220520 User submitted reviews online!!
Riley Creek Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (907) 683-9532
CGID4501

Riley Creek Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
146
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   9   9   8   9   9   4   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$22
We stayed here on two different occasions and both times were able to get a very nice site. Sites are private and well spaced. Reservations are a must during peak summer time. You do not book individual sites. You reserve an "A" site for RVs over 30 ft or a "B" site under 30 ft. Reservations mean there will be an available site for you so get there early for a first come first serve choice. Some sites have short narrow drives, so parking your RV and tow vehicle will be tight. Facilities and sites are well maintained. We loved our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$12
If you have a big rig and want to stay in Denali National Park, this is your only choice of the 5 campgrounds - but it's a lovely one. We stayed 3 nights here, and would have stayed longer, but like most national parks, the campground has no hookups, and our house batteries were dead. We paid only $12 a night because we got the senior rate, which is half the normal rate - but even without hookups, $20 or $25 is definitely worth it. Lots of trees, plenty of peace and quiet, wide level sites (but if you have a big rig, not many sites to accommodate you, so call ahead for reservations). There's a camp store within walking distance with supplies, ice and treats, and there are bathrooms (pit toilets, but clean) interspersed throughout the campgrounds. Showers are available - we didn't use them, but we heard they're clean and no limit on how long you shower ($4 including towel). I love national park campgrounds, and this one was definitely a special place. Even my "What, no hookups?!" husband agreed he would come back to Riley Creek. We have a 40 ft RV and would return in a heartbeat. By the way, if you go to Denali National Park, definitely take the shuttle bus to Eilsen Visitor Center - the view of the mountain is spectacular! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$22
This is a very busy campground. When you pre-book, you are not assigned a specific site; as we arrived closer to 6pm. It took us quite a while to find a spot large enough to fit our 24 ft trailer as many of the large sites had already been chosen by tenters. Wash houses have flush toilets and sinks are fairly clean. There was a good ranger presentation in evenings at the ampi-theatre that was very interactive for the kids. It costs $4 to shower at the main store, but you get a nice almost fluffy towel to use. The shower room was well maintained although the showers weren't super clean when we used them at the end of the day. Steady line up to use the 4 or 5 sets of laundry machines, but at least they have Wi-Fi to use while you're waiting. Don't forget that if you camp here, you also have to pay the National Park Service entry fee on top of the camping fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
Located near the entrance of Denali National Park. Very close to the general store, showers, laundry, and dump station. A resident moose wandered through camp the 2 nights we stayed there. We will definitely stay here again when visiting the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$11
Rate reflects senior access pass. We originally reserved Savage River, but it wasn't open - too much snow. Even Riley had one closed loop and the middle loop was snow covered. We picked a site in Bear loop as it had less snow. Basic dry camping. The dump was frozen, though they had it open before we left. We stayed two nights. The loops are well planned and the park staff very helpful. Showers at the check in store cost four bucks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
My usual complaint to high for dry camping even for NPS. Very nice campground, nice interior roads plenty of room. Even though I thought it was a little high priced I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$11
We spent four nights here. It was a great base for exploring the park. The bus stops at the campground. The campground was neat and clean. There were ranger programs and walks available. The best halibut and chips we found in Alaska were at Denali Nat'l Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
We stayed at Riley Creek for 3 nights. We were a little ahead of the crowds in Alaska so we had no trouble at all without reservations. Very nice NPS campground. Got to see moose in our campsite, not just in the campground, in our campsite. Very clean. Store prices a little high but then it is Alaska and took almost everything we needed. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
Reservations were challenging. It took the staff 4 times to finally get our reservation correct using all three methods (online, phone, in person). Staff was not friendly and did not provide information. Berry picking options from campsite. Relatively quite. Generator hours: 8-10 am and 4-8 pm. $4 for showers (includes towel). Laundry facilities are available. Small store is located on site. The 1st and 3rd loop contain more large RV sites. Numerous level sites available. Three dumps stations are available. Four potable water hoses are available. Expect un-experienced sani station Class C users. The free shuttle bus stops at the campground. Pit and flush toilets available. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$16
Loved this campground. For a U.S. national park, it was one of the nicest in which we have ever camped. We knew going in that there was no water or electricity, but we were pleasantly surprised to find that there was a small gift/convenience store with some limited groceries (which weren't overpriced) within walking distance of our camp area. Furthermore, we had cell phone service there and OUTSTANDING Wi-Fi service. There were also electrical ports around the covered patio where everyone was plugging in cell phones, camera batteries, and using Wi-Fi, plugged in. The showers were $4.00 - but that included a towel for the price. Bathrooms were very clean. It was surprising to find such nice amenities at a national park. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Great walking trails, easy access to the visitor's center, staff were all really nice and very close to beautiful scenery. There was a moose and her two calves bedded down in the site, which was nice as long as you know not to go near them. Spaces are semi-private with lots of trees and easy access. Would definitely use again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
We had reserved three nights but left after two. The campground has three loops: we chose the loop farthest from the store but realized quickly that it's closest to the highway. We could hear trucks braking and cars all night. Also, there is a lot of plane and helicopter noise as well. If we ever go back, we'll stay deeper into the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
First class National Park campground. No hookups, but very large, well spaced campsites. Lots of trees, good roads, fairly level gravel campsites (some leveling required at our site). Our 35' Fifth Wheel fit nicely in an "A" site. Get there early for best site selection - you pay at the Mercantile then go select your site and hang your receipt on the post. Wi-Fi available only at the Mercantile or the Grill near the Visitor Center. Would absolutely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
Riley Creek Campground is what we expected of a National Park campground. There were no hookups but the sites were wooded with vegetation between sites to offer privacy. The ground is covered with spongy moss and berries. Fall was in full swing at the first of September and the trees were golden with beautiful white trunks of the Aspen and the ground vegetation mainly red. Berries were in abundance. Each site had a table and fire pit. We registered on arrival at the Mercantile where we found that there were showers available for $4.00 for unlimited hot shower and Wi-Fi along with cell phone coverage. You paid for the shower in the Mercantile and were given a towel and key to enter your shower. They had benches for convenience in storing supplies separate from the shower area. We chose Riley Creek due to its location near the entrance and near the bus access for our tour to Kantishna which is 92 miles on gravel road into the park. I would highly recommend the trip as we saw all the "big five" and others on numerous occasions. Our driver/interpreter truly loved the park and accommodated both sides of the bus being able to see the many sightings of wildlife. There is complimentary transportation for campers within the first 15 miles of the paved park road. A visit to the kennels is a must to view the dog sledding demonstration. The visitor's center with its film and displays is informative. We enjoyed the campfire program on raptors in the park. My only complaint is the plane and helicopter noise near the entrance but we were aware of that before choosing the campground. There was not a kiosk for collecting fees for the park but we were charged in our reservation. There are so many well maintained hiking trails within the campground leading to all of the facilities. There was no need to crank up the RV during the entire 3 night visit. I would recommend if coming from Anchorage stopping in Talkeetna and flying over Mt. Denali with K2 Aviation. I strongly recommend it and also a glacier landing. The view of Mt. Denali from land or air is just breathtaking! I have now completed visiting in 49 states and camping in the last of most of the national parks set aside in this beautiful country. I will never forget the inspiring visit to Denali National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$14
This was a four day visit. CG hosts OK'd our using an unreserved Handicap site so our 40' MH would fit. The other Category "A" sites (40' RV's) all taken by smaller RV's, despite our reservation. Category "B" sites are for shorter RV's. Our VZ aircard worked fine here. Riley Creek Mercantile nearby has good Wi-Fi, showers, small convenience store. Denali post office is nearby. Good location to get your bearings about Denali NP. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$14
Wooded sites with lots of room between them. Varying lengths on sites. Divided into A sites for long rigs, and B sites for shorter ones. Good water and septic dump. Only negative was the noise from road construction and helicopters one and two miles away at the entrance. So we moved to Savage CG afterward. Then there is Denali: fabulous. Get there early with a big rig, or maybe you suffer! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
It seems the park has raised fees a lot since last year. We paid $28 to stay here, plus $4.00 for showers. The camp provides few services: laundry, Wi-Fi at the store (not at sites), showers for a fee. The camp was nice, but too expensive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$12
If there was electric and water I'd give this campground a 10! A lovely campground, with spacious sites, trees and shrubs to offer privacy and very quiet and clean. I thought $4 for a shower was steep but since the site was only $12, I can't complain. Enjoyed our stay very much. I highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
This campground is at the entrance to the park. Sites are very limited for big rigs. Our 40' motorhome and car would fit into about 15 sites which are all in the "Bear" loop. The sites are well separated with vegetation and this was a great place for a base camp to do the many entrance area hikes and ranger programs. We kept busy for 4 days and then moved to Mile 29, Teklanika campground for 5 days. There are flush and vault toilets and coin showers and laundry are available next door at the Mercantile. There are no hookups but there is a dump station with water fill. The campground is ope all year but limited facilities Sept-May. Sites are $14 for tents, $22 for RVs up to 30' and $28 for RVs up to 40'. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Very nice quiet family campground. Strict rules about what can be left outside, generator hours are very limited - 8-10am, and 4-8pm I believe. Rules are enforced, CG is toured often by hosts and NPS rangers. Makes for a very quiet, very clean campground. Sites are very wide, easily accommodate big rigs and slide-outs on both sides. Sites are divided into A, B, C - denoting length/type of site. If you reserve an A site for a long rig, you will get an A site, they have dramatically improved their reservation system. Reservations do not guarantee a specific site, nor do they mean you will get 2 sites side-by-side if you are traveling in a group. Be there early for prime spots, and remember you can pick up and move to another spot during your stay if a better one becomes available. And if you think your 34' rig will fit on a B spot near your buddy's site, just talk to the front desk in the Mercantile, and they'll let you move to a B spot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$14
We stayed there for five nights. The park is a little dusty from the RVs driving around looking for a camp site. Other than that is was a nice campground. The sites were rock, large and easy to back in a large RV. We had a 34 foot RV. There was is free shuttle service to various other locations within the park. The free WIFI was available at the mercantile. There was laundry, shower and food supplies at mercantile store also. I have a Golden Eagle National parks pass so we paid the $14 per night otherwise it would have been $28 for the A size camp site. We liked the camp ground and would stay there again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$10
The price reflects the Golden Pass Discount. We reserved a site for our 35' motorhome however when we arrived mid afternoon we found most of the longer sites were once again occupied by smaller rigs that could easily have fit in sites not as long. On the plus side the campground was very clean and quiet and the Wi-Fi reception at the office worked well. The Riley Creek mercantile is very expensive. It seemed everything was twice the normal price so bring what you feel you will need for food. We are self contained but I did look at the shower prices and felt they were expensive. Overall we enjoyed our camping experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
Nice campground. There would be very few places for a large motorhome. We enjoyed our stay here very much. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$10
This is a very nice no hook-up CG near the entrance of Denali NP. We had site #32 (we reserved a site for 31+ ft RV's) it was double wide so we could park our toad next to the RV. Bear loop had more longer sites and we thought they looked a bit more level than the other loops. This was a terrific campground near trails, the visitor center, the wilderness access center, the restaurants and the shops just outside the park. Price reflects Inter-agency Senior Pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$18
While more civilized and closer to park activities than Savage River, Riley Creek still offers a great wilderness setting. Sites are designated as 30 ft or less and 30 ft or more, you must choose a size when making reservations. Site selection, within size category, is first-come first-served, so arrive early. Several of the 31 ft plus sites looked awfully short to me and no one was policing site selection to prevent someone with a 30 ft or less reservation from snagging a 31 ft plus site. The nearby Mercantile offered showers, internet, groceries, and supplies, but the prices were outrageous; try to bring whatever you need. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$17
Despite the lack of hookups, and no access to running water or dump station for a few days due to camping there right as they opened for 2006 in mid-May (pipes were still frozen), this was probably the nicest place we stayed in Alaska. You pick your own spot based on whatever's available as you drive around. Nice level sites, each with a picnic table. Quiet. Restrictions on use of generator were just fine (mornings and evenings for a few hours each). We had a moose sighting right outside the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$18
Very nice large level sites. This is one of three loops for camping right in the park. This campground is kept very clean and its quiet. We stayed for 8 days. Within walking distance to the store, laundry,post office,trails. Just a real nice campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com