214620 User submitted reviews online!!
Monte Sano State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 45 user reviews. Phone: (256) 534-6589
CGID45

Monte Sano State Park

Camp Information
Sites
89
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   8   7   9   9   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$26
We enjoyed our stay. This is kind of a local park for us but its was good for a quiet getaway, and we went to work from the campground. As mentioned, it is a quiet park and the scenery over Huntsville is something to see. Park is close to Huntsville so there are plenty of places to eat. Staff was friendly. I would have given it a 9 or 10 but the roads once you turn off of Governors drive are kind of narrow and go through some neighborhoods along the way. Also they need a better entrance sign. It is kind of hidden and to close to actual turn off spot so you can run by it before you know it (like I did). Luckily there was some more roads that led back to it without much trouble. All in all we had a good stay and we would stay here again for a short trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
This is a great RV Park! Large sites with a lot of mature trees. The sites are farther apart and separated by trees so you have more privacy than you normally get. It was nice and quiet. We stayed in a nice pull thru with full hook-ups and fire pit. Bathrooms/showers kept clean despite quite a bit of traffic. The pads are crushed gravel, but ours was fairly level. Great playground and lots of hiking trails. We also visited the Huntsville Space & Science Center, which is a 15-20 minute drive away. We would visit again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
Great park. Nice sites. Beautiful park setting. Just be careful which road you take up to the park!! Use Monte Sano Blvd SE only!! Only wished we stayed longer We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Beautiful park with wonderful nature trails, plenty of shade, and space in between campsites. Downside is the restroom and showers. Poor water pressure, and renovation needed. We would stay again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$18
Nice level gravel sites within shady forest setting. Okay rest rooms but were in a need of a cleaning. Maybe things were out of sorts because a terrible thunderstorm just passed through the area with lightening hitting trees, knocking out electrical, cable and Wi-Fi and they were trying to get things going again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$26
Clean, quiet park. Some sites had sewer hookups, which is uncommon in most state parks. It was not a busy time of year so we had lots of privacy. The sites were wide and shaded. There were hiking trails and some beautiful vistas of areas surrounding the mountain. The location was excellent. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
This was our first visit to Monte Sano campground and we really enjoyed it. We stayed on the outer part of the Record Drive loop & had a nice view of city lights below through the trees. The sites are shady and roomy. The bath house was clean & well supplied. We enjoyed the peace and quiet at night and a beautiful view of the stars, since there are no street lights along the loop. The city of Huntsville is only about 5 minutes from the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$21
Rate reflects average of four night of camping. Two nights at discounted rate ($19), and two (Friday & Saturday) at full rate of $22). Plus 11% tax. Previous reviews are pretty much right on. Our site (#13) was a bit uneven for our 28 foot rig, but we made it work. No cellular service (Verizon) but plenty of local over the air TV. Very clean restrooms. Got a bit busy on the weekend, but there were plenty of empty sites, too. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$17
This is a very nice park. The showers were very clean, and all of the utilities were excellent. Due to the tree cover I was unable to use satellite TV at my site. However, at some of the other sites they were able to use the satellite. I didn't get to hike any of their extensive hiking trail network, but will do so next time I come here. I will definitely come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
On this trip, all of our check-ins seemed to be after the office closed, and this was no exception. The camp host came out to us to let us in, because we sat in the parking lot making a quick bathroom stop before figuring out how to check-in after hours. He was a quiet guy, not welcoming, but not unfriendly. He and his wife helped me pick a site that would be good for our size and he even took me for a ride through the campground on his golf cart to preview the sites. The park itself is stunning. Paved roads through-out and nicely sized sites. We didn't use them, but they even had some "A & B" sites where 2 campers could be parked together. The sewer sites were limited and unavailable by the time we checked-in on a Friday. I didn't have any problems with the 30amp electricity, but we were at family events each day and didn't spend much time at the camper at all. I'd gladly stay here again. A quick comment about the roads leading to it. For big rigs, avoid Bankhead Parkway and Fearn St. instead opting for Monte Sano Blvd. There is a 10mph switchback/hairpin curve to contend with. I made it with my 42' FW and 22' dually/crew cab truck, but made the choice to go down the mountain differently. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
This park is very shaded and on top of a mountain. There are many bike and walking trails and a nice lookout point to see the city from above. There is also an observatory for watching stars which was open Saturday night. Overall it is a great park, except I kept tripping the 30 amp fuse on the box, and the few sewer sites available are not reservable. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
Very nice state park. We live nearby and I work in Huntsville so we decided to just camp for a few days while I worked. The sites are large and in a wooded setting. They have taken steps to keep it natural and still provide some conveniences. Nice staff and clean restrooms. Great views just a few steps away. I would recommend to anyone looking for a state park type setting. If you need a pool, clubhouse, internet, etc. this is not for you. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
Monte Sano was a beautiful park. Sites were spacious, nice picnic table, fire ring, generally level. Bathrooms were quite nice for a state park. I am however, hooked on my technology and cell service was sporadic and had many dropped calls. Verizon air card in computer rarely got above one bar. If you are a hiker or love bicycling, this is a good place for you. Convenient to Huntsville. Tree cover is dense so no satellite TV either. Very quiet during the week, but on Friday the place filled up and got very busy. We stayed in a water/electric site only. There are only about 10 or 12 sewer sites on each of two loops. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
Exceptional State park!! Beautiful views, great trails,the staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful. The bath houses were very clean and well stocked. The campsites were level, easy to back into and hookups were easy. Wi-Fi worked in the parking lot only and I had no Mobil phone reception which was OK with me; I was there to get away from it all The drive up the mountain was nice with a hairpin curve or two, but the pull was easy. I recommend this park to anyone who wants to get away and be close to everything with Huntsville just down the hill. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
In general the park has the basic requirements has shade trees, clean bathrooms, hiking trails etc. What is missing for a park this size and years of service is no TV and Wi-Fi hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
Nice campground with friendly staff. Lots of shady campsites which was great for cooling, but not so good if you want to use a satellite dish. Got local channels with RV antenna. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
Had been here once before to visit a friend camping here and vowed to return. Spent the night of the super moon on top of the mountain and had a terrific time. Great spot, very level, easy hook ups and lots of nature. I hiked about 3 miles this morning before we left and really loved the trails. Great place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
Did not expect to find such a beautiful state park in the city. Wish we could have stayed more than two days. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
The park is very nice with several hiking trails and some incredible views. Most sites are level with gravel pads. Getting up to the park can be a little rough if you have a large RV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$19
This is a beautiful wooded park, but it is in the woods. There appeared to be little "maintenance of the grounds" in and around the RV sites. I also had difficulty finding a site that did not have damaged electrical outlets (many of them looked quite old). The sites are also 'paved' with tiny gravel, which can be problematic in keeping your rig's floors clean. There is a small playground in the RV park, and a really nice one inside the park itself. Note: There is an "entrance fee" to get into Monte Sano State Park, but they wave the fee if you tell them you are going to the the RV park. Overall, a very peaceful stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$21
We were pleased with the ease of accessibility to this camp and the level sites. It is an older park, and many of the sites do not have sewer, but they have two flush-out spots. The hiking was great and the area in general was beautiful. It's very family friendly with lots of young families riding bikes throughout the campground. We had good cell service and local TV reception. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$20
Fourth stay here - did not have reservation but volunteer was very helpful in getting us in and assigning us a site. We were able to get Directv on our site. Quiet, nice walking trails, great views from the overlooks. Bathrooms heated which was a bonus! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$23
This is a lovely park on top of a mountain. We chose to stay here because the other choices in Huntsville did not appeal to us. It is not easy to get to and would not work for just overnight. We had a large pull through. We did not get to enjoy the views or the park itself because it rained the entire time we were here. We would return when visiting Huntsville again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$23
One of the few state campgrounds that can take a big rig (45'). Very quiet. Many trees so satellite TV is not available. Very convenient to Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail - Hampton Cove course. Can pay day by day so no commitment necessary. Also nice to have 50 amps, water and sewer although they won't take reservations for those campsites, but they will for sites with just W&E. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
A pass code is required to enter the gated RV park. The RV park was well kept, and the staff were helpful, and nice. There is a nice playground for the children in Monte Sano Park, and a very small one in the RV park as well. The overlooks are nice, and the weather is cooler on Monte Sano than it is in downtown Huntsville, which is nice during the summer. The park is convenient to the city, and close to Huntsville Hospital. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
I was very disappointed in this campground. It was difficult to locate, the roads in the immediate campground were in deplorable condition. Sites are gravel but fairly level. The area around the water faucet needed gravel and was very muddy. Would not stay in this area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$21
Very scenic park on top of a mountain. Have stayed here several times and still enjoy visiting this park. The kids enjoyed the planetarium on the weekend and the playground area. Lots of scenic hiking trails and wildlife. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
This is a beautiful campground that has the best of both worlds! You can stay in the park the whole time and enjoy wonderful hiking, great family bike trails (or harder if you prefer), and an awesome playground. Or: you can stay here and be minutes away from all there is to see and do in the Huntsville area. The sites themselves are very roomy and separated nicely from each other. The campground has lots of trees and is fairly level, no matter what site you are in. Unlike many other state parks, the sites are large and can accommodate bigger RVs. One word of caution. Many GPS units have you enter the park from a direction that takes you up a long and steep mountain. You should enter the park via US 431. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Located on top of Alabama mountain, nice staff with large sites. Great stop for a few days while kids go to space camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$18
There is plenty room between sites. The site was level and well maintained. The park was very quiet and almost empty due to the time of year. I could not get a satellite signal due to the amount of trees covering over our site. We will return and stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
We spent a few days here, seeing the Rocket Center and the mansion down the hill from the park, both well worth the visits. The park is very well done, with spectacular overlooks from a road near the campground. Be careful of ticks this year in the grasses and woods around the campground. If you like hiking/walking, there is a very good paved road leading from the overlook parking area for about a mile or so with a good but gentle grade. It's the old road into the park which is now closed. We liked the park and would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
This is a very nice/rustic campground on top of Monte Sano mountain in Huntsville, Alabama. The sites are varied from small to quite spacious. There is a limited number of full-hookup sites available, so you need to get there early to snag one of those sites. There seems to be a movement to update the campground if the state will release some money and if that happens, we were told that all sites would be full hookup and many improvements would be made. This is a nice campground for a quiet weekend. Huntsville is minutes away, and there is plenty to do up at the state park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$19
Monte Sano State Park sits on a high Plateau above Huntsville, Alabama. It is a lovely campground with nicely spaced campsites and numerous hiking trails. The internal one way roads are asphalt. Most sites are back-ins. Only 9 have full hook-ups, and these are first come first served. Reservations can be made for a campsite in general with water/electric service (30 and 50 amp). Once you arrive you pick a specific site and can switch to a full hook-up site if one is available. Primitive sites are also available with no hook-ups. Security is excellent with a coded entry gate. If you arrive after 5pm, you can check in with the camp hosts in the first RV past the security gate. A camp store is available with some basic necessities for sale. On the back side of this building are clean laundry facilities with 4 washer and 4 dryers. This is a popular campground and is very full on week-ends. Be sure you approach the campground from the right direction. A GPS will likely bring you by way of Washington Street to Pratt Avenue onto a steep winding road with 30’ length restrictions. We made it only because God answered prayers and protected us when we had to swing into the other traffic lane. Moments after we got back into our own lane, a delivery truck came barreling around the next curve coming too fast to have stopped. . The correct approach is from Highway 431 onto Monte Sano Blvd. This is still a steep winding approach, but the turns are not nearly as sharp and are manageable. Plenty of shopping is within a 5-6 mile driving distance. One of the main near-by attractions is the US Space & Rocket Center. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$21
We really enjoyed this park. There are a lot of trees; therefore, there is plenty of shade. We saw a lot of people with pets. The only complaint we have is that they do not enforce the speed limit throughout the campground. There are no speed bumps through the campground so vehicles traveled very fast! I actually feared for my kids that were riding their bikes. The couple that ran the front gate were very friendly and helpful. They drive throughout the campground frequently and keep everything under control. The campground was very quiet, peaceful, and very neat. I would give it a "10" if it not for the speeding traffic. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$14
The reason for the low rating is some sites had problem with electricty. They had three sites hooked up to a 100 amp fuse which kept triping causing lose of power to the sites. It appears the fuses and wiring were old and needed to be updated. I and several others found the road signs hard to find/read. Host was outstanding. Country store very limited supplies. Sites were nice and large enough. Should be a nice campground for use during the fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$17
We camped here for Mother's Day weekend. The campsites are nicely wooded and not so "open". Some of the campfire pits were close to the road but we found one that wasn't. The bathrooms are not new but they could not have been any cleaner! I used the bathhouse rather than my camper most of the time. The big playground was awesome and my kids loved it. We did a little mountain biking. Trails vary from very easy to advanced. The views are breath-taking. I live only 30 minutes from Monte Sano. This was my first camping trip. For a short trip, we'll come back here often. It was the nicest state park I've seen in Alabama. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$16
This is a very large park at 2340 acres on top of a mountain east of Huntsville. Roads are blacktop with gravel sites. Sites are very nice and close to level. Lots of trees, sat. TV systems will not work here. At check in parking lot is a little small for large motorhomes. Park has nice cabins to rent. Park is noise free, very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$16
This was our first time to Monte Sano and we really enjoyed the park. The hiking was wonderful. There are all kinds of trails from easy to very difficult. We tried all of them except the very difficult. At this time FEMA has set up approx 20 TT for evacuees from hurricane Katrina at the park. The evacuees are allowed to live in the TTs for 18 months. I was concerned before going to the park, but I was very surprised. All were families. The kids went off to school and most parents went off to work. All were kind and grateful for a place to stay. The restrooms were clean. Some of the shower curtains were mildewed and need to be replaced. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$18
We liked this campground. Quiet, spread out, shaded, cool, mostly bug free. 30 Amp and 2 120v outlets, water. There is a nice playground but its a good hike/ride away. Bathhouse was cleaned daily and we not bad at all. Sites well spaced and level made of crushed gravel. Fire pit with grill cover for cooking. No wood for sale. There is a little store with basic supplies, but closes at 5:00 PM. One of our favorites campsites. Hiking trails over the mountain, some great views. Everyone is very nice. Large and small seemed welcome. Controlled well with the gate entrance. Some long-term setups but they never seemed to be there. Good over air TV with all three networks close by. We have camped there three times in a Pop-up. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2005
$17
Sites nice and wide, pretty level and not stacked on top of each other, lots of trees, plants and birds. Close to shopping and services, roads leading to the park are a bit steep and curvy in sections but very doable in our 30 ft class A. Loved the nightime views of Huntsville from the campsite. Unfortunately bathrooms/showers and laundry were rather shabby and not overly clean. Dump station was easy to get in to and out of but water was not working when we were there. Overall we had a good experience, loved the location and the views and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2005
$18
This was our second time to visit this campground. The last time we went (the previous review from over a year ago), we stayed on the rim of the mountain with only partial hook-ups. This time, we stayed in a full hook-up site. I did notice that there were several campers that were unoccupied all weekend. This is a disappointment as all of them were in full hook-up sites. Several of the campers were for people that were working in town. Which is fine, but there were only two full hook-up sites left when we got there - out of about 20. This visit was in February. Apparently there are time limits for stays during the peak season of 14 days. Still, the scenery was very pretty and we really enjoyed riding bikes and walking on the trails. Despite being so close to a big town, the overlooks are very pretty! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$16
Nice shaded park with large sites. Some pull through available. Limited number of sites have sewer. No reservations taken for sewer sites - first come first served. This is okay in quieter times but would be an inconvenience with a big rig if no sewer site were available and staying for more than a couple of days. The trick is to get there early. Very easy access to Huntsville which has lots to do for all the family. The site itself does not have much for children to do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$16
We went here in the dead cold of winter. There were no leaves on the trees and we had a site on the outer loop. As a result, at night we could see the town lit up in the valley - very pretty. There are plenty of beautifull hiking trails in this park and some of the scenery overlooking the surrounding valleys is spectacular. On certain nights of the month, the very close Observatory is open to star gaze. The lodge was under renovation when we visited. It looked like it would be very nice when completed. We will definitely consider visiting this park again when in the area. Even in the cold, we really enjoyed it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$16
Nice, quiet campground on top of a mountain overlooking Huntsville. Paved roads and all sites are level. If you go, be sure to take Hwy 431 to Monte Sano Blvd. Do not go the way of Bankhead Parkway. It is quite a climb up-but don't let that stop you. THis place has some great hiking and mountain biking. Also has a campstore and also a traffic-control gate. Lots to see and do in Huntsville. The only reason I didn't give it a '10' was I thought they could have offered more for kids to do. We would definitely come again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$15
Very nice overall. Beautiful overlooks and hiking/mountain biking trails. Feels very remote but very conveinent to Huntsville. Not a lot of activity but does have playgrounds for the kids and is very quiet and peaceful. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com