the water was a long walk down from your site, but you have a great view of the river from most of the sites. This is a campground that caters to adults. Grass is well mowed and workers are friendly and helpful. Sites have metal rings for fires and very lush grass. I would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$38
Nice park, friendly management. Bath houses were adequate: showers cost 25 cents for 3 mins. Water and 50AMP electric were clean: no problems with voltage or tripping breakers. Access to coastal Maine towns was terrific. Very quiet campground, not much activity for children. Campfires permitted in metal rings. sites relatively level with thick, green grass. Easily accommodates a 40' motorhome. Best sites were #'s 36 through 40 which had unobstructed view of the river. Would definitely go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$29
Great view. Friendly management. Hard to locate, had to ask for directions. Suggest to owners to improve signage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com