220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Tumalo State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (541) 388-6055
CGID4532

Tumalo State Park

Camp Information
Sites
84
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   3   8   7   9   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$27
Very nice state park. Not much visual separation, but sites are big and comfortable. Free showers, clean restrooms. Good location on the Deschutes River. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
Tumalo State Park is a unique green oasis amongst the drier climate of Bend. Tumalo Creek is perfect for tubing on a hot summers day and it is definitely a local favorite for picnics and day trips. The campground is located just across the street and is also nestled in the trees, but the forest here is not overly thick so be prepared to be getting some sun. The RV sites are fairly close together and are all back-in, but paved. Clean bathrooms as well as a solar shower-house! Best time to use these showers is late afternoon, early evening since the nights here do cool off into the low 50's so your morning shower will be chilly. Very close drive to Bend and all this beautiful area has to offer. Be sure to visit the Newberry Volcanic Monument about a half hours drive south of Bend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$26
Sites were a little closer together than we would like, but still a very clean, well maintained park. Our site was immaculate when we pulled in. The kids loved all the opportunities to explore, including the large hill on the east side and, of course, the river. Spots seemed easy to back into - ours certainly way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
I would expect more from an Oregon State Park. It was extremely dusty, the sites afforded no privacy, and sites weren't level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
Small campground and some sites are tight for RV with slides. 30 amp service can make things a balancing act. The rangers and camp hosts were fantastic - very friendly and managed campground. We came for a couple of days and stayed almost a week. Bend area offers a lot of trails for bikes or hiking. We would return if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$29
The site we were on had fine dirt and was close to the restrooms/sink station. Overall, nice and quiet. We didn't get a chance to see the playground. We heard the managers making the rounds after 10pm for campfires. The staff that greeted us was friendly. Looks like a popular site and would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
Very nice state park - we wished we were staying longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$34
This was a very nice, clean park very close to the Deschutes River. Our site was level enough we didn't need to do anything. There is a very large, day use picnic area right on the river. We were here before school got out so it was not at all crowded but we guess during summer the day use area would be very popular. We would definitely camp here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
A nice state park, a bit cramped in maneuvering around, but the sites are spacious and well spaced. This is a nice park to overnight or spend a couple of days in. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$22
At this time of year only one loop was open-B loop. There were about 8 hook up campsites in the loop, but had no trouble getting one when we came in at 5pm. Campground was quiet, bathrooms and showers clean. They had solar showers: one available this time of year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$22
This is just another great state park. Right on the Deschutes River, nice quiet setting. We darn near had the whole park to ourselves. There's solar showers (only two were open, because of the season) and really cute yurts too. There's also a nice trail right along the river. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
We had a great time at this park. Very close to Bend, but with the feel of "real" camping. We had space 67 which is large with lots of privacy. Perimeter sites are much larger and easier to maneuver in to. Be sure to check the length when booking. Campground was immaculate and the camp hosts were great! Would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
Not big rig friendly. We scratched the RV going in and going out. We tried and tried to get into the site assigned to us but finally left and went someplace else. We were excited about this campground but were disappointed with the dead trees and overgrown weeds and not a blade a of grass anywhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$20
This is a great campground with access to many activities and downtown Bend. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
While not one of Oregon's best state parks, it is a good and economical campground to use as a base for exploring the Bend and Sisters area. There are a few hiking trails in the park. One would need to make reservation to ensure having a site with hookups and adequate length. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
This state park isn't one we would go back to. It has very thick, talc-like dirt. The sites are too close together, it's more like being in a RV park. No privacy what so ever. Thank goodness the road and spurs were paved. We had good water pressure, power and sewer. Park personnel were friendly along with the hosts. It's close to town and the Deshutes river. Aircard and cell phone had a decent signal but couldn't get our dome satellite in, had to use the portable dish. We were in B loop #17 which was close to the solar showers and restroom. Site was not totally level but didn't have any problems with our levelers. This would be a good overnight stay and that's about it. Not the most attractive state park in Oregon's State Park system. Reservation system charges $5.00 so our stay per night was $24.50: we stayed for 2 nights and that was enough. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$17
Very nice state park. We stayed in the B loop w/o Hook ups. The Hook up sites look very nice. Like other Oregon state parks they have educational activities for children and adults that are worth going too (We saw the birds of prey show). At first we were leery of the solar showers, but these turned out to be nice. Clean and plenty of hot water. The camp hosts were very friendly as were the rangers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
Urban park, so hookup sites go quick. We hosted in the park for the month of September. You want hookups? Make reservations. Park also had 7 yurts for rent and they also go fast. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
We have been spoiled by all the wonderful state parks in Oregon. Tumalo did not live up to our expectations. The sites were small and there was very little separation between sites. The sites were very dusty. The grass in the picnic area was watered but was not well tended. We had planned to stay for two days but decided to move on after one day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$22
We enjoyed our stay at this campground inspite of the rain. We found the day use park and trails were very nice along the Deschutes River, and were impressed with the unusual rock formations we found here. We were in site #26. The camp ground map showes camp sites right along the river but we only saw one site, with no services, that actually had direct access to the river, the rest of the sites shown were a bit off the water with brush between them and the river. The camp is just a few short miles to the city of Bend. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
Tumalo is quite popular in as much as it is so close to Bend. We were concerned the park would be "citified" and lack any rustic feel or sense of being in the outdoors but this a false concern. Despite being so close to towns, Tumalo still felt like a state park should feel. The park is a bit worn but in a comfortable way. The facilities were reasonably well maintained, about average for a very popular state park. Our site was a perimeter location backed by large rocks and although it was not particularly spacious, we did not feel crowded. Overall we liked Tumalo a lot and felt it was a delightful base from which to visit Central Oregon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
Beautiful state park, lots of trails and near the river. We got our 38 foot DP in with some careful back-in manuvering. Rate shown is for a full hookup site. Showers were solar heated and in a seperate building from the bathrooms. We will return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$17
Tumalo is a popular campground because it is close to Bend, OR and great fly fishing on the Deschutes River. There are nice hiking an biking trails too. The Camp Hosts were great and made us feel very welcome. The grounds are a little tight and call for skill to back in around the trees. Our site (B15) has a lot of trees close in to the pad. our rig just fit with the slides out! Most sites are too small for big rigs and there are limited full hook-up sites. Plan ahead and reserve your spot early. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$17
A nice State Park along the Deschutes River that makes a good base while visiting the surrounding area. The High Desert Museum and Newberry National Monument are well worth seeing. The campground is open year round and there are yurts to rent in addition to camping spaces. Sites numbered 82, 85, 87, 89 and 92 are right along the river and, in my opinion, the most scenic. However, they are small and have no hook-ups so are only suitable for tenter's or those with small rigs. Oregon State Parks offers good deals during the "Discovery Season" from October 1 - April 30. The rate I quote was for a full hook-up site. Note there is no dump station at Tumalo and the park brochure warns not to dump a full holding tank at your campsite connection as it may overflow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$21
Our favorite place to stay in Bend. We have made numerous trips to Tumalo SP. Nice quiet park away for highways but still just a few minutes from town. Sites might be tight for some big rigs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
This is an older CG oriented towards tent campers. There are a number of hook-up sites but many are fairly short and all need leveling. These fill up rapidly as this is a very popular park. Little visual separation between sites. However, it is located away from the highway and/or railroad noise that plagues most Bend area campgrounds and is therefore worth a stop. Nearby day-use area allows river access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$17
Located adjacent to the town of Tumalo, this state park has much to offer. Tucked in a quiet bowl, the campground shuts down to one loop for much of what Oregon State Parks calls discovery season (October to April), due to the very cold nights in this central Oregon location. The sites that remain are quite nice, but are limited in number, so unless you can go without hookups be sure to make reservations - especially on the weekends. The campground has attractive sites with tables, paved pads, and small brush and trees that outline the spots. Unlike most Oregon State Parks, this on offers little privacy. It does, however offer a very western feel. With cedar service buildings, plenty of juniper, and interesting rock formations, the look of the campground is inviting. There is a small playground for children to enjoy, and the park roadways are inviting for light bike riding. During discovey season there is no Interpretive program, so bring things for your little ones to do. Across the busy local road from the camping area, this park has an expansive and interesting riverfront area with shaded play and picnic spaces. I'm told the fishing can be very good here - the water was too high from runoff during our visit. A note about safety - the water is very fast here, guard yourself and your children and stay well back of the water. During our stay, only a Camp Host was available for assistance with identifying which spaces where available for use - as we didn't have the reccomended reservations on a weekend. This is an older campground, so the tent spaces aren't meticulously leveled. The tent spaces are also difficult to get a trailer into, as they aren't angled for ease of backing - but a talented driver can get a vehicle parked. Your over-air TV should work, ours did. Good water pressure, good electric service, and the showers were hot enough - though the solars get cooler with lots of use, so either take a late afternoon shower or get there first in the AM. I have a few worthy sight seeing stops while staying at Tumalo: Visit the Oregon State Park at Pilot Butte while in Bend, then visit the also famous Pilot Butte Drive-In - a favorite among the locals. I like the Blue Cheese Burger, but it's not for everyone. The shakes are old fashioned, as is much of the way this restaurant works. You'll be glad you went. There is a delightful lakefront park in downtown Bend - on the North side of the lake there is a wonderful playground with a mock tugboat for children of all ages. Worth a walk about. Finally, be sure to visit the amazing Peterson's Rock Gardens. It's an old fasioned, and some times rundown tourist attraction with miniatures of dozens of buildings made from rocks and minerals from all over. It dates back to a simpler time. The plaque at the entrance implores: "Enjoy yourself: It's later than you think" It's inexpensive and fun for all ages - though it is not especially handicap friendly. The location is 7930 SW 77th St. Redmond, OR Phone 503-382-5574. Google it up - there's are several well done web sites about it. Enjoy Tumalo. We do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
This is a lovely park with huge sites and a variety of settings from open to wooded. Everything is clean. You can book online and choose your site then, which is very accurate. You can have campfires as well. It is centrally located and close to the cute town of Sisters. It has full hookups. Some areas are difficult to get cell phone coverage though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$17
We have stayed in a few of the Oregon State Parks and think they are the best bang for the buck. Clean restrooms and showers, large sites, full hookups minus cable, all for $17.00 a night. Best bargain there is. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$22
We really like this campground, but many others do too. Often the hookup sites are reserved even in the fall. Very handy to Bend activities. I appreciate the electricity-saving solar showers but wish the temperature could be adjusted. I like my showers hotter. Shaving legs with goosebumps isn't fun. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com