221698 User submitted reviews online!!
Henrys Lake State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (208) 558-7532
CGID4552

Henrys Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
55
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   7   6   7   9   8   7   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$34
They just opened up a new section in July with some 50 amp full hookup back-in sites. We stayed in new section in a 40' motorhome. Water pressure and electric were good. Interior roads and sites were new asphalt and easy to negotiate. Restrooms and showers were very clean. We could get 3 bars on our Verizon phone and my Millenicom MiFi got 4G LTE well. The views around the lake are very nice, sunsets are pretty, there was a lot of wind each day we were there. The $34 includes the $5/day State Park entrance fee, so campsite actually cost around $29/night. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
We camped here three nights and were very pleased with the facility. Water and electric at the site, and a dump station near the entrance/exit gate. We had one of the few pull-through sites, as most sites are back-ins. The camp host was very friendly, and hosts appeared good at picking up any trash left behind by sloppy campers. Great view of the lake and mountains on all sides. We don't fish, but there were quite a few fishing boats coming and going while we were there. 14 miles from the city of West Yellowstone and West entrance to Yellowstone National Park. Any shopping or restaurant needs must be done in either West Yellowstone or Island Park, ID about 16 miles South. This park has a brand new, unopened camping loop with new bathhouse that appeared almost ready. These new loops offer full hook ups, but opening date is not known at this time, but I would guess very soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$24
We had an electric-only site, and the bath-house is very disappointing. There is only very gritty Go-Jo soap to wash your hands, and push-button (1-minute) showers. There is construction going on adjacent to the park, and the heavy equipment there starts beeping about 7 a.m. to wake you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
The park overlooks Henrys Lake, with tall snow covered peaks as a background. There are few trees in the park. It is clean, organized and maintained. The sites, on the outer loop, are reasonably large with gravel pads. DirecTV signal from any site is no problem. Our Verizon cell signal was 3 bars (4G). The restrooms and showers were maintained, heated and clean. The showers, in the men section, have no water temperature adjustment. The water was too hot for me to use. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
This is a nice little state park on the side of a hill, surrounded by views of the mountains and right next to the lake. We made reservations but when we arrived we found the campground more than half empty, which surprised us. We did have very smokey air for one day due to the fires in the area so that may be why. Our site (#41) was very level, with a picnic table and a fire pit. The sites are small gravel and the "grass" area is mostly weeds and little piles of dirt. The only trees are new little 3ft. plantings they're trying to grow so no shade for a few years to come. The wind blows almost constantly, at times almost gale force due to the location between two valleys. We kayaked on the lake and enjoyed it although the water is very silty. This is a popular spot for fishermen! Two unique features here are #1: a firewood machine! Put your money in and get a box of firewood! #2: the trash dumpster is a compactor which runs on a generator. The hosts run it a couple of times a day. The dumpster is closed 8pm - 8am and locked to prevent animals from getting in it. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
This park has almost everything you need. The sites are big, easy to get in and out of. Not much shade, but trees have been planted. Staff was very good and friendly. Very clean showers and restrooms. Most sites have a great lake view and the park is only 15 miles from West Yellowstone. This year there seemed to be a lot of mosquitoes, otherwise this park is a 10. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
The campground is on the side of a hill overlooking the south end of Henry's Lake. The RV back-ins and pull-throughs are gravel with grass between and well spaced. A few spots close to the water have trees. The showers and bathrooms are centrally located with four shower stalls each. Henry's Lake is about 16 miles up river from Last Chance and the "holy water" fly fishing area. We were unfamiliar with the area and booked a site at the lake for four nights about a week in advance because almost all the sites were already reserved (4th of July). When we arrived in the area we found 15 different RV or campgrounds available in the 16 mile stretch, some more expensive, some less and most with vacancies. We had intended in fishing both the Henry's Fork River and the lake but the wind blew so hard, (35 MPH) on one of the days that we were stuck in camp. If we were to come back we'd look for a campground closer to Last Chance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$14
We pulled into this beautiful park with a 40 ft. motorhome, four slides and left after struggling to navigate a "pull thru" site that was supposed to be big rig friendly. The site was CURVED and after 45 minutes of trying to get our rig in, we gave up. The park was beautiful, however, a wonderful destination for smaller rigs. You can't beat the rate! Rating is for difficulty getting into sites which are heavily treed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$18
This is a favorite campground for fishermen (though we are not). Henry's Lake is serene and beautiful. The small park is far enough from the highway that it is quiet. There are several lakeside sites, though all of the sites have a lake view of some kind. This is one of those "nothing fancy" campgrounds that's just nice to be in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
Loved this place, despite 2 days of strong & gusty winds that really shook the camper. The view is unbeatable, and it's quiet - off the main road far enough that (even when the wind was calm) we couldn't hear it. Nice trail overseeing the lake, and for fishermen this is a prime camping spot. Friendly volunteer hosts on duty, who worked hard to keep the campground well-maintained. Bathrooms older, but very clean. Will definitely come again. Rate given includes tax. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
This was a beautiful state park. The staff was very friendly; spots very easy to access. We stayed here a week and would come back again. Loved the views of the lake and the mountains in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$24
We wanted to visit Yellowstone Park, but we were put off by the rates at the RV parks in West Yellowstone; anywhere from $35 to $65 per night. Then we found Henry's Lake State Park approx. 15 miles south of West Yellowstone. Great paved access road off of State 20. The park is located on the shores of Henrys Lake. It has large level sites with 30/50 amp and water at each site. The campground is well cared for and very clean. It is open with little shade which gives each site has a view of the lake. The dump station is conveniently located on the road into / out of the park. I would definitely stay here again the next time we visit Yellowstone Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$21
This was a very nice state park with large sites. We had a beautiful lake view. Staff were nice and warned us about coyotes in the park at night. We had 50 amp. Our site was not supposed to have water, but it was close enough that if we needed it we could have connected. No sewers though, which was why I gave it a 9. It is an easy 15 mile drive at 65-70 mph to West Yellowstone. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
We had a great experience at this SP. Not only is it the most beautiful setting being on Henry's Lake with mountains surrounding, it is only 15 miles west of West Yellowstone and within reasonable driving distance to many other attractions like the Sawtelle Mtn drive, Mesa Falls, Quake Lake, Jackson Hole WY and the Great Tetons. It provides great hiking nearby and we enjoyed the Island Park area in general including many wildlife sightings. We were especially impressed with and enjoyed the staff and campground hosts who were so helpful and accommodating when our RV was broke down for a week waiting for a part to be shipped. We would give it a perfect 10 except we had issues with leveling on the site assigned to us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Quiet location on a pretty lake surrounded by mountains. Very clean overall, with many large sites with water and electric. Mosquitoes were the only problem, but supposedly it only lasts 2 weeks each year. But we could not spend any time outside because of them. Verizon cell worked great, no TV stations with antenna. We saw the most beautiful sunsets each of the 3 days we stayed. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
This is just a really nice place. Price was fair, has great fishing and a view. No free Wi-Fi or cable TV or dump at sites. But there is a convenient dump site at the entrance. Wi-Fi is available at the laundromat a mile away, for a dollar a day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Beautiful location on the lake. Sites are spacious with clean restrooms and showers. Satellite TV, internet, and cell phones work great here. It is located about 20 miles from West Yellowstone, but it is a great place. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
We really liked this park. We used it as a base for Yellowstone. It was very reasonable, and the lake was very picturesque. The only drawback, was there was no sewer, but we see this more often than not, at all state parks. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Sites are fairly level, and the park is kept clean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
Great view of lake and surrounding mountains. Just a short distance to West Yellowstone and about half the price of the KOA down the street. Park was nearly full every night so I would recommend early reservations. The mosquitoes are thick, but they cannot do much about that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
This is a beautiful setting, however, there don't forget the mosquito repellent and do not let your dogs or kids swim in the lake (leaches!) The best thing about this campground is the wonderful hiking trails. We saw a mother moose and two babies off of a trail. Lots of waterfowl. The prairie dogs own the campground as there are alot of holes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$19
Nicely spaced sites, friendly staff, very clean. Excellent wildlife viewing, nature trail. WiFi is only 20 minutes per day unless purchasing more, then we were shorted a day with no way to contact provider. Leash rules are not enforced. The boat ramp next to the campground was very noisy (motor powered boat wash), and started at 5-7am even though quiet hours supposed to go til 7am. No help from staff to stop the noise. The laundry and a great cafe are located 2 miles away: awesome, huge sourdough pancakes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$21
Very nice campground, with great views of mountains and lake. There are walking trails along lake and marsh area where we saw mama moose and baby resting in marsh. Roads are paved and sites gravel-no dust. Sites are large and we had 50 amp service. The main drawback is that we had were very high winds, making it difficult to sit outside, as it was also cool. If winds died down, we then had problems with mosquitoes. However, we would come here again. There is great fishing in the area and boating on the lake. There is a boat launch at the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$16
Beautiful location with spectacular views in every direction. Large sites, some with water and electric, some with just elec. Dump station is near the park entrance. Friendly helpful park staff, couldn't have been nicer. No problems with satellite reception since there are no really large trees. Cellphone and aircard reception good also. The entire parks road system is paved so there's no dust blowing around. The mosquitoes were a hassle but not as bad as they could have been. The park has a boat ramp and a very large parking lot for boat trailers. Our site was pretty level and we didn't have to mess with blocks. There are a number of day trips you can take, one being Mesa Falls to the southeast. Macks Inn to the south has a dinner theater with 2 different plays alternating every other night. Gas/mini markets are close by. This is a very peaceful park and we'll stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
Only 20 miles from West Yellowstone, but one of the most inexpensive and best parks in the area. We liked the quiet and the great places to walk your dog (including a dog walk in the park, but the road to Henry's Lake is 1 mile and great for dogs). The forest across the street is a great place to view wildflowers in June/July. Dust was NOT bad here as stated by another reviewer in. We stay here every summer and love it. They have special monthly or seasonal rates that make this an inexpensive spot to stay in one of the most beautiful areas of our country. A few of the spots are cramped, but most are spacious. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
Absolutely spectacular setting on Henry's Lake. Our campsite had a wonderful view of the lake and the marsh which was full of water fowl. The campground is very open with one loop having electricity and water and the other loop offering only electrical. There is a nice paved trail along the marsh which is dog friendly. Most of the folks staying here were serious fishermen and women. We only stayed here one night, but would come back and stay longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
If there is a prettier location for a campground anywhere we haven't found it yet! You are surrounded by mountains and look down on a beautiful lake. Plus, in 20 minutes you can be in Yellowstone National Park! The sites are large and there is plenty of space between sites. Our site, 17, is at the head of a loop and we have an unobstructed view to the lake and mountains. Henry's lake is renown for fishing, but no one I talked to here (last week of August 2007) has caught more than 1 or 2 fish all week. We would definitely come back here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
Beautiful campground and the fishing was great. Son caught a 10+ lb trout and couldn't have wished for more! The campground was friendly yet quite. The lake was beautiful and the hiking trails were very nice. Lots of wildlife. Close to Yellowstone - was a great base camp for doing YS and still being able to come back and get alot of fishing in. Shouldn't even tell you about it - the secret might get out! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$20
This CG provides a nice alternative to camping in Yellowstone. The West entrance is only 15 miles away. The sites are situated on an open hillside overlooking Henry's Lake. There is no shade to speak of and most sites require much leveling. The CG is quiet and is an excellent location for fisherman. Only 26 sites have W&E. The rest are small sites suited mostly for tents. Half of the sites are reservable during the summer season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com