220021 User submitted reviews online!!
Elkhart Co. / Middlebury Exit KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 48 user reviews. Phone: (574) 825-5932
CGID4528

Elkhart Co. / Middlebury Exit KOA

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   6   8   8   4   7   9   6   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2014
$48
I may be off slightly on my price, but KOA was our most expensive stay during a travel from West to East. We won't stay again at this particular one due to lack of sleep as a freight train went by every hour blowing its whistle. After 3 AM three went by, leaving us with about two hours sleep to travel 12 hours the very next day. We arrived later in the eve and the staff seemed rushed to have us get to our site. The showers were "okay", but we ended up not really wanting to use them as it was dark and we were a distance from our site. Not the place to stay if you want sleep. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
Falls into the "only game in town" category. Below average KOA. I guess the location is the draw because there's nothing special enough to justify the high rate on a W/E only site. Gravel roads and sites, tight spaces, no patios, so-so Wi-Fi. I thought that being near the "RV Capital of the U.S", it would be some kind of showcase for KOA. It's anything but. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$43
Nice, clean campground with very friendly and helpful hosts. We stayed here so we could visit the flea market/auction in Shipshewana. Campground furnished a shuttle back and forth to it, and even stopped by a bicycle shop on the way back so that we could get supplies that we needed to fix our bicycle. Sites were not level but not too bad. No concrete patios. Had a nice doggie park where we could walk the dog and let him run. Price reflects our KOA discount. Visited the RV museum in Elkhart also, and thought it was really interesting. Would definitely stay at this campground again if ever in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$43
We needed to camp here to have access to a facility nearby. The workers were very friendly. The hookups were good, restrooms clean and laundry very usable. Our site was not too level and we prefer paved roads in a campground, which they do not have. Our site was not paved. We don't have kids or dogs, so can't speak to those matters, but there is a lovely pond area with a wooded hiking trail within the property. We were happy to have a pizza delivered to the site, which the office helped us with and we enjoyed the RV Hall of Fame nearby. We would stay here again if in the area, but it would not be a destination campground for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$48
Nice K-9 park, but could rarely use it. Kids were playing in it instead, even though the posted rules prohibited that. Very noisy - lots of children running around, riding bikes, even after 11 in the evening. Campfire noise lasted long after that time. The real problem was the sites. They were extremely narrow to the point where we had to wait for another RV to leave before we could. This place would "do in a pinch," but we won't return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$50
We used this as a stop over on our way out west. It was good for what we wanted as a stop over but not sure about staying here longer. Playground was a bit tired, change machine didn't work for the arcade, and while they have a day room with goodies, no one was there to sell anything. Our site res was incorrect but the front staff worked to resolve that so I can't complain and got a massive back-in location. Just didn't feel like a friendly campground, but that can be subjective to the folks that are there. Front office staff was very nice and helped us find a delivery pizza joint that delivered to the campsite. Nice thing about the location is you can go to tour the RV manufacturing plants which we didn't have time for on this journey. Easy on/off the highway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$41
Stayed here a total of 6 nights while dealing with various RV companies. Rate reflects KOA discount, and this rate is $2 higher on weekends for 50amp site. All services worked well and voltage was good on all lines. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Camp brochure very informative of not only things to do and see in area but also of area history. Many pull-through sites, and only negative about this park is the back to front upward slope of the sites that takes extra effort in leveling trailer. Since we were in and out of the park with unit several times we had to deal with the slopping several times. Nonetheless we will definitely stay here again when next in area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$49
Typical KOA, the price is per night with tax included. Really outrageous for the level of this park. Sites are gravel/weeds as well as all the roads are gravel. Sites are build on a sloping hill. Wi-Fi kind of OK; "slow" I guess is the best word. It's a hard turn to the left if you are coming from the south to this campground. The entrance: one has to wonder "What were you thinking?" Park was clean and I'm sure busy in the summer months, when we were there it was pretty much empty with some overnighters stopping in. They did allow campfires, which is a plus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$31
We really enjoyed this campground. It is located in a good area to get to all the local sites around the area. Wifi was good and cable was acceptable. The restrooms was clean but the showers could be a little bigger. The staff was very helpful. Even when our neighbor had cut our cable off. They was fix it quick for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
We have stayed in this park before and was very happy with it; both location to everything in the area, but also the owners are very helpful. The first night we had a power issue and the next day they jumped on the problem and made the repairs to the park system. Other parks just tell you to move to another site and get around to the problem sometime. The laundry facility is clean and low cost to use. The park is very clean we will come here again anytime we visit Elkhart. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$44
We start our vacation here every year. If we need any RV supplies this is the place to come. They have RV surplus stores and you can get things pretty cheap. This campground is very nice but saying that it needs a little work: like stone in the campsites, and people keep putting carpets down and killing the grass so the next person ends up in mud. But we really like this park and will always make it our first stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$47
Stayed over Labor Day weekend, park was full. Lots of activities. Very dog friendly with a small dog park. Sites are gravel, with grass in between. Interior roads are gravel, wide with room to turn. Staff has a lot of young people who were very helpful and knowledgable. Store is fairly well stocked. Sites are a little close together, but not uncomfortably so. When we unhooked, we took all of our pull-through site. No problems with electric, water or sewer; Sprint cell and air-card service worked well; no problems with satellite. Free internet available but we did not use it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
Stayed here the week of the 4th. Park is clean and met our needs - full hookups, cable (32 channels), Wi-Fi (strong), 3G cellular data coverage, pool (clean & nice). The park is located 5 minutes N of Middlebury, 10 minutes from Essenhaus, and 30 from Elkhart. Most sites are pull-through. Regarding the water, the water is typical of N Indiana well water with higher concentrations of iron. Harmless, but may be unappealing to some used to treated city water. If so, just fill your tank before you leave home and use from your tank while here. We went park exploring one afternoon and decided this was the right park for us based on amenities We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
Stayed here for a couple of nights after our camper was serviced. Pricey but lots of stuff for the kids, pool, petting zoo, pond, rec room, etc. Sites are mostly pull throughs and can be a little tight. Place is getting a little tired and needs some fleshing up. Bathroom maintenance was spotty.. need to pay a little closer attention to the details, paper products etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
The staff was friendly. The first site they tried to put us in would not work for our slides or our door and steps so they let us move to the next site. As is typical for KOAs the sites are all very close together and the driveways between rows of campsites is very tight. They did have a nice dog run and a couple of nice short hiking trails on the property. We only stayed one night and moved to a different campground in the area. We would not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$49
We stayed at this campground due to it's proximity to Shipshewana. We were pleasantly surprised to see that Middlebury is a less visited but neat little town with the same type of shops. This campground like most KOA's we've stayed at was clean. Our only real complaint was lack of trees, for privacy we could have saved our money and stayed at a Wal-Mart. Staff was nice and extremely helpful, restrooms/showers were clean, but the campground really lacked privacy. At least the site we had (site 26). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$37
This is a great place with lots of things for kids. It's a clean, nicely kept, very friendly camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$42
Overall this is a nice place to stay. It was clean and the staff was friendly. We are new to RVing and they were good about helping us. It's convenient to the highway and we would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$43
Stayed here for a football weekend at Notre Dame. Campground is 30 miles from campus and very convenient to many of the local RV Factories and the RV Hall of Fame. Not the newest or the nicest KOA I have been in but it was clean; easy to maneuver my rig through, owners and staff were very helpful and nice to deal with. Sites were spacious and all hookups on the same side, level gravel sites. Previous reviewers don't seem to be all that objective. I found it to be a very nice experience and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
We camp here often! Staff are friendly and always willing to go the extra mile. It is definitely one of our favorite places to camp. It feels like going home. It is close to the highway but the noise is never an issue. The restrooms are kept clean and tide, even when the campground is at capacity! This is a family friendly campground. Plenty of activities and lots to do in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$43
This is the second consecutive KOA I've encountered on this trip which supplies its RV sites with hard, smelly well water. Only here, it's so bad that they actually advise you (in writing) to not fill your fresh water tank with it. Naturally, they do not mention this unpleasant little factoid during check-in: Let's see, $43.00 a night for gravel, dirt, and bad water too? Instead, that information is conveniently buried deep within a five or six page handout, which, according to the nice lady behind the desk, "most people never read." Whether you read it or not, your first taste of their water should prompt a fact-finding visit to the office, at which time you'll be shown a complete selection of RV water filtration and softening systems, all available for sale in the camp store! The final disappointment was finding the men shower facility to be filthy and in desperate need of renovation. My unfortunate conclusion is that it's KOA'S like this one that are beginning to make overnight parking at Wal-Mart look like a smarter choice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$43
This is an o.k. park. It appears to be a bit older as the sites are narrow and very close together. The hook-ups were layed out a bit odd, with the sewer and electric connections on the left side of the coach and the water on the right side of the coach. You should bring an extra water hose if you come here because you may need it to reach the connection. Our site was reletively level, but our "yard" sloped badly, making the picnic table unusable (it leaned at a 45 degree angle). The staff was very friendly. They had a great fenced in dog run. This park is very close to many of the northern Indiana RV factories and is near many Amish attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$44
A good KOA but not great. Staff was friendly and the sites were roomy. Pads were gravel and a bit uneven. Sites were pull through and easy to get into. Had all the usual "kid friendly" items. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$42
We stayed 3 nights and had time to explore the park. Loved the dog park which had plenty of agility toys for the dogs and benches for people to sit. The park has a section closed as they were improving lots and sowing grass. Park was fairly empty otherwise. Great hiking paths: not very long, but scenic. We changed our site as we had a newly installed dish we wanted to try out. Slots were very level, park was very close to sights and major highways. We would definitely stay here again. We parked in a 38' 5th wheel and had plenty of space for our coach and truck. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
Easy on and off the I-80 toll road. The staff took us to our site, and were very helpful with directions. Interior roads were gravel, and our site was long and mostly level with one block. There is no cable, but satellite works with their few trees. Propane is on site. We appreciate the recycling of glass, aluminum, and plastic, and wish all campgrounds provided it. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$46
We enjoyed our 4 day stay here very much. We requested a long, level pull through, which we got. We found the sites to be plenty wide--ample room for slides, awnings, etc. without being right up to your neighbor. Staff was very friendly. Pool looked nice; the water was fine, which I was apprehensive about after reading a previous review. Nice hiking trails through the woods. Wi-fi was good. Staff seemed to be on top of things, riding around park often. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
This is an older campground. It sits on a busy corner of two main roads, which means that there really isn't a place in the campground where you won't hear road traffic. We used it as a one-night stay, it was adequate for that purpose. The facilities were older and we just OK. Clean, but in need of updating. It's a good base camp for exploring the area, though. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$42
Another nice KOA. Park is spread out okay. When were weren't in town we used the pool, game room and basketball court. It is hot in June and the pool is nice. All facilities are in above average working order and clean. Park is close to all the Amish community things you want to do including the flea market and auction. Staff friendly and knowledgeable of the area. It is also close to the RV Hall of fame in Elkhart, if you come this area do yourself a favor and go visit the RV hall of fame, it's a blast. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$42
We enjoyed this campground very much. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We took one of the tours they offer and enjoyed it very much. This is Amish country, and we enjoyed visiting the shops they run. We will be back . We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
Handy to Elkhart. Good electric. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Excellent park, friendly staff, nice shade trees and clean. Best dog park area I have seen. I would definitely camp here again, highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
We've stayed overnight at this campground twice in the past month on our way to other places. It was quiet and great for resting. The pull-thru sites in the front row of the park are great for late arrivals, we had no trouble quickly hooking up in the dark. Also, it has a fenced dog play yard, love that. We noticed it's close to Amish country, so we may check that out next time we pass through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
This is an okay park for an overnight stop. The roads are gravel and fairly narrow. The sites could be better maintained. The hookups are less than desirable. If you do stay here, do not go in the pool! It is poorly maintained with rust stains down the side. The water is cloudy as others have said. The pool was full of obnoxious teenagers who were the friends of the teenagers working in the office. When we complained about the behavior happening in the pool, the teenagers working in the office just laughed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
I have to agree with the other ratings for this park. Although my main focus is on the width of the sites. Many of the sites due to trees you can not put out your awning. Its true side by side camping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$32
This campground is a little expensive for April. However, it is very obvious on the highway into the RV Capital of the World and used by many who are there for repairs, warranty services or factory tours. We planned a factory tour and needed repairs when we arrived as well. The office staff are very friendly and helpful. The washrooms and showers were clean and well looked after. It does not have a lot of amenities for this time of year, other than a short hiking trail. However, it is convenient and most use it for that purpose. We might stay there again. The lack of discount price in April was not appreciated when others around were much less. We felt they take advantage of their location. But they are very service-oriented. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
Just a quick update for 2008: we agree with all previous comments. It's a solid average KOA, ideally situated for those who want to explore Amish territory or take an RV plant tour. Nice folks and lots of kiddie stuff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$38
Friendly, helpful owners who are always working, cleaning, etc. CG is kept up nicely. Sites are small, no privacy. Good location for Shipshewana and RV plant tours, and probably the best in the area, but CG location is on a busy intersection. For those of us in soft-sided rigs (popups, hybrid trailers and tents), road noise is terrible! Trucks stopping and then starting up, with all the engine noise involved, all night long. We'll camp here again when we have a fully hard-sided rig and can block out the noise better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$32
Park employees were very nice and friendly. Our site was very nice and we were very comfortable during our stay here at this well kept Elkhart/ Middlebury KOA park. Every time a site was vacated an employee was right there cleaning up the fire pit, picking up anything that was on the ground, making sure for the next camper it was a clean site. They have a very nice playground for the children and a swimming pool.They also have a very well stocked store with just about everything you need and more. We especially liked the fresh homegrown vegetables and bake goods that were offered for sale. We were very pleased that we found this campground and will certainly stay here again next time we are in the area. Thank you for a wonderful stay!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$99
Nice, small and quiet campground. We rented one of their (2) new Kottage/Lodges. It was wonderful. We had a small ant issue and they were there taking care of it FAST! Close to Shipshewana (visited another Shipshe-campground and KOA was best). Middlebury is an amazing little town, even has a scrapbook store! The owners and staff were great. There is a fishing pond (great big bass), and 2 goats to feed (.25cents). All in all, a great visit! Cable TV in Kottage. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
Nice Campground. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Would definitely stay again. Wish we could stay longer. Lots for the kids to do but not too many kids running around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$39
The good: The owners were excellent, very friendly and informative. You can tell they enjoy owning the campground. The sites toward the back are very nice, they are level with a cement pad next to parking spot. The bad: The water is terrible. The drinking water smells and taste bad. After doing laundry, it made our clothes smell. The pool is old and not in very good shape, water was cloudy. When we got here it was very busy, so maybe they hadn't had a chance to do the daily maintenance, and I'm sure the water is local and that doesn't help. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$39
Moderate size KOA in the heart of Indiana's Amish Country and the RV Manufacturing Capitol of the USA. Lots of activities including tours of Amish Country, and many local celebrations and festivals. Great home style restaurants (Essenhouse is great!) in the area. Our pullthrough site was reasonable wide, but not long enough for our 40' rig and towed vehicle, so we had to park the toad sideways. Elongated exit path, but not too tight. Very friendly and helpful staff. No Cable TV. We stayed here one night and paid $39 (including $3 for 50 Amp) after the KOA Valu Kard discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$34
As previously stated, Staff was very helpful. Free wifi available. Tree's are a bit close in some sites, which are very close together, had to "jig" to enable opening slides. In fact, I am concerned about making the turn to pull out when I leave in a bit! (and I am only 34 Ft) The picnic table in the next site is nearly up against our slide out. Park is far enough away from Interstate to be quiet, but a road right behind the park wakes one up by about 5 AM with traffic noise each morning. It is convenient to many local attractions and we would stay here again, but would be more particular about the site assigned. Good laundry machines, pool looked good, but was busy and enjoyed by many folks. Bathroom & shower areas were OK, but because of heavy usage, could be cleaned more often than the scheduled once-per-day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$23
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
OK park with VERY helpful and courteous staff. Owners were just great. Bathrooms clean. Park is older but nice. WiFi was free, but would drop out and come back again real quick. An overnight stay. I would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
Great campground, very helpful and friendly staff - front desk staff took time to go over local map with us and point out highlights. We had bit of a mechanical problem with our rig - staff gave us several recommendations - we called an individual who arrived within the hour and corrected problem for us at a very reasonable charge. All sites seemed to offer some shade and were well-maintained and level. Our children enjoyed the pool and game room, the nature trail to the creek was a nice quiet walk. Shower facilities were clean and well-maintained. Laundry facilities worked well and were not too expensive. Wifi worked well with strong signal - and free of charge! The store was well stocked, although a trip to town for supplies was easy here. This campground was easily accessible to all that we wanted - the Amish experience in Shipshewana a highlight, especially Menno-hof an Amish/Mennonite museum/info center, the RV museum in Elkhart a real treat. We did not do a factory tour this trip, but hope to make another venture to this area and take that in. This is a campground we will return to again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$31
Stayed in this Northern Indiana park while visiting some friends. Lots of RV factories in the area. Close to Shipshawana which is a very large flea market. Very large Amish population in the area. Park is nice and well managed. TV reception is lousy. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
This is a nice little campground, not far from the Rt. 90 turnpike. The only drawback is if you plan on visiting the RV factories for tours be aware that they are on plant shutdown the week of the 4th of July and no tours are offered. We will return if we are in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com