218867 User submitted reviews online!!
Trace State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (662) 489-2958
CGID4545

Trace State Park

Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   8   9   7   7   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$14
Senior rate (65+) for a full hookup site (#24). Very nice State Park campground located on a lake. All sites have nice views of the lake. Access road to the park is quite rough but the campground is worth the drive. It is a nice layover if you are driving the Natchez Trace. We were here for one night before taking delivery of our new RV at Sherman RV located 20 miles away. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$18
Beautiful campground laid out around a lake. Sites are long and level concrete pads. Many are shady and have sewer. It is fairly close to a major road so there was some road noise. After 3 o’clock there was a lot of noisy activity on the lake. Good TV reception. Most of the trails allow ATVs and dirt bikes which is good if you enjoy that sort of thing but not if you are looking for a tranquil walking trail. No alcohol allowed or motorized toys; great bathrooms and the best laundry of any park with reasonable charges. They are putting in a new campground near the trail head. Unfortunately they clear cut and it will be years before there is any shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$20
Fantastic State Park situated on a lake with paved, full hookup sites, well spaced in a grassy / wooded setting with excellent views of the lake. This may very well be one of the finest State Parks we've stayed in. Many activities were available right in the park such as boat ramps, picnic areas, disc golf and free greens fees (2 rounds) at a nearby golf course. Verizon cell and data signal available. $24 for premium sites right on the lake, $20 for non-premium full hook-up sites. Although ours was non-premium it was still right on the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
Very nice state park. The restrooms were clean, power and water was good. Our spot was right on the lake. Lots of tree's so satellite was a no go for us. If you fish it's a great place even though we didn't see anyone catch anything. Being from out of state we didn't fish but enjoyed our stay. We would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
A very nice quiet setting along the lake beneath shade trees. Lots of biking trails. Did not use restroom facilities, but they looked nice and well cared for. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$14
This state park is located on a large lake about 10 miles west of Tupelo with two camping areas set on adjacent points of land. No swimming permitted in the surrounding waters, but boating is allowed. Site spacing is good and all sites are paved. Due to its remote location, the park is very quiet at night. Being distant from populated areas, only several TV stations are available over the air and their signals are weak. Verizon wireless signals were also poor. This is a great place to stay for a few days in order to escape the chaos of the everyday world. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
This is a nice park. It was very quiet and peaceful, but we did stay here during the weekday when the park was not filled. The roads in the park are very chewed up. Drive slowly to avoid most of the pot holes. There are two RV campground loops, Deer Run and Eagle Ridge. Deer Run is older and is more crowded then Eagle Ridge. Eagle Ridge had new bathrooms, a laundry facility and a small conference room. Deer Run had mostly 20/30 amp electricity with water, whereas Eagle Ridge had mostly 30/50 amp electricity with water and sewer. The garbage dump was located just before the turn off to Eagle Ridge making it about ¼ mile walk. The interior roads and sites were paved. Many of the pads within the Deer Run were in disrepair. We stayed at the Eagle Ridge loop. The electrical utilities, sewer and water were all located at the back of the site. Verizon cell phone worked well, but the Verizon air card signal was very weak. Electrical voltage was strong. The bathrooms and showers were clean. We were surprised to see long term residents. This state park allows campers to stay 3 months with the option to stay longer. We don’t know if all state parks in Mississippi have this policy. We would come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$14
Great park. Convenient off the Natchez Trace Pwky (9 miles). Clean restrooms/showers/laundry. Mostly back-ins; however, quite large and far apart from each other. Camp host was very helpful. Rate reflects senior, non-lake front site. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
A nice state park on a pretty lake. We had one of the pull-thru sites, which was easy in-and-out, but not very private. The grounds were well cared for and clean. The restrooms were old, but also clean. Most sites have some lake view, which is nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
We stopped here while passing through Mississippi on our way home from vacation. We highly recommend this park. The staff was very friendly. The sites were paved with W/E/S hookups. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
So much potential, but very disappointing. Mostly waterfront spots, all level. Bathrooms were great, lake is beautiful. However your in Mississippi, it's in the 90s and there is no lake swimming? No pool, no beach, so we can't get in the water? Never seen this before. They can ski, but you can't swim from the very open and clean shore? Nice park for fall maybe but in summer it is not kid friendly. What a shame because it is really nice otherwise. I doubt we'll come again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$14
$14 senior rate. The premium sites (all sites on water) are $22 and with no discounts. We sat up on a hill in site 42 overlooking them (mostly empty). Verizon cell was good; broadband varied from slow to very good. TV via batwing was spotty, but mostly OK. We were in the Eagle Ridge section, sites 26 - 52, all paved full hookup backins. The Natchez Trace is within 10 miles. Tupelo is a very nice clean city and well worth a day, Elvis and what not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
Wow, what a beautiful campground! We stayed in site 39 and had a very restful time. Sites are level, spacious with easy access. Would definitely stay at this campground again. Very peaceful and helpful staff too! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
This park is nice. We camped on a weekend that was full. The sites were very close, pads were gravel but level. It rained and the drainage was not good, lots of mud. We stayed in site #8. If you could get #18, that would be the best. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$22
We also were in site 38. This time of year there weren't many people in the campground so it was very quite. Lots of birds - both around camp and on the water. This is a very nice campground that I would recommend. The only improvement that I would recommend is gravel around the utility hookups. It rained while we were there and the mud was terrible when we had to unhook and leave. We saw lots and lots of deer in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$22
Very clean, quiet,and relaxing. Besides the ATV Trails and Nature Trails, there isn't much to do but relax. Tons of deer in the park. Sites 38, 39, and 40 are very nice. Site 38 is our favorite. It is probably 120' long and has water on both sides. We already have reservations to visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
Well shaded sites . Staff was very friendly . We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
Quite nice campground. Older but clean. Full hookups nice since the restroom is small with only one shower. Most sites adjacent to the lake or close enough to give a sense of being by the lake. Close to City of Tupelo. Only stayed one night but wanted to stay more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$15
Local Tupelo residents will be upset when they see this review and more of the RV world reads about this great Mississippi state park. The sites are big, there are lots of trees and it's set on a small but pretty lake. Go to the Ms. state park website to see a few pictures. This is a destination place that's great for families, too. Your secret is out Tupelo. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$14
This could be a "destination" type park. It is really beautiful. Every site is either on the water or has views of the water. Large, paved, parking pads. The sites are very large and very private. Once you are there, your plans for the rest of your trip might change just so that you can spend more time at Trace. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$18
Very nice and new RV campground. Easy access for 45 foot motorhome. Near Tupelo and Elvis. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com