218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Seward Waterfront Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (907) 224-4055
CGID4507

Seward Waterfront Park

Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   10   9   8   9   6   7   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$15
We pulled into a dry site in the Marathon portion of the park, right on the bay with mountains across the water. Just stunning. The bad news is that this park is close to the harbor so you hear the boats go out early in the AM and if a cruise ship came in during the night, you will awake to their broadcast announcements for their passengers. But, the view trumps all. We walked to town for meals and for our tours. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
Terraced sites where the front row is on the water. The pay system is via an electronic pay station. You just pay for a site, then you go find an open one. They only check license plates to see if someone has paid. You have a small tag that says the site is occupied and if you pull out during the day it is possible that your occupied tag suddenly disappears and someone else is in you site upon your return. When someone leaves on the front water row it creates a mess as everyone tries to get the spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$15
Stunning location, close to town. This city-run park has stunning views, right on Resurrection Bay with white-capped mountains in the background, and is walking distance to downtown restaurants and bars. There are some sites with electricity and city water, but the best sites with the best views (on the south end of the bay, literally a few feet from the water) are all dry sites. It is well worth forgoing the extra facilities for these wonderful sites. This park gets a lot of use from locals and from folks from Anchorage and the Mat-Su coming down for quick trips. In May, the park was still not crowded, but we did have a few groups of local young adults partying after their recent graduation. They were quite polite, and we had no problem with noise. As this park fills up, I can see it becoming a pretty lively place, and a good place to meet locals. If peace and quiet is your thing, this is probably the wrong park for you. Downtown is only a 10 minute walk from this park. There is a well-used walking path along the Bay right in front of the park that takes you in to town, or you can head inland through the quaint streets. This is a very cute town -- well worth exploring, with several good restaurants, bars, and pubs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Location is the key. Great waterfront sites if you have one. We did! During busy summer season, one has to be diligent to get a waterfront site with hook-ups. Usually, plenty of waterfront sites w/o hook-ups. Rather small sites but the ambiance is great! Unfortunately, if one has a non- hook-up site it could be noisy with party folks (mostly Alaskans). Week-ends brings out the "locals"! Rest rooms are usually clean and working. Short walk to harbor and city. Fantastic views of harbor area, mountains, and wildlife. Fishing boats and cruise ships daily. This is a wonderful city campground with something for everyone! We love Seward-great fishing, shopping and scenery! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$15
We chose to dry camp because we could be right on the water with our front window having a great view of the bay and the mountains on the far side. There were a number of birds on the water, which was nice. Our spot was level and wide enough for the toad by the side. The sites were clearly marked. There was a fire pit in front of us. It was close, but we enjoyed our three nights there. Cannot comment on hookups or bathrooms; we did not use them. We got Wi-Fi at downtown coffee shops. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
The City of Seward has five waterfront campgrounds. This review is for Resurrection Campground with electric and water with 99 sites. None of the other city campgrounds have utility hookups. For a city-run campground, this one is exceptional. One row of sites is right on the water with fantastic views – there are two more rows behind. We were lucky enough to nab one of the water-front sites. It had strong 50 amp electrical service and water. There is a heavily-used dump station about three blocks away. This dump station is for all of the 300 or so city campgrounds, plus it seems some locals use it, so you will have to time your visit and you may want to bring some nose-plugs. The campground does not take reservations for individuals, but does for caravans of 10 or more. The check-out time is not until 4 p.m. If you have a water-front site, expect people to vulture you, waiting for you to leave. Since the campground is right on the water, expect the heavy morning boat traffic to start pretty early. Also, there is a very active pedestrian pathway that runs along the water in front of the campground, so it is a busy place, especially on the weekends. At night is was fairly calm and quiet. There are some picnic tables, but not at every site, and you can have a fire on the rocks along the water. There is a camp host, but we saw almost nothing of him. Our Verizon phone and data card worked well here. We would definitely stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Waterfront sites with fantastic views of Resurrection Bay and the surrounding mountains are the outstanding feature, and town is within walking distance. Park is a gravel campground with crowded, small sites. Water & electric hookups were fine, but there's no sewer available. There's no Wi-Fi, but Verizon cell modem worked reasonably well. Bathrooms and showers are dated but clean; showers cost extra. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Nothing much available in the city - this was good for the 4th of July weekend. The city was very crowded due to the famous annual MT MARATHON foot race. We had a good 50amp/water 25 ft wide site on the waterfront. Be careful when you level - but it can be done. We were able to walk to downtown one way and to the small boat harbor the other way. There is plenty to do and see in both areas. We enjoyed Seward very much. Would definitely stay again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Compared to the usual parking lot campgrounds in much of Alaska, this one is a step above. The sites are on the bay and some have water and electric but not all. The view is outstanding. We stayed in the second level and thought the view was better. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$15
I could see where this campground could be noisy especially when someone uses a construction generator. Fortunately we had a great experience: very quiet and people seem to run their generators only when they needed to. All campgrounds run by the city have an exceptional view of the water. We stayed at Marathon and I did notice some sites were parallel to the water which might be quieter than side by side if need be. This would definitely be my first pick over any private campgrounds in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
We arrived in the pouring rain and were able to get an electric site. We were one tier up from the water, but the sites up there drained much better. Many of the waterfront sites were swamped. Many of the campers had left so the place was not full at all. Being on the water was nice, but there is not a lot going on in town, and unless you fish, there is even less. We stayed 2 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
This is an amazing place. We were fortunate to get a front row space. The sites are huge. The view is spectacular. Loved having fire pits in front of our coach plus a perfect black top bike path which goes from town to the harbor and beyond. I can't think of a better place to stay in Seward. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
We were in a caravan, so I cannot be sure of the cost of this site per night. This is a publicly owned campground on a beautiful waterfront. If you are on the waterfront, it would be amazing - we were not. We had tent campers around us, it was noisy with kids walking through our site until very late at night. The sites had adequate space around them and were easy to drive in and back out of. Mostly, we were bothered by the noisy kids in tents. If we were in beautiful Seward again, not in a caravan, I would request a waterfront site or go to another campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
If you have a large Class A and want to park against the beach area, bring an extension cord as the outlets are going to be ahead of your front bumper. We backed in on the upper level and had perhaps a better view than those on the beach front. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2011
$15
Please note - We stayed during the Silver Salmon Derby. It was very busy and completely full. It was extremely noisy. Generator hours are from 7 am to 11 pm. Expect to hear generators at all times. Alcohol is not allowed; however, it is not enforced. Expect loud neighbors talking or yelling beside your bedroom at all hours of the day and night. This is not the usual RV crowd. You will have to be extremely lucky to get a power site or an ocean site or you will have to waste your day stalking people to get one. Check out time is 4 pm. Campfires are allowed and expect them to be within 3 feet of your rig. Your neighbors campfires will be 6 ft from your rig. Great location. Great view of Resurrection Bay (if you are lucky). We did not see the bathrooms so expect to use a port a potty or the public day use bathrooms or you will have a long walk. Free dump available near by campground. Class C users take note - you will have to leave something in your campground site to hold your site if you leave (typically a lawn chair) - don't leave anything valuable. Campground allows people to reserve sites without being there - which meant ocean view sites remained empty for days (occupied by a lawn chair) as people were holding them for their friends. The campsite is a gravel parking lot. Your campsite is a double wide parking stall. A couple of sites had picnic tables. Wildlife viewing is possible from the campsite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This is a basically nice park that allows many people to camp in a clean, reasonably priced facility. It is run by the City of Seward and I'm sure was developed to control the extent of beach side camping, provide sanitary conditions for camping, and to allow many to camp in a centralized area. Dry camping without water and electricity was available for $15.00 per night. There was a small number of sites with both water and electricity that were available for $30.00 per night. There was a centralized bath house that had two shower stalls and two toilets: both for men and women. One constructive suggestion would be to have more shower and toilet facilities. People were lined up to use the TWO timed and metered showers because many truck camper and tent camper people were enjoying the area. There was one dump facility (with two holes) for all these campers as well, and you can imagine how crowded it was on the Sunday morning of the first Salmon run in July! Nonetheless, kudoos to the City of Seward for thinking about the considering basic needs of people visiting their lovely community. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
It’s a parking lot, but what a view! Right on Resurrection Bay, with mountains across the bay and behind the CG. The town keeps it very well maintained; grass stays cut; bathrooms are clean. It’s a short easy walk to downtown or to the harbor. We will definitely come back here anytime we go to Seward. Only negative: it’s a bit of a rat race when campers jockey for the waterfront spots. If you get one of the prime spots, people will ask when you’re leaving, and the moment you get ready to pull out, the “vultures” will be circling! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
We camped in Resurrection Campground which is part of the Waterfront Park operated by the city of Seward. What a gorgeous view surrounded by mountains topped with ice and parking right on Resurrection Bay! The campground is basically a gravel parking lot but the view and location negate the lack of privacy. I regret that our site did not have a picnic table or fire pit. We chose an electric/water site near the bathhouse which was clean with running water and clean, hot showers for $2.00 for 10 minutes. We could walk anywhere in town that we chose but they also had a free trolley that ran about every 30 minutes that would pick you up and take you to the Small Boat Harbor or Alaska Sealife Center. There is a paved hiking/bike trail along the Resurrection Bay and afforded the opportunity to see sea otters, eagles, and cruise ships along with the exercise. There is a dump and water to refill convenient for all campers. We stayed in Seward 2 nights and I would strongly recommend the Kenai Fjords National Park Day Cruise. We saw every marine life on their Wildlife Checklist and they were eager to stop every time one was spotted. The interpreter was knowledgeable and loved his job. We were served a chicken caesar wrap for lunch on this 6 hour cruise. It cost $139 but you can use a coupon in the Northern Lights Coupon Book for buy one get one free. Be sure to call ahead because they limit the number of coupons that can board. We also came very close to a calving glacier on 2 occasions. It was exciting to see and hear. Also, the Alaska Sealife Center is a great aquarium right on the bay that rehabilitates marine life and birds. They have quite a collection and the habitat is clean. I regret that we did not hike to Exit Glacier but we ran out of time and you had to drive up another road to approach it. I read that it was a spectacular experience. Our camp experience was memorable at Resurrection Bay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Located right along waterfront. There are 3 sections to this campground: Marathon (dry), Resurrection (dry & some W/E sites), and Iditarod (dry). Dump nearby; drinking water also available. We camped in Resurrection with water and electric. Site was not level, but the view of Resurrection Bay was spectacular! Restrooms got lots of use but were cleaned daily. Has a Hike/Bike trail, and is within walking distance to everything in town. It's a short drive to other amenities (Kenai Fjords NP Visitor Center and tours; Seward Visitor Center and restaurants). Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$15
Iditarod is a gravel parking lot with large wide spaces and allows over night parking. It is located next to the paved day use RV parking next to the Sea Life Center. Ten spots are right on the ocean and you can view sea otters from your windshield. It is very convenient to all of the shops and restaurants in town. There is a dumpster for garbage, and the sites are numbered and lined out. There are no other conveniences. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$15
We camped here for three nights in the park called Marathon and we backed up right to Resurrection Bay. This is probably one of the nicest boondock situations we have encountered. Our site was wide enough to accommodate both our rig and truck. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$15
I think they called the lot we stayed on: Resurrection South. Had no hook ups, but we were just across the street from the dump station and water. It is also just walking distance from the docks and shops. We stayed for 5 nights with a great view of the bay. Our site had a stone fire ring. The campground Host was very, very helpful and accommodating. Rules are enforced, we had no problems with late noise. We loved this place and would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
Same as others' experience. We dry camped for five nights at the Itiderod park at the southern end of the town, with an unrestricted view of the bay and mountains. The most fabulous view in our three years of FTing. $15/night, max two weeks. $5 to dump plus good city water. Wide backin spaces, long enough for our 35' trailer. Very nice town. Lots of wildlife activities. Would have been a 10 with utilities. But we wouldn't trade the view, and our little 10 space park was quieter than the larger ones further north. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
GREAT place to stay. Short walk into town or fishing docks. Views to die for. Something done well by a government agency. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Had electric & water back-in site right up by water!! An amazing place to stay!! We would have been there 2 or 3 nights if we had arrived prior to Memorial Day weekend -- city doesn't take reservations and because of warm sunny weather the campground was packed over the holiday weekend. We had to wait til mid-day Monday to get a site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
We camped in the Resurrection Bay section of the city campground. We were basically camped in a parking lot, but we still had some of the most gorgeous scenery I’ve ever seen. We parked right on the beach—any closer and we would have been in the water at high tide. We saw all kinds of animals in Resurrection Bay—otters, eagle, loons, cormorant, jellyfish. Our site had water and electricity with a dump station around the corner. The campground is supposed to have a bathroom and maybe a shower, but we didn’t use them. The RV slots are close together, and there aren’t enough picnic tables, but there were plenty of fire rings and some benches next to the beach. We loved the bike path and nearby playground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$15
We paid for Millers Landing and it was so disgusting we left and never returned. This is the best choice in Seward. Views are beautiful and convenient to attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
I would have given this campground a 10 if there were more showers available. It's a wonderful location right on the bay. Our site was just below the one and only shower for all 300 sites. The sites were level. Odd that the utilities were not on the first row immediately on the bay, but one row back. Because the campground was only 25% full, no one parked in front of us. It was great to sit in our RV and watch the boats come and go, the otters playing on the water, and people taking an evening stroll. A bald eagle flew over one day as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$10
This is actually a series of three more or less separate camps along the bay between the tour boat terminals and downtown Seward. The best, smallest and most intimate is the last one going south. Mind you all are gravel parking lots except for some grassy tent sites, but the view is wonderful. So close to the water I was worried about high tides. There is a city-run dump and fresh water facility across the street. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
When all of the RV sites along the city's waterfront are full, they open up one of the softball fields. Everything is dry camping on level gravel, and parking is somewhat flexible so big rigs can shoehorn in. There is an inexpensive city-run dump station and water fill located nearby. Sites are first-come, first-served and can be "saved" once paid for. We were there over Independence Day and almost missed out on a space when we arrived on July 1. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Great views: right on the bay, with views of many boats, coming and going all day. Located about 1/2 mile from town. Sites are pretty level and not too close to neighbor. There are sites with and without hook-ups. Huge campground with a great location to town and the boat harbor. Fire-pits and benches are available right next to sites and a sidewalk to town. Rest rooms are old and about what one would expect for a city campground. Quite useable though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
There are scattered, specific areas for city camping and not all areas have the same type of camping. Not all have electric. It's best to get specific information online. There are no reservations. The sites are close together on gravel but the views of Resurrection Bay are a #10. Many sites are 20 yards from the Bay. Site type varies from tenting for $10, dry camping for $15, or Electric and water sites for $30. There is a central dump station with water fill. There are multiple water spigots throughout; there are flush and vault toilets. Showers are available at a couple of places. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We were able to camp at one of the sites that has electric and water-none have sewer. It was not right on the waterfront but we still had a very nice view of Resurrection Bay. All sites are on a gravel parking lot with the sites separated by a painted line and all are back-ins. The site width was generous enough for our big fifth wheel and four slides and we still could park the truck alongside, although it was a little tight. It could be difficult to maneuver when either backing in or leaving depending on how big you are and the rig next to you and/or across from you is. Our site was a little low in front, but most of the others looked pretty level. The interior roads are gravel and in good condition. It's convenient to walk to downtown, Sea Center or to the harbor area. The views are beautiful. There is no wifi and the tv antenna picked up 2 channels. There is a dump station down the road. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
Beautiful view of the bay. We watched otters playing right off the shore. Showerhouse was clean, but it took a while for the water to get hot. Shower $2.oo. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$12
$12 to dry camp, but then again there was no need for a/c. Right on Resurrection Bay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
We felt very lucky to get water front site #R97 with 50 amp electric and water. The site was a level, gravel, pull-in with utilities in front. We couldn't take advantage of the 50 amp electric because our cord wouldn't quite reach but we didn't need it. The site was wide enough for slides, awning and parking the toad to the side of the RV. We have a 30 ft class A. The view was incredible. We loved the smell of the ocean and watching the ships, boats and wildlife right in front of us. A very busy park but once we got settled the activity was not distracting. The dump station is across the street with two ports for dumping and two stations with potable water. It was easy in and out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$12
This is a great place to camp on the waterfront. Mostly gravel with great view and fishing access. It cost $25.00 for electric/water hookups if you use them or not, and $12.00 for dry camping, first come first served basis. Sites are pretty close together but with room for slide outs. Showers are available at the boat harbor a short walk away. Free dump station across the street, easy walking to town and boat harbor. Gets pretty windy at times. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
Can't beat the view or the location - convenient to town and small boat harbor. Looks like the hook-up sites could be taken up by caravans. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
This is a great campground, there seems to always be a sea lions or otter swimming right outside of your trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$15
This is a nice campground to just sit and enjoy the view of the beach and ocean. The walk way is right in front of your RV window but thats ok. Within walking distance to almost everything. Not all sites have hook-ups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2000
$10
W/E sites are usually reserved by caravans. We dry camped on the waterfront and thoroughly enjoyed our stay so much we extended. Essentially gravel parking lot extending along entire waterfront of Seward. First come, first serve, take your space, fill out slip and put in self serve pole. Dump station available. We watched eagles and the many fisherman trying their luck. Use generator etiquette. It is chilly and you will need heat at times. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com