214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Natchez Trace Parkway / Meriwether Lewis Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (662) 680-4027
CGID4531

Natchez Trace Parkway / Meriwether Lewis Campground

Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   9   10   10   8   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$1
From the previous reviews this sounded like a great place to stay. There are 32 sites, lots are pull throughs, we walked the campground and found only two sites that might take our 40 foot motor home. The first site we could not get our slides out, the second site was marginally better, and after a lot of maneuvering we did get our slides out. It was a challenge with so many trees and low hanging branches, the sites were not huge nor were they a breeze to park a big rig in. It’s a pretty campground, no amenities, but there was a new and spotlessly clean bathroom, and of course it’s free. There seemed to be a lot of junky cars, tattered tents, old RV’s and someone living in a van. There is a 14 day stay limit, but it looked as if many of these folk had been there for a long time. In the short time we were there a couple of RV’s drove through and exited very quickly. We did not feel at all comfortable staying there, so moved onto a better campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$0
Great campsite for free. No sign up, just pull into an empty site. Very quiet and dark without the annoying security lights of RV parks. Good hiking trails along with the interesting Meriwether Lewis monument and pioneer cemetery. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$1
This campground has just been redone with newly paved roads and pads. The Restrooms looked like new and all the tables and benches were new this spring. PRICE $0 as in NO CHARGE! Can't beat that. Beautiful wooded setting, lots of space between campsites. Many pull through sites that make parking with a big rig a breeze. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$1
Natchez Trace NPS (free) campground at mile marker 385.9. We loved this CG! There are no hookups, but the ambiance makes up for it. The roads and campsites were all recently paved and pretty level; at least half are pull thrus, so great for a stop along the trace. New camp picnic tables at most sites, too. Water spigots in several places, but not at each campsite, as mentioned this is dry camping. There are very clean and spacious (with handicap facilities) restrooms, but as previously mentioned, no showers. There was not a host present while we were there. Batwing antenna received a few stations, and our Verizon phone and broadband both worked, though not a really strong signal. Only 4 campsites occupied of 30 or so, which is quite a shame for such a beautiful campground! The historic park was quite nice, with the grave of Meriwether Lewis (Lewis and Clark)at the park a few miles from the CG. Definitely worth the stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$1
Beautiful campground. Level spaces. Many pull-thrus. New, clean, flush-toilet restrooms with soap. The Recovery Act is alive and well at this campground as the campground and the entire Meriwether Lewis area of the Natchez Trace Parkway is being upgraded. Stayed two nights and would loved to have stayed longer. The campground is free; however, the site will not take a zero in the price section so I put in $1.00. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$1
We came in April 14th, and there was plenty of space. No problem for large rigs, roads tight in spots but not a problem. Still all French Canadians headed north, we were the only Americans here. TV via batwing mostly ok, Verizon cell good, broadband barely picked up a signal. Hohenwald is just west on route 20, 7 miles, nice place called Mike's Place just across 412 in town, Walmart is down 412 which goes back to the Trace. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$1
This is a free National Park Service campground. This is a great campground to use while driving the Natchez Trace. Sites are large and very shaded. It is very peaceful, quiet and dark (at night). There is no registration or fee but there is a campground host. There are rest rooms but no showers. Most of the rigs were large and there was plenty of room between sites. If you can dry camp, this is a wonderful campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2005
$0.
Pretty wooded setting, very quiet in November which was nice. Bathrooms clean enough but simple, no showers or hook-ups but also no fees. There was a water spigot for filling tanks near the bathrooms. Sites nearer the bathroom are more level than the other sites (about #1 through 11) not all sites are big rig friendly but some would probably be fine. This is a wonderful place to stay while exploring the Natchez Trace Parkway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2004
$
Busy place, no hook-ups, no showers and one shabby bathroom far from a number of sites, but can't beat price and location. Lots of trees and right on the Natchez Trace Parkway. Some sites looked large enough for bigger rigs but not sure if they would accommodate 40+ footers, we have a 30 ft class A and all sites were big enough for us. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com